Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

Search
HomeContact UsFrançais

PDF
Speaker's Ruling
Bev Harrison

Format of the Estimates, April 4, 2000, Speaker Bev Harrison, Legislative Assembly of New Brunswick

Background: On March 29, 2000, Bernard Richard raised a point of privilege claiming that the Main Estimates introduced by the Government along with the Budget, lacked the traditional comparative data respecting previous years expenditures and essential comparative data for full-time equivalent positions.

Ruling (Speaker Bev Harrison): Standing Rule 9 (2) states that the Speaker shall not accept such a motion unless satisfied that there is a prima facie case that a breach of privilege has been committed and that the matter is being raised at the earliest opportunity. To satisfy the “earliest opportunity requirement”, a question of privilege must be raised at the time the event occurred or the next sitting day. The Main Estimates were tabled in the House last Tuesday and the Member rose on the question of privilege the next sitting day which, in my view , was the earliest opportunity.

Before proceeding to the substance of the question of privilege, I wish to comment briefly on the points of order raised when I sought the advice of other Members. It is important to explain the process which I attempted to follow and which previous Speakers of this House and other jurisdictions consistently follow. When a Member rises on a matter of privilege, the Chair hears the complaint, which should be stated concisely and briefly. If another Member is directly implicated in this matter of privilege, the Chair may permit that Member to make a comment. The role of the Speaker is to determine whether there is a prima facie case of privilege, i.e., whether the matter should have priority of debate (or consideration). The Speaker may seek the advice of other Members on the matter, to assist in determining whether the complaint infringed on the Members’ ability to perform their parliamentary duties. However, other Members may only speak on the question with the leave of the Chair. I thank the Members for their comments.

At this stage, it may be useful to review the nature of parliamentary privilege. Parliamentary privilege relates to the rights and immunities that belong to Parliament, its Members and others, which are essential for the operation of Parliament. These rights and immunities allow the Legislature to meet and carry out its proper constitutional role, allow Members to discharge their responsibilities to their constituents and allow others involved in the parliamentary process to carry out their duties and responsibilities without obstruction or fear of prosecution.

Privileges are generally categorized under five headings which are: freedom of speech, freedom from arrest in civil actions, exemptions from jury duty, exemptions from attendance as a witness, and freedom from molestation. Breaches of privilege involve the protection of the Members from impediments to their functioning as Members of the House.

I cannot find that any of the aforementioned privileges have been affected in the situation described.

Contempts, on the other hand, cannot be enumerated or categorized. Contempts are offences against the authority or dignity of the House. They include situations which cannot specifically be claimed as breaches of the privileges of the House. Contempt is defined in the 22nd edition of Erskine May, Parliamentary Practice, at page 108:

Any act or omission which obstructs or impedes either House in the performance of its functions, or which obstructs or impedes any Member or officer of such House in the discharge of his duty, or which has a tendency, directly or indirectly, to produce such results may be treated as contempt even though there is no precedent of the offence.

It is impossible to categorize what may fall under the definition of a contempt. Generally speaking, actions which, while not breaches of any specific privilege, are offences against the authority or dignity of the House, such as disobedience of its legitimate commands, or libels upon itself, its officers or its Members.

The basis of the Member’s complaint on which I have been asked to rule is the omission of certain financial information which was traditionally contained in the Main Estimates and, which the Member claims, is absolutely necessary for a full and complete debate. The matter relates to the financial procedures of the House and the business of supply.

The financial procedures followed in the Legislative Assembly derive from the British Parliamentary system. Under this system, the government is assigned the responsibility for preparing a compre-hensive budget, proposing how funds shall be spent, and actually handling the use of funds. However, only Parliament, on the recommendation of the Crown, can impose taxes or authorize the spending of public money. All legislation sanctioning expenditure or initiating taxation must be given the fullest possible discussion, both in the House and in committee. This is one of the primary functions of the Legislative Assembly.

The Crown, on the advice of its Ministers, makes the financial requirements of the government known to the House by tabling the Main Estimates, which set out in detail the government’s projected expenditures for the upcoming fiscal year. In this regard, the Crown, subject to any legislative requirements, controls the form in which Estimates are presented to the House. This principle is enunciated in Erskine May’s Parliamentary Practice at page 744:

As the Sovereign is responsible for the presentation of the Estimates, the Crown, acting through its Ministers, controls, subject to the requirements of the Exchequer and Audit Departments Act 1866, the form in which they are presented. That role has devolved on the treasury as the chief financial department, responsible under section 23 of the 1866 Act for the form of the accounts of each spending department...

The Main Estimates provide a detailed listing of the resources required by individual departments and agencies for the upcoming fiscal year in order to deliver the programs for which they are responsible. The document identifies the spending authorities (votes) and the amounts to be included in subsequent Appropriation Bills that the Legislature will be asked to approve to enable the government to proceed with its spending plans.

Marleau and Montpetit’s House of Commons Procedure and Practice, Edition 2000, describes the essential elements of the Main Estimates at page 728:

The Main Estimates provide a breakdown, by department and agency, of planned government spending for the coming fiscal year. The Estimates are expressed as a series of “Votes”, or resolutions, which summarize the estimated financial requirements in a particular expenditure category, such as operations, capital or grants. The Votes are expressed in dollars amounts, the total of which, once agreed to, should satisfy all the budgetary requirements of a department or agency in that category, with the exception of any expenditures provided for under statutory authority. Each budgetary item, or Vote, has two essential components: an amount of money and a destination (a description of what the money will be used for). Should the government wish to change the approved amount or destination of a Vote, it must do so either by way of a “supplementary” Estimate or by way of new or amending legislation.

According to Marleau and Montpetit, the form and content of the Main Estimates in the Canadian House of Commons have been modified on only four occasions since Confederation: in 1938, 1970, 1981 and, most recently in 1997. In each instance, the impetus behind the reforms was a desire to improve the quality and utility of the information provided to Members of Parliament.

In New Brunswick, the form and content of the Main estimates has remained relatively consistent over the years. The comparative data which is not found in the present set of estimates, has traditionally been provided in one form or another since at least the early 1950s.

However, the essential elements that must be contained in the Estimates, namely, the amount of money required for each program or “Vote” and a destination – a description of what the money will be used for – can be found in the 2000-2001 Main Estimates.

The omission of comparative data from the Main Estimates document may constitute a legitimate grievance on the part of Members. However, I do not find that such information constitutes an essential component without which the Members could not carry out their parliamentary duty. Although such information undoubtedly proves valuable in assisting Members to understand and consider the expenditures they are being asked to support, such information can be obtained by other means.

As all Members are aware, there will be a full and open discussion of the estimates in the Committee of Supply, with ample opportunity for all Members to ask detailed questions of Ministers. The comparative and other information that is not contained in the Main Estimates could be requested at that time. In addition, members are free to file a tabling motion in the House.

Accordingly, I find that the matter raised fails to establish a prima facie case of breach of privilege which would merit the setting aside of the regular business on the Order and Notice Paper.

My ruling, however, does not prevent the Member from presenting this matter as a Private Member’s Notice of Motion.


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 24 no 1
2001






Last Updated: 2019-07-15

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

Recherche
AccueilContactez-nousEnglish
Décision des Présidents
Bev Harrison

Présentation du budget principal, le 4 avril 2000, Président Bev Harrison, l’Assemblée législative du Nouveau-Brunswick.

Contexte : Mercredi dernier, j’ai remis à plus tard ma décision sur la question de privilège soulevée par le député de Shediac—Cap-Pelé, Bernard Richard. Dans l’exposé de sa question, le député a avancé que le budget principal déposé à la Chambre le 28 mars ne comporte pas de données comparatives quant aux dépenses de l’année financière précédente et aux équivalents à plein temps pour les deux années, ce qui empêche les parlementaires d’avoir assez d’information pour un débat approfondi et complet, comme le veut la tradition à la Chambre.

Décision du Président Bev Harrison : Le paragraphe 9(2) du Règlement dispose que le Président n’accepte la motion relative au privilège que s’il est convaincu que la question soulevée est de prime abord une violation de privilège et qu’elle a été soulevée à la première occasion. « Première occasion » signifie le moment où le fait contesté se produit ou le jour de séance suivant. Le budget principal a été déposé à la Chambre mardi dernier, et le député a soulevé la question de privilège le jour de séance suivant, ce qui, à mon sens, était la première occasion.

Avant de passer au fond de la question de privilège, je tiens à commenter brièvement les rappels au Règlement faits après que j’ai demandé l’avis d’autres parlementaires. Il importe d’expliquer la démarche que j’ai essayé de suivre et que d’autres Présidents, ici avant moi et ailleurs, suivent régulièrement. Lorsqu’une question de privilège est soulevée, la présidence entend les observations sur le grief, qui doivent être brèves. Un ou une autre parlementaire ayant un lien direct avec cette question de privilège peut sur permission de la présidence, présenter ses observations. Le rôle de la présidence est de déterminer si la question est de prime abord une violation de privilège et, en fait, d’établir si elle doit prioritairement être mise en discussion. La présidence peut demander l’avis d’autres parlementaires à ce sujet, pour l’aider à déterminer si la violation reprochée a nui au ou à la parlementaire dans l’exercice de ses fonctions. Cependant, les autres parlementaires ne peuvent intervenir sur la question qu’avec la permission de la présidence. Je remercie les parlementaires de leurs observations.

À cette étape-ci, il serait peut-être utile de faire un rappel sur la nature du privilège parlementaire. Le privilège parlementaire a trait aux droits et aux immunités qui sont dévolus au Parlement, à ses membres et à d’autres personnes et qui sont essentiels au fonctionnement du Parlement. Ces droits et immunités permettent à l’Assemblée de se réunir et de s’acquitter de son rôle constitutionnel, aux parlementaires de s’acquitter de leurs responsabilités envers les gens de leurs circonscriptions et à d’autres personnes intervenant dans le régime parlementaire de remplir leurs fonctions sans obstruction ni crainte de représailles.

Les privilèges sont généralement classés en cinq catégories : liberté de parole, immunité d’arrestation dans les affaires civiles, exemption de l’obligation de faire partie d’un jury, exemption de l’obligation de comparaître comme témoin et protection contre les tracasseries. Les violations de privilège sont des entraves à l’exercice des fonctions des parlementaires.

Je ne peux conclure que l’un des privilèges mentionnés a été touché dans la situation décrite.

Les outrages, par contre, ne peuvent être énumérés ou répertoriés. L’outrage est une atteinte à l’autorité ou à la dignité de la Chambre. Il comprend les situations où l’on ne peut expressément soutenir qu’il y a eu violation des privilèges de la Chambre. L’outrage est défini ainsi à la page 108 de la 22e édition d’Erskine May’s Parliamentary Practice :

Tout acte et toute omission qui entrave l’une ou l’autre Chambre, un parlementaire ou un fonctionnaire d’une Chambre dans l’exercice de ses fonctions ou qui tend directement ou indirectement à produire ce résultat peut être considéré comme un outrage, même en l’absence d’un précédent à l’égard de l’infraction. [Traduction.]

Il est impossible de répertorier ce qui peut correspondre à la définition d’outrage. En général, il s’agit des actes qui, sans violer un privilège en particulier, portent atteinte à l’autorité ou à la dignité de la Chambre, comme la désobéissance à ses ordres légitimes ou les propos diffamatoires contre la Chambre, ses fonctionnaires ou ses membres.

Le motif de la plainte du député, sur laquelle il m’a été demandé de statuer, est l’omission de certains renseignements financiers qui figuraient habituellement au budget principal et qui, de l’avis du député, sont absolument nécessaires à la tenue d’un débat approfondi et complet. La question a trait à la procédure financière de la Chambre et aux travaux des subsides.

La procédure financière de l’Assemblée législative découle du régime parlementaire britannique. Dans ce régime, le gouvernement est chargé de préparer un budget exhaustif, de proposer l’affectation des dépenses et de s’occuper de l’utilisation effective des fonds. Toutefois, seul le Parlement, sur recommandation de la Couronne, peut instituer des taxes et des impôts ou autoriser des dépenses de deniers publics. Toutes les lois sanctionnant des dépenses ou instituant des taxes ou des impôts doivent faire l’objet de la discussion la plus complète possible, tant à la Chambre qu’en comité. Telle est l’une des fonctions primordiales de l’Assemblée législative.

La Couronne, sur l’avis de ses ministres, fait connaître à la Chambre les besoins financiers du gouvernement en déposant le budget principal, qui présente en détail les dépenses projetées du gouvernement pour l’année financière qui vient. À cet égard, la Couronne, sous réserve de dispositions législatives, décide de la forme dans laquelle les prévisions budgétaires sont présentées à la Chambre. Le principe est énoncé dans Erskine May’s Parliamentary Practice, à la page 744 :

Le souverain étant chargé de la présentation des prévisions budgétaires, la Couronne, par le truchement de ses ministres, règle la forme de ces prévisions, sous réserve de la Exchequer and Audit Department Act 1866. Le rôle est dévolu au Trésor en tant que principal ministère à vocation financière; en application de l’article 23 de la loi de 1866, il est chargé de la forme des comptes de chaque ministère qui engage des dépenses.

Le budget principal énumère en détail les ressources que les ministères et organismes requièrent pour l’année qui vient afin de dispenser les programmes qui sont de leur compétence. Le document indique les autorisations de dépenses – les crédits – et les montants à comptabiliser dans les projets de loi portant affectation de crédits, projets de loi qu’il sera demandé à l’Assemblée d’approuver afin de permettre au gouvernement de réaliser ses plans financiers.

L’édition 2000 de La procédure et les usages de la Chambre des communes, de Marleau et Montpetit, décrit à la page 728 les éléments essentiels du budget principal :

Le Budget principal des dépenses fournit une ventilation, par ministère et organisme, des dépenses gouvernementales prévues pour l’exercice qui vient. Ce budget prend la forme d’une série de « crédits », ou de résolutions, qui résument les besoins financiers estimatifs d’une catégorie particulière comme les dépenses de fonctionnement, les immobilisations ou les subventions. Les crédits sont chiffrés en dollars et ces montants totaux, une fois adoptés, devraient permettre de combler tous les besoins budgétaires d’un ministère ou organisme dans cette catégorie de dépenses, à l’exception des dépenses assumées en vertu d’autres autorisations législatives. Chaque poste budgétaire, ou crédit, comporte deux éléments essentiels : un montant et une destination (une description de l’utilisation qu’on fera de cette somme). Si le gouvernement souhaite modifier le montant ou la destination approuvés pour un crédit, il doit le faire au moyen d’un budget « supplémentaire », d’une nouvelle loi ou d’une loi modificative.

Selon Marleau et Montpetit, la forme et le contenu du budget principal à la Chambre des communes du Canada ont changé à quatre reprises seulement depuis la confédération : en 1938, 1970, 1981 et 1997. Chaque fois, « ces réformes étaient entreprises afin d’améliorer la qualité et l’utilité des renseignements fournis aux parlementaires ».

Au Nouveau-Brunswick, la forme et le contenu du budget principal sont demeurés relativement les mêmes au fil des ans. Les donnés comparatives absentes des prévisions budgétaires de cette année ont habituellement été fournies sous une forme ou une autre depuis au moins le début des années 1950.

Cependant, les éléments essentiels devant figurer dans les prévisions budgétaires, à savoir la somme requise pour chaque programme ou crédit et la destination de la somme, une description des fins qu’elle servira, se trouvent dans le budget principal pour 2000-2001.

L’omission des données comparatives dans le budget principal pourrait susciter un grief légitime pour les parlementaires. Cependant, je ne suis pas d’avis que ces renseignements forment un élément essentiel sans lequel les parlementaires ne pourraient s’acquitter de leurs fonctions. Bien que de tels renseignements soient sans aucun doute précieux pour aider les parlementaires à comprendre et à analyser les dépenses qu’il leur est demandé d’approuver, ils peuvent être obtenus par d’autres moyens.

Comme les parlementaires le savent, les prévisions budgétaires feront l’objet d’une discussion approfondie et ouverte en comité des subsides, et ils auront amplement l’occasion de poser des questions détaillées aux ministres. Les données comparatives et les autres renseignements qui ne sont pas contenus dans le budget principal pourraient être demandés à ce moment-là. En outre, les parlementaires sont libres de proposer à la Chambre une motion portant dépôt.

En conséquence, je conclus que la question soulevée ne constitue pas de prime abord une violation de privilège susceptible de justifier le report des affaires ordinaires inscrites au Feuilleton et Avis.

Ma décision, toutefois, n’empêche pas le député de présenter la question par voie d’avis de motion.


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 24 no 1
2001






Dernière mise à jour : 2020-03-03