Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

Search
HomeContact UsFrançais

PDF
Commonwealth Parliamentarians with Disabilities: A New Network
Kevin Murphy

Building on his work promoting collaboration and discussion among Canadian parliamentarians with disabilities, in this article the author highlights plans for an exploratory conference looking to establish a Commonwealth-wide network. The three-day conference is being planned for this summer in Halifax, Nova Scotia.

In the Spring 2015 edition of the Canadian Parliamentary Review (Vol. 38, No. 1), I joined with colleagues from across Canada to provide personal perspectives on what it’s like to be a parliamentarian with a disability and the associated challenges, including running for a party’s nomination and championing local accessibility legislation.

I serve as both a Member and Speaker of the Nova Scotia House of Assembly as a person with a disability (quadriplegic) and I am joined in the House by my colleague, Alfie MacLeod (amputee). In Canada alone, we have many serving parliamentarians with disabilities at the provincial and federal levels who are spread out across our great and vast country, including two federal cabinet ministers, Carla Qualtrough, Minister of Sport and Persons with Disabilities (visually impaired) and Kent Hehr, Minister of Veterans Affairs (quadriplegic). Member of Parliament Diane Finley (visually impaired) in the House of Commons and Senator Chantal Petitclerc (paraplegic), are joined at the provincial level by: Steven Fletcher (quadriplegic) in Manitoba; Stephanie Cadieux (paraplegic), Michelle Stilwell (quadriplegic) and Sam Sullivan (quadriplegic) in British Columbia; Ed Doherty (mobility issues) in New Brunswick and Mark Docherty (mobility issues) in Saskatchewan.

To reaffirm the obvious, our populations are diverse and the Commonwealth is a perfect example which reflects this diversity. Nations can categorize their populations in various ways including, but not limited to age, gender, sexual orientation, Indigenous peoples, income, ethnicity and/or faith, but a community that is often overlooked in a political context are persons with disabilities. The World Health Organization reports that in most countries about 15 per cent of the population report having some form of disability; yet research shows that very few people with disabilities have been elected to public office.

In discussions with like-minded parliamentarians and persons in the disability community, since my own election in 2013 I have tried to bring the topic of encouraging persons with disabilities to run for elected office to the public arena.

To further this discussion and to increase general awareness, one of my ideas is to establish a network of parliamentarians with disabilities Commonwealth Parliamentarians with Disabilities (CPwD) within the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association (CPA). This network would be similar in nature to Commonwealth Women Parliamentarians (CWP) and promote specific aims and objectives.

These include: increasing representation of persons with disabilities in our Parliaments; providing opportunities for strategic discussion and development for future and present parliamentarians with disabilities; identifying barriers preventing persons with disabilities from seeking elected office; developing outreach programs and materials to encourage persons with disabilities to seek elected office; fostering closer relationships between Commonwealth parliamentarians with disabilities; and discussing, strategizing and acting on issues relating to persons with disabilities internationally.

I contacted the Secretary General of CPA to discuss my proposal of bringing together parliamentarians with disabilities from across the Commonwealth to Halifax, Nova Scotia for a three-day conference to put forward a recommendation to CPA to establish this network. With the CPA’s support, the planning and preparation for this conference in late August 2017 is underway and the CPA has been in contact with member countries to determine the level of interest and to locate prospective delegates. In addition, I have championed this idea in Canada and with other jurisdictions as opportunities arose.

The outcome of the conference will be to formalize a recommendation to CPA to establish CPwD and this recommendation would then be put forward at the next Annual General Meeting.

In the months ahead I look forward to sharing what we learn from this conference and these ongoing discussions with all Canadian parliamentarians in future issues of the Canadian Parliamentary Review. For more information about this conference and related initiatives, please contact my Legislative Assistant, Scott Burke, by email at: scott.j.burke@novascotia.ca


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 40 no 2
2017






Last Updated: 2017-11-08

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

AccueilContactez-nousEnglish

PDF
Les parlementaires handicapés du Commonwealth : un nouveau réseau
Kevin Murphy

Dans le présent article, l’auteur se fonde sur son travail faisant la promotion de la collaboration et de la discussion parmi les parlementaires canadiens handicapés afin de souligner les plans en vue d’une conférence préliminaire visant à créer un réseau à l’échelle du Commonwealth. La conférence de trois jours est prévue cet été, à Halifax, en Nouvelle-Écosse.

Dans l’édition du printemps 2015 de la Revue parlementaire canadienne (vol. 38, no 1), je me suis joint à des collègues de l’ensemble du Canada afin de fournir des points de vue personnels sur la réalité des parlementaires handicapés ainsi que sur les défis connexes, notamment participer à une course à l’investiture du parti et se tenir debout pour les projets de loi sur l’accessibilité.

Je suis une personne handicapée (quadriplégique), mais je suis aussi député et Président de la Chambre d’Assemblée de la Nouvelle-Écosse. Je suis accompagné par un collègue qui a aussi un handicap, Alfie MacLeod (amputé). Au Canada seulement, il existe de nombreux parlementaires handicapés en fonction. Ils sont dispersés d’un bout à l’autre de notre beau et grand pays et travaillent au provincial et au fédéral; on pense, entre autres, à deux ministres fédéraux, Carla Qualtrough, ministre des Sports et des Personnes handicapées (déficience visuelle) et Kent Hehr, ministre des Anciens Combattants (quadriplégique). La députée Diane Finley (déficience visuelle) à la Chambre des communes et la sénatrice Chantal Petitclerc (paraplégique) viennent s’ajouter, au provincial, à Steven Fletcher (quadriplégique) au Manitoba; Stephanie Cadieux (paraplégique), Michelle Stilwell (quadriplégique) et Sam Sullivan (quadriplégique) en Colombie-Britannique; Ed Doherty (problèmes de mobilité) au Nouveau-Brunswick; et Mark Docherty (problèmes de mobilité) en Saskatchewan.

Il est évident que notre population est diversifiée et que le Commonwealth est un exemple qui illustre parfaitement cette diversité. Les pays peuvent catégoriser leurs populations de différentes façons, y compris les suivantes, sans toutefois s’y limiter : l’âge, le sexe, l’orientation sexuelle, les Autochtones, le revenu, l’ethnicité et la religion. Cependant, dans le contexte politique, un groupe est souvent oublié : les personnes handicapées. L’Organisation mondiale de la santé rapporte que, dans la plupart des pays, environ 15 % de la population déclare avoir une forme de handicap. Pourtant, les recherches démontrent que très peu de personnes handicapées ont été élues à des fonctions officielles.

Depuis que j’ai été élu en 2013, je parle avec des parlementaires partageant des points de vue similaires ainsi que des personnes handicapées pour encourager les personnes handicapées à se présenter comme candidat pour occuper des fonctions officielles.

Pour approfondir ces discussions et accroître la sensibilisation à cet égard, une de mes idées consiste à créer un réseau de parlementaires handicapés (Parlementaires handicapés du Commonwealth (PHC)
au sein de l’Association parlementaire du Commonwealth (APC)). La nature de ce réseau ressemblerait à celle des Femmes parlementaires du Commonwealth (FPC) et le réseau ferait la promotion d’objectifs précis.

Voici ces objectifs : accroître la représentation des personnes handicapées à nos parlements; fournir des occasions de tenir des discussions stratégiques et de perfectionnement professionnel pour les parlementaires handicapés d’aujourd’hui et de demain; cerner les obstacles qui empêchent les personnes handicapées de se présenter comme candidat à des élections; créer des programmes et des documents de sensibilisation pour inciter les personnes handicapées à se présenter comme candidat à des élections; resserrer les liens entre les parlementaires handicapés du Commonwealth; discuter des enjeux liés aux personnes handicapées à l’échelle internationale, établir des stratégies et agir à cet égard.

J’ai communiqué avec le secrétaire général de l’APC afin de discuter de ma proposition de réunir les parlementaires handicapés de l’ensemble du Commonwealth à l’occasion d’une conférence de trois jours à Halifax, en Nouvelle-Écossse, pour recommander à l’APC de créer ce réseau de parlementaires handicapés. Avec le soutien de l’APC, la planification de cette conférence, prévue à la fin d’août 2017, est en cours. L’APC communique avec les pays membres afin de déterminer leur intérêt et de trouver des délégués potentiels. De plus, j’ai défendu cette idée au Canada et auprès d’autres pays lorsque j’en ai eu l’occasion.

Le dénouement de cette conférence sera de présenter à l’APC une recommandation officielle visant la création du réseau des PHC. Cette recommandation sera ensuite présentée à la prochaine assemblée générale annuelle.

Je suis impatient de communiquer ce que nous aurons appris de cette conférence ainsi que des discussions continues avec tous les parlementaires canadiens. Je m’y appliquerai dans les prochains mois, dans les numéros à venir de la Revue parlementaire canadienne. Pour plus de renseignements au sujet de cette conférence et des initiatives connexes, veuillez communiquer avec mon adjoint législatif, Scott Burke, par courriel à : scott.j.burke@novascotia.ca.


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 40 no 2
2017






Dernière mise à jour : 2017-08-03