Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

Search
HomeContact UsFrançais

PDF
CPA Activities: The Canadian SceneCPA Activities: The Canadian Scene


New Speakers in Manitoba, Saskatchewan and Northwest Territories

On November 18, 1999 George Hickes became the first Manitoba Speaker elected by a secret ballot process. Mr. Hickes is an Inuit, born in the North West Territories, now known as Nunavut, and raised in Churchill, Manitoba. One of 13 children, he grew up with both the traditional Inuit lifestyle and the culture of an industrialized society. His father supported the family both by trapping and hunting and working at Fort Churchill.

Prior to his election as MLA for Point Douglas in the 1990 Manitoba general election, Mr. Hickes was Executive Director of training for the Limestone Training and Employment Agency. He was re-elected as MLA for Point Douglas in 1995 and 1999.

As an opposition member Mr. Hickes was Critic for the departments of Multiculturalism and Co-op Development and was also Caucus Whip.

On December 6, 1999, Ron Osika, Member for Melville, was elected Speaker of the Legislative Assembly of Saskatchewan. Mr. Osika was born in Hafford, Saskatchewan. He grew up and attended school in the Battlefords.

In 1957 he embarked on a 25-year career with the Royal Canadian Mounted Police. During this time he was stationed at various locations in Manitoba and Northwestern Ontario and attained the rank of Staff Sergeant. He was Training Supervisor for Manitoba and Northwestern Ontario when he chose to retire from the Force in 1981.

The same year he was selected from a cross-country search by the Saskatchewan Crop Insurance Corporation as Field Operations Training Supervisor. He became Provincial Manager of Field Operations, moved to Melville in 1987 and eventually was the corporation’s Executive Manager of Corporate Affairs when he left the Corporation in February 1992. Following his departure from the corporation, he became actively involved within the community of Melville and served as a director of the Melville & District Chamber of Commerce.

In 1993 Mr. Osika moved to Fort Qu’Appelle where he joined the staff of the local newspaper and served as President of the Fort Qu’Appelle and District Chamber of Commerce

In February 1995, he won the Liberal nomination in the riding of Melville and was elected to the Legislative Assembly in the June election. In November 1995 he was appointed interim leader of the Liberal Party and Leader of the Official Opposition. In 1996, after the Party elected its leader, he served as Deputy Leader and sat as the Third Party Leader in the Legislature for the duration of the 23rd Session. Mr Osika was re-elected in 1999.

Anthony W. J. (Tony) Whitford was elected Speaker of the 14th Legislative Assembly of the Northwest Territories on January 17, 2000. He was born on June 11, 1941 and raised in Fort Smith. He graduated with a Bachelor of Social Work from the University of Calgary in 1977. Mr. Whitford has an extensive history in community work as a long-term member of Rotary, the Past President of the NWT Canada Day Committee, a Notary Public, Marriage Commissioner and is well-known as a volunteer auctioneer and fundraiser.

Before being elected to the Legislature as the Member for Yellowknife South in a 1988 by-election he was Executive Assistant to then-Commissioner John Parker. He served as a member of the Standing Committee on Finance, Standing Committee on Agencies, Boards and Commissions and the Special Committee on the Northern Economy.

He was returned by acclamation to the 12th Assembly in 1991 and he served as the Minister of Health and Social Services. He was also a Member of the Standing Committee on Agencies, Boards and Commissions, Standing Committee on Legislation, Standing Committee on Rules, Procedures and Privileges and was the Deputy Chair of Committee of the Whole.

Mr. Whitford was not a Member of the 13th Legislature but he continued in public service as Executive Assistant to then-NWT and now Nunavut Commissioner Helen Maksagak. He was also Sergeant-at-Arms for the Assembly for two years and was a member of the Northwest Territories Public Utilities Board.

Mr. Whitford returned to the Legislature as the Member for Kam Lake in December 1999.

17th Canadian Presiding Officer’s Conference

The 17th Canadian Presiding Officers Conference was held in Winnipeg from January 20-23, 2000. The host was Speaker George Hickes of the Manitoba Legislative Assembly. Forty-five delegates, Speakers, Deputy Speakers, other presiding officials, and Table Officers from the Senate, House of Commons and every province and territory were in attendance.

Seven of the nine working sessions featured presentations on matters of mutual interest to the presiding officers. These included:

·         The Intrusion of the Internet into the Functioning of Legislative Assemblies
(Pierre Duchesne, Secretary General of the Quebec National Assembly)

·         The Royal Recommendation: A Case Study of a Ruling
(Gildas Molgat, Speaker of the Senate)

·         The Potential impact of Freedom of Information Legislation on Parliament: The Alberta Experience
(David McNeil, Clerk of the Alberta Legislative Assembly)

·         Points of Order and Privilege (Greg Deighen, Deputy Speaker of the Prince Edward Island Legislative Assembly)

·         Radio Broadcasting of House Proceedings
(Patrick Michael, Clerk of the Yukon Legislative Assembly)

·         Question Period and the New Speaker
(Murray Scott, Speaker of the Nova Scotia Legislative Assembly)

·         Overview of the Partnership of Parliaments and State Legislative Leaders’ Foundation (Ken Kowalski, Speaker of the Alberta Legislative Assembly)

In addition two sessions were devoted to short reports from each of the legislatures on recent procedural developments in their jurisdiction.

New Clerk in Manitoba

The Speaker of the Legislative Assembly and chair of the assembly's Management Commission announced the appointment of Patricia Chaychuk as Clerk of the Assembly, the first woman to hold the position.

The new clerk is a graduate of R.D. Parker Collegiate in Thompson, holds a BA (Honours) from the University of Winnipeg, a master of public administration from the University of Manitoba and is currently a part-time student in the master of business administration program at the Faculty of Management, University of Manitoba.

She has served as legislative clerk assistant and clerk of committees since 1989. “During my nine years in the house, Ms. Chaychuk has not only won my respect,” said Hickes, “but she clearly enjoys the confidence of all members of all parties. I am particularly happy to welcome a fellow northerner to this responsible position.

Ms. Chaychuk succeeds W.H. “Binx” Remnant, who retired in December after 17 years as clerk. She was a legislative intern, premier of the Manitoba Youth Parliament and she completed a one-year training attachment with the House of Commons. Ms Chaychuk is a member of the Association of Clerks-at-the-Table in Canada.


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 23 no 1
2000






Last Updated: 2020-03-03

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

Recherche
AccueilContactez-nousEnglish

PDF
Activités de l’APC : la scène canadienneActivités de l’APC : la scène canadienne


Nouveaux présidents d’assemblée au Manitoba, en Saskatchewan et dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest

Le 18 novembre 1999, George Hickes est devenu le premier président de l’Assemblée manitobaine à être élu au scrutin secret. M. Hickes est un Inuit né dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest, maintenant le Nunavut. Il a été élevé à Churchill, au Manitoba. Il a grandi au sein d’une famille de 13 enfants où se côtoyaient le mode de vie inuit traditionnel et la culture de la société industrialisée. Son père pourvoyait aux besoins de la famille grâce à la chasse et au trappage ainsi qu’à du travail à Fort Churchill.

Avant d’être élu député de Point Douglas aux élections générales manitobaines de 1990, M. Hickes était directeur exécutif de la Formation pour l’agence de formation et d’emploi Limestone. Il a été réélu député de Point Douglas en 1995 et 1999.

Au sein de l’opposition, M. Hickes était porte-parole de son parti pour les ministères du Multiculturalisme et du Développement des coopératives, en plus d’exercer les fonctions de whip du caucus.

Le 6 décembre 1999, Ron Osika, député de Melville, a été élu président de l’Assemblée législative de la Saskatchewan. Né à Hafford, en Saskatchewan, M. Osika a grandi et fréquenté l’école à Battlefords.

En 1957, il a entrepris une carrière qui allait durer 25 ans au sein de la Gendarmerie royale du Canada. Au cours de cette période, il a été affecté à différents endroits du Manitoba et du nord-ouest de l’Ontario et a obtenu le grade de sergent d’état-major. Il était superviseur de la formation pour le Manitoba et le nord-ouest de l’Ontario lorsqu’il a décidé de prendre sa retraite en 1981.

La même année, la Saskatchewan Crop Insurance Corporation l’a recruté comme superviseur de la formation pour les opérations sur le terrain par suite d’une recherche à l’échelle nationale. Il est devenu gestionnaire provincial des opérations sur le terrain, a déménagé à Melville en 1987 et était devenu gestionnaire exécutif aux affaires organisationnelles (Corporate Affairs) lorsqu’il a quitté la société en février 1992. Après son départ, il a œuvré activement au sein de la collectivité de Melville et dirigé la Melville & District Chamber of Commerce.

En 1993, M. Osika a déménagé à Fort Qu’Appelle, où il s’est joint à l’équipe du journal local et présidé la Fort Qu’Appelle & District Chamber of Commerce.

En février 1995, il a remporté la nomination libérale dans la circonscription de Melville et a été élu à l’Assemblée législative lors des élections de juin. En novembre 1995, il a été nommé chef par intérim du Parti libéral et chef de l’opposition officielle. En 1996, après l’élection du chef du parti, il a été chef adjoint et a siégé comme leader du tiers parti à l’Assemblée législative durant la 23e Session. M. Osika a été réélu en 1999.

 

Anthony W.J. (Tony) Whitford a été élu président de la 14e Assemblée législative des Territoires du Nord-Ouest le 17 janvier 2000. Né le 11 juin 1941, il a grandi à Fort Smith.

En 1977, il a obtenu un baccalauréat en service social de l’Université de Calgary. M. Whitford a accompli énormément de travail sur le plan communautaire, à titre de membre de longue date du Rotary, de président
du Comité de la Fête du Canada des Territoires du Nord-Ouest, de notaire public et de commissaire de mariage. Il est aussi bien connu comme collecteur de fonds et commissaire-priseur bénévole.

Avant d’être élu député de Yellowknife South lors d’élections partielles en 1988, il a été adjoint exécutif du commissaire de l’époque, John Parker. Il a été membre du comité permanent des finances, du comité permanent des agences, des bureaux et des commissions ainsi que du comité spécial sur l’économie du Nord.

Réélu par acclamation à la 12e Assemblée lors des élections de 1991, il a été ministre de la Santé et des Services sociaux. Il a aussi été membre du comité permanent des agences, des bureaux et des commissions, du comité permanent de la législation et du comité permanent du règlement, des procédures et privilèges, ainsi que vice-président du comité plénier.

M. Whitford n’a pas été député de la 13e Assemblée, mais il a continué d’exercer des charges publiques en tant qu’adjoint administratif de Helen Maksagak, commissaire des T.N.-O. à l’époque et du Nunavut maintenant. Il a aussi été sergent d’armes de l’Assemblée pendant deux ans et membre de la Régie des services publics des Territoires du Nord-Ouest.

En décembre 1999, M. Whitford a été réélu à l’assemblée comme député de Kam Lake.

17e Conférence des présidents d’assemblée canadiens

La 17e Conférence des présidents d’assemblée canadiens a eu lieu à Winnipeg du 20 au 23 janvier 2000. L’hôte était le président George Hickes, de l’Assemblée législative du Manitoba. Y ont participé des présidents, des vice-présidents, d’autres présidents d’assemblée et des greffiers au bureau du Sénat, de la Chambre des communes et des assemblées de chaque province et territoire.

Au cours de sept des neuf séances de travail, on a donné les exposés suivants sur des sujets d’intérêt mutuel pour les présidents d’assemblée :

  • L’intrusion de l’Internet dans le fonctionnement des Assemblées législatives
    (Pierre Duchesne, secrétaire général de l’Assemblée nationale du Québec)
  • La recommandation royale : étude de cas d’un jugement
    (Gildas Molgat, président du Sénat)
  • Répercussions possibles de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information sur le Parlement : l’expérience de l’Alberta
    (David McNeil, greffier de l’Assemblée législative de l’Alberta)
  • Rappels au Règlement et questions de privilège
    (Greg Deighen, vice-président de l’Assemblée législative de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard)
  • Radiodiffusion des débats de l’Assemblée
    (Patrick Michael, greffier de l’Assemblée législative du Yukon)
  • La période de questions et le nouveau président
    (Murray Scott, président de l’Assemblée législative de la Nouvelle-Écosse)
  • Vue d’ensemble sur le  Partenariat entre parlements  et la  State Legislative Leader’s Foundation 
    (Ken Kowalski, président de l’Assemblée législative d’Alberta)

En outre, on a consacré deux séances à de brefs comptes rendus de chaque assemblée législative sur les éléments nouveaux en matière de procédure.

Nouvelle greffière au Manitoba

Le président de l’Assemblée législative et de la Commission de gestion de l’Assemblée, a annoncé la nomination de Patricia Chaychuk au poste de greffière de l’Assemblée. Elle est la première femme à occuper ce poste.

Entre 1989 et sa nomination, Mme Chaychuk a été greffière législative adjointe et greffière de comités. M. Hickes a déclaré : “ Au cours de mes neuf années à l’Assemblée, Mme Chaychuk a réussi non seulement à m’inspirer le respect, mais aussi à obtenir la confiance de l’ensemble des députés de tous les partis. Je suis très heureux d’accueillir une concitoyenne du Nord à ce poste de responsabilité. ”

Mme Chaychuk remplace W.H. “ Binx ” Remnant, qui a pris sa retraite en décembre après avoir été greffier pendant 17 ans. Elle a été stagiaire parlementaire, première ministère du parlement des jeunes du Manitoba et participante à une affectation de formation d’un an à la Chambre des communes. Mme Chaychuk est membre de l’Association des greffiers parlementaires du Canada.

La nouvelle greffière est diplômée de l’école secondaire supérieure R.D. Parker, de Thompson, et détient un baccalauréat spécialisé de l’Université de Winnipeg et une maîtrise en administration publique de l’Université du Manitoba. Elle étudie actuellement à temps partiel dans le cadre du programme de maîtrise en administration des affaires de la faculté de gestion de l’Université du Manitoba.

 

 

 


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 23 no 1
2000






Dernière mise à jour : 2019-11-29