Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

HomeContact UsFrançais

PDF
Letter from the Editor: A Focus on Women Parliamentarians
Will Stos

One hundred years ago, on June 7, 1917, voters in Alberta elected Louise McKinney to the provincial legislature. McKinney, who was sworn in the following year, was not only recognized as the first woman elected to a Canadian legislature, but also the first woman elected as a parliamentarian anywhere in the British Empire.

To mark this anniversary, the Canadian Parliamentary Review is pleased to present a theme issue focusing on the women who have followed (and hope to follow) in her footsteps.

In this issue, Manitoba Speaker Myrna Driedger writes about the early suffrage campaigns that paved the way for women like McKinney to vote in provincial, territorial and federal elections and stand for elected public office. She explains how her province – the first to extend the franchise to some women – honoured suffragist Nellie McClung (a member of the Famous Five, alongside McKinney) on the legislature’s grounds.

Elsewhere, Equal Voice Canada’s Grace Lore surveys the current state of women’s representation in elected office across Canada. Amanda Bittner and Melanee Thomas explore current research into issues women face in political workplaces with a particular focus on mothers (and fathers) who face unique challenges balancing work and family responsibilities in a job like no other. Amanda LeBlanc recounts the interesting history of gendered honorifics, naming women in legislatures, and the trend towards gender neutral address.

We also present an interview and two roundtables with past, present, and potentially future women parliamentarians. Kim Campbell reflects on her career and the state of women in politics as she approaches the 25th anniversary of her time as Canada’s first, and so far only, woman prime minister. MHA Cathy Bennett, MLA Rochelle Squires, and former MLA Joanne Bernard share their experiences as targets of vicious, hateful and misogynistic social media harassment. And, on an optimistic note, several delegates from the Daughters of the Vote express how this event has inspired them, and how they have inspired each other, to continue the work of breaking down barriers that women face when engaging in formal and informal politics.

Finally, our recurring “Sketches” feature, tells the story of Bettie Duff, the first woman to serve as Clerk of a legislature in Canada and one of the trailblazing women working within parliamentary institutions who support all parliamentarians to fulfill democratic responsibilities.

Throughout this issue you will also see many women parliamentarians offering a message with words of advice, warning, and encouragement to their younger selves based on what they have learned in their political careers. We had a tremendous response to our call for these submissions, and any messages we could not fit into the print edition of the magazine will appear on our new website: http://www.revparlcan.ca/

On behalf of the editorial board, I hope you agree that this theme issue is as strong and compelling as the women we profile in its pages.

Will Stos, Editor


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 40 no 3
2017






Last Updated: 2017-11-08

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

AccueilContactez-nousEnglish

PDF
Lettre du directeur : Pleins feux sur les femmes parlementaires
Will Stos

Il y a 100 ans, le 7 juin 1917, les électeurs de l’Alberta élisaient Louise McKinney à l’Assemblée législative de la province. Mme McKinney, qui a prêté serment l’année suivante, était non seulement reconnue comme la première femme élue dans une assemblée législative canadienne, mais aussi la première femme parlementaire dans l’Empire britannique.

Pour souligner cet anniversaire, la Revue parlementaire canadienne a le plaisir de présenter un numéro thématique consacré aux femmes qui ont suivi (et celles qui espèrent suivre) ses traces.

Dans ce numéro, la présidente de l’Assemblée législative du Manitoba, Myrna Driedger, écrit sur les premières campagnes en faveur du droit de vote qui ont pavé la voie qui a permis à des femmes comme Mme McKinney de voter aux élections provinciales, territoriales et fédérales et de se porter candidates aux élections. Elle explique comment sa province – la première à avoir accordé le droit de vote à certaines femmes – a rendu hommage à la suffragette Nellie McLung (qui faisait partie des Célèbres cinq avec Mme McKinney) sur le terrain de l’Assemblée législative.

Par ailleurs, Grace Lore, de l’organisme À voix égales, passe en revue la situation de la représentation actuelle des femmes aux charges électives au Canada. Amanda Bittner et Melanee Thomas explorent les études actuelles sur les problèmes auxquels sont confrontées les femmes en politique, en portant une attention particulière aux mères (et aux pères), pour qui concilier travail et famille pose des problèmes uniques dans un contexte professionnel comme nul autre. Amanda LeBlanc raconte l’histoire intéressante des titres honorifiques selon le sexe, pour nommer les femmes dans des assemblées législatives, et la tendance actuelle à choisir des titres neutres.

Nous présentons également une entrevue et deux tables rondes avec des femmes parlementaires d’hier, d’aujourd’hui et, peut-être, de demain. Kim Campbell repense à sa carrière et réfléchit à la situation des femmes en politique alors que cela fera bientôt 25 ans qu’elle a été la première femme, et la seule jusqu’à maintenant, à accéder au poste de premier ministre au Canada. La La députée Cathy Bennett, la députée Rochelle Squires et l’ex-députée Joanne Bernard racontent comment elles ont été la cible de propos méchants, haineux et misogynes sur les médias sociaux. Puis, sur une note optimiste, plusieurs déléguées d’Héritières du suffrage disent comment cet événement les a incitées, et comment elles s’incitent les unes les autres, à travailler à abattre les barrières pour les femmes qui s’engagent, officiellement ou non, en politique.

Enfin, dans notre chronique « Esquisses », nous racontons l’histoire de Bettie Duff, la première femme à avoir été nommée greffière dans un corps législatif au Canada et l’une des pionnières à avoir travaillé dans une institution parlementaire à aider tous les parlementaires à s’acquitter de leurs obligations démocratiques.

Tout au long de ce numéro, vous verrez également un grand nombre de femmes parlementaires qui livrent aux jeunes femmes un message riche en conseils, en mises en garde et en encouragements à la lumière de leur expérience en politique. Nous avons reçu beaucoup de réponses à notre appel de contributions et les messages que nous n’avons pas pu inclure dans la version imprimée de la revue seront affichés sur notre nouveau site Web : http://www.revparlcan.ca/.

Au nom du comité de rédaction, j’espère que vous trouverez ce numéro thématique aussi profond et captivant que les femmes dont nous y faisons le portrait.

Will Stos, Directeur


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 40 no 3
2017






Dernière mise à jour : 2017-11-08