Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

Search
HomeContact UsFrançais

PDF
CPA Activities: The Canadian SceneCPA Activities: The Canadian Scene


Thirty-sixth Regional Conference, Regina

Approximately sixty-five parliamentarians from across Canada, representing a cross section of political parties gathered in Regina from July 12-18 for the 36th Canadian Regional Conference of the Commonwealth parliamentary Association. The host of the Conference was Speaker Glenn Hagel of Saskatchewan. A number of other provincial and territorial Speakers were also in attendance including Ken Kowalski (Alberta), Lloyd Snow (Newfoundland), Sam Gargan (Northwest Territories), Wayne Gaudet (Nova Scotia) and Robert Bruce (Yukon).

Also in attendance was Eric Pickles from the British House of Commons, Emily Saunders, a Member of the Legislative Council of the Turks & Caicos Islands and Andrew Imlach representing the CPA Secretartiat in London. The Conference took place in the Legislative Assembly Chamber where it was officially opened by Saskatchewan Premier Roy Romanow.

Saskatchewan is known for its innovative spirit both in public policy and parliamentary government. This spirit was very much present in the organization of the Conference as well. For the first time proceedings were televised live across the province on the provincial cable network. They were also rebroadcast nationally in both English and French on CPAC.

Another precedent was a professional development workshop led by Lee Morrison on "Political Personalities: Is there a quintessential temperament?" Delegates were asked to fill in a Myers-Briggs questionnaire designed to help them discover and use their strengths, improve communication and understand others.

The first topic for the business session, chaired by Richie Hubbard (Nova Scotia) was "Women Parliamentarians: Is there a Path to a Gender-balanced Parliament?" The lead Speaker was Jane Groenewegen, (NWT). She said the key to attracting more women into politics was to make political life more compatible with family life.

Another session, chaired by Speaker Snow, dealt with "Increasing Public Respect for the Parliamentary Institution: Is it time for more outreach?" The panellists were Speaker Hagel, and LeRoy Johnson, (Alberta). Speaker Hagel outlined the ambitious outreach programme undertaken by his province (See Canadian Parliamentary Review vol. 20 No. 2 Summer 1997 pp. 2-3). Other members discussed what was being done in their jurisdictions.

 

Russell MacNeil, (Nova Scotia) chaired a session on "Devolution of Programme Responsibilities: Community Empowerment or Fiscal Downloading?" The Speakers were Russell Williams (Quebec) and Doug Livingston, (Yukon). It engendered a lively discussion between advocates of a strong central government and those in favour of more powers for provincial governments.

A session on "The Changing Face of the Grain Industry" was chaired by Dan D’Autremont, (Saskatchewan). It featured presentations by Albert Klapstein, (Alberta) and Senator Nick Taylor. The discussion centred around arguments for and against the use of marketing boards and particularly the Saskatchewan Wheat Pool.

 

Pat Duncan (Yukon) chaired the session on the "Role of the Caucus in the Canadian parliamentary system". The panellists were Ray White (Nova Scotia) and Violet Stanger, (Saskatchewan). There was no single model for caucus but many ways were suggested to involve members in the legislative process.

Yves Blais, (Quebec) chaired a session on "Delegated Legislation/Regulations: The weak link of Parliamentary Accountability?" Different aspects of this topic were presented by Elizabeth Weir (New Brunswick) and Sue Olsen (Alberta). Articles based on their presentations appear in this issue of the Canadian Parliamentary Review.

A session entitled "Negotiations on Self-government Arrangements with First Nations" was chaired by Dave Boushy (Ontario) and included presentations by Roy Erasmus, (Northwest Territories) and Eber Hampton (President of the Saskatchewan Indian Federated College).

There was a First Nation’s theme running throughout the Conference. For example, at the opening ceremony Elder Donald Bigknife of the Piapot Reserve offered a Prayer for the Conference. During a visit to Craven in the Qu’Appelle Valley delegates were treated to an evening of First Nations Cultural Performances directed by Boye Ladd of the Hochunk Nation. It including a spectacular Hoop Dance by Preston Pashe of the Dakota Tipi Reserve. Other Dancers represented the Cree, Otoe/Pawnee, and Hidatsa/Arikara Nations.

On the Sunday before the Conference there was an Ecumenical Aboriginal Service led by Christine Hodgson. It included prayers, readings and a "Water Ceremony" Representatives from each Canadian jurisdiction had been asked to bring small samples of their local water. They were called forward one by one to pour the water into a large clear bowl. Samples of the combined water were given to delegates. The remainder was returned to earth in a ceremony outside the legislative building. The pitchers used to pour the water were crafted by former Saskatchewan MLA Anita Bergman who requested that each pourer accept the pitcher as a souvenir of the ceremony.

The social programme included a reception and dinner hosted by J.E.N. Wiebe, the Lieutenant Governor of Saskatchewan. It was followed by a command performance of the historical play The Trial of Louis Riel at the Saskatchewan Centre of the Arts. Delegates were also treated to a trip to Moose Jaw for a rare opportunity to witness a practice by the Canadian Forces Snowbirds. This was followed by a visit to the Western Development Museum with its transportation collection. There was an opportunity to tour a Saskatchewan Wheat Pool elevator and visit a working farm in order to obtain some insight into what is still Saskatchewan’s largest and most important industry.

The organizing committee, headed by Speaker Hagel put together a memorable programme that left all delegates with a favourable impression of Saskatchewan.

Canadian Regional Council

The Council met on July 12 to conduct the business of the Association. Bob Speller, MP was elected to serve on the international executive committee replacing Senator William Petten whose three-year term had expired. The other two regional representatives are Speaker Ken Kowalski of Alberta and Speaker Lloyd Snow of Newfoundland.

The 1998 Regional Conference will be held in Ontario and the following year in Quebec. The Regional Seminar will be in Alberta in 1998 and Newfoundland in 1999. The Presiding Officers Conference will be in British Columbia in January 1998 and in Ottawa the following year.

Quebec Hosts Parliamentary Conference of the Americas

An important event in the field of parliamentary relations took take place from 18 to 22 of September 1997, when the National Assembly of Quebec hosted the Parliamentary Conference of the Americas, a meeting which brought together for the first time in the history of our continent parliamentarians of the two hundred unitary, federal and federate States of the Americas. (See article in Summer 1997 issue of Canadian Parliamentary Review) Participants discussed the issues and impacts of economic integration on the 775,000,000 inhabitants of our hemisphere.

The debates were held in four languages: French, English, Spanish and Portuguese. Speakers discussed various matters relating to the theme "Towards the Americas of the Year 2005: Democracy, Development and Prosperity".


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 20 no 3
1997






Last Updated: 2020-03-03

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

Recherche
AccueilContactez-nousEnglish

PDF
Activités de l’APC : la scène canadienneActivités de l’APC : la scène canadienne


Trente-sixième conférence régionale, à Regina

Environ 65 parlementaires des quatre coins du Canada, échantillon représentatif des divers partis politiques, se sont réunis à Regina du 12 au 18 juillet pour la 36eConférence régionale canadienne de l’Association parlementaire du Commonwealth. L’hôte de la rencontre était Glenn Hagel, président de l’Assemblée législative de la Saskatchewan. Plusieurs autres présidents des assemblées provinciales et territoriales étaient également présents, notamment Ken Kowalski (Alberta), Lloyd Snow (Terre-Neuve), Sam Gargan (Territoires du Nord-Ouest), Wayne Gaudet (Nouvelle-Écosse) et Robert Bruce (Yukon).

On remarquait également la présence d’Eric Pickles, député à la Chambre des communes de Grande-Bretagne, d’Emily Saunders, membre du conseil législatif des Îles Turks et Caicos, et d’Andrew Imlach, qui représente le Secrétariat de l’APC à Londres. Les travaux de la conférence, officiellement ouverts par le premier ministre provincial Roy Romanow, ont eu lieu dans la salle des débats de l’Assemblée législative.

La Saskatchewan est bien connue pour son esprit novateur en matière de politiques publiques et de gouvernement parlementaire. Cet esprit était également tout à fait manifeste dans l’organisation de la Conférence. Pour la première fois, les débats ont été diffusés en direct dans toute la province sur le réseau de télévision par câble. Ils ont aussi été rediffusés, en français et en anglais, à l’échelle du pays, sur CPAC.

Parmi les autres nouveautés, citons l’atelier de perfectionnement professionnel, animé par Lee Morrison, sur le thème « Les personnalités politiques: le tempérament idéal existe-t-il? ». Les délégués étaient priés de remplir un questionnaire Myers-Briggs, conçu pour les aider à découvrir et à utiliser leurs points forts, à améliorer leurs talents de communicateurs et à mieux comprendre les autres.

Le sujet de la première séance de délibération, présidée par Ritchie Hubbard (Nouvelle-Écosse) était « Les femmes parlementaires: l’équilibre des sexes est-il possible au parlement? ». L’oratrice principale était Jane Groenewegen (T.N.-O.). Selon elle, pour attirer davantage de femmes en politique, il faudra rendre la vie publique plus compatible avec les obligations familiales.

Une autre séance, dirigée par le président Snow, portait sur le thème suivant: «Comment accroître le respect du public pour l’institution parlementaire : le moment est-il venu d’intensifier les efforts de sensibilisation? » Le panel se composait du président Hagel et de LeRoy Johnson (Alberta). Le président Hagel a évoqué le programme de sensibilisation très ambitieux qui est mis en œuvre dans sa province (voir la Revue parlementaire canadienne, vol.20, no2, été1997, p.2-3). D’autres participants ont exposé ce qui se faisait dans leurs provinces et territoires.

 

Russell MacNeil (Nouvelle-Écosse) a présidé une séance intitulée «La délégation de la responsabilité des programmes : habilitation communautaire ou transfert du fardeau financier? » Les orateurs étaient Russell Williams (Québec) et Doug Livingston (Yukon). Une discussion fort animée a ensuite eu lieu entre les tenants d’un gouvernement central fort et les adeptes d’une décentralisation des pouvoirs au profit des gouvernements provinciaux.

Une autre séance, qui portait sur l’évolution de l’industrie céréalière, s’est tenue sous la présidence de Dan D’Autremont (Saskatchewan). On y a entendu les communications d’Albert Klapstein (Alberta) et du sénateur Nick Taylor. La discussion a porté sur les avantages et les inconvénients du recours aux offices de commercialisation et, plus particulièrement, du Saskatchewan Wheat Pool.

 

Pat Duncan (Yukon) a présidé la séance sur le rôle du caucus dans le système parlementaire canadien. Le panel se composait de Ray White (Nouvelle-Écosse) et Violet Stanger (Saskatchewan). Il n’existe pas de modèle unique du caucus (ou groupe parlementaire), mais on suggère de nombreuses manières de faire participer les députés au processus législatif.

 

Yves Blais (Québec) a présidé une séance ayant pour titre «La législation par délégation/réglementation: maillon faible de la responsabilité envers le Parlement? » Les diverses facettes de ce problème théorique ont été invoquées par Elizabeth Weir (Nouveau-Brunswick) et Sue Olsen (Alberta). On trouvera dans le présent numéro de la Revue parlementaire canadienne des articles s’inspirant de leurs exposés.

Une séance intitulée « Les négociations avec les Autochtones sur les ententes d’autonomie gouvernementale » a été présidée par Dave Boushy (Ontario). On y a entendu les communications de Roy Erasmus (Territoires du Nord-Ouest) et Eber Hampton (président du Saskatchewan Indian Federated College).

La question des premières nations a été l’un des fils conducteurs de toute la Conférence. Par exemple, au cours de la cérémonie d’ouverture, l’aîné Donald Bigknife, de la réserve Piapot, a prononcé une prière pour la réussite de la Conférence. Après s’être rendus à Craven, dans la vallée de la Qu’Appelle, les délégués ont assisté à une représentation culturelle des premières nations, sous la direction de Boye Ladd de la nation Hochunk. Preston Pashe, de la réserve Dakota Tipi, y a exécuté une danse du cerceau spectaculaire. Les autres danseurs représentaient les nations crie, otoe/pawnee et hidatsa/arikara.

Le dimanche, avant la Conférence, Christine Hodgson a présidé un service autochtone œcuménique comportant des prières et des lectures, ainsi qu’une «cérémonie de l’eau» où des représentants de toutes les provinces et territoires ont été priés de présenter un pichet contenant de l’eau provenant de leur région et de la verser tour à tour dans un vaste récipient transparent. Chaque délégué a reçu un échantillon de cette eau. Le reste a été rendu à la terre, lors d’une cérémonie qui s’est tenue à côté du bâtiment de l’Assemblée législative. C’est une ex-députée de la Saskatchewan, MmeAnita Bergman, qui avait réalisé les pichets. Elle en a fait don à chacun des verseurs.

Parmi les activités sociales, on peut citer une réception et un dîner offerts par le lieutenant-gouverneur de la Saskatchewan, J.E.N. Wiebe, ainsi qu’une représentation spéciale de la pièce historique intitulée Le procès de Louis Riel, au Saskatchewan Centre of the Arts. Un voyage à Moose Jaw a donné aux participants la rare occasion d’assister à un exercice des Snowbirds, des Forces canadiennes. Les invités ont pu ensuite visiter le Western Development Museum, qui contient une collection de véhicules historiques. Ils ont également eu la possibilité d’aller voir un élévateur du Saskatchewan Wheat Pool et de visiter une exploitation agricole, afin d’observer de près les activités d’une industrie qui demeure la première de la province hôtesse.

Le comité organisateur, sous la direction du présidentHagel, avait préparé un programme mémorable grâce auquel tous les délégués ont gardé une bonne impression de la Saskatchewan.

Conseil de la Région du Canada

Le Conseil s’est réuni le 12juillet pour expédier les affaires courantes de l’Association. Bob Speller, député fédéral, a été élu en tant que membre du comité exécutif international, en remplacement du sénateurWilliam Petten, dont le mandat de trois ans est expiré. Les deux autres représentants régionaux sont le président Ken Kowalski, de l’Alberta, et le président Lloyd Snow, de Terre-Neuve.

La Conférence régionale se tiendra en Ontario en 1998 et au Québec en 1999.

Le Colloque régional de 1998 aura lieu en Alberta et celui de 1999 à Terre-Neuve. La Conférence des présidents de séance aura lieu en Colombie-Britannique en janvier1998 et à Ottawa l’année suivante.

Le Québec accueille la Conférence parlementaire des Amériques

Sur le plan des relations interparlementaires, un important événement a eu lieu du 18 au 22 septembre 1997 : l’Assemblée nationale du Québec a accueilli la Conférence parlementaire des Amériques, qui a réuni pour la première fois dans l’histoire de notre continent des parlementaires des quelque deux cents États unitaires, fédéraux et fédérés des Amériques. (Lire l’article paru dans le numéro d’été 1997 de la Revue parlementaire canadienne.) Les incidences et les enjeux de l’intégration économique des Amériques sur les quelque 775 millions d’habitants de l’hémisphère ont été au cœur des discussions.

Les délibérations se sont déroulées en quatre langues (français, anglais, espagnol et portugais). Des conférenciers ont abordé diverses questions relatives au thème « Vers les Amériques de 2005 : démocratie, développement et prospérité ».

 


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 20 no 3
1997






Dernière mise à jour : 2020-03-03