Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

Search
HomeContact UsFrançais

PDF
Parliamentary book ShelfParliamentary book Shelf
Gary Levy

Parliamentary Practice in British Columbia (3rd Edition) by E. George MacMinn, Queen’s Printer: Victoria, B.C., 1997, 376 pages

The Canadian census is decennial and so too, it appears, is the updating of Parliamentary Practice in British Columbia. Neither is going to be read cover to cover, yet both are sure to be invaluable research tools.

Like its predecessor published in 1987 this is basically an annotated discussion of the Standing Orders of the British Columbia Legislative Assembly starting with Standing Order 1 and proceeding to Standing Order 120.

The book is divided into twelve chapters. The first eleven cover such things as regulation and management of the House, committees, petitions, questions, notice and unanimous consent, privilege and so on. Only two of these chapters, the rules of debate and proceedings on public bills begin with an introduction. The others jump right into the standing orders.

The last chapter entitled Officers of the House is organized somewhat differently. It is divided into several parts including private bills, the legislative library and the recording of debate. There is a non technical introduction to each. This approach makes the book easier to read and consideration should be given to extending introductions to all chapters in the next edition.

At the end of the book one finds ten "Practice Recommendations" relating to various standing orders. Although there is no explanation as to the status or origin of these one assumes they are guidelines intending to clarify certain aspects of the Standing Orders.

For example Practice Recommendation 7 states that "A Member wishing to raise a question of privilege should, as a matter of courtesy, give the Speaker notice in writing within a reasonable time before raising the matter in the House." This relate to Standing Order 26 which says "Whenever any matter of privilege arises it shall be taken into consideration immediately.

One wonders why such seemingly innocuous practice recommendations were not incorporated into the Standing Orders. There may be an interesting story here but the reader is left in the dark.

The book also includes eight appendices including two Summaries of Amendments to Standing Orders. One is from 1930 - 1984. The other, for the years 1986-1996, has the changes shown in bold type. It is interesting to note how Standing Order 1 was amended. It clarified that in unprovided cases the customs and precedents of first the British Columbia House and second the House of Commons of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland should be followed as far as they may be applicable. The rules and practices of the Canadian House of Commons which were not mentioned before the amendment are still not mentioned! One wonders if this has more to do with "western alienation" than with good procedure.

In the appendices there is also a copy of the BC Constitution Act, and the Legislative Assembly Privilege Act. The most interesting appendix is on matters ruled breach of privilege. Thirteen examples of breaches of privilege are drawn from British Columbia and other Commonwealth Parliaments including Canada. Other examples that have been found not to be breaches of privilege are also included.

While it is easy to see the usefulness of such an Appendix to presiding officers and table officials, the same cannot be said for the Appendix on "Closure of Debate in the New Zealand House of Representatives." There does not seem to be anything particularly unique in the two dozen short extracts from debates some of which go back to 1931. Nor is there enough context to get an idea of the issue under discussion. It is a shame that an important issue like closure is treated in this curious way.

Gary Levy
Editor


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 20 no 3
1997






Last Updated: 2020-03-03

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

Recherche
AccueilContactez-nousEnglish
Sur les rayonsSur les rayons
Gary Levy

E. George MacMinn, Parliamentary Practice in British Columbia (3e édition), Victoria (C.-B.), Queen’s Printer, 1997, 376 p.

Tout comme celles du Recensement canadien, les rééditions de Parliamentary Practice in British Columbia semblent revenir immuablement tous les dix ans. Ces documents que personne, sans doute, ne lit d’une couverture à l’autre n’en sont pas moins des outils de recherche irremplaçables.

Cet ouvrage, comme son prédécesseur paru en 1987, est essentiellement constitué d’une discussion annotée du règlement de l’Assemblée législative de la Colombie-Britannique, dont il passe les 120 articles en revue, du premier au dernier.

Le volume est partagé en douze chapitres. Les onze premiers portent sur la réglementation et la gestion de la chambre, des comités, des pétitions, des questions, des avis, du consentement unanime, de l’immunité parlementaire, etc. Parmi ces chapitres, deux seulement, qui portent respectivement sur les règles de procédure et les modalités d’examen des projets de loi d’intérêt public, sont précédés d’une introduction avant de plonger dans le traitement des articles du règlement proprement dits.

Le dernier chapitre, qui concerne les dignitaires de la chambre, est structuré différemment. Il est divisé en plusieurs parties, qui traitent par exemple des projets de loi d’intérêt privé, de la bibliothèque du parlement ou encore de la consignation des débats. La plupart des parties sont précédées d’une description non technique. Cette présentation facilite la lecture, et il serait peut-être bon de la reproduire dans tous les chapitres lors de la prochaine édition.

À la fin de l’ouvrage, le lecteur trouvera une liste de dix recommandations de pratique concernant le règlement. Quoique l’origine ou la valeur contraignante de ces préceptes ne soit pas expliquée, on suppose qu’il s’agit de lignes directrices visant à préciser certains aspects du règlement.

Par exemple, la recommandation no 7 précise que « tout député désirant soulever une question de privilège doit, pour des motifs de courtoisie, en donner préavis par écrit au président de la chambre raisonnablement à l’avance ». D’ailleurs, l’article 26 du règlement dit déjà que, lorsqu’une question de privilège est soulevée, elle doit être prise en considération immédiatement.

On se demande pourquoi ces recommandations de pratique, en apparence inoffensive, n’ont pas été intégrées dans le texte même du règlement. Il y a sans doute une histoire intéressante derrière tout cela, mais le lecteur est laissé dans l’ignorance.

L’ouvrage comporte aussi huit annexes, y compris un sommaire des modifications apportées au règlement de la chambre entre 1930 et 1984, et un autre pour les années 1986 à 1996, les changements étant signalés par des caractères gras. Fait intéressant à souligner, l’article 1 a été modifié de manière à préciser que, dans les cas non prévus au règlement, la coutume et la jurisprudence d’abord de la chambre des députés de la Colombie-Britannique et, en deuxième lieu, de la Chambre des communes du Royaume-Uni de Grande-Bretagne et d’Irlande du Nord devaient prévaloir, dans la mesure où elles s’appliquent. Les règles et pratiques de la Chambre des communes du Canada ne sont pas mentionnées! On se demande si cette situation découle davantage du «sentiment d’aliénation de l’Ouest» que d’une bonne procédure.

Les annexes contiennent également le texte de la BC Constitution Act et celui de la Legislative Assembly Privilege Act. L’annexe la plus intéressante porte sur les questions d’atteinte au privilège et présente treize cas puisés dans l’histoire de l’assemblée de la Colombie- Britannique et d’autres parlements du Commonwealth, dont celui du Canada. Vingt-deux autres exemples de cas où l’on a jugé qu’il n’y avait pas eu violation sont cités également.

Une annexe de ce genre peut certes rendre de grands services aux présidents et aux responsables du bureau de n’importe quelle assemblée législative. On ne peut pas en dire autant, toutefois, du chapitre concernant la clôture des débats à la chambre des représentants de Nouvelle-Zélande. Rien, en effet, ne semble particulièrement digne de mention dans ces deux douzaines de courts extraits de comptes rendus, dont certains remontent à 1931. Le contexte fait aussi défaut ici. Il est dommage qu’une question aussi importante que celle de la clôture des débats soit traitée de façon aussi bizarre.

Le directeur

 

Gary Levy


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 20 no 3
1997






Dernière mise à jour : 2020-03-03