Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

Search
HomeContact UsFrançais

PDF
Parliamentary Book ShelfParliamentary Book Shelf
François Bernier

Construing Bilingual Legislation in Canada, by, Michael Beaupré, Toronto, Butterworth, 1981, 161 p. incl. Bibliography+ Index+ Table of cases.

This book is the result of a comprehensive effort to synthesize legal materials, on the interpretation of bilingual legislation in Canada. In the first two chapters the author. who is Assistant Parliamentary Counsel to the House of Commons, examines those rules of construction as applied by Canadian courts before and after their partial codification in section 8 of the Official Languages Act. His survey, of the case laws leads to the conclusion that, "the only, dogma to be retained in the interpretation of bilingual legislation [is that once] a construction is found that is common to both the English and French versions, that construction must he related back to and tested against the entire context of the provision before being settled upon".

This approach is an eminently, reasonable one and. as the author illustrates, will successfully, resolve most apparent conflicts and discrepancies between two versions of a statute. Whether it is still useful in cases of true conflict between versions is not so obvious. Applied in a case such as Food Machinery Corp. v. Registrar of' Trade Marks, ¸(1946)2 D.L.R. 258, it led to the adoption of a construction having "no possible analogue in the other language version. In light of the basic principle of equal authenticity, a principle assigned constitutional value by, the courts in A. G. of Quebec v. Blaikie, the author's statement that this result is an important refinement of the rule of equal authenticity" is somewhat problematic.

Except for this point, Mr. Beaupré convincingly shows that Boult's [R. Boult, "Le bilinguisme des lois dans la jurisprudence de la Cour suprême du Canada", (1968) 3 Ott. L.R. 323] concept of two distinct and hierarchical systems of rules of construction (one for interprétation simple, the other for interpretation croisée), evaporates when applied to concrete problems of bilingual construction.

The second chapter is devoted specifically to an assessment of the effect of section 8 of the Official Languages Act on the, by now, traditional rules of bilingual construction. After reviewing the jurisprudence, the author's conclusions point to the relatively minor impact this codification has had. This assessment is confirmed by the finding that "a number of decisions have been rendered since the passage of the Official Languages Act in 1969, where traditional bilingual approaches are employed. without so much as a passing reference to the specific requirements of that Act."

The third chapter, on Quebec jurisprudence, is the most important of the book and perhaps the most interesting. Any discussion of interpretation of bilingual statutes is bound to be thrown into sharper focus when related to a jurisdiction whose courts have long had to resolve bilingual conflicts with respect to both federal legislation and the Civil Code with its specific rule., on the interpretative value to be assigned French and English provisions of the Code. Here, the legislative universe is not only bilingual but "bijural" as well. In this context. application of the principle of equal authenticity, takes on new dimensions and becomes, as aptly put by the author. a "fundamental problem of Canadian federalism." While Mr. Beaupré offers no authoritative solution, he very ably sets out the parameters of the problem as he isolates and defines the intertwined issues it presents.

In the fourth and concluding chapter, the author states his conclusions and closes with some personal impressions on collateral issues that he acknowledges are somewhat provocative in nature". His conclusions may be briefly, summarized as follows: 1) the "Maxweillan" rules of interpretation are of limited usefulness in dealing with problems posed by, bilingual legislation and Professor Driedger's "context" approach is best suited to a correct application of the rule of equal authenticity; 2) the current rules offer no satisfactory solution to the problem of "bijural" aspects of federal legislation, and in this respect, a legislated solution may be desirable: 3) "while s. 8 of the Official Languages Act purports to he an exhaustive code of the rules and approaches applicable to the construction of federal bilingual legislation, It is patently incomplete, and so Jails as a code." The author's preference is to retain only ss. 8(1), embodying the rule of equal authenticity, and to leave its application to courts who have shown they, are capable of doing so "in a pragmatic way according to the legislative problems they [are] faced with."

Finishing the book, the reader is inevitably reminded of the author's introductory, warning that "... in the last analysis. there are no magical recipes for harmonizing French and English in our statute books. outside of fundamental reforms to Canadian drafting and legislative processes." A study such as that of Mr. Beaupré should prove a useful contribution to any such reform.

On the editorial side, one only regrets the decision not to include full case citations in the footnotes, forcing the reader who wants to keep some chronological perspective to constantly refer back to the table of cases.

Construing Bilingual Legislation in Canada is a needed addition to Canadian legal literature. It is well written and in its detailed review of the case law, comes as a first rate reference tool on the subject.

François R. Bernier, Law and Government Division, Research Branch, Library of Parliament

 


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 4 no 3
1981






Last Updated: 2019-11-29

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

Recherche
AccueilContactez-nousEnglish
Sur les rayonsSur les rayons
François Bernier

Construing Bilingual Legislation in Canada, par Rémi Michael Beaupré, Toronto, Butterworths, 1981, 161 p.

Ce livre est le résultat d'un effort de synthèse du droit et de la jurisprudence portant sur l'interprétation de la législation bilingue au Canada. Dans les deux premiers chapitres, l'auteur, qui est conseiller parlementaire adjoint à la Chambre des communes, examine les règles d'interprétation appliquées par les tribunaux canadiens avant et après leur codification partielle à l'article 8 de la Loi sur les langues officielle. Cette revue de la jurisprudence l'amène à conclure que le seul dogme à observer dans l'interprétation de la législation bilingue est le suivant: avant dégagé une interprétation commune aux versions anglaise et française, on doit s'assurer qu'elle est compatible avec l'ensemble du texte législatif avant de l'adopter.

Cette méthode est des plus logiques et, comme le démontre l'auteur, permet de résoudre la plupart des conflits et des écarts apparents entre deux versions d'une loi. Il est moins certain qu'elle soit aussi fructueuse dans le cas de conflit véritable entre les versions. Appliquée dans une cause comme Food Machinery Corp. c. Registrar of Trade Marks. (1946) 2 D.L.R. 258, elle a conduit à l'adoption d'une interprétation n'ayant pas d'analogue possible dans l'autre langue. A la lumière du principe fondamental d'égale authenticité, principe auquel les cours de justice ont attribué une valeur constitutionnelle dans P.G. du Québec. c. Blaikie, l'affirmation de l'auteur à l'effet que ce résultat témoigne d'un raffinement apporté au principe d'égale authenticité est quelque peu surprenante. Par ailleurs, M. Beaupré démontre de façon convaincante que le concept de deux systèmes distincts et hiérarchiques de règles d'interprétation  l'un pour l’interprétation simple, l'autre pour I’ interprétation croisée  élaboré par Boult (R. Boult. "Le bilinguisme des lois dans la jurisprudence de la Cour suprême du Canada". (l 968) 3 Oit. L. R. 323) devient caduc lorsqu'on le confronte aux problèmes concrets d'interprétation bilingue.

Le deuxième chapitre est consacré à une évaluation des conséquences de l'article 8 de la Loi sur les langues officielles sur les règles traditionnelles d'interprétation bilingue. Se référant à la jurisprudence, l'auteur souligne le peu d'influence qu'a eue cette tentative de codification. Ce point de vue se confirme à l'examen d'un certain nombre de décisions prises depuis l'adoption de la Loi sur les langues officielles en 1969 où les méthodes d'interprétation traditionnelles sont employées sans même qu'on fasse mention des exigences particulières de cette loi.

Le troisième chapitre, dans lequel l'auteur aborde la jurisprudence québécoise, est le plus important du livre et, à mon sens, le plus intéressant. Toute discussion sur l'interprétation de la législation bilingue suscite d'autant plus d'intérêt qu'elle a trait à un territoire juridique où, depuis longtemps, les tribunaux ont dû résoudre ce genre de difficultés. Celles ci se rapportent tant à la législation fédérale qu'au Code civil qui contient des règles particulières quant à la valeur interprétative que l'on doit attribuer aux dispositions françaises et anglaises du Code.  L'univers législatif n'est plus seulement bilingue mais aussi "bi-juridique". Dans Ce contexte, l'application du principe d'égale authenticité prend de nouvelles dimensions et devient, comme l'a très bien fait ressortir l'auteur, un problème fondamental du fédéralisme canadien. Bien que M. Beaupré se refuse à proposer une solution définitive aux problèmes que soulève la situation particulière du Canada à cet égard, il expose cependant fort adroitement les divers aspects que revêtent ces questions dans le système juridique canadien.

Dans le quatrième et dernier chapitre, l'auteur fait part de ses conclusions générales et aborde certains thèmes connexes. Les premières peuvent être résumées brièvement de la façon suivante: 1) les règles Maxwelliennes d'interprétation sont de valeur restreinte pour résoudre les problèmes posés par le bilinguisme de nos lois et le méthode "contextuelle" du professeur Driedger convient mieux à une application juste de la règle d'égale authenticité; 2) les règles actuelles n'offrent pas de solution satisfaisante aux problèmes qu'engendre le bi-jurisme" de la législation canadienne et. à cet égard, une intervention du législateur serait souhaitable; 3) bien que l'article 8 de la Loi sur les langues officielles prétende être un code complet des règles et méthodes applicables à l'interprétation de la législation fédérale bilingue, il est manifestement incomplet et n'est pas adéquat en tant que codification. La préférence de l'auteur est de ne retenir que le paragraphe 8(l), où figure la règle d'égale authenticité, et d'en laisser l'application aux tribunaux qui se sont montrés capables de le faire d'une façon pragmatique.

En terminant la lecture du livre, on ne peut que se rappeler l'avertissement de l'auteur dans son introduction: en dernière analyse, il n'existe pas de recette magique pour harmoniser le français et l'anglais dans nos lois. en dehors d'une réforme fondamentale touchant les étapes suivies dans l'élaboration des projets de loi. Une étude comme celle de M. Beaupré devrait apporter une contribution utile à une telle réforme.

En ce qui concerne la présentation du texte, on peut regretter la décision de ne pas inclure les citations complètes des arrêts dans les notes intrapaginales, ce qui oblige le lecteur qui vent garder une perspective chronologique à se rapporter constamment à la table des arrêts.

Construing Bilingual Legislation in Canada est un complément indispensable à la documentation juridique canadienne. Très bien écrit, ce livre, qui contient une analyse détaillée de la jurisprudence, est aussi un ouvrage de référence de première qualité.

François-R. Bernier, Division du droit et du gouvernement, Service des recherches , Bibliothèque du Parlement


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 4 no 3
1981






Dernière mise à jour : 2020-03-03