Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

HomeContact UsFrançais

PDF
Foundations: The Words that Shaped Canada
Lucie Lecomte

Drawing on Library and Archive’s collection, the Library of Parliament curated an exhibit that features six of the most significant documents in Canadian and parliamentary history. In this article, the author gives an overview of the contexts in which some of the words that shaped Canada were written and identifies some interesting details on the documents themselves.

Introduction

To mark the 150th anniversary of Confederation, the Library of Parliament opened an exhibit entitled Foundations: The Words that Shaped Canada on March 9, 2017.

The Library partnered with Library and Archives Canada to showcase six key documents that contributed to the social, political and territorial development of Canada.

  • the British North America Act (1867);
  • Canada’s first Speech from the Throne (1867);
  • the North-West Territories Proclamation (1869);
  • the Statute of Westminster (1931);
  • the Canadian Bill of Rights (1960); and
  • the Proclamation of the Constitution Act,1982.

As the title of the exhibit suggests, these documents mark important stages in Canada’s constitutional development.

The documents are accompanied by interactive touchscreens, which explore important details of each document and connects them to broader historical themes. A large interactive timeline also gives visitors an overview of major turning points in Canadian and parliamentary history.

The British North America Act (1867)

The exhibit begins with an overview of certain key events that led to Confederation and the enactment of the British North America Act (BNA). Pursuant to this Act, the Parliament of Canada governs and legislates to maintain, “Peace, Order and Good Government.” These intrinsic values of Canadian democracy are as relevant today as they were in 1867.

Although the BNA Act was British legislation, its provisions were drafted by representatives of the colonies of New Brunswick, Nova Scotia and the Province of Canada. This is reflected in the spirit of the text that is marked by a desire to reach a compromise: a compromise between the majority and a linguistic minority that wished to retain its language, religion and identity; and a political compromise between formerly independent colonies that wished to unite in a rapidly evolving North American political context while retaining certain powers in the face of centralizing forces. These compromises remain at the heart of the Canadian federation and can be seen in the way it functions today.

The copy of the BNA Act on display at the Library belonged to Sir John A. Macdonald.

Enacted on March 29, 1867, the BNA Act came into force on July 1. Canada’s first general election was held on September 20, 1867.

Canada’s first Speech from the Throne

On Thursday, November 7, 1867, the Governor General of Canada, Sir Charles Stanley Monck, 4th Viscount Monck, opened the First Session of the Parliament of Canada. A few days before the event, he had written to his 18-year-old son, Henry, noting that he would soon open the first session of Parliament and that it would be “a great function.” He also mentioned that a Montreal cavalry regiment would be his escort.

In his Speech from the Throne, the Governor General reminded parliamentarians of their responsibilities:

the Act of Union, as adopted by the Imperial Parliament, imposes the duty and confers upon you the right of reducing to practice the system of Government, which it has called into existence, of consolidating its institutions, harmonizing its administrative details, and of making such legislative provisions as will secure to a constitution, in some respects novel, a full, fair, and unprejudiced trial.

He also spoke of territorial expansion and of spending. He concluded by expressing his hopes for the new country:

I fervently pray that your aspirations may be directed to such high and patriotic objects, and that you may be endowed with such a spirit of moderation and wisdom as will cause you to render the great work of Union which has been achieved, a blessing to yourselves and your posterity, and a fresh starting point in the moral, political and material advancement of the people of Canada.

The Governor General then proceeded to read his speech a second time, in French, a reminder of the linguistic rights as determined in section 133 of the BNA Act.

The first pages of the English and French copies of the Speech - which were written by two different clerks - form part of the Library’s exhibit.

Back at his official residence in Ottawa that same day, Monck took pen in hand and wrote to his son about the ceremony that had just taken place. He promised to send him an account of the proceedings and a copy of his speech. In his letter, he explained that he had asked the ladies to sit in the front and the parliamentarians to wear formal dress. Monck wrote that “the whole thing looked very pretty” and that the opening of Parliament was followed by parties and a number of dinners that he faithfully attended.

North-West Territories Proclamation (1869)

Pursuing its goal of expansion, the Government of Canada negotiated the purchase of Rupert’s Land, the vast territory owned by the Hudson’s Bay Company. As Minister of Public Works, the Honourable William McDougall played a key role in the negotiations.

In the fall of 1869, McDougall was to travel to Fort Garry to assume his new position as Lieutenant Governor of the North-West Territories. However, when he attempted to cross the border near Pembina (on the present territory of North Dakota) to reach Fort Garry, an armed group of Métis barred his passage. He stayed in Pembina for a month with his children and some of his retinue.

McDougall believed that the transfer of Rupert’s Land from the Hudson’s Bay Company to Canada was to take place on December 1, 1869. He was unaware that the Government of Canada had postponed the transfer owing to political problems in the Red River Colony. As a result, some sources report that McDougall crossed the border in the middle of the night on November 30, 1869 and, in the company of some of his close associates, read aloud the North-West Territories Proclamation. In any event, this proclamation did not have the desired effect. On the contrary, it aggravated relations with the Métis, who responded by establishing a provisional government to negotiate directly with the government. Some historians say that the Proclamation was one of the factors that led to the Red River Resistance.

The Proclamation is one of many steps in Canada’s territorial evolution. The exhibit examines the country’s boundary changes from 1867 to 1999 when the territory of Nunavut was created.

Statute of Westminster, 1931

The exhibit then focusses on the 20th century, a time when Canada underwent profound transformations, notably on the political front. Prior to the enactment of the Statute of Westminster in 1931, Canada had legislative autonomy in domestic matters. When it came to external affairs, Ottawa looked to London.

Between the two World Wars, Canada and Newfoundland, along with other colonies, participated in the Imperial Conferences. They dealt essentially with the full legal autonomy of the former colonies. The decisions reached in 1926, 1929 and 1930 were ratified in 1931 with the signing of the Statute of Westminster which paved the way for the Commonwealth.

The copy of the Statute of Westminster on display in the exhibit is a photographic facsimile of the original which is preserved in the House of Lords in London. A comparison of the Statute of Westminster with other documents produced around the same time shows that they all include two handwritten elements. First, we can read, “le Roy le veult”, a Norman expression meaning “the King wills it” that is used by the Clerk of the Parliaments in the House of Lords to indicate that a bill has received royal assent. The second handwritten element is the signature of Edward Hall Alderson, Clerk of the Parliaments at the time the Statute of Westminster was adopted.

The Statute of Westminster is a foundation document that testified of Canada’s political evolution since 1867 and its participation in the creation of the Commonwealth of Nations.

Canadian Bill of Rights (1960)

With the backdrop of the civil rights movement in the United States and decolonization in Africa and Asia, the issue of human rights took on an important dimension in Canadian politics. In 1960, Parliament adopted the Canadian Bill of Rights. This was the first federal statute to officially establish the fundamental rights of all Canadians.

The Canadian Bill of Rights guarantees: the right to life and liberty; the right of equality; freedom of religion, speech and association; and freedom of the press. It marked a decisive step for Canada and for the defence of human rights around the world. The Bill is still in effect today, although most of its provisions were replaced by the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms that was adopted in 1982.

The 1960 Canadian Bill of Rights is remarkable for its content, as well as its presentation. Artist Yvonne Diceman (née Roberts) did the calligraphy and illumination. The rights guaranteed by the Bill are represented in four diagrams. The imagery and symbolism provide a wonderful illustration of the text and the spirit of the Canadian Bill of Rights. The artist assigned a place of prominence to the Centre Block, the seat of Canada’s Parliament. The Ottawa River, represented by two blue lines, flows behind Parliament and intermingles with the decorative motifs. A beaver is visible above Diceman’s signature. The illumination does not include heraldic elements, but the colour and composition of its patterns harmonize perfectly with the Canadian coat of arms.

Diceman was born in England and served in the Women’s Auxiliary Air Force in the Second World War. It was during that time that she met a young master warrant officer in the Royal Canadian Air Force named Harold Alonzo Diceman, whom she married in 1945. As a young war bride, Diceman trained in Canada to be an artist. During her career, she was responsible for the calligraphy and illumination of other Canadian documents, including the Books of Remembrance that are located in the Memorial Chamber of the Peace Tower, and the Proclamation of the Canadian Flag. Harold Diceman, meanwhile, was a founding member of the Royal Heraldry Society of Canada, of which he was made a fellow in 1979.

The Proclamation of the Constitution Act, 1982

The exhibit’s pinnacle is the Proclamation of the Constitution Act, 1982, which gave Canada full independence from Great Britain, notably by granting the power to amend its own constitution. The entrenched Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms attests to the values Canadians hold most dear.

The Proclamation of the Constitution Act, 1982 that is on display at the Library is the copy that was signed by Queen Elizabeth II, Prime Minister Pierre Elliott Trudeau, André Ouellet, Registrar General of Canada, and Jean Chrétien, Minister of Justice, in front of the Centre Block on April 17, 1982. Its authenticity is clear from the slight traces of rain drops that it bears, a reminder of the gentle rain falling on Ottawa that day.

A second copy of the Proclamationwas also signed by Her Majesty and the Canadian dignitaries. It is well known that in 1983, an individual intentionally poured red paint on this document by way of protest. What is perhaps less well known is that only Jean Chrétien’s signature is covered with red paint, which is why it is the best preserved of the four. Curiously, Chrétien was not originally supposed to sign the Proclamation!

Conclusion

The exhibit Foundations: The Words That Shaped Canada is an exceptional opportunity to see six important documents in Canadian and parliamentary history together in one place. The exhibit can be seen by visitors on a guided tour of Parliament and will be open until the end of December 2017.


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 40 no 2
2017






Last Updated: 2017-10-03

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

AccueilContactez-nousEnglish

PDF
Textes fondateurs : les mots qui ont façonné le Canada
Lucie Lecomte

Puisant dans la collection de Bibliothèque et Archives Canada, la Bibliothèque du Parlement a organisé et préparé une exposition qui met en lumière six des plus importants documents de l’histoire du Canada et du Parlement. Dans cet article, l’auteure donne un aperçu des contextes dans lesquels ces textes ont été rédigés et nous fait découvrir certains détails intéressants sur les documents eux-mêmes.

Introduction

Pour souligner le 150e anniversaire de la Confédération, la Bibliothèque du Parlement a inauguré une exposition intitulée Textes fondateurs : les mots qui ont façonné le Canada le 9 mars 2017.

La Bibliothèque s’est associée à Bibliothèque et Archives Canada pour présenter six documents essentiels ayant contribué au développement social, politique et territorial du Canada.

  • l’Acte de l’Amérique du Nord britannique (1867) ;
  • le premier discours du Trône du Canada (1867) ;
  • la Proclamation des Territoires du Nord-Ouest(1869) ;
  • le Statut de Westminster (1931) ;
  • la Déclaration canadienne des droits(1960) ;
  • la Proclamation de la Loi constitutionnelle de 1982.

Comme l’indique le titre évocateur de l’exposition, ces documents marquent d’importantes étapes dans l’évolution constitutionnelle du Canada.

Les documents sont accompagnés d’écrans tactiles interactifs qui offrent des détails importants sur chacun des textes et qui les rattachent à des thèmes historiques plus larges. Une grande ligne du temps interactive donne aussi aux visiteurs une vue d’ensemble des moments charnières de l’histoire canadienne et parlementaire.

L’Acte de l’Amérique du Nord britannique (1867)

L’exposition commence par un aperçu de certains événements clés ayant mené à la Confédération et à l’adoption de l’Acte de l’Amérique du Nord britannique (AANB). En vertu de cet Acte, le Parlement du Canada gouverne et légifère pour maintenir « la paix, l’ordre et le bon gouvernement ». Ces valeurs intrinsèques de la démocratie canadienne sont toujours aussi pertinentes aujourd’hui qu’elles l’étaient en 1867.

En dépit du fait que l’AANB était une loi britannique, son contenu a été élaboré par les représentants des colonies du Nouveau-Brunswick, de la Nouvelle-Écosse et du Canada-Uni. Cela se reflète dans son esprit empreint d’une volonté d’arriver à un compromis : un compromis entre la majorité et une minorité linguistique désireuses de conserver sa langue, sa religion et son identité ; un compromis politique entre d’anciennes colonies indépendantes désireuses de s’unir dans un contexte politique nordaméricain en pleine transformation tout en conservant un certain nombre de pouvoirs vis-à-vis des forces centralisatrices. Ces compromis sont toujours au cœur de la fédération canadienne et se reflètent dans son fonctionnement.

La copie de l’AANB qui est exposée à la Bibliothèque a appartenue à Sir. John A. Macdonald.

Promulgué le 29 mars 1867, l’AANB est entré en vigueur le 1er juillet. La première élection générale au Canada a eu lieu le 20 septembre 1867.

Le premier discours du Trône du Canada

Le jeudi 7 novembre 1867, le gouverneur général du Canada, Sir Charles Stanley Monck, le 4e vicomte Monck, a ouvert la première session du Parlement du Canada. Quelques jours auparavant, il avait écrit à son fils Henry, âgé de 18 ans, qu’il ouvrirait bientôt la première session du Parlement et note que ce sera « a great function ». Il mentionne également qu’un régiment de cavalerie de Montréal lui servira d’escorte.

Dans son discours, le gouverneur général rappelle aux parlementaires les responsabilités qui leur incombent :

l’Acte d’Union, tel qu’adopté par le Parlement impérial, vous impose et confère le droit de réduire en pratique le système de gouvernement à qui il a donné l’existence, de consolider ses institutions, d’en harmoniser les détails administratifs et d’adopter les dispositions législatives propres à assurer à une constitution, nouvelle à quelques égards, une épreuve entière, raisonnable et libre de tous préjugés.

Il a aussi parlé d’expansion territoriale et du budget et a conclu en offrant ses souhaits pour le nouveau pays :

je fais de ferventes prières pour que vos aspirations se dirigent vers de tels objets élevés et patriotiques, et que vous soyez doués d’un tel esprit de modération et de sagesse, qu’il vous fasse tourner la grande œuvre qui vient d’être accomplie, à votre bonheur et à celui de votre postérité, et la rende un nouveau point de départ dans l’avancement moral, politique et matériel du peuple du Canada.

Par la suite, le gouverneur général a lu son discours une seconde fois en français, un rappel des droits linguistiques garantis à l’article 133 de l’AANB.

Les premières pages des copies anglaise et française du discours — écrites par deux différents greffiers — font partie de l’exposition.

Une fois rentré à sa résidence officielle à Ottawa, Monck a pris la plume pour écrire à son fils au sujet de la cérémonie qui venait de se dérouler. Il lui promet de lui faire parvenir le compte rendu de la procédure et une copie de son discours. Il explique, entre autres, qu’il a demandé aux dames de s’asseoir vers l’avant et aux parlementaires de porter une tenue de soirée. Il affirme que « the whole thing looked very pretty » et mentionne que l’ouverture du Parlement a donné lieu à des soirées et de nombreux dîners auxquels il a assisté assidûment.

La Proclamation des Territoires du Nord-Ouest (1869)

Poursuivant son désir d’expansion, le gouvernement du Canada négocie l’achat de la Terre de Rupert, ce vaste territoire appartenant à la Compagnie de la Baie d’Hudson. À titre de ministre des Travaux publics, l’hon. William McDougall avait joué un rôle important dans les négociations.

À l’automne 1869, McDougall devait se rendre au Fort Garry pour assumer ses nouvelles fonctions à titre de lieutenantgouverneur des Territoires du Nord-Ouest. Or, lorsqu’il a tenté de passer la frontière à la hauteur de Pembina (sur le territoire actuel du Dakota du Nord) pour se rendre au Fort Garry, un groupe de Métis armés lui ont interdit le passage. Il est resté un mois à Pembina avec ses enfants et quelques membres de sa suite.

McDougall croyait que le transfert de la Terre de Rupert de la Compagnie de la Baie d’Hudson au Canada devait se faire le 1er décembre 1869. Il ignorait que le gouvernement du Canada avait repoussé la date en raison des problèmes politiques dans la colonie de la rivière Rouge. Ainsi, selon certaines sources, McDougall aurait traversé la frontière en pleine nuit le 30 novembre 1869, et, entouré de quelquesuns de ses proches collaborateurs, a lu à haute voix la Proclamation des Territoires du Nord-Ouest. Quoi qu’il en soit, cette proclamation n’a pas eu l’impact désiré. Bien au contraire, elle a envenimé les relations avec les Métis qui ont riposté en créant un gouvernement provisoire pour négocier directement avec le gouvernement. Certains historiens croient que le Proclamation est un des éléments qui a mené à l’éclatement de la résistance de la rivière Rouge.

La Proclamation constitue l’une des nombreuses étapes de l’évolution territoriale du Canada. L’exposition examine les modifications apportées aux frontières de 1867 à 1999, année de création du territoire du Nunavut.

Le Statut de Westminster (1931)

L’exposition se tourne ensuite vers le XXe siècle, époque lors de laquelle le Canada a subi de profondes transformations, notamment au plan politique. Avant la promulgation du Statut de Westminster en 1931, le Canada légiférait de manière indépendante en ce qui a trait aux affaires intérieures. Or, en matière de relations extérieures, Ottawa se tournait vers Londres.

Durant l’entre-deux-guerres, le Canada et Terre-Neuve, comme d’autres colonies, ont participé à des conférences impériales. Essentiellement, elles portaient sur la pleine liberté juridique des anciennes colonies. Les décisions qui ont été prises en 1926, 1929, et en 1930 ont été ratifiées en 1931 par la signature du Statut de Westminster. Ce statut a également jeté les bases du Commonwealth.

La copie du Statut de Westminster qui est exposée est une télécopie photographique de l’original qui est conservé à la Chambre des Lords à Londres. En comparant le Statut de Westminster à d’autres documents produits à la même époque, on s’aperçoit qu’ils comportent tous deux éléments inscrits à la main. Dans un premier temps, on peut lire « le Roy le veult ». Il s’agit d’une expression normande prononcée par le greffier des Parlements (Clerk of the Parliaments) dans la Chambre des Lords pour signifier que le projet de loi a obtenu la sanction royale. Dans un deuxième temps, on voit la signature d’Edward Hall Alderson, greffier des Parlements au moment de l’adoption du Statut de Westminster.

Le Statut de Westminster est un document fondamental qui témoigne de l’évolution politique du Canada depuis 1867 ainsi que sa participation à la création du Commonwealth.

La Déclaration canadienne des droits (1960)

Dans le contexte du mouvement des droits civiques aux États-Unis et celui de la décolonisation en Afrique et en Asie, la question des droits de la personne prend une dimension importante sur la scène politique canadienne. Ainsi, en 1960, le Parlement canadien adopte la Déclaration canadienne des droits. Il s’agit de la première loi fédérale à établir officiellement les droits fondamentaux de tous les Canadiens.

La Déclaration garantit : le droit à la vie et à la liberté, le droit à l’égalité, à la liberté de religion, à la liberté de parole et d’association ainsi que la liberté de la presse. La Déclaration canadienne des droits marque une étape décisive pour le Canada et pour la défense des droits de l’homme partout dans le monde. La Déclaration est toujours en vigueur aujourd’hui, mais la majorité de ses dispositions ont été remplacées par la Charte canadienne des droits et libertés adoptée en 1982.

La Déclaration canadienne des droits de 1960 est un document remarquable par son contenu, mais aussi par sa présentation. C’est l’artiste Yvonne Diceman (née Roberts) qui a réalisé la calligraphie et l’enluminure. Les droits garantis par la Déclaration sont représentés dans quatre dessins. L’imagerie et le symbolisme illustrent bien le texte et l’esprit de la Déclaration. L’artiste a accordé une place importante à l’édifice du Centre, le siège du Parlement canadien. La rivière des Outaouais, représentée par deux traits bleus, coule derrière le Parlement et se mêle aux motifs ornementaux. Au-dessus de la signature de Mme Diceman, on aperçoit un castor. L’enluminure ne comporte pas d’élément héraldique, mais les motifs de celle-ci se marient parfaitement, tant par le choix de couleur que la composition, aux armoiries du Canada.

Née en Angleterre, Mme Diceman a servi dans la Women’s Auxiliary Air Force lors de la Seconde Guerre mondiale. C’est à ce moment qu’elle a rencontré et, en 1945, a épousé M. Harold Alonzo Diceman, un jeune adjudant-maître de l’Aviation royale canadienne. Jeune épouse de guerre, elle a reçu sa formation d’artiste au Canada. Au cours de sa carrière, elle a réalisé la calligraphie et l’enluminure d’autres documents canadiens, dont les Livres du Souvenir qui se retrouvent dans la chapelle de la tour de la Paix et la Proclamation du drapeau canadien. Quant à M. Harold Diceman, il était un membre fondateur de la Société royale héraldique du Canada et il en a été fait compagnon en 1979.

La Proclamation de la Loi constitutionnelle de 1982

Le point culminant de l’exposition est la Proclamation de la Loi constitutionnelle de 1982, qui donne au Canada sa pleine indépendance par rapport à la Grande-Bretagne, notamment en lui attribuant le pouvoir de modifier sa constitution. La Charte canadienne des droits et libertés qui y est enchâssée atteste des valeurs qui sont de la plus haute importance pour les Canadiens.

La Proclamation de la Loi constitutionnelle de 1982 qui est exposée à la Bibliothèque est une copie de celle qui a été signée par la reine Elizabeth II, le premier ministre Pierre Elliott Trudeau, André Ouellet, le registraire général du Canada et Jean Chrétien, ministre de la Justice à l’époque, devant l’Édifice du Centre, le 17 avril 1982. Il n’est guère difficile de la reconnaître, car on y voit des traces de gouttelettes, un rappel qu’une pluie fine tombait sur Ottawa cette journée-là.

Une deuxième copie de la Proclamation avait également été signée par Sa Majesté et les dignitaires canadiens. Il est bien notoire qu’en 1983 un individu a intentionnellement déversé de la peinture rouge sur ce document en guise de protestation. Ce qui est peutêtre moins connu est le fait que seule la signature de Jean Chrétien est recouverte de peinture rouge et, de ce fait, elle est la mieux préservée des quatre. Curieusement, ce n’était pas prévu que M. Chrétien signe la Proclamation !

Conclusion

Textes fondateurs : les mots qui ont façonné le Canadaoffre aux visiteurs une chance unique de voir six documents d’importance dans l’histoire canadienne et parlementaire, réunis en une seule exposition. Les visiteurs qui effectuent une visite guidée du Parlement peuvent voir l’exposition qui sera ouverte jusqu’à la fin décembre 2017.


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 40 no 2
2017






Dernière mise à jour : 2017-10-03