Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

HomeContact UsFrançais

PDF
New and Notable Titles


A selection of recent publications relating to parliamentary studies prepared with the assistance of the Library of Parliament (June 2019 - September 2019)

“Where you sit and where you stand – Parliaments get facelifts; but it is politics that really needs one.” Economist 432 (9153), July 27, 2019: 51-2.

  • Renovations give parliamentarians an opportunity to shore up democracy. Will they take it?

Barry, Nicholas, Miragliotta, Narelle, Nwokora, Zim. “The dynamics of constitutional conventions in Westminster democracies.” Parliamentary Affairs 72 (3), July 2019: 664-83.

  • Constitutional conventions are fundamental to the operation of Westminster democracies. However, despite their political significance, there have been few attempts to analyse and theorise their internal dynamics.

Lagassé, Philippe. “The Crown and government formation: Conventions, practices, customs, and norms.” Constitutional Forum constitutionnel 28 (3), 2019: 1-17.

  • The Crown’s role in government formation is poorly understood in Canada… The author begins the article with a discussion of the difference between constitutional convention, practice, custom, and norms. He then examines how the Crown’s role in government formation are guided by these four types of rules. The author concludes by recommending ways that vice-regal offices can better explain their functions and avoid confusion and controversy about their powers and personal discretion.

Martin, Shane, Whitaker, Richard. “Beyond committees: parliamentary oversight of coalition government in Britain.” West European Politics 42 (7), November 2019: 1464-86.

  • A legislature’s ability to engage in oversight of the executive is believed to derive largely from its committee system…legislatures conventionally considered weak due to the lack of strong committees may nevertheless play an important oversight role through other parliamentary devices, including helping to police the implementation of coalition agreements.

Marland, Alex. “Fewer politicians and smaller assemblies: How party elites rationalise reducing the number of seats in a legislature – Lessons from Canada.” The Journal of Legislative Studies 25 (2), June 2019: 149-68.

  • Scholars are unable to rationalise the number of elected representatives in legislative assemblies. This study offers some insights into the political arithmetic by examining the rare event of reducing seats in a legislature. It is hypothesised that a policy of cutting electoral districts occurs during a search for cost efficiencies and a burst of populism. Interviews with party elites involved with seven seat reduction events in Canadian provinces establishes that the primary reason for the policy is its symbolic value. The message of fewer politicians sets an example for belt-tightening across government that will assist the executive branch with its austerity agenda. In these situations, the final number of members of a legislature matters little to a cabinet and most legislators compared with the broader symbolism of a smaller legislative branch.

McFall of Alcluith, Lord (Chair). “Review of House of Lords Investigative and Scrutiny Committees: towards a new thematic committee structure.” House of Lords Liaison Committee - 6th Report of Session 2017-19, HL Paper 398, Ordered to be printed July 8, 2019 and published July 17, 2019: 106p.

  • The report recommends a move towards a more thematic structure of committee activity, addressing current scrutiny gaps including those around health, education and social affairs. It is recommended that a new Public Services Committee be created at the beginning of the next Parliamentary session, and that the remits of some existing committees be expanded to provide more comprehensive coverage of the main areas of public policy. The report also contains measures intended to allow Lords committees to engage more widely and more creatively with external audiences, alongside provisions for greater follow-up and evaluation of previous committee activity.

Murphy, Gavin. “Whither legal professional privilege for government legal advice in the UK?” Journal of Parliamentary and Political Law / Revue de droit parlementaire et politique 13 (1), April/avril 2019 : 7-12.

  • Amid the utter confusion surrounding negotiations for the United Kingdom’s possible departure from the European Union following the 2016 Brexit referendum, one of the largely overlooked issues was parliament’s vote of contempt against the Conservative government of Theresa May...

Neudorf, Lorne. “Reassessing the constitutional foundation of delegated legislation in Canada.” Dalhousie Law Journal 41 (2), Fall 2018: 519-73.

  • This article assesses the constitutional foundation by which Parliament lends its lawmaking powers to the executive, which rests upon a century-old precedent established by the Supreme Court of Canada in a constitutional challenge to wartime legislation…

Snagovsky, Feodor, Kerby, Matthew. “Political staff and the gendered division of political labour in Canada.” Parliamentary Affairs 72 (3), July 2019: 616-37.

  • While there is considerable research on elected legislators in a variety of contexts, the academic knowledge about their advisors is very limited…the authors demonstrate while close to an equal number of men and women work for MPs in a political capacity on Parliament Hill, men continue to dominate legislative roles while women continue to dominate administrative roles. Further, legislative work increases political ambition, which means more men benefit from the socialising effects of legislative work than women.

Timmins, Nicholas. “An elementary primer for politicians and potential chairs on public inquiries.” The Political Quarterly 90 (2), April-June 2019: 238-44.

  • There is relatively little central government guidance available on how to set up and run a public inquiry. This short piece seeks to set out the very basic questions that politicians considering creating one—and potential chairs—will need to address. Including, crucially, whether a public inquiry is even the right answer. In the context of the National Health Service, on which this analysis focusses, it also argues that money may be far better spent on applying what is already known from the many previous inquiries—that is, spend it on prevention—rather than waiting to spend it on future similar inquiries that will, more than likely, produce similar findings and recommendations.

Walker, Charles (Chair). “Should there be a Commons Budget Committee?” House of Commons Procedure Committee - Tenth Report of Session 2017-19, HC 1482, July 9, 2019: 46p.

  • …the Committee recommends that the Government urgently implements significant improvement to Estimates documents to make them easier to understand, clearer and more helpful to a non-specialist audience. We expect to see more granular data, better presented, published either within or alongside the 2020–21 Main Estimates. The Government should aspire to match the detail on expenditure plans available to Parliamentarians and the public in Canada and New Zealand.

Cauchon, Hubert. “Sanction royale : un pouvoir discrétionnaire toujours exercé.” National Journal of Constitutional Law / Revue nationale de droit constitutionnel, 39 (2), April/avril 2019 : 191-221.

  • Royal assent is the exercise of a constitutional legislative function necessary to the enactment of statutes. As a matter of law, refusal of royal assent prevents any bill to become an act of parliament but the exercise of that power is meant to be completely neutralised by a constitutional convention. This article questions the existence of this convention. To do so, the author highlights the practical differences between the exercise of royal assent in the United Kingdom and Canada. Then he catalogues the limits within which royal assent may be granted. The author then demonstrates that some discretion is being exercised by the ministry every time royal assent is granted. Finally, the author argues that the discretionary power today has shifted to the governmental power to bring acts into force.

Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 42 no 3
2019






Last Updated: 2019-11-29

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

AccueilContactez-nousEnglish

PDF
Nouveaux titres d’intérêt


Choix d’articles dans le domaine des études parlementaires (juin 2019 - septembre 2019)

« Where you sit and where you stand — Parliaments get facelifts; but it is politics that really needs one. » The Economist 432 (9153), 27 juillet 2019 : p. 51-52.

  • Les rénovations permettent aux parlementaires de renforcer la démocratie. Le feront-ils?

Barry, Nicholas, Miragliotta, Narelle, Nwokora, Zim. « The dynamics of constitutional conventions in Westminster democracies ». Parliamentary Affairs 72 (3), juillet 2019 : p. 664-683.

  • Les conventions constitutionnelles sont un élément fondamental du fonctionnement des démocraties fondées sur le système de Westminster. Or, malgré toute leur importance politique, peu de tentatives d’analyse et de théorisation de leur dynamique interne ont été effectuées.

Lagassé, Philippe. « The Crown and government formation: Conventions, practices, customs, and norms. » Constitutional Forum constitutionnel 28 (3), 2019 : p. 1-17.

  • Le rôle de la Couronne dans la formation du gouvernement demeure mal compris au Canada... Pour commencer ce texte, l’auteur expose la différence entre la convention constitutionnelle, la pratique, les usages et les normes. Il examine ensuite la façon dont ces quatre catégories de règles guident le rôle de la Couronne dans la formation du gouvernement. Il termine en formulant des recommandations afin que les bureaux viceroyaux puissent mieux expliquer leurs fonctions pour ainsi éviter la confusion et la controverse que suscitent aujourd’hui leurs attributions et leur latitude personnelle.

Martin, Shane, Whitaker, Richard. « Beyond committees: parliamentary oversight of coalition government in Britain ». West European Politics 42 (7), novembre 2019 : p. 1 464-1 486.

  • Le fait qu’une assemblée législative puisse surveiller le pouvoir exécutif découlerait dans une large mesure de son système de comités [...]; les assemblées qui sont traditionnellement considérées comme faibles parce qu’elles comptent peu de comités efficaces pourraient néanmoins jouer un rôle utile de contrôle par l’entremise d’autres mécanismes parlementaires, y compris la surveillance de la mise en œuvre des ententes en matière de coalition.

Marland, Alex. « Fewer politicians and smaller assemblies: How party elites rationalise reducing the number of seats in a legislature — Lessons from Canada. » The Journal of Legislative Studies 25 (2), juin 2019 : p. 149-168.

  • Les universitaires ne sont pas capables de rationaliser le nombre de représentants élus siégeant aux assemblées législatives. Cette étude donne une idée de l’arithmétique politique en examinant les rares cas de diminution du nombre de sièges au sein d’une assemblée législative. On présume que les politiques de réduction du nombre de circonscriptions électorales sont mises en place par souci de rentabilité au cours d’une explosion du populisme. Des entrevues avec des élites des partis ayant participé à sept exercices de réduction du nombre de sièges dans les provinces canadiennes ont permis de conclure que la principale raison d’être de ces politiques est leur valeur symbolique. Le message véhiculé par la diminution du nombre de politiciens montre comment l’ensemble du gouvernement se serre la ceinture, ce qui permettra au pouvoir exécutif de mettre en œuvre son programme de mesures d’austérité. Ainsi, le nombre définitif de députés d’une assemblée législative importe peu pour le Cabinet et la plupart des législateurs en comparaison de la symbolique plus large d’une réduction du pouvoir législatif.

McFall of Alcluith, lord (président). « Review of House of Lords Investigative and Scrutiny Committees: towards a new thematic committee structure ». House of Lords Liaison Committee — 6e rapport de la session 2017-2019, HL Paper 398, impression ordonnée le 8 juillet 2019, publié le 17 juillet 2019 : 106 p.

  • Les auteurs du rapport recommandent aux comités de passer à une structure plus thématique de leurs activités pour combler les lacunes existant en matière d’examen, notamment celles relatives à la santé, à l’éducation et aux affaires sociales. Ils recommandent aussi qu’un nouveau comité des services publics soit créé au début de la session parlementaire suivante, et que les attributions de certains comités existants soient élargies pour leur permettre de fournir une représentation plus complète des principaux domaines des politiques publiques. Le rapport contient aussi des mesures visant à permettre aux comités de la Chambre des lords d’établir des liens plus étroits avec les auditoires externes, en faisant davantage preuve de créativité, et des dispositions contribuant à améliorer le suivi et l’évaluation de leurs activités précédentes.

Murphy, Gavin. « Whither legal professional privilege for government legal advice in the UK? » Journal of Parliamentary and Political Law / Revue de droit parlementaire et politique 13 (1), April/avril 2019 : p. 7-12.

  • Au milieu de la confusion qui règne à l’égard des négociations sur l’éventuelle rupture du Royaume-Uni avec l’Union européenne à la suite du référendum de 2016 sur le Brexit, une question largement négligée a été le vote d’outrage déposé par le Parlement contre le gouvernement conservateur de Theresa May...

Neudorf, Lorne. « Reassessing the constitutional foundation of delegated legislation in Canada. » Dalhousie Law Journal 41(2), automne 2018 : p. 519-573.

  • Cet article évalue les fondements constitutionnels qui permettent au Parlement de confier son pouvoir législatif à I‘exécutif, lesquels reposent sur un précédent remontant à un siècle établi par la Cour suprême du Canada dans le cadre d’une contestation constitutionnelle de lois qui prévalaient en temps de guerre.

Snagovsky, Feodor, Kerby, Matthew. « Political staff and the gendered division of political labour in Canada. » Parliamentary Affairs 72 (3), juillet 2019 : p. 616-637.

  • Il existe des recherches considérables sur les assemblées législatives élues dans différents contextes; toutefois, les universitaires possèdent très peu de connaissances au sujet de leurs conseillers [...]; les auteurs démontrent que, alors qu’un nombre presque égal d’hommes et de femmes exercent des fonctions politiques pour le compte de députés sur la Colline du Parlement, les hommes continuent de dominer dans les postes législatifs, et les femmes, dans les activités administratives. En outre, le travail législatif alimente l’ambition politique, ce qui signifie que les hommes sont plus susceptibles que les femmes de tirer parti des effets de socialisation des emplois législatifs.

Timmins, Nicholas. « An elementary primer for politicians and potential chairs on public inquiries. » The Political Quarterly 90 (2), avril-juin 2019 : p. 238-244.

  • Il existe très peu de directives du gouvernement sur la façon de mettre sur pied et de mener une enquête publique. Ce bref article décrit les diverses questions très élémentaires dont les politiciens qui étudient la possibilité d’en créer une (et ses éventuels présidents) devront tenir compte, y compris la question cruciale de savoir s’ils estiment que la tenue d’une enquête publique est même la bonne réponse. Dans le contexte du National Health Service, sur lequel cette analyse est axée, on affirme également qu’il serait grandement préférable d’investir l’argent en tenant compte de ce que l’on connaît déjà grâce aux nombreuses enquêtes antérieures, à savoir qu’il vaut mieux financer la prévention, plutôt que d’attendre pour le consacrer à de futures enquêtes semblables qui produiront fort probablement des conclusions et des recommandations similaires.

Walker, Charles (président). « Should there be a Commons Budget Committee? » Comité de la procédure de la Chambre des communes — 10e rapport de session 2017-2019, HC 1482, 9 juillet 2019 : 46 p.

  • ... Le comité recommande que le gouvernement apporte une amélioration importante et urgente aux documents du Budget des dépenses afin de les rendre plus faciles à comprendre, plus clairs et plus utiles pour la population du pays. On s’attend à ce que des données plus détaillées et mieux présentées fassent partie du Budget principal des dépenses 2020-2021 ou soient publiées parallèlement à celui-ci. Le gouvernement devrait s’efforcer de mettre à la disposition des parlementaires et de la population des prévisions budgétaires dont les données sont aussi détaillées qu’au Canada et en Nouvelle-Zélande.

Cauchon, Hubert. « Sanction royale : un pouvoir discrétionnaire toujours exercé. » National Journal of Constitutional Law / Revue nationale de droit constitutionnel, 39 (2), April/avril 2019 : 191-221.

  • La sanction royale est l’exercice d’une fonction législative constitutionnellement nécessaire à l’édiction des lois. En droit, le refus de l’octroyer empêche tout projet de loi d’être commué en loi du parlement, mais l’exercice de ce pouvoir serait, par convention constitutionnelle, complètement neutralisé. Le présent texte remet en question l’existence de cette convention. Pour y arriver, l’auteur met en lumière les différentes pratiques qui différencient l’exercice de la sanction royale au Royaume-Uni et au Canada. Puis, il recense les limites à l’intérieur desquelles elle peut être octroyée. L’auteur démontre ensuite qu’un certain pouvoir discrétionnaire est exercé par le conseil des ministres à chaque fois que la sanction royale est accordée. Enfin, l’auteur défend l’idée que l’exercice du pouvoir discrétionnaire s’est aujourd’hui déplacé vers le pouvoir gouvernemental de mettre en vigueur des lois.

Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 42 no 3
2019






Dernière mise à jour : 2019-11-29