Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

HomeContact UsFrançais

PDF
Reducing Seats in a Legislature Must Be Looked at in Context
Lorraine Michael

In this article, the author explains why people may not be better served by having fewer elected representatives. She outlines the multifaceted dimensions of constituency work and explains how geography – particularly in rural or northern areas – can challenge a politician’s ability to effectively reach constituents and hear their concerns. She notes that while technological innovations can help build connections with constituents, not all areas have adequate communications networks. The author notes that potential cost savings of having fewer politicians is not as straight forward as it may seem, that backbenchers are not all as underworked as people may believe, and having fewer seats in a legislature won’t necessarily make it easier for parties to run a full slate of candidates. She concludes by contending that changes to the system itself should be where efforts are directed and proposals to reduce or increase the number of representatives in the system should be examined in context.

An elected representative does a lot of work that the public doesn’t see. There is so much more than what occurs in the chamber of the legislative assembly. The public may not be aware of the multifaceted dimensions of constituency work. When someone proposes to reduce the number of seats, the public picture is that there will be fewer politicians. What they miss is the harm that it does for our democracy.

If you lessen the number of parliamentarians, the same amount of work becomes spread among fewer people. Upping their workload is problematic. Members of a legislative committee conduct a lot of background work.

In a small province like Newfoundland and Labrador, private members may not have enough resources to support their advocacy for constituents or to research issues being discussed in the legislature. MHAs have one constituency assistant. There is some research support available through the caucus, but that is not available to Independents, and there are times that members have to conduct the research themselves due to a lack of support staff. It is a very different situation in Ottawa where Members of Parliament have many supports.

If a parliamentarian has to represent a larger constituency, the number of people contacting your office increases, and members can become overloaded. It is a problem for the democratic system if constituents complain that their phone calls are not getting returned. The more that citizens feel disconnected from the people who represent them the more they become detached from the system itself. Having fewer representatives ultimately hurts the democratic process.

Larger electoral districts are a serious problem in a country with as much geography as Canada. Some rural ridings span huge distances and include remote areas. As an MHA whose electoral district was five minutes away from the legislature, I often felt badly for colleagues who had to fly home and then drive more than two hours to get to an event. The difference of the needs at one end of a rural district can be quite different than another. One end of a district can have public transit and health care access whereas the other end does not. How can an elected representative figure out what issues to emphasize? The potential lack of district cohesion complicates representation and advocacy. These sorts of variances do not happen in a city. One size does not fit all when it comes to looking at electoral districts.

The argument that representation has improved with changes in communications technology ignores that constituents want personal contact. In some rural and remote areas across Canada, including areas of Newfoundland and Labrador, adequate communications services still do not exist. You cannot travel around Labrador and expect to connect with someone using Wi-Fi on your laptop. There are lots of places across the province where cellphone coverage is spotty. You might have to stop partway up a hill at a specific point so that you can use your phone.

It is true that communications technology has made a big difference. But assumptions about accessibility in a city may not apply to rural and remote areas. Improved communications options mean that you can be better engaged. It shouldn’t mean cutting the number of representatives and reducing the quality of engagement with constituents.

Another way that technology has improved the work of parliamentarians is on all-party committees. It can be difficult to get all members to attend a meeting when some of them are in their electoral districts. The meeting can proceed with teleconferencing. That technology doesn’t mean that committees should function with fewer members. Rather, it allows for greater inclusion.

Cost savings should not be the basis for a decision about the number of members of a legislative assembly. The bottom line has to be the needs of the people. Parliamentarians are there to ensure that people’s needs are being taken care of. They bring that voice into ministries and to the legislature. The proposed savings are rarely straightforward. For instance, the large size of a district might determine that there needs to be an additional constituency office. The idea that fewer electoral districts makes it easier to run a full slate of candidates overlooks several factors. We need to do a better job at educating younger people about our political system, such as requiring civic education courses in high school. Young people need to learn about governance and visualize themselves as citizens who could participate for the good of their community. There are barriers to participation for some people, such as women who require childcare support or lack the financial resources to ensure there is a level playing field among candidates. If party A is promising more than party B, a prospective candidate will run with the better funded party even though it isn’t the party they have supported. There are all kinds of systemic aspects that impede people from running in an election. In Ottawa, at least, there is some semblance of trying to ensure that all political parties have greater equality with election finances. Another issue is that fixed date election legislation is not always followed. Snap elections can catch opposition parties off guard; this also has implications for candidate recruitment.

The perception that backbenchers are underworked is more applicable to those on the government side of the House. It is a criticism of how the government is governing rather than an issue of how many politicians there are. The government could convene the legislature more often to provide members with greater opportunity to examine bills and debate issues. Backbenchers would become more engaged. When we have people just reading from speaking notes prepared by a staff person, rather than having time to study an issue and participate in a real debate, the problem is with the system itself. Changing the system would lead to the media paying more attention to witnesses and committee reports. More informed backbenchers would be less likely to be silent in caucus. In a small opposition caucus you don’t know what it is like to have free time. That can be true for anyone in opposition. You aren’t sitting around twiddling your thumbs.

The bottom line is that a discussion about the number of members in a legislature should be turned into a discussion about how to better engage all elected members especially those on the government back benches. You cannot make a general statement about numbers. There are various things that would have to be considered. Everything has to be looked at in context.


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 42 no 3
2019






Last Updated: 2019-11-29

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

AccueilContactez-nousEnglish

PDF
La réduction de sièges au Parlement : tenir compte du contexte
Lorraine Michael

Dans cet article, l’auteure explique pourquoi la population ne serait pas nécessairement mieux servie si elle était représentée par un moins grand nombre d’élus. Elle expose les multiples aspects caractérisant le travail dans les circonscriptions et explique comment la configuration géographique, particulièrement dans les régions rurales ou nordiques, peut constituer un obstacle lorsque vient le temps, pour un élu, de communiquer avec ses citoyens et d’écouter leurs préoccupations. Selon l’auteure, bien que les avancées technologiques facilitent la communication avec les citoyens, il n’en demeure pas moins que les régions ne disposent pas toutes de réseaux de communication adéquats. En outre, l’économie que représenterait l’abolition de sièges n’est pas aussi significative qu’on pourrait le penser : les simples députés ont beaucoup plus de responsabilités que ce que l’on croit, et la réduction de sièges au Parlement ne faciliterait pas nécessairement la tâche aux partis lorsque viendrait le temps de trouver tous les candidats nécessaires pour l’ensemble des circonscriptions. Pour conclure, l’auteure soutient qu’il faudrait d’abord changer le système lui-même, et se pencher ensuite sur la réduction ou l’augmentation du nombre de représentants au sein du système.

Les élus accomplissent beaucoup de travail dans l’ombre, loin du regard de tous. Ce qui se passe dans la Chambre de l’Assemblée législative n’est que la pointe de l’iceberg; le public n’est pas nécessairement conscient des multiples aspects caractérisant le travail dans les circonscriptions. Ce que le public voit par l’abolition de sièges, c’est un nombre réduit de politiciens. Ce qu’il ne peut voir, cependant, c’est le préjudice que cela porte à notre démocratie.

Diminuer le nombre de parlementaires ne réduit pas la charge de travail : au contraire, le travail se trouve réparti entre moins d’élus, ce qui est bien loin d’être une solution. Les membres des comités législatifs, par exemple, accomplissent beaucoup de travail de fond.

Dans une province de petite taille comme Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador, les simples députés n’ont pas nécessairement assez de ressources pour bien défendre et représenter leurs électeurs ou pour creuser les enjeux soulevés au Parlement. Pour tout personnel, ces députés ont un adjoint de circonscription. Le caucus peut prêter main-forte pour la recherche, mais cette aide n’est pas offerte aux députés indépendants. Parfois, les députés doivent effectuer leurs recherches eux-mêmes par manque de personnel de soutien. La situation à Ottawa est bien différente, car les députés du Parlement ont de nombreuses ressources à leur disposition.

Le parlementaire qui doit représenter une plus grande circonscription se trouve aux prises avec un plus grand volume d’appels de citoyens, ce qui peut lui amener une surcharge de travail. Si personne ne répond aux appels des citoyens, cela constitue un problème pour la démocratie : plus les citoyens se sentent déconnectés de leurs représentants, plus ils se détachent du système. Ultimement, la réduction du nombre d’élus porte atteinte au processus démocratique.

Dans un pays aussi vaste que le Canada, les grandes circonscriptions font parfois face à de grands défis. Certaines circonscriptions rurales couvrent d’énormes territoires, parfois très isolés. Ma circonscription était située à cinq minutes du Parlement, mais j’avais un pincement de cœur pour mes collègues qui devaient prendre l’avion pour rentrer chez eux et faire encore deux heures de route pour participer à un événement. De plus, aux quatre coins d’une région rurale, les besoins peuvent varier considérablement : ici on dispose de services de transport public et d’un accès aux soins de santé, là-bas, il n’y a rien. Comment le député d’une vaste circonscription rurale peut-il déterminer quelles sont ses priorités? Un manque d’homogénéité à l’intérieur d’une circonscription peut nuire à sa juste représentation et à la défense de ses intérêts. Dans une ville, on ne trouve pas ce genre d’écarts. En fait, chaque circonscription est unique; il n’y a pas de circonscription type.

Ceux qui affirment que les nouvelles technologies de communication améliorent la représentation oublient une chose : les citoyens veulent un contact direct. Dans certaines régions rurales ou éloignées du Canada, notamment à Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador, on manque encore de réseaux de communication adéquats. Vous ne pouvez pas vous attendre, lorsque vous vous déplacez au Labrador, à trouver une connexion Wi-Fi pour votre portable. De nombreux endroits dans la province n’ont même pas de couverture cellulaire digne de ce nom : il vous faut parfois trouver un endroit précis en altitude afin de pouvoir utiliser votre téléphone.

Les technologies de communication font une grande différence, c’est vrai. Mais il est faux de présumer que leur accessibilité dans les régions éloignées est la même que dans les villes. L’amélioration des communications doit être vue comme un outil d’engagement citoyen plutôt que de réduction du nombre d’élus, réduction qui appauvrit les liens avec les citoyens.

La technologie améliore le travail des parlementaires de diverses façons, notamment au sein des comités multipartites. Réunir tous les membres d’un comité peut s’avérer compliqué lorsque ceux-ci sont dans leur circonscription respective; la téléconférence rend possible la réunion. La technologie ne devrait pas se traduire par la réduction du nombre de membres au sein des comités. Elle signifie plutôt qu’il est désormais possible de réunir plus facilement les membres, et en plus grand nombre.

La décision de réduire le nombre de députés d’une assemblée législative ne devrait pas être fondée sur l’économie qu’elle représente. Le plus important, c’est de répondre aux besoins des citoyens; le rôle des parlementaires est de veiller à ce que ces besoins soient entendus et qu’on y réponde. Les parlementaires représentent les citoyens auprès des ministères et du Parlement. Les économies que l’on suppose sont rarement réalistes. Par exemple, si une circonscription est trop vaste, il faut normalement prévoir un bureau de circonscription supplémentaire. L’idée qu’un nombre réduit de circonscriptions permet de présenter une meilleure liste de candidats occulte plusieurs facteurs.

Nous devons mieux sensibiliser les jeunes à notre système politique, notamment par la mise en place de cours d’éducation civique à l’école secondaire. Les jeunes ont besoin d’apprendre ce qu’est la gouvernance et de se projeter en tant que citoyens contribuant au bien de la communauté. Certains obstacles nuisent à la participation citoyenne, notamment le manque de services de garde, ou encore le manque de ressources financières, l’équité financière amenant l’équité des candidatures. Un candidat face à un parti qui en promet davantage que l’autre choisira le parti le mieux financé, et ce, même si ce n’est pas le parti qui correspond à ses positions. Ce sont toutes sortes de facteurs systémiques qui empêchent les gens de se présenter à une élection. À Ottawa, on tente, au moins en apparence, d’offrir à tous les partis politiques un financement électoral équitable. Par ailleurs, l’obligation légale sur les élections à date fixe n’est pas toujours respectée, ce qui constitue un autre problème. Des élections précipitées peuvent prendre les partis de l’opposition au dépourvu et nuire au recrutement de candidats.

La perception selon laquelle les simples députés travaillent peu s’applique davantage aux députés du parti au pouvoir. Il s’agit là d’une critique de la manière dont le gouvernement dirige l’État plutôt que du nombre d’élus lui-même. Le gouvernement pourrait réunir les élus plus souvent afin de leur permettre de mieux se pencher sur les projets de loi et de débattre.

Ainsi, les députés d’arrière-ban seraient davantage investis. Lire des notes d’allocutions préparées par des membres du personnel plutôt que d’avoir du temps pour étudier une question et en débattre véritablement démontre que le problème tient au système. En le changeant, les médias couvriront davantage les idées des témoins et le contenu des rapports de comités. Des députés mieux informés prendront davantage la parole au caucus. Dans un petit caucus d’opposition, l’oisiveté n’existe pas. C’est vrai pour quiconque fait partie de l’opposition. Personne ne se tourne les pouces.

En conclusion, au lieu de discuter du nombre de députés au Parlement, parlons plutôt de la manière de mieux mobiliser chacun des élus, surtout de l’arrière-ban. Il serait vain de tenter de trouver le chiffre magique quant au nombre d’élus, car trop facteurs entrent en ligne de compte. Il faut voir les choses dans leur contexte.


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 42 no 3
2019






Dernière mise à jour : 2019-11-29