Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

Search
HomeContact UsFrançais

PDF
CPA Activities: The Canadian SceneCPA Activities: The Canadian Scene


21st CPA Canadian Regional Seminar

Each year one branch of the Canadian Region of the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association hosts a seminar. This year the 21st seminar was held in Edmonton, from November 20-22, 1998.

About 50 delegates and observers from every jurisdiction except Quebec and British Columbia attended. The seminar was hosted by Speaker Ken Kowalski of Alberta.  Three other Speakers were also in attendance including; John McKay (New Brunswick), Louise Dacquay (Manitoba) and Sam Gargan (Northwest Territories).

The first business session was chaired by Alberta MLA Mike Cardinal and featured a presentation by Michael Percy, a former MLA and presently Dean of the Faculty of Business at the University of Alberta.  His topic was “The Economy – Is it a Soft Landing or a Crash Dive?”

The second business session was chaired by Alberta MLA Gary Dickson and featured a presentation by David Olmstead of the New Brunswick Legislative Assembly.  He spoke on the “Role of the Private Member”.

Howard Sapers MLA chaired the third session which looked at “Private Members’ Business in Alberta”.  The presenters were Don Tannas and Mr. Dickson.  The fourth session was chaired by Alberta MLA Carol Haley. The presenter was John Ostashek, the Leader of the Opposition in the Yukon.  His topic was “Proportional Representation”.

As is usually the case at these seminars much useful information was exchanged outside the formal sessions. Speaker Kowalski and his staff extended traditional Alberta hospitality to everyone in attendance. Next year the Regional Seminar will be held in Newfoundland.

New Federal Branch CPA Chair

On Wednesday November 18, 1998 the Federal Branch of CPA held its annual meeting to elected a a new Chair. Sarmite Bulte, MP was elected to succeed Bob Speller, MP. Mr. Speller remains Canadian Regional Representative at the international level. Arthur Donahoe Secretary-General of the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association was guest speaker at the dinner meeting.

First elected as a Liberal Member of Parliament in 1997 Ms. Bulte represents Parkdale-High Park in the House of Commons. She studied at the University of Toronto and the University of Windsor where she obtained a law degree in 1978.

She has been active in a number of organizations including the International of Women Entrepreneurs of Canada, the Legal Education Action Fund (LEAF) Endowment Committee, the Judy Lamarsh Fund and the Canadian Association of Women Executives and Entrepreneurs.

Since her election she has been a member of the Liberal Task Force on Financial Institutions, the Standing Committee on Canadian Heritage, Chair of the Sub-Committee of International Trade, Trade Disputes and Investment and Chair of the Liberal Caucus Committee on the CRTC.

In November 1998 she led a Canadian Trade and Investment Mission to the Baltic States and was a member of the Canadian delegation to the Women Leaders Network for APEC Economies which was held in Kuala Lumpur.

She is a member of the Canada-United Kingdom Parliamentary Association, the Canada-Europe Parliamentary Association and Chair of the Baltic States Friendship Group.

Speakers’ Conferences

The Canadian Presiding Officers’ Conference will take place in Ottawa from January 7-10, 1999.  It is co-hosted by Speakers Gildas Molgat of the Senate and Gilbert Parent of the House of Commons.  From January 5-8,  the Standing Committee of the Commonwealth Presiding Officers will also be in Ottawa for a meeting to set the agenda for the year 2000 Conference in Australia.  One joint event, a dinner on the evening of January 7, will bring together the Canadian and Commonwealth Presiding Officers.


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 21 no 4
1998






Last Updated: 2020-03-03

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

Recherche
AccueilContactez-nousEnglish

PDF
Activités de l’APC : la scène canadienneActivités de l’APC : la scène canadienne


21e Colloque régional canadien de l’APC

Chaque année, l’une des sections de la Région canadienne de l’Association parlementaire du Commonwealth organise un colloque. C’est à Edmonton, du 20 au 22 novembre 1998, qu’a eu lieu le 21e colloque auquel ont assisté environ 50 délégués et observateurs de la Section fédérale et des provinces et territoires, sauf le Québec et la Colombie-Britannique. L’hôte du colloque était le président Ken Kowalski de l’Alberta. Y assistaient trois autres présidents, à savoir John McKay (Nouveau-Brunswick), Louise Dacquay (Manitoba) et Sam Gargan (Territoires du Nord-Ouest).

Présidée par le député provincial Mike Cardinal, la première séance de travail a commencé par une présentation de Michael Percy, doyen de la Faculté d’administration des affaires de l’Université de l’Alberta et ancien député provincial de l’Alberta, sur le thème suivant : « L’économie va-t-elle atterrir en douce ou s’écraser au sol? »

Présidée par le député provincial de l’Alberta Gary Dickson, la deuxième séance de travail a commencé par une présentation de David Olmstead de l’Assemblée législative du Nouveau-Brunswick, sur le thème suivant : « Le rôle du simple député ».

Présidée par le député provincial Howard Sapers, la troisième séance de travail avait pour thème « Les mesures d’initiative parlementaire en Alberta ». Les présentateurs étaient Don Tannas et M. Dickson. Présidée par la députée provinciale de l’Alberta     Carol Haley, la quatrième séance de travail a commencé par une présentation de John Ostashek, chef de l’Opposition au Yukon, sur le thème suivant : « La représentation proportionnelle ».

Comme c’est habituellement le cas dans ces colloques, on s’est échangé beaucoup de renseignements utiles en dehors des séances de travail. Le président Kowalski et son personnel ont offert à tous les délégués et observateurs la traditionnelle hospitalité de l’Alberta. L’an prochain, le colloque régional se tiendra à Terre-Neuve.

Nouveau président de la Section fédérale de l’APC

Le mercredi 18 novembre 1998, la Section fédérale de l’APC a tenu sa réunion annuelle pour se choisir un nouveau président. La députée Sarmite Bulte a été élue en remplacement du député Bob Speller. M. Speller reste un représentant de la Région canadienne à l’échelle internationale. Le conférencier invité était Arthur Donahoe, secrétaire général de l’Association parlementaire du Commonwealth.

Élue pour la première fois députée libérale en 1997, Mme Bulte représente la circonscription de Parkdale-High Park à la Chambre des communes. Elle a fait ses études à l’Université de Toronto et à l’Université de Windsor où elle a obtenu un diplôme en droit en 1978.

Elle a œuvré au sein de plusieurs organisations dont l’International of Women Entrepreneurs of Canada, le comité de dotation du Fonds d’action et d’éducation juridiques (FAEJ), le Fonds Judy LaMarsh et la Canadian Association of Women Executives and Entrepreneurs.

Outre qu’elle a été membre du Groupe de travail libéral sur les institutions financières, elle fait partie du Comité permanent du Patrimoine canadien et préside le Sous-comité du commerce international, des différends commerciaux et des investissements internationaux ainsi que le Comité du caucus libéral sur le CRTC.

En novembre 1998, elle a mené une mission canadienne de commerce et d’investissement dans les pays baltes et a fait partie de la délégation canadienne au Réseau des femmes chefs de file des économies de l’APEC, dont la réunion a eu lieu à Kuala Lumpur.

Membre de l’Association parlementaire Canada-Royaume-Uni, de l’Association parlementaire Canada-Europe, elle est présidente du Groupe d’amitié Canada-pays baltes.

Conférences des présidents de séance

La Conférence des présidents de séance du Canada aura lieu du 7 au 10 janvier 1999. Elle sera coprésidée par les présidents Gilbert Parent, de la Chambre des communes, et Gildas Molgat, du Sénat. Du 5 au 8 janvier, le Comité permanent des présidents de séance du Commonwealth se réunira à Ottawa pour fixer l’ordre du jour de la Conférence de l’an 2000 en Australie. Dans la soirée du 7 janvier, il y aura un dîner à l’intention des présidents de séance du Commonwealth et du Canada.


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 21 no 4
1998






Dernière mise à jour : 2019-11-29