Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

Search
HomeContact UsFrançais

PDF
Know Your Mace - Black Rod
Julien Labrosse

The Black Rod that is currently in use in the Senate of Canada is not the original Black Rod that was used at the time of Confederation. The first Black Rod of the Senate of Canada was lost in the fire that destroyed the original Parliament building in 1916. The new Black Rod was designed by Garrard & Co. Ltd and presented to Canada in 1918 on the occasion of a meeting in London of the Empire Parliamentary Association in the House of Lords Library.

The Black Rod is a century-old object that has suffered some damage throughout its years of use in the Senate of Canada. The most important such damage was caused in March of 1967 when the Black Rod fell to the floor, breaking the ebony staff. It was replaced with a new staff made of Brazilian rosewood.

In 2016, the Black Rod was restored at Windsor Castle and returned to its original ebony. The restored Black Rod of the Senate of Canada was then blessed on the altar of the Edward IV Chantry in St. George’s Chapel at Windsor Castle by The Right Reverend David Conner, K.C.V.O., Dean of Windsor, on October 15, 2016. On October 16, 2016, it was officially bestowed unto Canada by Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II, Queen of Canada, in the presence of the Honourable George J. Furey, Speaker of the Senate, and J. Greg Peters, M.V.O., Usher of the Black Rod, at Windsor Castle.


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 41 no 3
2018






Last Updated: 2019-07-15

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

Recherche
AccueilContactez-nousEnglish

PDF
À propos de la masse - Le bâton noir
Julien Labrosse

Le bâton noir utilisé actuellement au Sénat du Canada n’est pas celui qui était utilisé à l’époque de la Confédération. Le premier bâton noir du Sénat du Canada a été perdu dans l’incendie qui a détruit le premier édifice du Parlement en 1916. Le nouveau bâton noir a été conçu par Garrard & Co ltée et présenté au Canada en 1918 à l’occasion d’une réunion tenue par l’Association parlementaire de l’Empire à la bibliothèque de la Chambre des lords, à Londres.

Le bâton noir est un objet d’un siècle qui a subi des dommages pendant ses années d’utilisation au Sénat du Canada. Le plus grave a été causé en mars 1967 lorsqu’il est tombé au sol, ce qui a cassé la canne d’ébène. On l’a remplacée par une nouvelle canne de bois de rose brésilien.

En 2016, le bâton noir a été restauré au château de Windsor et a retrouvé son ébène d’origine. Le bâton noir du Sénat du Canada a été béni sur l’autel de la chantrerie d’Edward IV dans la chapelle St-George au château de Windsor par le très révérend David Conner, KCVO, doyen de Windsor, le 15 octobre 2016. Le 16 octobre 2016, il a été officiellement remis au Canada par Sa Majesté Elizabeth II, Reine du Canada, en présence de l’honorable George J. Furey, Président du Sénat, et J. Greg Peters, MVO, huissier du bâton noir, au château de Windsor.

Julien Labrosse
Agent de visites, Bureau du Protocole,
Affaires mondiales Canada


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 41 no 3
2018






Dernière mise à jour : 2019-10-21