Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

HomeContact UsFrançais

PDF
Sam Johnston, First First Nations Speaker in Canada
Caitilin O'Hare

Samuel (Sam) Johnston, of the Teslin Tlingit, holds a unique place in Canadian history as the first First Nations person to be elected Speaker in Yukon and in Canada. He was also instrumental in the development of land claims and First Nation self-government agreements between First Nations, and the governments of Yukon and Canada.

Born in 1935 in Teslin, a small village in Yukon that is part of the Teslin Tlingit Traditional Territory and was historically the summer meeting place for Inland Tlingit people, Samuel (Sam) Johnston’s journey into politics began when he was elected Chief of the Teslin Tlingit Council in 1970, a position he held until 1984. In February 1973 he travelled to Ottawa as part of a delegation of Yukon First Nations Chiefs to present then Prime Minister Pierre Trudeau with a document titled Together Today for Our Children Tomorrow - A Statement of Grievances and an Approach to Settlement by the Yukon Indian People. This document, to which Johnston was a signatory, outlined the history and needs of Yukon First Nations peoples, and became the foundation for the Umbrella Final Agreement. Though not reached until 1988 and finalized in 1990, the Umbrella Final Agreement serves as the template for final (land claims) and self-government agreements between individual Yukon First Nations, the Government of Canada, and the Government of Yukon.

Johnston’s involvement with the Yukon Legislative Assembly began in 1985 when he was elected as the New Democratic Party Member for Campbell, a seat he retained in 1989. He was first elected Speaker of the Legislative Assembly of Yukon on July 15, 1985, at the outset of the First Session of the 26th Legislature. This not only made Johnston the first First Nations person to serve as Speaker in Yukon, but the first in Canada. He was elected Speaker for a second time on March 8, 1989, the first sitting day of the 27th Legislature, and he held the position for its duration. During this period, he continued his efforts to support the First Nation population of Yukon, and further the work that he had accomplished as Chief of the Teslin Tlingit Council. On June 3, 1992, on the final sitting day of his tenure as Speaker, during the second reading debate on the bill, the Government House Leader’s request that the Speaker be allowed to address the House regarding Bill No. 73, An Act Approving Yukon Land Claim Final Agreements received unanimous consent. Johnston said: “…I hope that the legislation set out today will be the tool for our children to make a better life for themselves. Our young people are our future leaders. This will be their opportunity to provide for their children. Therefore, we as leaders today, must encourage our young people to continue with this process, with these same principles, on into the future that awaits them….”1 On May 29, 1993, both the Teslin Tlingit Council Final Agreement and the Teslin Tlingit Council Self-Government Agreement (each agreement was between the Teslin Tlingit Council, the Government of Canada, and the Government of Yukon) were signed. According to Johnston, they were key to preserving cultural traditions as well as supporting better health care and education for the Tlingit community.

In addition to his political career, Johnston is also an accomplished athlete and coach. In the 1960’s he was involved in competitive dog mushing and taught the sport to youth. He is also skilled in archery, having both coached and competed in the North American Indigenous Games. He is viewed by many as the father of Yukon archery, though he credits his skills to his grandfather: "It's in your blood. My grandfather on my mother's side was the archer.”2 He also coached during the Dene Games at the Arctic Winter Games. In 2003 Johnston was inducted into the Yukon Sports Hall of Fame for his athletic and coaching achievements.

As a community figure, Johnston has actively supported youth, education, and the Tlingit language and culture. He has taught Tlingit at the Yukon Native Language Center in Whitehorse and performed Tlingit dance for a variety of audiences. Johnston has also served as Chancellor of Yukon College, and Leader of the Ishkìtàn (Frog) Clan of the Teslin Tlingit Council. In 2003 Johnston received the Yukon Commissioner’s Award for Public Service, “for his role as a community leader and his many contributions to his community’s quality of life.”3

Johnston met his wife Kelly in 1982 at the Yukon Sourdough Rendezvous, an annual winter festival in Whitehorse, attendance at which was a tradition in Johnston’s family. The couple were named Mr. and Mrs. Yukon at the 2016 Rendezvous, a title that Johnston’s parents held in 1974. Johnston is now a well-respected member of the Teslin Tlingit Elders Council. His son Peter Johnston followed in his footsteps and served as Chief of the Teslin Tlingit Council, and currently serves as Grand Chief of the Council of Yukon First Nations.

Notes

  1. Debates of the Yukon Legislative Assembly, 27th Legislature, 3rd Session, June 3, 1992, http://www.hansard.gov.yk.ca/27-legislature/session3/025_Jun_3_1992.html.
  2. Marcel Vander Wier. “Youth Interest in Archery Continues to Soar,” Whitehorse Daily Star online, May 7, 2014, http://www.whitehorsestar.com/Sports/youth-interest-in-archery-continues-to-soar.
  3. Commissioner of Yukon. “Commissioner’s Awards - Past Recipients,” http://www.commissioner.gov.yk.ca/awards/recipients.html

Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 42 no 2
2019






Last Updated: 2019-10-21

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

AccueilContactez-nousEnglish

PDF
Sam Johnston, premier président autochtone d’une assemblée législative au Canada
Caitilin O'Hare

Samuel (Sam) Johnston, de la Première Nation des Tlingits de Teslin, est une figure particulière de l’histoire canadienne. Premier Autochtone élu président d’assemblée législative au Yukon et au Canada, il a joué un rôle déterminant dans l’établissement de revendications territoriales et la conclusion d’ententes sur l’autonomie gouvernementale entre des Premières Nations et les gouvernements du Yukon et du Canada.

Samuel (Sam) Johnston est né en 1935 à Teslin, petit village du Yukon sis dans le territoire ancestral des Tlin Samuel (Sam) Johnston est né en 1935 à Teslin, petit village du Yukon sis dans le territoire ancestral des Tlingits de Teslin, où se réunissaient traditionnellement les Tlingits de l’intérieur en été. Son périple en politique a commencé avec son élection comme chef du Conseil des Tlingits de Teslin, en 1970, fonction qu’il a occupée jusqu’en 1984. En février 1973, il s’est rendu à Ottawa au sein d’une délégation de chefs de Premières Nations du Yukon pour présenter au premier ministre de l’époque, Pierre Trudeau, un document intitulé Together Today for Our Children Tomorrow - A Statement of Grievances and an Approach to Settlement by the Yukon Indian People [Ensemble aujourd’hui pour nos enfants demain – Exposé de grief et modalités de règlement soumis par les Autochtones du Yukon]. Ce document, dont M. Johnston était signataire, exposait l’historique et les besoins des peuples des Premières Nations du Yukon et a jeté les bases de l’Accord-cadre définitif. Bien qu’il n’ait été conclu qu’en 1988 et finalisé en 1990, l’Accord-cadre sert de modèle pour les ententes définitives (revendications territoriales) et les ententes sur l’autonomie gouvernementale entre les différentes Premières Nations du Yukon, le gouvernement du Canada et le gouvernement du Yukon.

Samuel Johnston a fait son entrée à l’Assemblée législative du Yukon en 1985, après son élection comme député du Nouveau Parti démocratique dans la circonscription de Campbell, siège qu’il a conservé en 1989. Il a été élu président de l’Assemblée législative du Yukon le 15 juillet 1985, au début de la 1re session de la 26e législature. M. Johnston devenait le premier Autochtone élu à cette fonction non seulement au Yukon, mais dans tout le Canada. Il a été réélu comme président de l’Assemblée le 8 mars 1989, premier jour de séance de la 27e législature, et est demeuré en poste durant toute la législature. Au cours de cette période, il a continué de soutenir la population des Premières Nations du Yukon et a poursuivi son travail de chef du Conseil des Tlingits de Teslin. Le 3 juin 1992, le dernier jour de son mandat de Président, au cours de l’examen en deuxième lecture du projet parlementaire du gouvernement a demandé que le Président soit autorisé à s’adresser à la Chambre au sujet du projet de loi 73, Loi approuvant les ententes finales avec les Premières nations du Yukon. Sa demande a été accueillie à l’unanimité. M. Johnston a déclaré : « J’espère que la loi adoptée aujourd’hui permettra à nos enfants de se forger une vie meilleure. Nos jeunes sont nos futurs dirigeants. Demain, ce sera à leur tour de veiller à l’avenir de leurs enfants. Par conséquent, nous, les leaders d’aujourd’hui, devons encourager les jeunes à poursuivre dans cette voie et à appliquer les mêmes principes, vers l’avenir qui les attend 1. » L’Entente définitive du Conseil des Tlingits de Teslin et l’Entente sur l’autonomie gouvernementale du Conseil des Tlingits de Teslin ont été signées le 29 mai 1993 (chaque entente étant conclue entre le Conseil des Tlingits de Teslin, le gouvernement du Canada et le gouvernement du Yukon). Selon M. Johnston, ces ententes ont été essentielles pour préserver les traditions culturelles et améliorer les services de santé et d’éducation pour la communauté des Tlingits.

En marge de sa carrière politique, M. Johnston a aussi été un athlète et un entraîneur accomplis. Au cours des années 1960, il s’est intéressé aux courses de traîneaux à chiens et a enseigné ce sport aux jeunes. Rompu à la discipline du tir à l’arc, il a été entraîneur et compétiteur aux Jeux autochtones de l’Amérique du Nord. Bon nombre le considèrent comme le patron du tir à l’arc au Yukon, bien qu’il donne tout le crédit à son grand-père : « C’est dans nos gènes. L’archer de la famille était mon grand-père maternel 2. » Il a aussi été entraîneur aux Jeux dénés, dans le cadre des Jeux d’hiver de l’Arctique. En 2003, M. Johnston a été intronisé au Temple de la renommée des sports du Yukon pour ses réalisations comme athlète et entraîneur.

Sur le plan communautaire, Samuel Johnston a œuvré pour les jeunes, l’éducation, la langue et la culture des Tlingits. Il a enseigné le tlingit au Centre des langues autochtones du Yukon, à Whitehorse, et a exécuté des danses tlingites devant des auditoires variés. M. Johnston a aussi été chancelier du Collège du Yukon et chef du clan Ishkìtàn (Grenouille) du Conseil des Tlingits de Teslin. En 2003, il a reçu le Prix du commissaire du Yukon pour le service public, « en reconnaissance du rôle qu’il a rempli à titre de leader communautaire et de ses nombreuses contributions en vue d’améliorer la qualité de la vie dans sa collectivité 3 ».

Samuel Johnston a rencontré sa femme, Kelly, en 1982, au Yukon Sourdough Rendezvous, festival d’hiver annuel de Whitehorse, auquel sa famille participait traditionnellement. Le couple a été nommé « Monsieur et Madame Yukon » au Rendezvous de 2016, titre que les parents de Samuel Johnston avaient remporté en 1974. M. Johnston est aujourd’hui un membre très respecté du Conseil des Aînés de Teslin Tlingit. Son fils Peter a suivi ses traces. Après avoir été chef du Conseil des Tlingits de Teslin, il est actuellement grand chef du Conseil des Premières Nations du Yukon.

Notes

  1. Débats de l’Assemblée législative du Yukon, 27e législature, 3e session, 3 juin 1992, http://www.hansard.gov.yk.ca/27-legislature/session3/025_Jun_3_1992.html [EN ANGLAIS].
  2. Marcel Vander Wier. « Youth Interest in Archery Continues to Soar », Whitehorse Daily Star, 7 mai 2014, http://www.whitehorsestar.com/Sports/youth-interest-in-archery-continues-to-soar [EN ANGLAIS].
  3. Commissaire du Yukon, Les récipiendaires des Prix http://www.commissioner.gov.yk.ca/fr/awards/recipients.html.

Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 42 no 2
2019






Dernière mise à jour : 2019-10-21