Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

Search
HomeContact UsFrançais

PDF
CPA Activities: The Canadian SceneCPA Activities: The Canadian Scene


Presiding Officers Conference

The 14th Conference of Canada’s Presiding Officers was held in Edmonton January 23 to 25, 1997. The Conference was hosted by the Speaker of the Alberta Legislative Assembly Stanley Schumacher and attended by 19 Speakers, Deputy Speakers and assistant presiding officers from jurisdictions across Canada. A number of Table Officers also attended.

Among the Presiding Officers in attendance were Speaker Gilbert Parent and David Kilgour (House of Commons), Speaker Louise Dacquay and Marcel Laurendeau (Manitoba); Percy Barrett (Newfoundland); Speaker Danny Gay and Greg O’Donnell (New Brunswick); Jane Groenewegen (NWT); Francene Cosman and Dennis Richards (Nova Scotia); Speaker Wilbur MacDonald and Greg Deighan (PEI); Speaker Jean-Pierre Charbonneau and Claude Pinard (Quebec); Speaker Glenn Hagel, Dale Flavel and Kim Trew (Saskatchewan); Speaker Gildas Molgat (The Senate) and Speaker Robert Bruce (Yukon).

The business sessions included three round table discussions devoted to "Developments in Jurisdictions" Provinces were given 7 minutes each to outline the situation in their legislature.

There were also a number of formal presentations including one by Speaker Hagel on "Outreach Programs – Educational Initiatives by the House". Other presentations were by Robert Marleau, Clerk of the House of Commons on "Management of Question Period", by Robert Vaive, Clerk Assistant of British Columbia on "Relations between Speakers and Deputy Speakers", Patrick Michael, Clerk of the Yukon on "Designation of Official Opposition" and Mark Audcent, Law Clerk and Parliamentary Counsel of the Senate on "The Limits of Privilege: Jurisdiction of Outside Investigatory Agencies with respect to an Assembly and its Members".

As is usually the case a great deal of useful information about the role of presiding officers was exchanged outside of the formal sessions. Next year the Conference will be held in British Columbia.


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 20 no 1
1997






Last Updated: 2018-07-31

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

Recherche
AccueilContactez-nousEnglish
Activités de l’APC : la scène canadienneActivités de l’APC : la scène canadienne


Conférence des présidents d'assemblée

La 14e Conférence des présidents d’assemblées du Canada s’est tenue à Edmonton, du 23 au 25 janvier 1997. Le président de l’Assemblée législative de l'Alberta, Stanley Schumacher, a été l’hôte de cette conférence qui a réuni 19 présidents, vice-présidents et présidents adjoints de tout le Canada. Un certain nombre de greffiers au Bureau étaient également présents.

Parmi les présidents d’assemblée présents, notons le Président Gilbert Parent et David Kilgour (Chambre des communes), la Présidente Louise Dacquay et Marcel Laurendeau (Manitoba); Percy Barrett (Terre-Neuve); le Président Danny Gay et Greg O’Donnell (Nouveau-Brunswick); Jane Groenewegen (Territoires du Nord-Ouest); Francene Cosman et Dennis Richards (Nouvelle-Écosse); le Président Wilbur MacDonald et Greg Deighan (Île-du-Prince-Édouard); le Président Jean‑Pierre Charbonneau et Claude Pinard (Québec); le Président Glenn Hagel, Dale Flavel et Kim Trew (Saskatchewan); le Président Gildas Molgat (Sénat du Canada) et le Président Robert Bruce (Yukon).

Les séances de travail comprenaient trois tables rondes consacrées à l’évolution des de compétences. Chaque province disposait de sept minutes pour décrire la situation au sein de son assemblée.

Des exposés ont également été présentés, dont celui du Président Hagel sur les programmes pédagogiques et autres mesures éducatives de la Chambre. Parmi les autres exposés, notons ceux de Robert Marleau, greffier de la Chambre des communes, sur la gestion de la période des questions; de Robert Vaive, greffier adjoint de l’Assemblée de la Colombie-Britannique, sur les rapports entre les présidents et les vice-présidents; de Patrick Michael, greffier de l’Assemblée du Yukon, sur la désignation de l’Opposition officielle; et de Mark Audcent, légiste et conseiller parlementaire du Sénat, sur les limites du privilège parlementaire et sur la compétence des organismes d’enquête externes à l’égard de l’Assemblée et de ses députés.

Comme c’est habituellement le cas, les participants ont profité des périodes entre les séances de travail pour échanger beaucoup d’information utile sur le rôle des présidents d’assemblée. L’an prochain, la Conférence aura lieu en Colombie-Britannique.


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 20 no 1
1997






Dernière mise à jour : 2020-03-03