Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

Search
HomeContact UsFrançais

PDF
CPA Activities: The Canadian SceneCPA Activities: The Canadian Scene


New Speaker in Ontario

Born in Toronto in August 1955, Gary Carr is a graduate of the business administration program at Ryerson Polytechnical Institute. His career includes experience as a sales and marketing manager, a position he held within the transportation industry.

In addition, he played professional hockey in the farm system of the Boston Bruins and Quebec Nordiques for five years. He was a member of the 1975 Memorial Cup champions, Toronto Marlboros.

Mr. Carr was first elected to the Ontario Legislature in September, 1990, as the MPP for Oakville South. He was re-elected again in 1995, and for a third consecutive term in June, 1999, to represent the new riding of Oakville. On October 20, 1999 he was elected as Speaker of the House.

Mr. Carr served as Parliamentary Assistant to the Solicitor General and Minister of Correctional Services from July 1995 until April 1997. He co-chaired the Government's Task Force on Strict Discipline for Young Offenders. While in opposition, he was the PC Party Deputy House Leader and critic for the Ministry of Economic Development and Trade.

Canadian Regional Seminar

The 22nd Canadian Regional Seminar of the CPA was held in  St. John’s Newfoundland from October 21-24, 1999.  The host of the seminar was Lloyd Snow, Speaker of the House of Assembly of Newfoundland and Labrador.

Seminars bring together individuals from across Canada for the discussion of matters related to their common interest as legislators andrepresentatives. Approximately thirty parliamentarians from the Senate, the House of Commons and every province except Ontario were in attendance

The first session, chaired by Erda Walsh, Deputy Chair of Committee of the Whole in British Columbia dealt with the Role of Committees and began with presentations by Rosaire Bertrand and Russell Williams of Quebec.  

The second session featured a presentation about the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association by Bob Speller MP who is one of Canada’s Regional Representatives on CPA.

The next session, chaired by Gerald Smith, Deputy Chair of the Committee of the Whole in Newfoundland, focused on Information Technology in Legislatures.  The topic was introduced by Denis Herard of Alberta.

Myron Kowalski of Saskatchewan chaired the next session on Question Period which featured a presentation by Greg Deighan, Deputy Speaker of Prince Edward Island.

The Speaker of the New Brunswick Legislative Assembly, Bev Harrison, led off the next session on the Balance Between the Legislature and the Executive.  It was chaired by Peter Forbes of New Brunswick.

The only presentation by a non parliamentarian was by Dr. John Fitzgerald of Memorial University who spoke about Newfoundland and Confederation.  The session was chaired by Harvey Hodder of Newfoundland

One of the liveliest sessions dealt with Relations Between Parliament and the Media.  The topic was introduced by Colleen Soetaert of Alberta.  Daryl Reid of Manitoba chaired the session.

The seminar wound up with a presentation on problems related to the Forestry Industry by Brooke Taylor, Deputy Speaker of the Nova Scotia House of Assembly.  The session was chaired by Peter George Dyck of Manitoba.

Aside from the business sessions delegates were exposed to some traditional Newfoundland culture and hospitality which included a performance of “Paddy McGuinty’s Wake” at the Haymarket Square Dinner Theatre.  The closing dinner, hosted by Speaker Snow, showcased local entertainers including the Cantus Vocum Chamber Choir and the Ennis Sisters.

Delegates were unanimous in their praise of Speaker Snow and John Noel, Clerk of the Assembly for putting together such a successful event.  Next summer Newfoundland will be marking 1000 years of European settlement and several persons indicated their intention to return for a longer visit.


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 22 no 4
1999






Last Updated: 2019-11-29

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

Recherche
AccueilContactez-nousEnglish

PDF
Activités de l’APC : la scène canadienneActivités de l’APC : la scène canadienne


Nouveau Président en Ontario

Né à Toronto en août 1955, Gary Carr est diplômé du programme d'administration des affaires du Ryerson Polytechnical Institute. Il a acquis pendant sa carrière une expérience de la vente et du marketing à un poste de gérant qu'il a occupé dans l'industrie du transport.

Il a aussi joué pendant cinq ans au hockey professionnel dans le réseau des clubs-pépinières des Bruins de Boston et des Nordiques de Québec. Il était au nombre des champions de la Coupe Mémorial de 1975, décernée aux Marlboros de Toronto.

M. Carr a été élu pour la première fois à l'Assemblée législative de l'Ontario en septembre 1990, comme représentant d'Oakville-Sud. Il a été réélu en 1995 et pour une troisième fois consécutive en juin 1999 comme député de la nouvelle circonscription d'Oakville. Il a été élu au poste de Président de la Chambre le 20 octobre 1999.

M. Carr a été l'adjoint parlementaire du solliciteur général et ministre des Services correctionnels de juillet 1995 à avril 1997.

Il a coprésidé le Groupe d'étude du gouvernement de l'Ontario sur la discipline stricte et les jeunes contrevenants. Il était, dans l'opposition, le leader parlementaire adjoint du Parti conservateur et porte-parole pour le ministère du Développement économique et du Commerce.

Colloque de la Région du Canada

Le 22e Colloque de la Région du Canada de l'Association parlementaire du Commonwealth a eu lieu à St. John's, à Terre-Neuve, du 21 au 24 octobre 1999. L'hôte de la rencontre était M. Lloyd Snow, président de l'Assemblée législative de Terre-Neuve et du Labrador. Le colloque a été ouvert par le premier ministre Brian Tobin et le chef de l'opposition officielle, M. Edward Byrne.

Les colloques réunissent des particuliers de partout au Canada, qui y discutent de leurs préoccupations communes en tant que législateurs et représentants élus. Quelque trente parlementaires du Sénat, de la Chambre des communes et de toutes les provinces, sauf l'Ontario, ont assisté à celui-ci.

La première séance, présidée par Mme Erda Walsh, vice-présidente du Comité plénier en Colombie-Britannique, portait sur le rôle des comités, et comportait des exposés de la part de MM. Rosaire Bertrand et Russell Williams, du Québec.

Au cours de la deuxième réunion, M. Bob Speller, député fédéral et l'un des représentants de la Région du Canada au sein de l'Association parlementaire du Commonwealth, a présenté un exposé sur l'organisme.

La séance suivante, dirigée par M. Gerald Smith, vice-président du Comité plénier à Terre-Neuve, s'est concentrée sur les technologies de l'information dans les assemblées législatives. C'est M. Denis Herard, de l'Alberta, qui a présenté le sujet.

M. Myron Kowalski, de la Saskatchewan, a présidé la quatrième session, qui portait sur la période de questions. On y a alors entendu un exposé de M. Gref Deighan, vice-président de l'Assemblée législative de l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard.

C'est le président de l'Assemblée législative du Nouveau-Brunswick, M. Bev Harrison, qui a ouvert la réunion suivante, concernant l'équilibre entre les pouvoirs législatif et exécutif. Elle était présidée par M. Peter Forbes, du Nouveau-Brunswick.

Le seul non parlementaire à avoir fait une communication est M. John FitzGerald, de l'Université Memorial, qui a parlé de Terre-Neuve et de la Confédération. La séance s'est déroulée sous la présidence de M. Harvey Hodder, de Terre-Neuve.

L'une des réunions les plus animées a eu pour sujet les rapports entre le Parlement et les médias. La question a été présentée par Mme Colleen Soetaert, de l'Alberta, et c'est M. Daryl Reid du Manitoba qui a veillé au bon déroulement des travaux.

Le colloque s'est conclu par un exposé relatif aux problèmes de l'industrie forestière, fait par M. Brooke Taylor, vice-président de la Chambre d'assemblée de la Nouvelle-Écosse. La réunion était présidée par M. Peter George Dyck, du Manitoba.

À part leurs séances de travaux, les délégués ont pu avoir un aperçu de la culture traditionnelle de Terre-Neuve, lors de la représentation de la pièce Paddy McGuinty's Wake, au théâtre Haymarket Square. Le banquet de clôture, dont l'hôte était le président de l'Assemblée, M. Snow, a aussi donné lieu à une représentation, cette fois de la part du chœur de chambre Cantus Vocum et des Ennis Sisters.

Les délégués ont unanimement loué les efforts du président Snow et de M. John Noel, greffier de la Chambre d'assemblée, grâce auxquels le colloque a obtenu un aussi franc succès. L'été prochain, Terre-Neuve va célébrer le millénaire des peuplements européens, et quelques personnes ont laissé savoir qu'elles en profiteraient pour retourner à l'île et y faire un plus long séjour.


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 22 no 4
1999






Dernière mise à jour : 2020-03-03