Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

Search
HomeContact UsFrançais

PDF
Parliamentary Book ShelfParliamentary Book Shelf
Gary O'Brien

Parliamentary Privilege in Canada (Second Edition) by J.P. Joseph Maingot, Q.C., published by House of Commons and McGill-Queen’s University Press, 1997, pp. xxiv, 404

Privilege does not really fit into the traditional definition of parliamentary procedure since it involves legal rights, but there is no doubt that without it, the heritage of parliamentary government with which we in Canada have been blessed would never have been established. Neither the application nor the theory of privilege has remained static since the publication in 1982 of Mr. Maingot’s first edition so this updated version is most welcome.

In the United Kingdom, the Parliamentary Corporate Bodies Act, which allows Parliament to sue and be sued, was adopted in 1992. In that same year, the House of Lords sitting in its judicial capacity relaxed the rule excluding parliamentary material from the courts in the case of Pepper v. Hart. In 1995, the prestigious Commons Committee on Privileges was remodelled as the Committee on Standards and Privileges and in 1996 the effect of article IX of the Bill of Rights of 1689 was altered by the adoption of section 13 of the Defamation Act. All aspects of parliamentary privilege are now subject to review by a Special Joint Committee on Parliamentary Privilege struck in 1997. Its report is expected in the coming months. In Australia, the Parliamentary Privileges Act was adopted in 1987 which, among other subjects, legally defines what is covered by the Bill of Rights’ article IX and protected from the courts.

In Canada, there have also been important developments. In 1991, an amendment to the Parliament of Canada Act was adopted giving the Internal Economies of both Houses exclusive authority to determine whether any use of funds by members was proper. In 1998, the Quebec National Assembly passed a bill entitling a member or a former member to the payment of defence and judicial costs arising out of proceedings brought against them in the performance of their duties. Important jurisprudence was created; for example, the 1985 Reference Re Language Rights in Manitoba in which the courts held that all of Manitoba’s laws after 1870 were invalid because of the failure to use the French language in records, journals and enactments; and MacLean v. the Attorney General of Nova Scotia (1987) where the courts ruled that the legislature may remove, suspend or expel a member with immunity. Privilege has also been the subject of two graduate Canadian university theses: Peter Bernhardt’s The Contempt Power of the House of Commons (1990) and L.M. Lum’s Parliamentary Privilege in Canada (1992).

However, it was the enactment of the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms in 1982 specifying in section 32(1)(a) that it applies to Parliament and provincial legislatures, and the subsequent 1993 Supreme court decision New Brunswick Broadcasting Co. v. Nova Scotia (Speaker of the House of Assembly) which  prompted this second edition. As Mr. Maingot notes, the judgment was the first time in almost a century that the Supreme Court dealt with the issue of parliamentary privilege and the first time that the court had before it a question concerning the Charter and parliamentary privilege.

N.B. Broadcasting v. Nova Scotia is tremendously significant and Mr. Maingot  devotes an entirely new chapter analyzing the decision and speculating on other possible impacts of the Charter on privilege. The decision created a new typology of privileges: those that are constitutionally inherent and those that are not. As to what is a ‘’constitutionally inherent’’ privilege, the court provided a multi-variable test: an overview of history, necessity, pragmatism and deference to other constitutional reality. If the privilege is constitutionally inherent, the court will not intervene through the Charter since one part of the Constitution cannot abrogate another part. The judgment also had to deal with the constitutional status of both the courts and parliament. Because of the preamble to the Constitution, both are independent of each other. Notwithstanding this, the court declared it will decide the extent and scope of privilege and what category of privilege it falls into.

N.B. Broadcasting confirmed that ‘’internal proceedings’’ such as determining the manner by which proceedings should be broadcast, were the exclusive jurisdiction of legislative bodies. However, Mr. Maingot feels that other traditional privileges may not escape the Charter’s reach. Freedom of expression, guaranteed under section 2, may protect a person alleged to have slandered a Member of Parliament. In accordance with section 11(a), a person summoned to appear before a House committee on a matter concerning privilege may henceforth have to be informed of the specific charge. More importantly, Parliament’s penal power without which one U.K. chief justice said the House ‘’would sink into utter contempt  and inefficiency’’ may not be ‘’constitutionally inherent’’ and may infringe section 7, the right to life, liberty and security, and section 8, the right to be secure against unreasonable search and seizure.

N.B. Broadcasting (1993) stands with Kielley v. Carson (1842) as the two most important case law decisions affecting parliamentary privilege in Canada. Kielley v. Carson decided that the pre-Confederation colonial assemblies had only such powers as were reasonably necessary for the proper exercise of its functions as a local legislature. Unlike the U.K. House of Commons, they did not have the power to arrest for contempts which took place outside the assembly. It should be noted that Kielley v. Carson did not come as a surprise, at least to the Upper Canadians. As early as 1815, British law officers had advised that colonial and British privileges were not co-equal. One wonders however if those law officers were not affected by political winds as there was a clear determination by government officials that privilege in British North America was not to develop into as radical a claim as it had in Royal America and so aptly described by Mary Peterson Clarke in Parliamentary Privilege in the American Colonies (New Haven: Yale University Press, 1942). Justice McLaughlin who wrote the majority decision in N.B. Broadcasting noted that the constitutional roots of privilege go back to the Constitution Act 1867’s preamble wherein there is an expressed interest to erect ‘’a Constitution similar in Principle to that of United Kingdom’’. Ironically this same reasoning was used by colonial politicians to define the scope of their privileges. To justify their claim, they pointed to the first speech from the Throne ever given in Upper Canada on September 17, 1792 (in a tiny backwoods building near Niagara Falls) in which Lieutenant Governor John Graves Simcoe declared ‘’I have summoned you together under the authority of an Act of Parliament of Great Britain passed in the last year, which has established the British Constitution and all the forms which secure and maintain it in this distant country’’. What is most significant about pre-Confederation privilege was that its political dimension was more potent that its legal one. It is fair to ask, notwithstanding N.B. Broadcasting, if that still will not remain true today.

Parliamentary Privilege in Canada is a wonderful book tracing interesting themes such as the impact of federalism on privilege, how court decisions have for the most part strengthened privilege, and how narrow are the legitimate claims of privilege (although paradoxically Parliament remains exempt from local liquor laws and visitors to the precincts on days the House is sitting are immune from service of any process). The typographical errors noted in this journal’s review of the first edition (Autumn, 1983) have been corrected. Twenty-seven new references have been added to the bibliography and the table of cases, made much more user-friendly with better spacing and indentation, has been increased from 168 to 199. Unlike the first edition, the English and French versions of the book have been published simultaneously. There is also an improved index. There may be  however a slight misunderstanding on U.K. procedure for papers described on page 70.  A.J. Hastings of the British House of Commons has pointed out that the only Command Papers the House continuously orders to be printed are the Estimates, the annual Financial Statement and certain other financial documents - all the others are printed on the authority of the Crown.  Parliamentary Privilege in Canada is an important contribution to the literature on Parliaments throughout the world and Mr. Maingot is to be congratulated.    

Gary O’Brien
Principal Clerk of Committees Senate of


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 21 no 3
1998






Last Updated: 2018-07-31

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

Recherche
AccueilContactez-nousEnglish
Sur les rayonsSur les rayons
Gary O'Brien

Le privilège parlementaire au Canada (deuxième édition), J.P. Joseph Maingot, c.r., Chambre des communes et les presses universitaires McGill-Queen’s, 1997, xxv, 426 p.

Le privilège ne cadre pas vraiment avec la définition traditionnelle de la procédure parlementaire puisqu’il fait appel à des droits juridiques, mais il ne fait aucun doute que, sans lui, le patrimoine parlementaire que le Canada a reçu en partage n’aurait pas existé. Comme ni la théorie du privilège ni son application ne sont restées figées depuis la publication, en 1982, de la première édition anglaise de l’ouvrage de M. Maingot, cette mise à jour s’imposait.

Au Royaume-Uni, la Parliamentary Corporate Bodies Act, qui permet au Parlement d’intenter des poursuites et d’en faire l’objet, a été adopté en 1992. La même année, la Chambre des lords, formée en cour de justice, a élargi la règle qui empêchait le dépôt de documents parlementaires devant les tribunaux dans l’affaire Pepper c. Hart. En 1995, le prestigieux Comité des privilèges des Communes a été transformé en Comité des normes et privilèges, puis, en 1996, la portée de l’article IX du Bill of Rights de 1689 a été modifiée par l’adoption de l’article 13 de la Diffamation Act. Un comité mixte spécial établi en 1997 peut maintenant examiner tous les aspects du privilège parlementaire. Il devrait d’ailleurs déposer son premier rapport avant la fin de l’année. En Australie, la Parliamentary Privileges Act de 1987 précise, entre autres, ce qui est visé par l’article IX du Bill of Rights et, de ce fait, à l’abri des tribunaux.

Le Canada a aussi connu d’importants changements. En 1991, l’adoption de la Loi sur le Parlement du Canada accordait au Bureau de régie interne de chaque chambre le pouvoir exclusif de décider si l’utilisation des fonds publics par les députés est acceptable. Une mesure législative adoptée par l’Assemblée nationale du Québec en 1998 permet à tout député, même ancien, de se faire rembourser les frais d’avocat et judiciaires lorsqu’il fait l’objet de poursuites liées à l’exercice de ses fonctions. Une jurisprudence considérable s’est constituée; le Renvoi relatif aux droits linguistiques au Manitoba de 1985, par exemple, où les tribunaux ont décidé que toutes les lois adoptées par le Manitoba après 1870 étaient invalides parce qu’on avait omis d’utiliser le français dans les comptes rendus, les journaux et les textes législatifs; et MacLean c. The Attorney General of Nova Scotia (1987) où les tribunaux ont décrété que l’assemblée législative peut destituer, suspendre ou expulser un député qui jouit de l’immunité parlementaire. Le privilège a aussi fait l’objet de deux thèses universitaires au Canada : The Contempt Power of the House of Commons, de Peter Bernhardt (1990), et Parliamentary Privilege in Canada, de L.M. Lum (1992).

Ce sont toutefois l’adoption de la Charte canadienne des droits et libertés en 1982, dont l’alinéa 32(1)a) précise qu’elle s’applique au Parlement et aux assemblées législatives provinciales, et l’arrêt rendu par la Cour suprême en 1993 dans l’affaire New Brunswick Broadcasting Co. c. Nouvelle-Écosse (Président de l’Assemblée législative) qui ont provoqué cette deuxième édition. Comme M. Maingot le signale, c’était la première fois que la Cour suprême se penchait sur la question du privilège parlementaire depuis près d’un siècle, et la toute première fois qu’elle était saisie d’une question associant la Charte et le privilège parlementaire.

L’arrêt rendu dans l’affaire New Brunswick Broadcasting est d’une très grande importance, et M. Maingot consacre tout un nouveau chapitre à son analyse; il émet aussi diverses hypothèses sur les autres incidences que la Charte pourrait avoir sur le privilège parlementaire. Cette décision a donné naissance à une nouvelle typologie des privilèges : ceux qui sont constitutionnellement inhérents et ceux qui ne le sont pas. Pour déterminer si un privilège est « inhérent en vertu de la Constitution », le tribunal a établi un critère comportant plusieurs variables : l’historique, la nécessité, le pragmatisme et la reconnaissance d’autres réalités constitutionnelles. Si le privilège est constitutionnellement inhérent, le tribunal n’interviendra pas en vertu de la Charte, car une partie de la Constitution ne saurait en abroger une autre. La cour devait aussi se prononcer sur le statut constitutionnel tant des tribunaux que du Parlement. Le préambule de la Constitution consacre leur indépendance les uns par rapport à l’autre. Le tribunal a cependant affirmé qu’il lui appartiendra de déterminer l’étendue et la portée du privilège et la catégorie de privilège dont il s’agit.

L’arrêt N.B. Broadcasting confirme que les « débats internes » sur des questions comme la façon dont les délibérations seront diffusées sont de la compétence exclusive des corps législatifs. M. Maingot a toutefois l’impression que d’autres privilèges traditionnels n’échappent pas à la portée de la Charte. Il se peut que la liberté d’expression, garantie par l’article 2, protège une personne qui est accusée d’avoir diffamé un député. À l’avenir, il faudra peut-être, en application du paragraphe 11a), informer les personnes convoquées devant un comité de la Chambre sur une question de privilège de ce dont elles sont accusées. Plus important encore, le pouvoir pénal du Parlement, sans lequel, comme l’a affirmé un juge en chef du Royaume-Uni, la Chambre « sombrerait complètement dans le mépris et l’inefficacité », n’est peut-être pas « constitutionnellement inhérent » et va peut-être à l’encontre de l’article 7 (le droit à la vie, à la liberté et à la sécurité) et de l’article 8 (le droit à la protection contre les fouilles, les perquisitions ou les saisies abusives).

N.B. Broadcasting (1993) et Kielley c. Carson (1842) sont, au Canada, les deux principales décisions judiciaires qui ont trait au privilège parlementaire. Dans Kielley c. Carson, le tribunal a décidé que les pouvoirs des assemblées coloniales d’avant la Confédération se limitaient à ce qui était raisonnablement nécessaire pour bien s’acquitter de leurs fonctions d’assemblée législative locale. Contrairement à la Chambre des communes britannique, ces assemblées n’avaient pas le pouvoir d’arrestation dans les cas d’outrage commis en dehors de l’assemblée. L’issue de l’affaire Kielley c. Carson n’avait d’ailleurs rien d’étonnant, du moins pour le Haut-Canada. Dès 1815, les légistes de la Couronne britannique laissaient entendre que les privilèges coloniaux et britanniques n’étaient pas les mêmes. On peut toutefois se demander s’ils n’étaient pas influencés par les tendances politiques de l’heure, car les autorités gouvernementales étaient bien décidées à éviter qu’en Amérique du Nord britannique le privilège ne dégénère en des revendications aussi radicales qu’en Amérique royale, comme Mary Peterson Clarke le décrit si bien dans Parliamentary Privilege in the American Colonies (New Haven : Yale University Press, 1942). Selon la juge McLaughlin, qui écrit pour la majorité dans N.B. Broadcasting, les racines constitutionnelles du privilège remontent au préambule de la Loi constitutionnelle de 1867 qui annonce l’intention d’établir « une constitution reposant sur les mêmes principes que celle du Royaume-Uni ». Il est ironique que les politiciens de l’époque coloniale aient utilisé ce même raisonnement pour préciser la portée de leurs privilèges. Ils évoquaient, pour étayer leurs revendications, le premier discours du Trône prononcé dans le Haut-Canada le 17 septembre 1792 (dans une cabane au fond des bois près de Niagara Falls) dans lequel le lieutenant-gouverneur John Graves Simcoe affirmait : « Je vous ai convoqué ici en vertu d’une loi du Parlement de la Grande-Bretagne adoptée l’an dernier, qui établit la Constitution britannique et toutes les formes qui la garantissent dans ce pays lointain ». Avant la Confédération, la dimension politique du privilège l’emportait nettement sur sa portée juridique. Il y a tout lieu de se demander, malgré l’arrêt N.B. Broadcasting, si ce n’est pas toujours le cas.

Le privilège parlementaire au Canada est un ouvrage merveilleux qui aborde des thèmes intéressants comme l’impact du fédéralisme sur le privilège, la façon dont les décisions judiciaires ont généralement contribué à renforcer le privilège, et les assises étonnamment étroites des prétentions légitimes au privilège (bien que le Parlement demeure, paradoxalement, soustrait aux lois locales sur la vente d’alcool et que les visiteurs à la Cité parlementaire soient, lorsque la Chambre siège, à l’abri des poursuites). Les coquilles signalées dans la critique de la première édition anglaise parue dans cette revue (automne 1983) ont été corrigées. La bibliographie compte 27 ouvrages de référence de plus et la Table de jurisprudence, beaucoup plus facile à consulter parce que mieux espacée et présentée avec des retraits, a été portée de 168 à 199 entrées. Contrairement à la première édition, les versions anglaise et française ont paru en même temps. Des améliorations ont aussi été apportées à l’index. Les remarques sur les documents dont il est question à la page 72 témoignent peut-être cependant d’une légère méprise quant à la procédure britannique. A.J. Hastings, de la Chambre des communes, britannique nous signale que les seuls documents visés par un ordre d’impression automatique de la Chambre sont les prévisions budgétaires, les états financiers annuels et certains autres documents à caractère financier; tous les autres sont imprimés sur l’ordre de la Couronne. Le privilège parlementaire au Canada est un enrichissement pour la littérature mondiale sur le parlementarisme et il y a tout lieu d’en féliciter M. Maingot.

Gary O’Brien
Greffier principal des comités
Sénat du Canada

 


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 21 no 3
1998






Dernière mise à jour : 2020-03-03