Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

Search
HomeContact UsFranšais

PDF
Parliamentary Book ShelfParliamentary Book Shelf
L.C. Chen; W.S. Wu

Fiscal Position of the Provinces: The 1980 Budgets, by Marie Burrows, The Conference Board of Canada, 1980, 7 p.

This occasional paper (No. 8) is concerned with the relative financial position of Canada's ten provinces as conveyed through their respective 1980 budgets. This comparative assessment is made through an overview of the prevailing provincial budgetary revenue and expenditure balance, followed by a tabular analysis of expenditures by broad service functions in each province. Such an emphasis on the expenditure side appears to have displaced a concurrent appraisal of the fiscal capacity of each province to fund its committed service expenditures.

This paper is offered in four parts, with the first devoted to a comparative study of the current account balance among the provinces. Five provinces, up from three in Fiscal 1979, have budgeted for deficits this year. Quebec's $1.7 billion deficit is three times greater than the combined deficits of four provinces: Nova Scotia, Ontario, Manitoba and British Columbia.

It is interesting to note than an even number of provinces is expected to yield surpluses. Of these, Alberta's balance sheet of revenues and operating expenses shows a surplus of $3.69 billion, a magnitude of surplus which has adequate capacity to offset the combined deficits of the five provinces. Such a magnitude of surplus expected by the Alberta Government (and prior to an oil and gas pricing agreement with Ottawa) clearly portrays a state of imbalance in the fiscal positions of the provinces. One is tempted to propose the addition of sources of revenue to the key indicators of the fiscal position of each province, based on the understanding that the fiscal position of a province is not only indicated by the surplus or deficit position but also by the province's ability to finance its required expenditures.

The second part of this paper offers a comparative analysis of the gross capital expenditures of each province. It indicates that capital investment of the provinces as a whole is expected to be 7.7 percent higher than last year. Within this, Ontario's capital expenditures show virtually no change from last year, while Alberta's capital spending will increase by 25 percent.

It is difficult to be convinced that the distinction between current and capital expenditures is a strong one since most of the provinces do not separate their current from capital expenditures. For this reason, the impact of capital expenditure on the capital market cannot be over-emphasized.

The third part of this paper compares the net cash requirements of each province in 1980. Apart from Alberta, which is expected to have a financial surplus of $2.3 billion, all other provinces budgeted for a net cash requirement. It is worthwhile to note that Quebec has budgeted for a requirement which doubles the estimate projected by Ontario. The main reason could he that the Government of Ontario has been in an expenditure restraint program since 1975 and has committed itself to balance the budget in the early 1980s. Net cash requirements among the provinces range from a 22% of total expenditure in Newfoundland to a 33% surplus in Alberta. In this measurement, Ontario outperforms all other provinces except Alberta and British Columbia.

The last part of this paper provides a comparison of spending in education, health, welfare and related services and debt charges. The bulk of provincial spending is on education and health which makes up about 52% of total provincial expenditure. Spending on all social services is the highest in B.C. and Ontario, at 67% and 63% of their respective total expenditures. By contrast, Alberta spends less than half of its total expenditure on these same services.

The magnitude of debt charges indicates a province's previous reliance on borrowing for its expenditure requirement. On the basis of tabular analysis, it appears that the western provinces have significantly lower debt servicing charges as a percentage of total expenditure than that of the central and eastern provinces. However, the growth rate of all provincial debt charges at a further 17 percent this year does invite concern, as suggested by the paper.

This occasional paper continues to make a contribution to the understanding of public finance in a meaningful way. Not intended to discount the merits of this paper, one hopes that other relevant fiscal data might tie brought together in some comparable form. For example, the relative fiscal positions of the provinces could be more explicitly highlighted by including the absolute magnitude of the provincial budgets in one of the comparable units of measure. One is also tempted to suggest that future papers assess the impact of these provincial budgets as a whole on the Canadian economy. Such an evaluation might shed light on the fact that provincial governments collectively have a total expenditure of over S56 billion, representing 20 percent of Canada's GNP.

L.C. Chen (Ph.D)

Senior Economist Fiscal Policy Division

Ontario Ministry of Treasury and Economics

and

W.S. Wu (Ph.D.)

Chief, Legislative Research Service

Ontario Legislative Library'.


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 3 no 3
1980






Last Updated: 2019-11-29

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

Recherche
AccueilContactez-nousEnglish
Sur les rayonsSur les rayons
L.C. Chen; W.S. Wu

Fiscal Position of the Provinces: The 1980 Budgets, by Marie Burrows, The Conference Board of Canada, 1980, 7 p.

Le présent document étudie la situation financière relative des dix provinces canadiennes, d'après leurs budgets respectifs pour 1980. Cette évaluation comparative est réalisée à travers un examen général des recettes budgétaires provinciales existantes et du solde des dépenses, suivie d'une analyse sous forme de tableaux des dépenses par grandes catégories de services dans chaque province. Cette mise en relief des dépenses semble avoir supplanté une estimation parallèle de la capacité de chaque province de financer ses dépenses engagées de services.

Le présent document comporte quatre parties, la première étant consacrée à une étude comparée du solde du compte courant des provinces. Cinq provinces, au lieu de trois pendant l'année financière 1979, ont enregistré des déficits cette année. Le déficit du Québec est trois fois plus important que les déficits combinés de quatre provinces, à savoir la Nouvelle-écosse, l'Ontario, le Manitoba et la Colombie-britannique.

Il est intéressant de noter qu'un nombre égal de provinces prévoient des excédents. Parmi ces dernières, le bilan des recettes et des frais d'exploitation de l'Alberta montre un excédent de $3.69 milliards, montant suffisant pour compenser les déficits combinés des cinq provinces. L'importance de cet excédent que prévoit le gouvernement de l'Alberta (avant tout accord avec Ottawa pour la fixation du prix du pétrole et du gaz) montre clairement le déséquilibre qui existe entre les situations financières des provinces. On est tenté de proposer l'adjonction de sources de revenus aux indicateurs clés de la situation financière de chaque province, en partant du principe que cette situation d'une province n'est pas seulement reflétée par les excédents ou les déficits, mais également par l'aptitude de cette province à financer ses dépenses nécessaires.

La deuxième partie du présent document offre une analyse comparée des immobilisations brutes de chaque province. Elle indique que les investissements en capitaux, des provinces dans leur ensemble, seront de 7.7% plus élevés que l'année dernière. Dans ce contexte, les immobilisations de l'Ontario ne présentent pratiquement aucun changement par rapport à l'année dernière, alors que les dépenses de capitaux de l'Alberta augmenteront de 25%.

Il est difficile de savoir s'il existe une forte différence entre les dépenses courantes et les immobilisations étant donné que la plupart des provinces ne font pas de distinction entre leurs dépenses courantes et leurs immobilisations. On ne peut donc pas trop insister sur les répercussions des immobilisations sur le marché des capitaux.

La troisième partie du présent document compare les besoins nets en numéraires de chaque province en 1980. A part l'Alberta, qui prévoit un surplus financier de $2.3 milliards, toutes les autres provinces ont un besoin net en numéraires.

Il vaut la peine de noter que les besoins du Québec sont le double de ceux prévus par l'Ontario. La raison principale pourrait être due au fait que le gouvernement de l'Ontario a mis sur pied depuis 1975 un programme de restrictions des dépenses et qu'il s'est engagé à équilibrer son budget au début des années 1980. Les besoins nets en numéraires des provinces s'échelonnent de 22>,c des dépenses totales à Terre-neuvas à un surplus de 33% en Alberta. Dans la détermination de ces chiffres, l'Ontario dépasse toutes les autres provinces, à l'exception de l'Alberta et de la Colombie-britannique. La dernière partie du document fournit une comparaison des dépenses en matière d'éducation, de santé, de bien-être et de services connexes, ainsi que du coût de la dette. La masse des dépenses provinciales est consacrée à l'éducation et à la santé~ elle représente environ 52(ï( des dépenses totales des provinces. Les dépenses pour les services sociaux sont les plus élevées en Colombie Britannique et en Ontario où elles représentent respectivement 67% et 63 %  des dépenses totales de ces provinces. Par contre l'Alberta consacre moins de la moitié de ses dépenses totales à ces mêmes services.

L'importance du coût de la dette indique dans quelle mesure une province a eu recours à l'emprunt pour financer ses dépenses. Il ressort d'une analyse sous forme de tableaux que les provinces de ]'Ouest ont une dette notablement plus faible, en pourcentage des dépenses totales, que les provinces du centre et de l'Est. Toutefois, comme l'indique le document, il y aurait lieu de se préoccuper d’une nouvelle augmentation de 17% cette année du coût de la dette de toutes les provinces.

Le présent document continue à contribuer de façon significative à la compréhension des finances publiques. Sans vouloir en diminuer les mérites, on aimerait pouvoir rassembler d'autres données financières pertinentes sous une forme comparable. Par exemple, il pourrait être possible de mettre en relief de façon plus explicite la situation financière relative des provinces en incluant l'importance absolue des budgets provinciaux dans l'une des unités de mesures comparables. On est également tenté de proposer que [es documents ultérieurs évaluent les répercussions de ces budgets provinciaux dans l'ensemble de l'économie canadienne. Une telle évaluation pourrait expliquer pourquoi les gouvernements provinciaux ont collectivement des dépenses totales de plus de $56 milliards, soit 20~/c, du produit national brut du Canada.

W.S. Wu (Ph. D.) Chef Legislative Research Service Ontario Legislative Library et L.C. Chen (Ph. D.) Economiste principal Division de la politique fiscale Ontario Ministry of Treasury and Economics


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 3 no 3
1980






Dernière mise à jour : 2020-03-03