Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

HomeContact UsFrançais

PDF
Now you see it, now you…won’t!: The growing porticoes, disappearing wings, and secret attics of PEI’s Province House
Laura Morrell

Prince Edward Island’s Province House was very much a work-in-progress as it was being built – with budgets and popular opinion changing the scope of the project several times and leaving some quirky architectural features. But it has stood the test of time for over 170 years and ongoing renovations mean it will be preserved for many more.

Prince Edward Island has a respectably lengthy history when it comes to democratic government led by an assembly of citizens. Our first House of Assembly was elected in 1773 when Prince Edward Island was a British colony known as Saint John’s Island. The main settlement of Charlotte Town had been laid out around a natural harbor by Charles Morris, Chief Surveyor of Nova Scotia, in his 1768 survey. Green space was set aside on high ground overlooking the harbour for buildings to house the colonial administration. Governor Walter Patterson named it Queen Square and, while it was the site of many different buildings throughout the colony’s history, it eventually became home to Province House.

As often happens in life, having a plan and implementing it are two very different endeavours. The burgeoning city had space to build administrative buildings but lacked the financial means. The initial grant of £3,000 provided by the British Colonial Office for construction wound up paying the salaries of Governor Patterson and other officials when the mostly-absentee landowners refused to pay their quit rents, which were supposed to fund the colony’s administration.1 It wasn’t until 1812 that the first public building was built by John Plaw on Queen Square. The Plaw Building was a small wooden structure shared by the courthouse and the legislature. By the mid-1830s, after the British Government abandoned quit rents in favour of a land assessment tax, the legislature was able to turn its attention towards building a “solid and well constructed edifice for the deposit and safe custody of all Public Records.”2

In August 1839 a contest to design a brick building to hold the two legislative chambers, offices, committee rooms, a library, visitor galleries, the courts, and seven public offices was published in newspapers in Prince Edward Island, Nova Scotia, and New Brunswick. The winning plan was designed by Island architect Isaac Smith, who was awarded £20. By this time, Smith had a solid track record as the designer –and builder– of most of the key buildings in the colony. His plan called for a three-story building in the classic revival style popular in other British colonies.3

Records indicate two substantive changes were made over the course of construction: one set removed architectural elements to reduce building costs, and the next replaced some of those same architectural elements to make it more attractive.4

In March 1842 the legislature approved £5,000 to build the Colonial Building (as Province House was first known), then immediately passed an act appointing building commissioners to contract with Island tradespeople and to oversee construction while also doubling the budget to £10,000. Still, the lowest tender for construction came in at more than £2,800 over the available grant. Rather than delay the project while an increase was debated in the legislature, the building commissioners had Isaac Smith, who was also the contractor, remove parts of the design to bring it within budget.
The cornerstone was laid May 16, 1843, kicking off the official beginning of construction. The first stage of construction saw the basement excavated and the exterior walls built. Despite being still in the early stages of construction, public opinion of the building’s skeletal silhouette wasn’t favourable. Grumblings around town and in the newspapers spurred Smith to take the plans back to the legislature in 1844 for approval to make two significant changes to the exterior: small wings were added to the ends of the building, and the porticoes were extended.5

The addition of the wings also served a functional purpose, as offices for the President of Legislative Council and the Speaker of the House of Assembly were added to the second story of each wing, behind their respective chambers. Oddly enough, the third floors of each wing were never designated as anything but decorative, and are only accessible by way of the building’s attic.

In Smith’s initial design of the Colonial Building, the porticoes were recessed into the façade, a feature of classical architecture that was popular at the time. They were extended outward to improve the grandeur of the building, with one oversight: the large windows installed along the second floor of the building were never replaced with doors to allow easy access to the roof of the portico from the library. A number of distinguished guests have had to climb out the window over the years in order to address crowds below.

The legislature moved into its permanent home on January 26, 1847, and continued to meet there for 168 years. In January 2015, Province House was closed so that extensive conservation work could be undertaken. While there are no plans to modify the building’s silhouette with extra wings or expanding porticoes, workers have been finding interesting bits of the past hidden in the walls, such as a kazoo, antique pudding tins, rum bottles, and a pair of eyeglasses. The work is also providing experience for a new generation of specialized Island tradespeople. Six recent graduates of the Holland College Heritage Retrofit Carpentry program were hired to work on the Province House restoration, documenting and photographing wooden infrastructure and decoration for removal and restoration.6 Province House is expected to re-open in the early 2020s.

Notes

  1. Cullen, Mary K. A History of the Structure and Use of Province house, Prince Edward Island, 1837-1977. Parks Canada, National Historic Parks and Site Branch. Manuscript report number 211. (Ottawa: Government of Canada, 1977), 5.
  2. Journals of the House of Assembly of Prince Edward Island(Charlottetown: John Henry White, 1837), 6.
  3. Cullen, 10.
  4. Ibid., 13.
  5. Ibid., 15.
  6. CBC News, (2017). “Holland College grads working on Province House conservation project” [Online]. Available: http://www.cbc.ca/news/canada/prince-edward-island/pei-holland-college-heritage-grads-province-house-1.4185010.

Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 41 no 2
2018






Last Updated: 2018-07-31

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

AccueilContactez-nousEnglish

PDF
Maintenant vous le voyez, maintenant vous... ne le voyez plus! – Les portiques qui s’agrandissent, les ailes qui disparaissent et les greniers secrets de Province House à l’Î.-P.-É.
Laura Morrell

Province House à l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard a été un travail inachevé depuis sa construction, les budgets et l’opinion populaire modifiant à plusieurs reprises la portée du projet et laissant subsister quelques caractéristiques architecturales plutôt excentriques. L’édifice a cependant résisté à l’épreuve du temps pendant 170 ans, et, grâce aux travaux de restauration, il sera préservé pendant de nombreuses années encore.

L’Île-du-Prince-Édouard a une histoire raisonnablement longue en matière de gouvernement démocratique dirigé par une assemblée de citoyens. Notre première Chambre d’assemblée a été élue en 1773 lorsque l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard était une colonie britannique connue sous le nom de Saint John’s Island. Dans son plan d’arpentage de 1768, Charles Morris, arpenteur en chef de la Nouvelle-Écosse, avait aménagé la colonie principale de Charlotte Town autour d’un port naturel. Un espace vert a été réservé sur les hauteurs surplombant le port pour des édifices destinés à loger l’administration coloniale. Le gouverneur Walter Patterson l’a nommé Queen Square et, bien qu’il ait été le site de nombreux édifices tout au long de l’histoire de la colonie, il est finalement devenu la terre d’accueil de Province House.

Comme cela arrive souvent dans la vie, avoir un plan et le mettre en œuvre sont deux choses très différentes. La ville naissante avait de l’espace pour la construction d’édifices de l’administration, mais elle manquait de moyens financiers. La subvention initiale de 3 000 £ accordée par le British Colonial Office pour la construction a fini par payer les salaires du gouverneur Patterson et d’autres fonctionnaires lorsque les propriétaires fonciers, la plupart du temps absents, ont refusé de payer leur loyer, lequel était censé financer l’administration de la colonie1. Ce n’est qu’en 1812 que le premier édifice public a été construit par John Plaw sur Queen Square. L’édifice Plaw était une petite structure en bois que se partageaient le palais de justice et l’assemblée législative. Vers le milieu des années 1830, après que le gouvernement britannique a abandonné les loyers en faveur d’une taxe foncière, l’assemblée législative a pu se concentrer sur la construction d’un « édifice solide et bien construit pour le dépôt et la garde en toute sécurité des documents publics 2».

En août 1839, un concours pour la conception d’un bâtiment en brique visant à accueillir les deux chambres législatives, les bureaux, les salles de comité, la bibliothèque, les galeries des visiteurs et les tribunaux a été publié dans les journaux de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard, de la Nouvelle-Écosse et du Nouveau-Brunswick. Le plan gagnant a été conçu par l’architecte de l’Île, Isaac Smith, qui a reçu 20 £. À cette époque, Isaac Smith avait de solides antécédents en tant que concepteur, et constructeur, de la plupart des principaux édifices de la colonie. Son plan prévoyait un édifice de trois étages dans le style renouveau classique, populaire dans d’autres colonies britanniques3.

D’après les dossiers, deux changements importants ont été apportés au cours de la construction : dans un cas, on supprimait des éléments architecturaux afin de réduire les coûts de construction, et, dans l’autre, on remettait en place certains de ces mêmes éléments architecturaux afin de rendre l’édifice plus attrayant4.

En mars 1842, l’assemblée législative a approuvé 5 000 £ pour la construction du Colonial Building (comme s’est d’abord appelé Provincial House), puis a immédiatement adopté une loi nommant des commissaires de la construction pour passer des contrats avec des commerçants de l’Île et superviser la construction tout en doublant le budget, qui atteignait 10 000 £. Pourtant, la proposition la plus basse pour la construction dépassait de 2 800 £ la subvention offerte. Plutôt que de retarder le projet pendant qu’une augmentation faisait l’objet de discussions à l’assemblée législative, les commissaires de la construction ont demandé à Isaac Smith, qui était également l’entrepreneur, de supprimer des parties de la conception afin de respecter le budget.

La première pierre a été posée le 16 mai 1843, marquant le début officiel de la construction. Au cours de la première étape de la construction, le sous-sol a été excavé, et les murs extérieurs, érigés. Même si la construction commençait à peine, l’opinion publique sur la silhouette squelettique de l’édifice n’était pas favorable. Des récriminations dans la ville et dans les journaux ont poussé Smith à soumettre de nouveau les plans à l’assemblée législative en 1844 afin de faire approuver deux changements importants à l’extérieur : l’ajout de petites ailes aux extrémités du bâtiment et l’élargissement des portiques5.

L’ajout des ailes avait également un but fonctionnel puisque les bureaux du président du Conseil législatif et du Président de la Chambre d’assemblée ont été ajoutés au deuxième étage de chaque aile, derrière leur chambre respective. Assez curieusement, le troisième étage de chaque aile n’a jamais été conçu pour un usage autre que décoratif et n’est accessible que par le grenier de l’édifice.

Dans la conception initiale du Colonial Building de Smith, les portiques étaient encastrés dans la façade, une caractéristique de l’architecture classique qui était populaire à l’époque. Ils ont été agrandis vers l’extérieur pour rehausser la majesté de l’édifice, mais avec un oubli : les grandes fenêtres installées le long du deuxième étage de l’édifice n’ont jamais été remplacées par des portes pour permettre un accès facile au toit du portique depuis la bibliothèque. Au fil des ans, un certain nombre d’invités distingués ont dû sortir par la fenêtre afin de s’adresser aux foules en bas.

L’assemblée législative a emménagé dans son lieu permanent le 26 janvier 1847 et a continué de s’y réunir pendant 168 ans. En janvier 2015, Province House a été fermé afin que l’on puisse entreprendre d’importants travaux de conservation. Bien qu’il ne soit pas prévu de modifier la silhouette du bâtiment avec des ailes supplémentaires ou des portiques plus vastes, les ouvriers ont découvert des morceaux du passé cachés dans les murs, comme un mirliton, des boîtes de pouding anciennes, des bouteilles de rhum et une paire de lunettes. Les travaux fournissent également de l’expérience à une nouvelle génération de gens de métier spécialisés de l’Île. Six nouveaux diplômés du programme de charpenterie-menuiserie en rénovation patrimoniale du Collège Heritage ont été embauchés pour travailler à la restauration de la Province House, documenter et photographier l’infrastructure et les décorations en bois, qui seront enlevées et restaurées6. Province House devrait rouvrir au début des années 2020.

Notes

  1. Cullen, Mary K. A History of the Structure and Use of Province house, Prince Edward Island, 1837-1977. Parcs Canada, Direction des parcs et lieux historiques nationaux. Rapport manuscrit no 211. (Ottawa, Gouvernement du Canada, 1977), 5.
  2. Journals of the House of Assembly of Prince Edward Island(Charlottetown, John Henry White, 1837), 6.
  3. Cullen, 10.
  4. Ibid., 13.
  5. Ibid., 15.
  6. CBC News, (2017). « Holland College grads working on Province House conservation project » [en ligne], à l’adresse suivante : http://www.cbc.ca/news/canada/prince-edward-island/pei-holland-college-heritage-grads-province-house-1.4185010. [En anglais seulement]

Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 41 no 2
2018






Dernière mise à jour : 2018-07-31