Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

Search
HomeContact UsFranšais

PDF
Parliamentary Book ShelfParliamentary Book Shelf
Gary Levy

Report of the Standing Joint Committee on Regulations and other Statutory Instruments, Document tabled in the Senate and House of Commons, July 17, 1980

Probably no parliamentary committee works harder and gets less publicity than the Standing Joint Committee on Regulations and Other Statutory Instruments. Unlike other committees its workload is unrelated to the parliamentary timetable since the government continues to make regulations and orders-in-council whether Parliament is sitting or not. Most of these regulations are studied by the committee and its staff to make sure they are in keeping with criteria established for the scrutiny of delegated legislation. From time to time the Committee draws the attention of the House to a regulation which violates one or more of its criteria. On two occasions the Committee has presented extensive reports on the whole issue of parliamentary scrutiny of subordinate legislation. The first was presented in February 1977. This report covers much of the same ground and while it is perhaps repetitive for experts in the area it does give an overall view of the issues involved. This will be useful to the many new parliamentarians elected since the publication of the last report.

There are also some notable differences compared to the 1977 report. This report emphasizes that delegated legislation is not abnormal or confined to matter of detail. It is the ordinary and indispensable way of making the bulk of the non common law of the land. Starting from this premise the report argues convincingly that procedures for making and controlling subordinate law must be regularized and brought into harmony with constitutional practices. The report gives more attention to questions that were merely touched upon in 1977 such as the need to scrutinize the merits of statutory instruments in addition to their form and legality. The report argues, at some length, that disallowance of subordinate legislation that has already been made and the affirmation of draft subordinate laws (commonly called negative and affirmative vote procedures) be established as regular and invariable parts of the Canadian system of subordinate law. The rules of both the Senate and the House of Commons should be amended to facilitate these procedures.

The Committee also expanded on certain issues fundamental to the problem of scrutinizing delegated legislation. It supported an Economic Council of Canada idea for a sixty-day notice and comment procedure for all new regulations which have a significant impact in terms of cost or impact on the distribution of income and are susceptible to cost-benefit analyses. In fact the Committee would extend the use of notice and comment to all new regulations. The Committee noted certain drafting practices which it claimed are inimicable to parliamentary scrutiny. This is ironic because Canada has a deservedly high reputation in the Commonwealth for the clarity of its parliamentary drafting and its advances in the skill or art of drafting. Nevertheless it was apparent to the Committee that:

clarity of drafting and the relative ease with which a Canadian statute can be read have not been achieved without a price. Far too many statutes contain little or no indication of legislative policy and are neutral documents the object of which is merely to confer powers on the executive to act in certain vaguely defined fields. Moreover, these powers are granted in very broad terms so that little or no detail is given as to the content or type of delegated legislation that can be made.

As far as its own procedures are concerned the Committee concluded that in future it will report instruments to the House not merely to illustrate or draw attention to specific orders-in-council but also to instances where Ministers, Departments or Agencies have failed to honour an undertaking to amend or revoke a statutory instrument as requested by the Committee. Similarly promises by Departments to refrain from certain actions in the future will be scrutinized more carefully by the Committee.

The report contains many other interesting observations and recommendations. It concludes with an appendix showing the disposition of recommendations made in its landmark 1977 report. Unfortunately only a small percentage of those recommendations have been acted upon and not necessarily the most important ones. It remains to be seen if this report will fare any better.

The Editor


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 3 no 3
1980






Last Updated: 2018-07-31

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

Recherche
AccueilContactez-nousEnglish
Sur les rayonsSur les rayons
Gary Levy

Rapport du Comité mixte permanent des règlements et autres textes réglementaires, Document déposé au Sénat et à la Chambre des communes le 17 juillet 1980

Le Comité mixte permanent des règlements et autres textes réglementaires est sans doute le comité parlementaire qui abat le plus de travail, mais qui est le moins connu. Le calendrier parlementaire ne détermine pas sa charge de travail, comme c'est le cas pour les autres comités, puisque le gouvernement continue en intersession à promulguer des règlements et des décrets. Le Comité doit étudier la plupart de ces règlements pour s'assurer qu'ils sont conformes aux critères établis pour l'étude de la législation déléguée. Il lui est arrivé d'attirer l'attention de la Chambre sur un règlement contraire à ]'un ou l'autre de ces critères. Il a en outre présenté deux rapports approfondis sur l'étude par le Parlement de la législation déléguée. Le premier a été déposé en février 1977. Le présent rapport est en gros le même et s'il peut paraître répétitif aux spécialistes de la question, il donne une bonne vue d'ensemble du sujet qui aidera sans doute les nombreux nouveaux députés élus depuis la publication du dernier rapport.

D'importantes différences d'éclairage distinguent aussi les deux rapports. Celui-ci souligne en effet que le recours à la législation déléguée n'est ni anormal, ni limité à des questions de détails. C'est la méthode usuelle et indispensable par laquelle on adopte la majorité des lois non fondées sur la common law. Partant de ce principe, le rapport soutient avec conviction qu'il convient de normaliser le, modalités permettant d'adopter et de contrôler les lois subordonnées et de les adapter aux usages constitutionnels. Il attache davantage d'attention aux questions à peine effleurées en 1977 comme la nécessité d'étudier la valeur, la teneur et la légalité des textes réglementaires. Il y est recommandé avec force que la révocation d'une mesure législative subordonnée déjà établie et la ratification d'un projet de législation déléguée (communément appelées procédures d'approbation ou de rejet), deviennent des éléments réguliers et invariables du système canadien de législation déléguée. Les règlements du Sénat et de la Chambre des communes devraient être modifiés conséquence.

La Comité s'est aussi penché sur certaines questions inhérentes au problème de l'étude de la législation déléguée. Il a appuyé la recommandation du Conseil économique du Canada voulant qu'on prévoie une procédure d'avis (soixante jours) et de consultation pour tout nouveau règlement ayant des répercussions appréciables en matière de coûts ou une incidence sur la répartition du revenu, et pouvant se prêter à des analyses coûts avantages. En réalité, le Comité aimerait que tout nouveau règlement fasse l'objet d'un avis et d'une consultation. Il a mentionné certaines méthodes de rédaction qui, de son avis, nuisent à l'étude des règlements par le Parlement. Ironie du sort, le Canada jouit d'une réputation méritée au sein du Commonwealth pour la clarté de ses textes parlementaires et pour sa position d'avant-garde dans l'art de la rédaction. Néanmoins, le Comité a conclu:

que cette clarté de la rédaction et la facilité relative avec laquelle on peut lire une loi canadienne n'ont pas été réalisées sans que l'on ne doive en payer le prix. Un trop grand nombre de lois ne contiennent que peu ou pas d'indications en matière de politiques législatives et sont des documents neutres qui visent simplement à conférer des pouvoirs à l'Exécutif, pour qu'il agisse dans certains domaines vaguement définis. En outre, les pouvoirs sont accordés en termes très vagues, de sorte qu'il n'est fourni' que peu ou pas de détails quant à la teneur ou au type de législation déléguée pouvant être établie.

Quant à ses propres usages, le Comité a affirmé qu'à l'avenir il ferait rapport à la Chambre sur un plus grand nombre de textes réglementaires pour attirer son attention, non seulement sur des décrets particuliers, mais sur les cas où des ministres, des ministères ou des organismes du gouvernement n'ont pas honoré leur engagement de modifier ou d'abroger des textes réglementaires comme le leur demandait le Comité. De même, il suivra de plus près les ministères qui se sont engagés à modifier leur façon de faire.

Le rapport contient nombre d'autres observations et recommandations intéressantes. En conclusion, il présente une annexe établissant le sort réservé aux recommandations formulées dans le rapport de 1977. Malheureusement, seules certaines de ces recommandations, et pas nécessairement les plus importantes, ont été mises en application. L'avenir nous dira si le présent rapport obtiendra plus de succès.

Le Rédacteur


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 3 no 3
1980






Dernière mise à jour : 2020-03-03