Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

Search
HomeContact UsFrançais

PDF
Parliamentary Book ShelfParliamentary Book Shelf
Ron Landes

Report of the Special Committee on Reform of The House Of Commons, document tabled in the House of Commons, June 18, 1985, 124 p.

In his classic mid-nineteenth study The English Constitution, Walter Bagehot described the British Parliament as "nothing less than a big meeting of more or less idle people." If this description ever rang true for the Canadian House of Commons, it would not do so for very long after the adoption of the various changes recommended in the Report of the Special Committee on Reform of the House of Commons. The role of the individual legislator would be greatly' magnified, as a result of variations in the nature of the confidence convention and party discipline. MPs would actively participate in the policy, process, scrutinize order-in-council appointments, and review the details of delegated legislation. Such tasks would certainly counter the view of backbenchers once expressed by former Liberal MP Phil Givens who said: "The average Liberal MP is as useless as teats on a bull." The enhancement of MPs' roles and participation would have the ultimate result of returning Parliament itself to centre stage in the political process. Or so the Report would have us believe.

Crucial to an understanding and assessment of the Report is one's view of the nature of parliamentary sovereignty,. While few would disagree that the Canadian Parliament has lost much of its reputed power in the modern era (at least since the development of a fairly rigid pattern of party discipline in the House of Commons), it is more open to challenge just how much Parliament ever really, produced legislation on its own, that is. its centrality in policy making. This point is crucial, for the Report is predicated on the assumption that something that has been lost (possibly our political innocence?) can be regained through internal reforms of the House of Commons. The following passage is illustrative of this outlook: "The purpose of reform of the House of Commons in 1985 is to restore to private members an effective legislative function, to give them a meaningful role in the formation of public policy and, in so doing, to restore the House of Commons to its rightful place in the Canadian political process" (p. 1 emphasis added).

I think it can easily be argued that Parliament is more significant in 1985 than ever before. In comparison to earlier times, Parliament now sits longer and passes more legislation in more areas of social and economic policy, than ever before. Moreover, the House of Commons played a particularly significant role in the constitutional reform battle of 1980-1982. Similarly, we should not forget the defeat of the minority Progressive Conservative government in December, 1979. While such actions are obviously, not everyday occurrences, these examples should at least belie the apparent necessity. for holding an immediate wake for parliamentary, government in Canada. Do we really want to return to the halcyon days of Mackenzie King's vaunted consultations of Parliament.

What has happened and been forgotten in this Report is that power between institutions is relative. Parliament may have declined in relative, not practical terms, while other institutions, particularly the political executive and bureaucracy, have gained. If this assertion is true, then internal reforms of the House of Commons will not likely, reassert Parliament as a central actor in the policy process. For example, MPs assumed an ombudsman role in recent decades because public expectations of their tasks changed, not because they, were out of something to do on Parliament Hill. The public's perception of Parliament will likely, have more to do with institutional survival than procedural tinkerings of parliamentarians.

As a result of its misconception about the reality of parliamentary sovereignty, the Report has a second weakness, namely, a rather idealized view of the potential role of the individual citizen in the political process. Parliament is seen as a conduit through which the mass public can participate in policy, development. However, what evidence exists seems to suggest that the public neither cares what Parliament does nor pays much attention to it. Parliament's attentive public seems to be excruciatingly small. As a result, procedures designed to allow easier access of the public to Parliament, such as the proposed changes for the receipt of public petitions (pp. 44-45), will likely be used primarily, by special interest groups and not the general public at all.

A supportable proposition about attitudes toward Parliament might be phrased as follows: oppositions adore it, governments seek to make it more efficient. As Wilfrid Laurier once put it: "Reforms are for Oppositions. It is the business of governments to stay in office."

As the usual party of opposition in federal politics since 1921, a pattern perhaps dramatically shifted by the September, 1984 election, the Progressive Conservative party has made a habit of proclaiming the need to strengthen Parliament. Finding itself in power has created a problem for the Tories: Is the political will really there to enhance the powers of the Commons? One suspects that the longer the Conservatives are in power, the less likely the chance for that political will to be in evidence. After the success of the Liberal and NDP attacks on their first budget and the reversal of the Tories on their planned de-indexing of old age pensions, the Mulroney Government might come to the conclusion that Parliament is already strong enough. A government or opposition perception of the value of Parliament depends on which side of the green aisle they sit.

The real crux of parliamentary reform is how to convince the government of the day to give up some of its own powers. There are likely few examples in the history of government of a party in power voluntarily relinquishing its grasp on government. To increase the power of the average MP in policymaking and of Parliament in total is to adopt reforms which will likely reduce, in relative terms, the pow6rs of the Prime Minister and cabinet. It seems unlikely that the trends of recent decades toward "presidentializing" Canadian parliamentary practice can be reversed by good intentions and more active backbenchers.

The Report stresses attitudinal changes on the part of the government, opposition, and individual MPs in relation to two key areas: confidence motions and party discipline. Attitudinal change is necessary, but not likely sufficient, in this respect. The proposals do not explain, for example, how we are to get out of the practice of rigid party discipline in the first place. Which develops first: a relaxation of party discipline or attitudinal change? Good intentions do not necessarily make either good politics or adequate reforms.

As long as party discipline remains a government decision, effective parliamentary reform will be illusory. For example, even under present practices, a free vote does not automatically mean that party discipline is not implicitly involved. Thus, the suggestion that the Speaker of the House of Commons should be chosen by a secret ballot (Report, p. 100) may not be effective in taking the real power of choice away, from the Prime Minister and returning it to the House. After reading the report one is left in agreement with a current assessment of parliamentary reform in Britain. "The history of parliamentary reform is littered with good intentions left unfulfilled ......

 

Ron Landes, Department of Political Science, Saint Mary's University,  Halifax


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 8 no 3
1985






Last Updated: 2019-07-15

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

Recherche
AccueilContactez-nousEnglish
Sur les rayonsSur les rayons
Ron Landes

Rapport du comité spécial sur la réforme de la Chambre des communes, document déposé à la Chambre des communes le 18 juin 1985, 124 pages.

Dans son analyse classique de la constitution britannique au milieu du XIXe, siècle, The English Constitiition, Walter Bagehot décrit le Parlement britannique comme rien de moins qu'une grande assemblée de désoeuvrés. Si cette description s'applique à la Chambre des communes du Canada, il n'en sera plus ainsi après l'adoption des différentes modifications recommandées dans le Rapport du Comité spécial sur la réforme de la Chambre des communes.  Le rôle de chaque député sera grandement accru à la suite de modifications au principe de la confiance et de la discipline de parti. Les députés participeront activement au processus politique et examineront minutieusement les nominations par décret ainsi que les détails des décrets lois. Ces tâches contrediront certainement l'impression que donnent aujourd'hui les députés d'arrière-ban et que traduit ainsi l'ancien député libéral et maire de Toronto, Phil Givens : « Le député libéral moyen est aussi inutile que les travons d'un boeuf. » La mise en valeur du rôle et de la participation des députés aura pour résultat ultime de replacer le Parlement au coeur du processus politique. C'est du moins ce que les auteurs du rapport voudraient nous faire croire.

La compréhension et l'appréciation du rapport sont essentiellement fonction de notre perception de la souveraineté parlementaire. Si peu de gens contestent que le Parlement canadien a perdu une bonne partie de son célèbre pouvoir à l'époque moderne (du moins depuis 1896 et depuis qu'une discipline de parti assez rigide s'est imposée à la Chambre des communes), la question de l'importance du rôle législatif du Parlement, c'est-à-dire le rôle central qu'il exerce dans l'élaboration de politiques, peut être sujette à discussion. Ce point est crucial puisque le rapport se fonde sur l'hypothèse que l'on peut retrouver un élément perdu (notre naïveté politique peut-être) au moyen de réformes internes de la Chambre des communes. Le passage qui suit illustre bien cette idée : En 1985, le but de la réforme de la Chambre des communes est de faire en sorte que les députés redeviennent de véritables législateurs et qu'ils retrouvent un rôle de premier plan dans la formulation des politiques redonnant ainsi à la Chambre des communes la place qui lui revient dans notre système politique.

À mon avis, il est facile de soutenir qu'en 1985 le Parlement est plus important que jamais. Par rapport aux époques précédentes, le Parlement siège aujourd'hui plus longtemps et adopte plus de lois d'ordre social et économique que jamais auparavant. En outre, la Chambre des communes a joué un rôle particulièrement important dans le débat constitutionnel de 1980-1982. Nous ne devrions pas oublier la défaite du gouvernement minoritaire des conservateurs en décembre 1979. Pareils événements ne se produisent évidemment pas tous les jours, mais ces exemples devraient au moins nous faire réfléchir avant de mettre une croix dès maintenant sur le régime parlementaire canadien. Tenons-nous vraiment à revivre les jours heureux où Mackenzie King se vantait de consulter le Parlement?

Ce qu'ont oublié les auteurs du rapport, c'est que le pouvoir des institutions est relatif. Celui du Parlement a peut-être diminué par rapport à d'autres, mais non en pratique, tandis que (s'accroissait) celui du conseil exécutif et de la bureaucratie s'est accru. Si cette allégation est fondée, aucune réforme interne de la Chambre des communes ne pourra vraisemblablement redonner au Parlement son rôle essentiel dans le processus politique. Ces dernières décennies, par exemple, les députés ont assumé un rôle de protecteur du citoyen parce que les attentes de la population à leur égard ont changé, et non parce qu'ils n'avaient rien de mieux à faire sur la Colline parlementaire. L'idée que se fera la population du Parlement dépendra davantage de la survie de l'institution que des remaniements de la procédure parlementaire.

En se méprenant sur la réalité de la souveraineté parlementaire, les auteurs du rapport ont fait l'erreur d'idéaliser le rôle des citoyens dans le processus politique. Le Parlement est décrit comme un canal qui permet à l'ensemble de la population de prendre part à l'élaboration des politiques. Toutefois, les sondages révèlent que la population ne s'intéresse ni ne prête beaucoup attention à ce que fait le Parlement.

Ayant presque toujours été un parti d'opposition sur la scène fédérale depuis 1896, tradition qui a peut-être été radicalement rompue par les élections de septembre 1984, le Parti progressiste conservateur a pris l'habitude d'invoquer la nécessité de renforcer le Parlement. Le fait pour les conservateurs de se retrouver au pouvoir leur a créé un problème. Existe-t-il vraiment une volonté politique d'accroître les pouvoirs de la Chambre des communes? On peut croire que plus les conservateurs demeureront longtemps au pouvoir, moins cette volonté politique se fera sentir. Après la victoire des libéraux et des néo démocrates sur le premier budget des conservateurs et après l'abandon du projet de désindexation des pensions de vieillesse, le gouvernement Mulroney arrivera peut être à la conclusion que le Parlement est déjà suffisamment fort. Le rôle du Parlement est vu d'un oeil différent selon qu'on siège à droite ou à gauche du fauteuil du président.

Le point crucial de la réforme parlementaire consiste à convaincre le gouvernement de renoncer à certains de ses pouvoirs. L'histoire ne fournit que peu de cas où un parti au pouvoir a, de son propre gré, renoncé à son emprise sur le gouvernement. Accroître le pouvoir du député moyen et de l'ensemble du Parlement dans l'élaboration de politiques nécessiterait l'adoption de réformes qui sont susceptibles d'affaiblir, d'un point de vue relatif, les pouvoirs du premier ministre et de son cabinet. On ne peut s'attendre à ce que de bonnes intentions et un dynamisme accru des députés d'arrière-ban renversent la tendance de ces dernières années à transformer en régime présidentiel le régime parlementaire canadien.

Les auteurs du rapport soulignent la nécessité d'un changement d'attitude du gouvernement, de l'opposition et des députés à l'égard de deux points clés : les votes de confiance et la discipline de parti. Un changement d'attitude est effectivement nécessaire, quoique probablement insuffisant. Le rapport n'explique cependant pas comment nous nous déferons de la rigoureuse discipline de parti, pour commencer. Lequel vient avant l'autre un assouplissement de la discipline de parti ou un changement d'attitude? Les bonnes intentions ne donnent pas forcément lieu à une bonne politique ou à des réformes adéquates.

Aussi longtemps que de la discipline de parti ressortira au gouvernement, toute réforme parlementaire efficace restera illusoire. Par exemple, un vote libre ne signifie pas systématiquement l'absence d'une discipline de parti implicite. L'élection du président de la Chambre des communes au scrutin secret (rapport, p. 104) ne suffira donc pas à retirer au premier ministre le véritable pouvoir de choisir et à le redonner à la Chambre. Après avoir tu ce rapport, on ne peut qu'être en accord avec cette critique de la réforme parlementaire britannique : l'histoire de la réforme parlementaire est pavée de bonnes intentions qui n'ont porté aucun fruit.

Ron Landes
Département des sciences politiques
Saint Mary's University
Halifax


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 8 no 3
1985






Dernière mise à jour : 2019-11-29