Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

Search
HomeContact UsFrançais

PDF
The Archives of Members of the Quebec National Assembly
Michel Bissonnet; Jocelyn St-Pierre

The National Assembly of Quebec has for several years been concerned with issues of institutional memory and heritage. Along with its partners, the National Archives of Quebec (NAQ) and the Archives Committee of the Amicale des anciens parlementaires du Québec (AAPQ), it intends to increase efforts with regard to parliamentary archives, more specifically the archives that it produces itself and those produced by its members or by other individuals or organizations having information on life at the Assembly. The Assembly wishes to conserve and promote documents bespeaking the achievements of the Members who made history, whether locally or on a larger scale.

It is a fact that in Quebec and elsewhere in Canada, Members’ archives remain larger incomplete. In Quebec, since the creation of parliamentary institutions in 1792, some 2,343 individuals have been a part of Parliament as a Member, legislative counsel, governor or lieutenant-governor. These public figures sat in the Parliament of Lower Canada (1792-1838), in the Special Council (1838-1841), in the Parliament of the Province of Canada (1841-1867) and in the Parliament of Quebec since 1867. A systematic inventory of the archives groups of these very parliamentarians indicates that only 219 archives groups from 189 individuals are conserved in an archives service. All in all, only 8 % of the aforementioned parliamentarians relinquished their archival documents. The results would likely be the same as regards the other provincial Members or federal Members. There evidently is a significant gap in our collective memory.

The term “archival documents” designates unique documents having evidential value and which concern the various aspects of an individual’s life: childhood, studies, family, training, recreation, professional experience, social relations. Thus, in everyday life, a parliamentarian may produce and receive letters, reports, agendas, diaries, notes and speeches. He gives interviews and takes part in several public activities. These documents, which come in various forms – paper, diskette, audio recordings, photographs, video or film – are a reflection of his contribution to the development of the Quebec people and enrich Quebec’s historical sources. The consultation of these documents enables researchers and citizens to understand the work of the Member and to have a comprehensive view of his achievements. All of these archives improve and complement the documentary heritage of Quebec.

A Memorandum of Understanding

In view of the desire expressed by the authorities of the Quebec National Assembly to clarify roles and set out guidelines for workers as regards Members’ archives, an agreement between the National Archives of Quebec and the National Assembly was necessary. This was a major challenge, since for over twenty years, such an agreement had continually been deferred.

On 12 March 2003, the Memorandum of understanding on the archives of the Members of the National Assembly and of the Legislative Council was signed by the National Assembly and the NAQ. This agreement specifies the responsibilities of each institution as regards acquisition, processing, conservation and promotion of the archives of parliamentarians. A single-window approach for archival group acquisition was established by the Library of the Assembly. Donation offers are transferred to the Coordination Committee responsible for the implementation of the agreement and for determining the place of conservation. Henceforth, Members having exercised a ministerial duty are invited to give their archives to the NAQ, since they complement the archives of the governmental administration. As for individuals having exercised a parliamentary duty, they are encouraged to give their archives to the National Assembly. Concerning the other Members, the National Assembly is especially attentive in this regard. It receives donation offers from the private archives of Members who did not exercise any ministerial or parliamentary duty. Such a Member may entrust his archives to the National Assembly or to the NAQ (regional archives centres or certified private archives services). Both partners recognize, however, that private archives produced in the course of a parliamentarian’s private and professional life could be conserved in their place of origin. It should be noted that the desire expressed by the donator will strongly influence the selection of the conservation site.

Awareness and Training

Secondly, in order to increase awareness and to help parliamentarians and their personnel with regard to the management of their documents, two publications were jointly drafted by the National Archives of Quebec and the National Assembly: a pamphlet entitled Vos archives, une contribution à la mémoire du Québec, which briefly explains what an archives document is and how to conserve it. It accompanies a how-to guide on archives management: Vos archives, une contribution à la mémoire du Québec, Guide à l’intention des parlementaires et de leur personnel, which is intended for Members’ staff and which proposes a typical classification scheme, records sorting rules and a presentation of the various stages in the process surrounding the donation of an archival group.

In order to increase awareness on the importance of conserving parliamentary archives, the National Assembly has the intention of going even further. The Library of the Assembly expects to organize half-day information and training sessions for parliamentarians and their staff in order to answer their questions concerning the management of their documents. These training sessions will improve the support services already provided by the personnel of the Library via telephone or on site. These information and training services will address a need that has oftentimes been expressed by parliamentarians.

Along with the efforts undertaken by the National Assembly and the NAQ, the Archives Committee of former parliamentarians intends to establish a network composed of former parliamentarians and of regional archivists of the NAQ or of certified private archives services which will cover all of Quebec. Its mission will consist in identifying former parliamentarians or heirs thereof who are likely to have conserved political archives and urge them to give them to an archives service. A pilot project is currently underway in the Mauricie region and focuses primarily on the electoral division of Champlain. Following the analysis of results, similar projects will progressively be implemented in other regions of Quebec. In addition to the archives of former parliamentarians, this project should enable the collection of documents of political party advisors who made their mark, those of front-line organizers, of defeated candidates, but also documents from political parties and those produced during elections or referendums.

Promotion of the Archives of Parliamentarians

It is praiseworthy to conserve memory, but archives documents must be accessible. For this purpose, the Library has the intention of electronically publishing the Guide des archives des parlementaires québécois. This will be the third edition of the Inventaire des fonds d’archives relatifs aux parlementaires québécois. This guide will serve as an on-line reference aid and search tool which will be accessible on the Internet site of the National Assembly. For each parliamentarian, one will find a biography, a photograph, the texts of his speeches in the Quebec National Assembly and a reference to his archives groups. This subject guide will enable the user to find the archives documents of Members and of former legislative advisors and to locate the archives services where they are conserved here in Quebec or elsewhere in Canada. The on-line availability of this search tool will no longer be restricted to clienteles that traditionally consult archives services, but will be extended to anyone in search of information.

Ever-mindful of promoting the archival heritage of parliamentarians, the National Archives of Quebec and the National Assembly have agreed, on the occasion of the 400th anniversary of Quebec City celebrations in 2008, to jointly present an exhibition on the archives of parliamentarians, the theme will be Quebec City, Political Capital.

Offsetting the Assault of Time

The National Assembly of Quebec, in close collaboration with the National Archives of Quebec and the Amicale des anciens parlementaires du Quebec, wishes that the memory of the actions of parliamentarians be not only conserved and accessible, but also promoted. Each parliamentarian embodied the hopes and expectations of his constituents: If no traces are left, how are we to remember him? If he leaves behind evidence of his achievements, his passage in politics will not have been in vain. Owing to these historical documents, future generations will benefit from these experiences, understand their present and better prepare their future. On 14 May 1874, Oscar Dunn wrote, in L’Opinion publique: “Let us therefore consider safeguarding from the assault of time the memory of those who honour our homeland”. Such is sound advice from the close of the 19th century that our generation should hasten to follow.


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 27 no 1
2004






Last Updated: 2019-11-29

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

Recherche
AccueilContactez-nousEnglish

PDF
Les archives des députés et l’Assemblée nationale du Québec
Michel Bissonnet; Jocelyn St-Pierre

L’Assemblée nationale du Québec est, depuis plusieurs années, préoccupée par la mémoire et le patrimoine parlementaires. C’est pourquoi, avec ses partenaires, les Archives nationales du Québec (ANQ) et le Comité des archives de l’Amicale des anciens parlementaires du Québec (AAPQ), elle entend consacrer davantage d’efforts aux archives parlementaires, c’est-à-dire à celles qu’elle génère elle-même et à celles produites par ses membres ou par des personnes ou organismes externes qui possèdent des informations sur la vie à l’Assemblée. Cette dernière souhaite, en effet, préserver et mettre en valeur les documents qui témoignent des réalisations des députés qui ont marqué la petite comme la grande histoire.

Il faut bien le dire, au Québec et ailleurs au Canada, les archives des parlementaires demeurent largement incomplètes. Au Québec, depuis la naissance des institutions parlementaires en 1792, 2343 personnes ont fait partie du Parlement à titre de député, de conseiller législatif, de gouverneur ou de lieutenant- gouverneur. Ces personnages publics ont siégé au Parlement du Bas-Canada (1792-1838), au Conseil spécial (1838-1841), au Parlement de la province du Canada (1841-1867) et au Parlement du Québec depuis 1867. Or, un inventaire systématique des fonds d’archives de ces mêmes parlementaires réalisé par la Division des archives de l’Assemblée nationale précise que seulement 219 fonds d’archives provenant de 189 individus sont conservés dans un service d’archives. En somme, seulement 8 p. 100 des parlementaires cités plus haut se sont départis de leurs documents d’archives. Pareil calcul pour les autres députés provinciaux ou pour les députés fédéraux conduirait probablement aux mêmes résultats. Il s’agit, à l’évidence, d’un trou important dans la mémoire collective.

Le terme documents d’archives désigne des documents uniques qui ont valeur de témoignage et qui portent sur les différentes facettes de la vie d’un individu : enfance, études, famille, formation, loisirs, expériences professionnelles, relations sociales, etc. Ainsi, au quotidien, le parlementaire peut produire et recevoir des lettres, des rapports, des agendas, un journal personnel, des notes, des textes d’allocutions. Il donne des entrevues, assiste à diverses activités publiques. Ces documents, qui se présentent sur différents supports (papier, disquette, bande sonore, photographie, vidéo ou film), reflètent sa contribution au développement de la collectivité québécoise et viennent enrichir les sources sur l’histoire du Québec. Ainsi, les chercheurs et les citoyens peuvent, en les consultant, comprendre le travail du député et faire état de ses réalisations. Toutes ces archives viendront accroître et compléter le patrimoine documentaire québécois.

Un protocole d’entente

À la suite de la volonté exprimée par les autorités de l’Assemblée nationale du Québec de clarifier les rôles et de baliser les champs d’action des intervenants en matière d’archives de député, une entente entre les Archives nationales du Québec et l’Assemblée nationale s’imposait. Le défi était de taille, car, pendant plus de vingt ans, une telle entente avait constamment été ajournée.

Le 12 mars 2003, le Protocole d’entente sur les archives des membres de l’Assemblée nationale et du Conseil législatif du Québec est donc signé par l’Assemblée nationale et les ANQ. Ce protocole détermine les responsabilités de chaque institution en matière d’acquisition, de traitement, de conservation et de mise en valeur des archives des parlementaires. Un guichet unique pour l’acquisition des fonds a été établi à la Bibliothèque de l’Assemblée. Les offres de donation sont  acheminées au Comité de coordination chargé de l’application de l’entente et qui détermine le lieu de conservation. Désormais, les députés qui ont exercé une fonction ministérielle sont invités à donner leurs archives aux ANQ, parce qu’elles constituent un complément aux archives de l’administration gouvernementale. Les personnes ayant exercé une fonction parlementaire sont, quant à elles, incitées à céder leurs archives à l’Assemblée nationale, puisque celles-ci permettent de documenter le fonctionnement de l’institution. Quant aux autres députés, l’Assemblée nationale est particulièrement attentive en la matière. Elle reçoit les offres de donation d’archives privées de députés n’ayant exercé aucune fonction ministérielle ou parlementaire. Celui-ci peut confier ses archives à l’Assemblée nationale ou aux ANQ (aux centres d’archives régionaux ou aux services agréés d’archives privées). Les deux partenaires reconnaissent cependant que les archives privées produites au cours de la vie personnelle et professionnelle d’un parlementaire pourraient être conservées dans le milieu où elles ont été créées. Notons, par ailleurs, que la volonté exprimée par un donateur influencera fortement le choix du lieu de conservation.

Sensibilisation et formation

Dans un deuxième temps, afin de sensibiliser et d’aider les parlementaires et leur personnel dans la gestion de leurs documents, deux publications ont été rédigées conjointement par les Archives nationales du Québec et l’Assemblée nationale : un dépliant intitulé Vos archives, une contribution à la mémoire du Québec, explique sommairement ce qu’est un document d’archives et comment le conserver. Il accompagne un outil de formation : Vos archives, une contribution à la mémoire du Québec, Guide à l’intention des parlementaires et de leur personnel, qui s’adresse aux membres du personnel des députés et qui leur propose un plan de classification type, des règles de tri et une  présentation des différentes étapes du processus de donation d’un fonds d’archives.

Dans cette démarche de sensibilisation à l’importance de conserver les archives parlementaires, l’Assemblée nationale a toutefois l’intention d’aller encore plus loin. Dès cet automne, la Bibliothèque de l’Assemblée entend organiser des séances d’information et de formation d’une demi-journée à l’intention des parlementaires et de leur personnel, et ce afin de répondre à leurs questions concernant la gestion de leurs documents. Ces formations bonifieront le service d’aide-conseil déjà dispensé par le personnel de la Bibliothèque au téléphone ou sur place. Ces services d’information et de formation répondront à un besoin maintes fois exprimé par les parlementaires.

Parallèlement aux efforts entrepris par l’Assemblée nationale et les ANQ, le Comité des archives des anciens parlementaires entend mettre sur pied un réseau composé d’anciens parlementaires et d’archivistes régionaux des ANQ ou des services agréés d’archives privées qui couvrira tout le Québec. Sa mission consistera à identifier d’anciens parlementaires, ou les héritiers de ces derniers, susceptibles d’avoir conservé des archives politiques et de les encourager à les donner à un service d’archives. Un projet pilote est actuellement en cours en Mauricie et vise particulièrement la circonscription de Champlain. Il permettra de valider un modèle d’intervention. Après l’analyse des résultats, des projets similaires seront progressivement mis en place dans d’autres régions du Québec. En plus des archives d’anciens parlementaires, ce projet devrait permettre de recueillir les documents de conseillers de partis politiques ayant laissé leur marque, ceux d’organisateurs de premier plan et de candidats défaits, mais aussi les documents des partis politiques et ceux produits à l’occasion d’élections ou de référendums.

Mise en valeur des archives de parlementaires

Il est louable de préserver la mémoire, mais, pour que l’on se souvienne, les documents d’archives doivent être accessibles. À cette fin, la Bibliothèque a l’intention de publier sous format électronique le Guide des archives des parlementaires québécois. Il s’agira de la troisième édition de l’Inventaire des fonds d’archives relatifs aux parlementaires québécois. Ce guide se voudra un outil de consultation et de recherche en ligne qui sera notamment accessible sur le site Internet de l’Assemblée nationale. Pour chaque parlementaire, l’internaute pourra trouver une biographie, une photographie, le texte de ses interventions à l’Assemblée nationale du Québec et une référence à ses fonds d’archives. Ce guide thématique permettra de repérer les documents d’archives des députés et des anciens conseillers législatifs et de localiser les services d’archives où ils sont conservés, ici au Québec ou ailleurs au Canada. La mise en ligne de cet instrument de recherche permettra d’ajouter aux clientèles qui fréquentent traditionnellement les services d’archives celle des internautes en quête d’information.

Toujours pour mettre en valeur les archives patrimoniales des parlementaires, les Archives nationales du Québec et l’Assemblée nationale ont convenu, à l’occasion des célébrations du 400e anniversaire de la ville de Québec en 2008, de réaliser une exposition conjointe sur les archives de parlementaires, laquelle sera placée sous le thème de Québec, capitale politique.

Un remède à l’injure du temps

L’Assemblée nationale du Québec, en étroite collaboration avec les Archives nationales du Québec et l’Amicale des anciens parlementaires du Québec, souhaite que la mémoire de l’action des parlementaires soit non seulement conservée et accessible, mais aussi mise en valeur. Chaque parlementaire a incarné les espoirs et les aspirations de ses électeurs : s’il ne laisse pas de trace, comment fera-t-on pour se souvenir de lui? S’il lègue des témoignages de ses réalisations, son passage en politique n’aura pas été vain. Les générations futures, grâce à ces documents du passé, pourront tirer profit de ces expériences, comprendre leur présent et mieux préparer leur avenir. Le 14 mai 1874, Oscar Dunn écrivait dans L’Opinion publique : « Songeons donc à sauver de l’injure du temps la mémoire de ceux qui honorent la patrie. » Voilà un conseil judicieux de la fin du XIXe siècle que notre génération devrait s’empresser de suivre.


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 27 no 1
2004






Dernière mise à jour : 2020-03-03