Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

Search
HomeContact UsFranšais

PDF
Parliamentary Book ShelfParliamentary Book Shelf
David Long

An Assembly for Europe: The Council of Europe's Parliamentary Assembly, 1948-1989

This book by a former Secretary General tells the story of the origins and growth of the first pan-   European assembly of parliamentarians. It is a book for popular consumption, a book for the uninitiated. As a Council of Europe publication, it takes an over(t)ly rosy view of the institution’s development and present status. Though billed as a book about the assembly, it actually focuses a lot on the Council of Europe as a whole as well as events in Europe more generally. The author also cannot forebear from numerous references to the post-Cold War era, despite the stated intention for there to be a second volume considering this period. 

The book notes that the creation of the Council of Europe and the significance of the assembly came among the immediate post-war aspirations for greater integration in Europe. These hopes were soon dashed in the intergovernmental stalement of the Council of Europe, though they promptly reappeared in the European Coal and Steel Community and subsequently the European Economic Community). While the author lauds the various achievements of the Council of Europe, particularly the European Covenant and Court of Human Rights, as well as encouragement of cooperation on cultural issues, human rights, youth, and science and technology, there is no hiding the disappointment that the bigger European project never really took off, at least not as the integrationist founders of the Council of Europe had hoped. 

Though it is now called the Parliamentary Assembly, it is still functionally a consultative framework. The title parliamentary is an indication of its membership, not its powers, which are limited whether one is thinking of either oversight or control. Though you won’t find the argument here, the innovation of other institutions in Europe is at least an implicit and occasionally explicit criticism of the failures or limits of the Council of Europe and its assembly. Even before the completion of the Eastern enlargement, the EU’s European Parliament was widely regarded as Europe’s Parliament. It does at least have some measure of parliamentary power and influence over decision-making, albeit circumscribed. 

The Council of Europe and the Parliamentary Assembly have survived nonetheless, partly from being useful in specific sectors and partly by taking on new roles, today being the conscience of Europe, through the European Covenant of Human Rights, and being in the vanguard of the enlargement of Europe. With direct election of MEPs to the European Parliament, the Council of Europe’s Parliamentary Assembly is the major venue where national parliamentarians can discuss issues of common interest to Europeans. 

Canada has been an Observer since 1997 and the regular exchanges of parliamentarians serves a purpose of sharing best practices on a range of issues to do with human rights and culture. Were the nations of the EU able to agree on the incorporation of these issues into the EU framework, there would be little need for the Council of Europe or Canada’s modest participation with it. Because this remains a very distant prospect, the Council of Europe’s Parliamentary Assembly may have been superseded but it has yet to be transcended, and the exchanges retain their value to Canada’s MPs as a source of information and occasionally even inspiration. 


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 30 no 3
2007






Last Updated: 2019-07-15

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

Recherche
AccueilContactez-nousEnglish

PDF
Sur les rayonsSur les rayons
David Long

Une assemblée au service de l'Europe : Assemblée parlementaire du Conseil de l'Europe

Cet ouvrage d’un ancien secrétaire général du Conseil raconte l’histoire des origines et de la croissance de la première assemblée paneuropéenne de parlementaires. Il est destiné à la consommation populaire et à ceux qui ne connaissent pas bien le sujet. En tant que publication du Conseil de l’Europe, il adopte une optique ouvertement et exagérément optimiste du développement de l’institution et de son statut actuel. On le qualifie d’ouvrage portant sur l’Assemblée, mais celui-ci se concentre plutôt sur le Conseil de l’Europe en tant qu’entité et sur ce qui se passe en Europe de manière générale. En outre, l’auteur ne peut s’empêcher de faire de nombreuses références à l’après-guerre froide, malgré son intention déclarée de publier un second volume qui traite de cette période. 

Dans l’ouvrage, il mentionne que la création du Conseil de l’Europe et l’importance de l’Assemblée sont nées des aspirations à une meilleure intégration à l’Europe dans l’immédiat après-guerre. Ces espoirs se sont rapidement volatilisés avec la stagnation intergouvernementale du Conseil de l’Europe, mais sont réapparus avec la Communauté européenne du charbon et de l’acier et par la suite la Communauté économique européenne. L’auteur vante les mérites des diverses réalisations du Conseil de l’Europe, notamment le Pacte européen et la Cour des droits de l’homme, ainsi que l’encouragement à la collaboration sur les questions culturelles, les droits de la personne, les jeunes, ainsi que la science et la technologie, mais il ne peut cacher sa déception à la constatation que le grand projet européen n’a jamais réellement pris son envol, du moins pas de la manière dont l’avaient espéré les fondateurs intégrationnistes du Conseil de l’Europe. 

On appelle maintenant le Conseil Assemblée parlementaire, mais il s’agit toujours, sur le plan fonctionnel, d’un cadre de consultation. L’adjectif « parlementaire » qualifie ses membres, et non ses pouvoirs, qui sont limités sur le plan tant de la surveillance que du contrôle. L’innovation d’autres institutions en Europe est une critique sinon assez claire, du moins implicite, des lacunes ou des limites du Conseil de l’Europe et de son assemblée, bien qu’on ne trouve dans cet ouvrage aucun argument à cet effet. Même avant que l’élargissement vers l’est ne soit terminé, le Parlement européen de l’UE était généralement considéré comme le parlement de l’Europe. À tout le moins, l’Assemblée jouit d’un certain pouvoir parlementaire et d’une influence sur la prise de décision, bien que circonscrits. 

Le Conseil de l’Europe et l’Assemblée parlementaire ont néanmoins survécu, en partie du fait qu’ils sont utiles dans des secteurs précis et en partie parce qu’ils assument de nouveaux rôles, se faisant aujourd’hui la conscience de l’Europe, par l’entremise du Pacte européen des droits de l’homme, et étant à l’avant-garde de l’élargissement du continent. Avec l’élection directe de membres au Parlement européen, l’Assemblée parlementaire du Conseil de l’Europe est, pour les parlementaires fédéraux, le principal lieu de discussion de questions d’intérêt commun aux Européens. 

Depuis 1997, le Canada a le statut d’observateur, et les échanges réguliers de parlementaires leur permettent de partager des pratiques exemplaires couvrant un vaste éventail de sujets qui ont trait aux droits de la personne et à la culture. Si les pays membres de l’UE pouvaient s’entendre sur l’inclusion de ces questions dans le cadre de l’UE, on n’aurait pas réellement besoin de la modeste participation du Conseil de l’Europe ou du Canada. Comme cela demeure une éventualité bien lointaine, d’autres institutions ont peut-être préséance sur l’Assemblée parlementaire du Conseil de l’Europe, mais celle-ci n’a pas encore été transcendée, et les échanges conservent leur valeur pour les députés canadiens, comme source d’information, voire même, à l’occasion, d’inspiration. 

David Long 
Affaires internationales 
Norman Paterson School of
International Affairs 
l’Université Carleton 


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 30 no 3
2007






Dernière mise à jour : 2019-07-15