Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

Search
HomeContact UsFranšais

PDF
Parliamentary Book ShelfParliamentary Book Shelf
Susan McCorquodale

A History of Newfoundland and Labrador, by Frederick W. Rowe, McGraw-Hill Ryerson, Toronto, 1980, 563p.

This book sets out to provide a "comprehensive general history for adults" and it admirably succeeds in doing so. Senator Rowe is not an academic historian, obviously, but he is able and experienced in historical writing, witness his earlier books on the history of education in Newfoundland and on the Beothuks. This book was undertaken, the author tells us, because since Prowse wrote his famous study in 1895 there has been an accumulation of both primary and secondary documentation which is not readily available to the general public and because there has been in the last forty years an increased interest in Newfoundland's affairs both historical and contemporary. Dr. Rowe's chief asset in this enterprise is that he is thorough in his research and he writes well; the book is readable, informative and clear.

We begin with a tour around the island and Labrador, an introduction to the physical geography, the climate and the flora and fauna of the province. We proceed from there to eight or nine chapters on the early history of settlement, relations with the West Country of England, of piracy and wars and a balanced chapter on how white man's ignorance and disease more than destructiveness wiped out a whole people. the Beothuks. The next eight or nine chapters deal with the nineteenth century and pick up on the coming of representative and responsible government., the question of the French Shore and the politics and economics of the Newfoundland railway. The "French Shore" meant direct French involvement with Newfoundland from the Treaty of Utrecht in 1713 until 1904 when finally Britain and France reached agreement and Newfoundland was at last entitled to full rights over her total land areas. As for the railway, Canada and Newfoundland as separate dominions shared a common experience as the politics of the railway shaped the Politics of each country. Economically, the railway strained both nations, but it broke the back of the smaller one. The last eight or nine chapters bring us into the twentieth century, two world wars, a very even-handed assessment of the Commission of Government episode, and a good meaty chapter on Confederation. We finish with two disappointing chapters on the post1949 years.

Gradually one sees the pattern of the chapters emerging. Dr. Rowe concentrates on getting the facts before us, but he also attempts to hold the balance between conflicting points of view, and the conclusions of various writers both "ancient" and modern. To an academic it is annoying not to have all these references footnoted back to the original sources, but perhaps author and publisher are correct that this habit distracts the general reader at whom, as noted, the book is aimed. What I do think we can more legitimately complain of is the lack of headings within chapters. Rowe tries to remember that history is not just politics and each chapter has a concluding section on social and economic developments, but more than once it happens that in one paragraph we can be deep in denominational conflict over education (p. 289) and in the next paragraph, without any signal from the publisher, we are into economic development questions. It would have been so simple for a good editor to pick up the need for a heading to warn the reader that we had slipped for instance at p. 345 from a discussion of the forest industry to questions of international fishing treaties. My point is that for the general reader a few small things might have improved the book. There are for instance no pictures to break what is a comparatively long narrative. Apart from two excellent maps and what I count as five headings we march relentlessly on. Across my desk this week has come a recent more academic history, Canada Since 1945 (by Bothwell, Drummond and English) and it is full of pictures, charts and even cartoons. Something like this would have added to this book and surely not have raised the price that much.

The quality of what we are being told depends to some degree on the quantity and quality of the sources. On such issues as the railway or the Commission of Government where there is a sizeable body of academic writing, Rowe weaves a balanced and fair-minded account. Where the groundwork has still to be done, for instance, concerning the social effects of the second world war, the narrative is thin. This is not to say that Rowe does not write history. I particularly liked his treatment of the myths surrounding the credit system and the out port merchant (p. 354). He also charts a skillful course through the shoals of the various religious and class conflicts embedded in the confederation fight, but by and large he is dependent on his sources. In the last two chapters where one might have hoped for an original treatment coming from Dr. Rowe's personal involvement in events, we are left high and dry. What is a good book is marred by a superficial treatment invented by J.R. Smallwood, i.e., "in 1949 there were fewer than 10,000 automobiles in Newfoundland, in 1980 there are over 140,000" (p. 505). I had hoped for better, but maybe that will be . in Dr. Rowe's next book. In the meantime, for the general reader interested in Newfoundland, this history is an excellent choice.

Susan McCorquodale, Department of Political Science, Memorial University


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 4 no 2
1981






Last Updated: 2019-07-15

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

Recherche
AccueilContactez-nousEnglish
Sur les rayonsSur les rayons
Susan McCorquodale

A History of Newfoundland and Labrador, de Frederick W. Rowe, McGraw-Hill Ryerson, Toronto, 1980, 563 p.

Dans cet ouvrage., l'auteur se propose d'écrire une histoire générale pour adultes et on doit dire qu'il y parvient admirablement. Sans être historien, le sénateur Rowe est, comme en témoignent ses précédents ouvrages sur l'histoire de l'éducation à Terre-neuve et sur les Beothuks, un auteur doué et expérimenté dans le récit historique. Il indique qu’il a rédigé ce livre parce que depuis la publication de la fameuse étude de Prowse en 1895. il s'est accumulé une documentation primaire et secondaire à laquelle le grand public n'a pas facilement accès et parce que, depuis une quarantaine d'années, il y a eu un regain d'intérêt pour les événements passés et présents à Terre-neuve M. Rowe a comme atout d'effectuer des recherches approfondies et d'être un bon écrivain; son livre constitue une bonne source d'information et il est rédigé clairement.

L'auteur commence par un survol de l'île et du Labrador, une introduction à la géographie physique, au climat, à la flore et à la faune de la province. Suivent huit ou neuf chapitres sur les débuts de la colonisation, les relations avec l'ouest de l'Angleterre, la piraterie et les guerres, et un chapitre dans lequel l'auteur traite avec lucidité de la façon dont l'ignorance de l'homme blanc et ses maladies ont, plus que son penchant destructeur, contribué à éliminer tout un peuple, les Beothuks. Les huit ou neuf chapitres suivants traitent du XIXe siècle, notamment de la création d'un gouvernement représentatif et responsable, de la question de la French Shore et des aspects politiques et économiques du chemin de fer de Terre-neuve Le privilège de la French Shore, issu du Traité d'Utrecht en 1713, assura à la France un accès direct au territoire de Terre-neuve jusqu'en 1904, lorsque la Grande Bretagne et la France se sont entendues pour y mettre fin et que Terre-neuve a pu alors recouvrer tous ses droits sur l'ensemble de son territoire. A l'époque de la construction du chemin de fer, le Canada et Terre-neuve ont vécu une expérience commune même s'ils constituaient des dominions distincts  puisque ce projet a façonné leur évolution politique. Le chemin de fer a coûté cher aux deux pays, mais il a été particulièrement ruineux pour Terre-neuve Les huit premiers chapitres abordent le XXe siècle et les deux conflits mondiaux. L'épisode de la Commission spéciale y est traité de façon impartiale. L'ouvrage comporte également un chapitre bien documenté sur la Confédération, mais les deux derniers chapitres sur la période d'après 1949 sont plutôt décevants.

Au fil des pages, le plan des chapitres se dégage. M. Rowe s'attache a exposer les faits tout en faisant la part entre les points de vue opposés et les conclusions des divers auteurs "anciens" et modernes. Un universitaire trouverait ennuyeux toutes les citations sans renvois aux sources, mais peut-être l'auteur et l'éditeur ont ils raison de penser que cette habitude distrait le lecteur à qui l'ouvrage est destiné. A mon avis, il v aurait plutôt lieu de se plaindre de l’ absence de titres et sous-titres à l'intérieur des chapitres. En terminant chaque chapitre par des considérations sur les progrès sociaux et économiques, M. Rowe a voulu indiquer que l'histoire n'est pas faite que de politique. Néanmoins, il n'est pas rare que le lecteur, absorbé par un paragraphe traitant des conflits confessionnels en matière d'éducation (p. 289) aborde, sans transition, des questions de progrès économique au paragraphe suivant. Un bon éditeur aurait pu facilement indiquer par un titre que la question de l'industrie forestière, par exemple faisait place à celle des traités de pêche internationaux. Il aurait suffit de peu de chose pour améliorer la qualité du livre aux yeux de lecteur ordinaire. Ainsi, l'ouvrage ne comporte aucune illustration pour atténuer la longueur du texte. On n'y rencontre que deux excellentes cartes et cinq titres. Par contraste ' j'ai reçu un récent ouvrage d'histoire, intitulé Canada Since 1945, qui comporte de nombreuses photographies, des cartes et même des caricatures. L'ouvrage de M. Rowe aurait certainement gagné à contenir des illustrations de ce genre sans que son prix en soit augmenté de beaucoup.

La qualité d'un livre dépend dans une certaine mesure de la quantité et de la qualité des sources. L'auteur a su exposer de façon équilibrée et impartiale des questions comme le chemin de fer ou la Commission du gouvernement dont une bonne partie de la documentation a un caractère professionnel. Le texte demeure cependant pauvre en ce qui concerne des questions comme les conséquences sociales de la seconde guerre mondiale, domaine où la recherche de base reste à l'aire. Il ne faut pas croire pour autant (que M. Rowe  n'est pas historien, j'ai particulièrement apprécié la façon dont il traite les mythes entourant le système de crédit et les marchands des villages de pêcheur! (p. 354). Il évolue habilement entre Ies écueils des conflits religieux et sociaux résultant de la Confédération, mais, dans l'ensemble. et je suis sûr qu'il le reconnaîtrait lui même, il demeure à la remorque de ses sources. Dans les deux derniers chapitres. qui traitent d'événements auxquels il a été mêlé personnellement. on serait en droit de s'attendre à un exposé original, mais il n’en est rien. Ce bon ouvrage souffre d'une certaine superficialité empruntée à M. J.R. Smallwood: "En 1949, il n'y avait que 10000 automobiles à Terre-neuve; en 1980. on en compte plus de 140000" (p, 505). J'espérais mieux, niais il faudra sans doute attendre le prochain ouvrage de M. Rowe. Celui-ci demeure cependant un excellent choix pour le lecteur qui s'intéresse à Terre-neuve.

Susan  McCorquodale,  Département des sciences politiques, Memorial University Saint-Jean (Terre-neuve)


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 4 no 2
1981






Dernière mise à jour : 2020-03-03