Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

Search
HomeContact UsFrançais

PDF
CPA ActivitiesCPA Activities


New Saskatchewan Speaker

On March 12, Saskatchewan Party MLA Mark Docherty was elected Speaker of the Saskatchewan Legislative Assembly. Speaker Docherty replaces Corey Tochor who resigned in January to seek the federal Conservative Party’s nomination in the Saskatoon-University riding.

Seven MLAs (including Glen Hart, Delbert Kirsch, Warren Michelson, Eric Olauson and Colleen Young of the Saskatchewan Party, and Danielle Chartier of the NDP) sought the Speaker’s role. Docherty, who represents Regina Coronation Park, won on the fifth ballot.

Docherty was escorted to the chair by Premier Scott Moe and Official Opposition leader Ryan Meili (both of whom newly assumed their positions). Donning the Speaker’s tricorn hat and robes, Docherty joked, “That was the reason why I ran.”

Prior to his political career, Docherty earned a Bachelor of Science, a Bachelor of Human Justice, and a Masters of Social Work and taught courses at the University of Regina and Saskpolytec. A decorated athlete, Docherty was an active lacrosse, rugby and handball player and competed internationally in triathlon competitions. He was also heavily involved in many community organizations, including a tenure as director of Dales House, which offers services to troubled youth.

First elected in 2011, Docherty has served as Saskatchewan’s Minister of Parks, Culture and Sport, Minister responsible for the Provincial Capital Commission, and Legislative Secretary for Disability Issues and Legislative Secretary to the Premier (Immigration and Culture).


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 41 no 1
2018






Last Updated: 2020-03-03

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

Recherche
AccueilContactez-nousEnglish

PDF
Activités de l’APCActivités de l’APC


Nouveau Président de l’Assemblée législative de la Saskatchewan

Le 12 mars, le député provincial Mark Docherty, du Parti de la Saskatchewan, s’est fait élire Président de l’Assemblée législative de la Saskatchewan. Il succède ainsi à Corey Tochor qui a démissionné en janvier pour tenter de se faire élire sous la bannière du Parti conservateur fédéral dans la circonscription de Saskatoon—University.

Sept députés (dont Glen Hart, Delbert Kirsch, Warren Michelson, Eric Olauson et Colleen Young du Parti de la Saskatchewan, ainsi que Danielle Chartier du NPD) ont brigué la présidence. M. Docherty, qui représente la circonscription de Regina Coronation Park, a gagné au cinquième tour de scrutin.

Le premier ministre, Scott Moe, et le chef de l’opposition officielle, Ryan Meili (qui sont tous les deux nouveaux dans leurs fonctions) ont conduit M. Docherty vers le fauteuil. Affublé du tricorne et de la toge du Président, M. Docherty a dit à la blague : « C’est la raison pour laquelle j’ai fait campagne ».

Avant sa carrière politique, M. Docherty a obtenu un baccalauréat en sciences, un baccalauréat en justice ainsi qu’une maîtrise en travail social. Il a également donné des cours à l’Université de Regina et à l’École polytechnique de la Saskatchewan. Athlète décoré, M. Docherty a joué à la crosse, au rugby ainsi qu’au handball, et il a participé à des compétitions internationales de triathlon. Il s’est également grandement investi dans de nombreux organismes communautaires, notamment à titre de directeur de Dales House, qui offre des services aux jeunes en difficulté.

Élu pour la première fois dans la province en 2011, M. Docherty a été ministre des Parcs, de la Culture et du Sport, ministre responsable de la Commission de la capitale provinciale ainsi que secrétaire législatif pour la condition des personnes handicapées et secrétaire législatif du premier ministre (Immigration et Culture).


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 41 no 1
2018






Dernière mise à jour : 2020-03-03