Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

Search
HomeContact UsFrançais

PDF
Speaker's Ruling
Chris Stockwell

Government Advertising, Speaker Chris Stockwell, Ontario Legislative Assembly, January 22, 1997.

Background: On January 14 and 15, 1997, the member for Algoma (Mr Wildman) and the member for Oakwood (Mr Colle) rose on separate questions of privilege to express concerns about the government’s recent use of electronic and print media to communicate its agenda and about its use of public funds to do so. Specifically the member for Algoma expressed concerns about television commercials in which the Premier spoke to the government’s forthcoming reform agenda. The member for Oakwood was concerned about a pamphlet issued by the Minister of Municipal Affairs and Housing. The pamphlet dealt with the government’s program for reforming municipal governance in Metropolitan Toronto. Both members indicated that the advertising occurred in advance of consideration by the House of legislative measures that would be necessary to implement the reform agenda and in advance of public hearings on these measures. They asked the Speaker to determine whether this advertising affected members’ privileges and whether it was contempt. Further, on January 20, 1997, the member for Algoma raised a separate but related concern. According to the member, the Minister of Municipal Affairs and Housing had issued a press release on the previous Monday announcing the government’s intention to realign the responsibilities of provincial and municipal governments. The member submitted that the wording of the press release had the effect of relating the television advertisements to the legislation that the minister was introducing.

 

The Ruling (Speaker Chris Stockwell): Let me begin my response to these concerns by referring to the relevant parliamentary authorities on privilege. Standing order 21(a) provides that "Privileges are the rights enjoyed by the House collectively and by the members of the House individually conferred by the Legislative Assembly Act and other statutes, or by practice, precedent, usage and custom." Examples of individual privilege are freedom of speech, freedom from arrest in civil actions, exemption from jury duty, exemption from attendance as a witness and freedom from molestation.

Although it is not clear from the submissions made by the member for Algoma and the member for Oakwood which specific head of privilege they felt was being breached, I indicated last week that I would look into the matter. In my researches I found an October 29, 1980, ruling by Speaker Sauvé of the Canadian House of Commons, a ruling that dealt with concerns about the propriety of an advertising campaign initiated by the government of Canada. In ruling that there was no prima facie case of privilege, Speaker Sauvé stated: "There must...be some connection between the material alleged to contain the interference and the parliamentary proceeding. In this regard, there is little, if any, evidence before me relating either the documents or the advertising campaign to a parliamentary proceeding."1

In light of Speaker Sauvé’s ruling, and after examining all the circumstances, I find that a prima facie case of privilege has not been made out with respect to the concerns raised by the member for Algoma and the member for Oakwood. The television commercials, the ministry pamphlet and the ministry press release do not attempt by improper means to influence members in their parliamentary conduct and do not impede freedom of speech in this place, nor do they relate to a parliamentary proceeding.

The member for Algoma and the member for Oakwood also asked the Speaker to determine whether the same circumstances amounted to contempt. Erskine May explains the concept of contempt in the following terms:

Generally speaking, any act or omission which obstructs or impedes either House of Parliament in the performance of its functions, or which obstructs or impedes any member or officer of such House in the discharge of his duty, or which has a tendency, directly or indirectly, to produce such results may be treated as contempt even though there is no precedent of the offence. It is therefore impossible to list every act which might be considered to amount to a contempt, the power to punish for such an offence being of its nature discretionary....

Indignities offered to the House by words spoken or writings published reflecting on its character or proceedings have been constantly punished by both the Lords and the Commons upon the principle that such acts tend to obstruct the Houses in the performance of their functions by diminishing the respect due to them....Other acts besides words spoken or writings published reflecting upon either House or its proceedings which, though they do not tend directly to obstruct or impede either House in the performance of its functions, yet have a tendency to produce this result indirectly or by bringing such House into odium, contempt or ridicule or by lowering its authorities may constitute contempts.2

I want to say to members that I have also reviewed two important rulings mentioned by the member for Algoma last week. The first ruling was by Speaker Fraser in the Canadian House of Commons on October 10, 1989.

The situation that Speaker Fraser was faced with was as follows: The Department of Finance had caused to be published an advertisement that stated that "on January 1, 1991, Canada’s federal sales tax system will change" and that a goods and services tax "will replace the existing federal sales tax." The advertisement then outlined specific proposed changes.

After assessing the situation from the perspective of privilege, Speaker Fraser proceeded to assess it from the perspective of contempt. In the course of ruling that there was no prima facie case for breach of privilege or for contempt, he identified the differences between the two in the following terms:

All breaches of privilege are contempts of the House, but not all contempts are necessarily breaches of privilege. A contempt may be an act or an omission; it does not have to actually obstruct or impede the House or a member; it merely has to have the tendency to produce such results. Matters ranging from minor breaches of decorum to grave attacks against the authority of Parliament may be considered as contempts.3

In ruling that there was no case for contempt, Speaker Fraser appears to have accepted the submissions of government ministers that the government had never intended the advertisements in question to be anything more than "informational" and that it had never been the government’s intention to suggest that legislation would not be submitted to Parliament for debate.".

The member for Algoma also referred to a March 28, 1994, ruling of Speaker Warner in our own House. In that case, the government had caused an open letter to be published in newspapers in the Ottawa-Carleton area. The letter, which appeared under the signature of the Minister of Municipal Affairs, could be interpreted as suggesting that a bill that had only received first reading would become law by a specified time. After reviewing Speaker Fraser’s ruling and two precedents from our own House, Speaker Warner indicated that a prima facie case had not been established.

Let me now turn to the application of these authorities to the impugned advertising. With respect to the television commercial and the ministry press release mentioned by the member for Algoma, I am of the view that they do not raise a prima facie case of contempt. On the contrary, the commercial does nothing more than explain in a simple and general way the government’s philosophy and its broad reform agenda. As for the press release, it is worded in an innocuous way.

However, I am very concerned by the ministry pamphlet, which was worded more definitely than the commercial and the press release. To name but a few examples, the brochure claims that "new city wards will be created," that "work on building the new city will start in 1997," and that "the new city of Toronto will reduce the number of municipal politicians."

How is one to interpret such unqualified claims? In my opinion, they convey the impression that the passage of the requisite legislation was not necessary or was a foregone conclusion, or that the assembly and the Legislature had a pro forma, tangential, even inferior role in the legislative and lawmaking process, and in doing so, they appear to diminish the respect that is due to this House. I would not have come to this view had these claims or proposals – and that is all they are – been qualified by a statement that they would only become law if and when the Legislature gave its stamp of approval to them.

In the two rulings I have referred to, Speaker Fraser in Ottawa and Speaker Warner in our own House had some strong words for ministers or the government of the day on the subject of government advertising.

Speaker Fraser stated he would not be as generous in future in a similar situation and that, "we are a parliamentary democracy, not a so-called executive democracy, nor a so-called administrative democracy." Speaker Warner stated "that this action has come very close to contempt, and in the future the minister should exercise more caution and exhibit greater respect for the proprieties of this House."

Considering the fact that Speaker Warner issued this very stern warning to the very ministry that I am dealing with today, I would consider this ministry to have been given fair warning.

It is not enough for yet another Speaker to issue yet another warning or caution in circumstances where the wording and circulation of the pamphlet appear on their face to cross the line. I say in all candour that a reader of that document could be left with an incorrect impression about how parliamentary democracy works in Ontario, an impression that undermines respect for our parliamentary institutions.

For these reasons then, I find that a prima facie case of contempt has been established. At the end of this ruling, I will entertain a motion with respect to the matter of the ministry pamphlet raised by the member for Oakwood.

On a separate but related matter, the member for St. Catharines (Mr Bradley) expressed concerns on Tuesday of last week about the unequal access to advertising resources as between the government and the opposition. He asked whether the Speaker had any jurisdiction to restrict the government from disseminating allegedly self-serving, partisan advertising.

At this point in my ruling, I want to express some personal concerns about the propriety of public funds being used to advocate, through advertising, a particular position on a matter that is before the House. Let me be clear: I am not speaking here about politically paid for advertising, but rather about funds that are contributed to by every Ontarian, regardless of his or her political view. Personally, I would find it offensive if taxpayer dollars were being used to convey a political or partisan message. There is nothing wrong with members debating an issue and influencing public opinion; in fact, it is part of our parliamentary tradition to do so. But I feel that it’s wrong for a government to attempt to influence public opinion through advertising that is paid for with public funds which, I might add, are not available to the opposition – instead of through debate in the House.As I say, these are my personal views. While I sympathize with the member for St. Catharines, I do not have the jurisdiction to examine the propriety of such campaigns unless they raise a matter of privilege or contempt, a subject I have already addressed.

In his submission, the member for St. Catharines also made mention of the Board of Internal Economy. If the member wishes to place some kind of request before the board, he is free to do so and the board can address such of his concerns as fall within its jurisdiction.

 

Notes

1. House of Commons, Debates, October 29, 1980, pp. 4213-14.

2. See Erskine May, The Law, Privileges, Proceedings and Usages of Parliament, 21st Edition (London: Buttterworths, 1985), pp. 115, 121, 124-5.

3. House of Commons, Debates, October 10, 1989, pp. 4457-4461.


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 20 no 1
1997






Last Updated: 2019-11-29

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

Recherche
AccueilContactez-nousEnglish
Décision d’un président
Chris Stockwell

La Publicité gouvernementale, Président Chris Stockwell, Assemblée législative de l’Ontario, le 22 janvier 1997.

Contexte : Les 14 et 15 janvier 1997, les députés d’Algoma (M. Wildman) et d’Oakwood (M. Colle) ont soulevé chacun pour sa part la question de privilège au sujet de l’utilisation que le gouvernement a faite récemment de la presse écrite et parlée pour communiquer son programme et de l’utilisation des deniers publics à cette fin. Le député d’Algoma a émis des réserves au sujet des publicités télévisées où le premier ministre parlait des projets de réforme de son gouvernement. Le député d’Oakwood trouva à redire, quant à lui, à la brochure que le ministre des Affaires municipales et du Logement a publiée sur le projet de réforme de l’administration municipale du Grand Toronto. Les deux députés firent remarquer que les publicités ont paru avant l’étude par l’Assemblée des mesures législatives nécessaires à la mise en oeuvre des projets de réforme et avant les audiences publiques sur ces mesures. Ils demandèrent au Président de déterminer si ces publicités portent atteinte aux privilèges des députés et si elles constituent un outrage à l’Assemblée. En outre, le 20 janvier 1997, le député d’Algoma a porté à l’attention du Président une affaire distincte mais connexe. Selon le député, le ministre des Affaires municipales et du Logement avait publié le lundi précédent un communiqué où il annonçait que le gouvernement avait l’intention de remanier les responsabilités des autorités provinciales et municipales. Le député estimait que le communiqué avait pour effet de rattacher les publicités télévisées au projet de loi que déposait le ministre.

Décision du Président Chris Stockwell : Permettez-moi d’abord de citer les sources parlementaires relatives au privilège. L’alinéa 21a) se lit comme suit : « Les privilèges sont les droits dont jouissent la Chambre collectivement et les députés individuellement et qui leur sont conférés par la Loi sur l’Assemblée législative et d’autres lois ainsi que par les pratiques, les précédents, les usages et les coutumes. » Parmi les privilèges individuels, mentionnons la liberté de parole, l’immunité d’arrestation en matière civile, l’exemption de l’obligation de faire partie d’un jury ou de comparaître comme témoin et la protection contre les mauvais traitements.

Bien que les députés d’Algoma et d’Oakwood n’aient pas précisé le privilège qu’ils estimaient avoir été violé, j’ai indiqué la semaine dernière que j’examinerais la question. Au cours de mes recherches, j’ai trouvé une décision en date du 29 octobre 1980 de la Présidente Sauvé de la Chambre des communes du Canada, décision portant sur des préoccupations relatives à l’opportunité d’une campagne publicitaire lancée par le gouvernement du Canada. En statuant qu’il n’y avait pas présomption d’atteinte au privilège, la Présidente Sauvé a déclaré : « il doit [...] exister un lien entre la documentation et la prétendue ingérence dans les procédures parlementaires. Or, à cet égard, il n’y a rien ou bien peu dans les documents ou la campagne publicitaire en cause qui ait trait à une procédure parlementaire. »1

Compte tenu de la décision de la Présidente Sauvé et après avoir examiné toutes les circonstances, j’estime qu’il n’y a pas présomption d’atteinte aux privilèges dans les affaires évoquées par les députés d’Algoma et d’Oakwood. Les publicités télévisées ainsi que la brochure et le communiqué du ministère ne visent pas par des moyens irréguliers à influencer les députés dans l’exercice de leurs fonctions, pas plus qu’elles ne briment la liberté de parole en chambre ni ne touchent à une procédure parlementaire.

Les députés d’Algoma et d’Oakwood m’ont également demandé de déterminer si les mêmes circonstances équivalaient à un outrage. Erskine May explique le concept d’outrage dans les termes suivants:

«En général, tout acte ou toute omission qui entrave une Chambre ou l’un de ses membres ou de ses fonctionnaires dans l’exercice de ses fonctions, ou qui tend à produire un tel résultat, peut être considéré comme un outrage, même s’il n’existe aucun précédent à cet effet. Il est donc impossible d’énumérer tous les actes susceptibles d’être considérés comme un outrage, le pouvoir d’imposer des sanctions en pareil cas étant de par sa nature discrétionnaire [...]

Les paroles ou les écrits publiés qui discréditent la Chambre ou ses délibérations ont toujours été punis par la Chambre des lords et la Chambre des communes suivant le principe voulant que ces actes tendent à entraver les chambres dans l’exercice de leurs fonctions en portant atteinte au respect qui leur est dû [...] Par ailleurs, les actes qui, sans viser directement à entraver les chambres dans l’exercice de leurs fonctions, tendent pourtant à produire un tel résultat indirectement ou en attirant sur la Chambre la haine, le mépris ou le ridicule ou en abaissant ses autorités peuvent constituer des outrages »2.

J’ai également examiné deux décisions importantes citées par le député d’Algoma la semaine dernière. La première a été rendue par le Président Fraser à la Chambre des communes du Canada le 10 octobre 1989.

Voici la situation à laquelle le Président Fraser faisait face. Le ministère des Finances avait fait paraître une annonce déclarant que « le 1er janvier 1991, le régime de la taxe fédérale de vente connaîtra des modifications » et qu’une taxe sur les produits et services « remplacera l’actuelle taxe fédérale de vente ». L’annonce exposait ensuite les modifications proposées.

Après avoir évalué la situation sous l’angle du privilège, le Président Fraser l’a évaluée sous l’angle de l’outrage. En statuant qu’il n’y avait pas présomption d’atteinte au privilège ou d’outrage, il a établi la distinction entre l’atteinte au privilège et l’outrage dans les termes suivants :

« En résumé, toutes les atteintes au privilège constituent des outrages à la Chambre mais les outrages ne sont pas tous forcément des atteintes au privilège. L’outrage peut consister en une action ou une omission; il n’est pas nécessaire que celle-ci constitue effectivement une entrave pour la Chambre ou un député, il suffit qu’elle tende à produire ce résultat. Les cas d’outrage peuvent aller du manquement mineur au décorum à l’attaque grave contre l’autorité du Parlement »3.

En statuant qu’il n’y avait pas présomption d’outrage, le Président Fraser semble avoir convenu avec les ministres que le gouvernement avait fait paraître ces annonces dans un but strictement « informatif » et qu’il « n’avait jamais eu l’intention de donner l’impression que la mesure législative en question ne ferait pas l’objet d’un débat au Parlement ».

Le député d’Algoma a également cité la décision que le Président Warner a rendue ici même le 28 mars 1994. Dans ce cas, le gouvernement avait fait paraître une lettre ouverte dans les journaux de la région d’Ottawa–Carleton. Signée par le ministre des Affaires municipales, la lettre pouvait donner à penser qu’un projet de loi qui n’avait franchi que l’étape de la première lecture serait tôt ou tard adopté. Après avoir examiné la décision du Président Fraser et les deux précédents concernant notre propre assemblée, le Président Warner a conclu qu’il n’y avait pas présomption d’atteinte au privilège ou d’outrage.

Appliquons maintenant ces sources à la publicité incriminée. En ce qui concerne la publicité télévisée et le communiqué du ministère mentionnés par le député d’Algoma, j’estime qu’il n’y a pas présomption d’outrage. Au contraire, la publicité ne fait qu’expliquer en termes simples et généraux la philosophie du gouvernement et son projet de réforme. Quant au communiqué, il est rédigé de façon anodine.

Cependant, je trouve beaucoup à redire à la brochure du Ministère parce qu’elle est rédigée en termes plus définitifs que la publicité et le communiqué. Elle déclare, entre autres, qu’« une nouvelle ville sera créée », que « les travaux d’édification de la nouvelle ville commenceront en 1997 » et que « la nouvelle ville de Toronto réduira le nombre des politiciens municipaux ».

Comment doit-on interpréter ces déclarations sans nuances? À mon avis, elles donnent l’impression que l’adoption de la loi requise est superflue ou courue d’avance ou que l’Assemblée n’a qu’un rôle formel, accessoire, voire inférieur dans le processus législatif et, ce faisant, semblent porter atteinte au respect qui lui est dû. Je n’en serais pas venu à cette conclusion si on avait nuancé ces déclarations ou propositions — et elles ne sont rien de plus — en précisant qu’elles ne deviendront réalité que si l’Assemblée les approuve.

Dans les deux décisions que j’ai citées, le Président Fraser à Ottawa et le Président Warner ici même ont critiqué vertement les ministres et le gouvernement au sujet des publicités gouvernementales.

Le Président Fraser a déclaré qu’il ne serait pas aussi clément à l’avenir dans des circonstances semblables et que « nous sommes une démocratie parlementaire, non pas une soi-disant démocratie exécutive ou administrative ». Le Président Warner a déclaré que l’acte en question avait frôlé de très près l’outrage et demandé au ministre de se montrer dorénavant plus prudent et plus respectueux des procédures de l’Assemblée.

Vu que le Président Warner adressait cette mise en garde très sévère au Ministère dont il est question aujourd’hui, je considère que ce ministère a été amplement averti.

Il ne suffit pas qu’un autre Président fasse une autre mise en garde dans des circonstances où le libellé et la circulation de la brochure semblent à première vue passer les bornes. En toute franchise, j’estime que les lecteurs de ce document risquent de se méprendre sur la façon dont fonctionne la démocratie parlementaire en Ontario et cette méprise porte atteinte au respect dû à nos institutions parlementaires.

Pour ces raisons, je statue qu’il y a bel et bien en l’occurrence présomption d’outrage. À la fin de cette décision, j’accueillerai une motion concernant la question de la brochure du ministère soulevée par le député d’Oakwood.

À propos d’une question distincte mais connexe, le député de St. Catharines (M. Bradley) s’est interrogé mardi dernier sur l’inégalité d’accès du gouvernement et de l’opposition aux ressources de publicité. Il a demandé si le Président avait le pouvoir d’empêcher le gouvernement de faire de la publicité jugée intéressée et partisane.

Je voudrais maintenant exprimer des préoccupations personnelles concernant l’opportunité d’utiliser les deniers publics pour défendre par la publicité telle ou telle position sur une question dont la Chambre est saisie. Je ne parle pas ici de publicités payées par un parti politique, mais bien de l’utilisation de l’argent que versent à l’État provincial tous les Ontariens sans égard à leur opinion politique. Personnellement, je trouverais répréhensible que l’argent des contribuables serve à transmettre un message politique ou partisan. Entendez-moi bien. Les députés ont parfaitement le droit de débattre une question et d’influencer l’opinion publique; en fait, cela fait partie de notre tradition parlementaire. Mais j’estime qu’un gouvernement a tort d’essayer d’influencer l’opinion publique par des publicités payées avec les deniers publics, ce qui, soit dit en passant, n’est pas à la portée de l’opposition, au lieu de le faire par le débat en chambre. Je le répète, ce sont là des opinions personnelles. Bien que je sympathise avec le député de St. Catharines, je n’ai pas le pouvoir d’examiner l’opportunité de ces campagnes, à moins qu’elles ne donnent lieu à une question de privilège ou d’outrage, sujet dont j’ai déjà traité.

Le député de St. Catharines a également mentionné l’autre jour la Commission de régie interne. Si le député veut lui présenter une demande, il est libre de le faire et la Commission pourra répondre à ses préoccupations dans la mesure de sa compétence.

Notes

1. Chambre des communes, Débats, 29 octobre 1980, p. 4213-14.

2. Voire Erskine May, The Law, Privileges, Proceedings and Usages of Parliament, 21st Edition (London: Buttterworths, 1985), pp. 115, 121, 124-5.

3. Chambre des communes, Débats, 10 octobre 1989, p. 4457-61.


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 20 no 1
1997






Dernière mise à jour : 2020-03-03