Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

Search
HomeContact UsFranšais

PDF
Parliamentary Book ShelfParliamentary Book Shelf
Norman Ward

Mr. Davin, M.P., A Biography of Nicholas Flood Davin by C.B. Koester, Western Producer Prairie Books, Saskatoon, 1980, 238 p

A biography, always tempts a critic to review its subject rather than the book, and when the subject is a Member of Parliament as lively and versatile as Nicholas Flood Davin the temptation becomes almost overwhelming. Davin was elected as a Conservative in 1887, 1891 and 1890 for Assiniboia West, a sprawling territorial seat whose boundaries ran from west of Medicine Hat to east of Regina. In 1896 he squeaked by in one of the few elections settled by. the deciding vote of the returning officer and in 1900 he was defeated by 232 votes by Walter Scott, who in 1905 became the first premier of Saskatchewan. In 1901. apparently convinced he was a failure, Davin committed suicide in a bizarre episode that obliged him to buy a second revolver because the first one he purchased he considered defective.

Davin. as poet, journalist. lawyer, and legislator, was at fifty-eight no failure. Like a number of his fellow Celts who left Ireland for North America, he spoke eloquently and wrote well, often beautifully. Like many of his compatriots he battled alcoholism and in 1891, after a disastrous platform appearance, he took the pledge, publishing his decision among the classified advertisements of the Regina Leader (of which he was founder). Like many, a member whose seat was far from Ottawa, Davin had trouble keeping up with both his duties in the House and his constituents' needs back home. He not only had to fight for his nomination on occasion but, despite a steady growth in the votes he polled in four consecutive two-way fights, saw his share of the vote drop equally steadily, until in 1900 it was, unfortunately, for him, less than half.

But if Davin had trouble carrying his rapidly growing constituency with him, he was at the Ottawa end a spectacular. if controversial, performer. He was well-informed and perceptive, and saw himself as the champion of his distant constituents, at times to the detriment of his party. "He participated in the rough and tumble of parliamentary life," Mr. Koester reports, "with a gusto that probably endeared him to many of his colleagues on both sides of the House, though undoubtedly there were some who were repelled by it. He could also raise hackles by, issues he selected: in 1890, for example, claiming that the commissioner of the North-West Mounted Police was too hard on both his men and the prairie settlers, Davin moved for a public inquiry,; and in 1895 he moved for the enfranchisement of women on the same basis as men. On both occasions he was voted down in a House in which his party had a majority. When the party, went into opposition in 1896 it made no fundamental difference to Davin: he was accustomed to opposing as a supporter of the government.

Perhaps for that reason he did not fulfil his ambition to be a cabinet minister, although he was considered an obvious choice when the Ministry, of the Interior fell vacant in 1888. A portfolio might well have channelled his energies away from the exploitation of sonic of his talents, and that would have left posterity, the poorer. At a time when, for example, judging from Hansard, the House contained far more members schooled in poetry than it does now. Davin was a standout. He could not only quote poetry at the drop. of an order paper, but lauded on every possible occasion what is broadly called the arts. Praising the work of Archibald Lampman in the House one day Davin declared "...the life-blood of a people is the genius that is put into books. There is the lifeblood from which statesmen, and merchants, and lawyers, and others draw their nutriment, and that is the centre and source of all power." He carried his theme of "culture as the source of power" to audiences outside Parliament, and his belief in it was one of his most arresting characteristics.

The life of this remarkably appealing politician is told by, Mr. Koester 'in an appealing book. As teacher, historian, Clerk of the Saskatchewan assembly, and nom the House of Commons, Mr. Koester has had unusual opportunities not just to read of politicians but to watch them under a variety of conditions, and his feeling both for Davin and the Parliament he so enjoyed shows clearly in his book. In lucid, graceful, prose, behind which lies a vast amount of research which is never obtrusive, Mr. Koester recounts the life of an active member who belongs among those who demonstrate session after session that the satisfaction a parliamentarian gets out of his work depends on what he brings to it. Mr. Davin, M.P., would, I think, have approved of Mr. Davin, M.P.

Norman Ward, Department of Economics and Political Science. University of Saskatchewan. Saskatoon


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 4 no 2
1981






Last Updated: 2018-07-31

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

Recherche
AccueilContactez-nousEnglish
Sur les rayonsSur les rayons
Norman Ward

Mr. Davin, MP, A  Biography of Nicholas Flood Davin, de C.B. Koester, Western Producer Prairie Books, Saskatoon, 1980,238. p.

Une biographie incite toujours un critique à se pencher sur la personne en cause plutôt que sur l’œuvre elle-même et, lorsque le sujet est un député aussi enjoué et aussi doué que Nicholas Flood Davin, la tentation devient presque irrésistible. Davin a été élu sous la bannière des Conservateurs en 1887, en 189 1 et en 1896 dans la vaste circonscription d'Assiniboine ouest qui s'étend de l'ouest de Medicine Hat à l'est de Regina. En 1896, il est élu de justesse dans l'une des rares élections où le directeur du scrutin a dû décider de l'issue des élections et, en 1900, il est battu par 232 voix par Walter Scott qui deviendra, en 1905, le Premier Ministre de la Saskatchewan. En 1901, apparemment convaincu qu'il est un raté, Davin achète un revolver, puis un second  estimant que le premier est défectueux  et il se suicide.

A cinquante-huit ans, Davin. qui était à la fois poète, journaliste, juriste et législateur, n'était pas du tout un raté. Tout comme un certain nombre de ses concitoyens celtes qui quittèrent l'Irlande pour se rendre en Amérique du Nord, il parlait avec éloquence, et avait la plume facile et souvent admirable. Comme un grand nombre de ses compatriotes, il lutta contre l'alcoolisme et en 1891, après un discours politique désastreux, il fit voeu de tempérance en publiant sa décision dans les petites annonces du Leader de Regina (dont il était le fondateur).

A l'instar d'un grand nombre de députés dont la circonscription était éloignée d'Ottawa, Davin a eu des difficultés à remplir ses fonctions à la Chambre et à s'occuper de ses électeurs. En certaines occasions, il a dû non seulement lutter pour sa nomination mais, en dépit de l'augmentation constante des votes recueillis dans quatre luttes consécutives, il a vu son pourcentage de voix baisser de façon constante jusqu'en 1900 où, malheureusement pour lui, il n'en a pas obtenu suffisamment.

Toutefois, si Davin a eu du mal a se garder les faveurs de sa circonscription qui se développait rapidement, il était à Ottawa un représentant spectaculaire quoique controversé. Bien informé et perspicace, il se considérait comme le porte parole de ses lointains électeurs et ce, parfois au détriment de son parti. M. Koester écrit qu'il participait à la mêlée de la vie parlementaire avec un brio qui lui a probablement attiré la sympathie d*un grand nombre de ses collègues des deux côtés de la Chambre. Il pouvait également hérisser ses collègues par les problèmes qu'il soulevait. En 1890, par exemple. Il proposa la tenue d'une enquête publique en prétendant que le Commissaire de la Police montée du Nord-ouest était trop dur envers ses hommes et envers les colons des prairies. En 1895, il proposa que l'on accorde le droit de vote aux femmes au même titre qu'aux hommes. A ces deux occasions, sa motion fut repoussée à la Chambre où son parti avait la majorité. Lorsque son parti passa dans l'opposition en 1896, cela ne changea pas grand-chose pour Davin, car il avait déjà l'habitude de l'opposition.

C'est peut-être pour cette raison qu'il n'a pu satisfaire son ambition d'être ministre, bien qu'il ait été considéré par Grip comme un des meilleurs candidats lorsque le ministère de l'Intérieur est devenu vacant en 1888. Un portefeuille aurait peut-être accaparé son énergie au détriment de certains de ses talents, et la postérité en aurait souffert. A une époque où, selon le Hansard, il y avait à la Chambre un plus grand nombre de députés versés dans la poésie qu’à l'heure actuelle, Davin était une vedette. Il pouvait non seulement citer de la poésie à brûle-pourpoint, mais, en toute occasion, il louait ce qu'on appelle en général les humanités. Un jour, en vantant les travaux d'Archibald Lampman à la Chambre, Davin déclara "... l'essence d'un peuple est le génie qui émane de ses ouvrages. C'est d'eux que les hommes d'État, les commerçants, les avocats et bien d'autres tirent leur substance et c'est là l'élément vital et la source de tout pouvoir". Il développa son thème de la "culture source de pouvoir" auprès du public en dehors du Parlement, et sa croyance en ce principe constitue l'une de ses caractéristiques les plus marquantes.

M. Koester raconte la vie de cet homme politique remarquablement attachant dans un livre très intéressant. En qualité de professeur, d'historien, de greffier de l'Assemblée de la Saskatchewan et maintenant de la Chambre des communes, M. Koester a eu des occasions uniques, non simplement de lire des textes au sujet des hommes politiques, mais de les voir dans diverses situations. Ses sentiments à l'égard de Davin et du Parlement qu'il aimait tant apparaissent clairement dans son livre. Dans une prose lucide et élégante, qui témoigne d'un vaste travail de recherche sans aucune ostentation, M. Koester raconte la vie d'un député actif qui est un de ceux qui ont démontre, session après session, que la satisfaction qu'un parlementaire retire de ses fonctions dépend de ce qu'il y apport.

Norman Ward Département d'économie et de sciences politiques Université de Saskatchewan Saskatoon


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 4 no 2
1981






Dernière mise à jour : 2020-03-03