Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

Search
HomeContact UsFranšais

PDF
Parliamentary Book ShelfParliamentary Book Shelf
Graham White

Committees in Legislatures: A Comparative Analysis by John D. Lees and Malcolm Shaw, Duke University Press, 1979, 449 p.

Good books often provoke stimulating questions. Sadly, Committees in Legislatures prompts one basic question: why was such an outdated book published?

The book stems from conferences held in 1969 and 197 1, and it is evident that the papers have seen little, if any, revision since then. Now it is unfair to expect a book published in 1979 to include material on the important changes in Westminster's committee system stemming from the 1978 report of the Procedure Committee. However, surely we deserve better than an analysis of the committees of the Canadian House of Commons which treats the 1968 reforms as experimental, and a treatment of Indian committees written entirely prior to the 1975 "emergency", to take only two particularly irksome examples. In a sense. the essay on committees of the Phillipine Congress by Robert Jackson is all too symbolic of the whole enterprise: the Congress and its committees ceased to exist in 1972 when President Marcos declared martial law!

The great pity is that the idea behind the book was first-rate: assemble a team of specialists to analyse the workings of committees in eight national Legislatures: Canada, the United States, India, Japan, West Germany, Italy, the United Kingdom and the Philippines. This would offer the reader authoritative reviews of particular committee systems and would also provide the basis for more analytical attempts to draw general conclusions about legislative committees.

The eight academics and one practioner responsible for individual chapters demonstrate a sure grasp of their subjects and generally write well. Several of the chapters, especially those on the United Kingdom and West Germany by S. A. Walkland and Nevil Johnson, are particularly adept in analysing committees within the broad context of a nation's political culture and its overall legislative setting. Perceptive as such insights are, they represent but a small proportion of the book, the bulk of which is given over to extensive detail on the structure and operation of the various committee systems. Much of this material is either outdated or else is of marginal interest to the 1980 reader. Michael Rush's piece on Canada, by way of illustration, is heavily, based on surveys of MPs conducted in 1968 and 1970.

Although the editors did not impose a rigid framework on their contributors, each chapter sets out the basics of the political environment within which each committee system operates, and provides the essential information as to committee membership, structure, influence, staff and the like, as they were about 1970. A certain uneveness is evident in that not all chapters discuss the same topics; the chapter on Italy, for instance, makes no mention of committees in the control or oversight of government finance.

The conclusion, by editor Shaw, struggles mightily to divine patterns across the eight committee systems. He reaches few non obvious conclusions, but is occasionally led astray by surface appearances: "legislatures where British influence is strong give special emphasis to finance at the committee level". Particularly disappointing is Shaw's failure to draw upon the extensive research done into political behaviour in small groups as an approach to understanding legislative committees.

In sum, unless one is interested in decade old information on committees in eight legislatures, and is willing to shell out $19.75 (U.S.) for it. this book has little to commend it.

Graham White

Assistant Clerk

Ontario Legislative Assembly


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 3 no 4
1980






Last Updated: 2020-03-03

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

Recherche
AccueilContactez-nousEnglish
Sur les rayonsSur les rayons
Graham White

Committees in Legislatures: A Comparative Analysis by John D. Lees and Malcolm Shaw, Duke University Press, 1979, 449 p.

Les bons livres suscitent généralement des questions intéressantes. Malheureusement, Committees in Legislatures ne suscite qu’une seule question: Pourquoi a-t-on publié un livre aussi désuet?

Le livre découle de colloques tenus en 1969 et en 1971, et il semble que le texte n'a subi que peu de révision, sinon aucune, depuis cette époque. On ne pouvait évidemment pas s'attendre à trouver dans ce livre publié en 1979, les modifications apportées au système des comités de Westminster, qui furent effectuées à la suite du rapport du comité de Procédure paru en 1978. Mais on pouvait espérer mieux qu'une analyse des comités de la Chambre des communes du Canada dans laquelle on considère comme expérimentales les réformes de 1968, ou encore la description des comités indiens, rédigée avant la crise" de 1975. D’une certaine façon, le chapitre sur les comités du Congrès des Philippines, rédigé par Robert Jackson, est représentatif de l'ensemble de l'ouvrage: le Congrès et ses comités ont été abolis en 1972 lorsque le président Marcos décréta la loi martiale!

Ceci est fort regrettable, d'autant plus que l'idée première de ce livre était excellente. Il s'agissait en effet de réunir une équipe de spécialistes pour analyser le fonctionnement des comités parlementaires dans huit pays: le Canada, les États Unis, l'Inde, le Japon, l'Allemagne de l'Ouest, l'Italie, le Royaume-Uni et les Philippines. Ceci aurait donné au lecteur une analyse sérieuse des différents systèmes de comités et aurait établi une base pour d'autres études en vue de tirer des conclusions sur les comités parlementaires.

Les huit universitaires et le parlementaire qui ont rédigé les divers chapitres, démontrent une grande maîtrise des sujets traités et, dans l'ensemble, ils  écrivent bien. Dans plusieurs chapitres, notamment ceux sur le Royaume-Uni et sur l'Allemagne de l'Ouest rédigés par S.A. Walkland et Nevil Johnson, on trouve une bonne analyse des comités dans le cadre culturel et politique des pays et en relation avec leur système parlementaire. Bien que perspicaces, ces descriptions ne constituent qu'une faible partie de l'ouvrage qui se consacre surtout à décrire en détail la structure et le fonctionnement des divers système~ de comités. La plupart des renseignements sont soit périmés, soit d'un intérêt très restreint pour un lecteur en 1980. Par exemple, le texte de Michael Rush sur le Canada se fonde sur les résultats d'enquêtes menées par les députés fédéraux en 1968 et 1970.

Bien que les éditeurs n'aient pas imposé de règles précises aux auteurs des différents articles, chaque chapitre expose le cadre politique dans lequel fonctionne chaque système de comités et fournit les renseignements essentiels quant à la composition des comités, à leur structure, leur influence, leur personnel, etc, aux environs de 1970. Un manque d'uniformité existe du fait que tous les chapitres ne traitent pas des mêmes sujets; par exemple, le chapitre sur l'Italie ne fait aucune mention de comités chargés de surveiller les dépenses du gouvernement.

La conclusion, rédigée par l'un des éditeurs, a bien du mal à dégager des ressemblances entre les systèmes de comité des huit pays à l'étude. Monsieur Shaw nous présente des conclusions qui n'ont rien d'évident, et à l'occasion, se laisse induire en erreur par les apparences: "Les parlements fortement marqués par l'influence britannique accordent une importance toute particulière aux finances au sein de leurs comités." Il est fort regrettable aussi que M. Shaw n'ait pas tiré profit des recherches effectuées sur le comportement politique à l'intérieur de petits groupes pour essayer de comprendre le fonctionnement des comités parlementaires.

En définitive, si vous êtes en quête de renseignements vieux de dix ans, et si vous êtes prêts à débourser 19.75 dollars (U.S.), ce livre est tout recommandé.

Graham White Greffier adjoint, de l'Assemblée législative de l'Ontario


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 3 no 4
1980






Dernière mise à jour : 2020-03-03