Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

HomeContact UsFranÁais

PDF
Know Your Mace: Newfoundland and Labrador
Andrea Hyde

The history of the mace in Newfoundland and Labrador begins with the hand painted wooden mace. This is believed to be the original mace, given by the British authorities to the newly elected House of Assembly in 1833.

In the early days of the House of Assembly, meetings were held in Mary Traversí tavern in downtown St. Johnís. Alas, rent was not paid to Ms. Travers for some months, and her petitions to the House for payment remained unanswered. She therefore took matters into her own hands, ejected the Members, took possession of the mace as well as other furnishings, and put the items up for auction. Soon after, Ms. Travers was paid in full and the items were returned to the House.

The current mace was given to Newfoundland and Labrador in 1950 by British Columbia to honor the provinceís 1949 Confederation with Canada. The mace is made of gold-plated sterling silver, and includes many symbols that showcase connectivity across Canada, including maple leaves, images of the fishery, various Coats of Arms, and BCís provincial emblems of the dogwood flower and the thunderbird.

The wooden mace is displayed in the public gallery of the House of Assembly, and the gift from British Columbia is used daily in the House of Assembly proceedings.

Andrea Hyde
Legislative Library, House of Assembly of Newfoundland & Labrador


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 40 no 2
2017






Last Updated: 2017-08-03

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

AccueilContactez-nousEnglish

PDF
À propos de la masse : Terre Neuve et-Labrador
Andrea Hyde

L’histoire de la masse de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador débute avec la masse de bois peinte à la main. On estime qu’il s’agit de la masse originale remise par les autorités britanniques à la Chambre d’assemblée récemment élue en 1833.

Au tout début de la Chambre d’assemblée, les séances ont lieu à la taverne de Mary Travers au centre-ville de St. John’s. Toutefois, aucune somme n’est versée à Mme Travers pendant plusieurs mois, et ses demandes de paiement envoyées à la Chambre demeurent sans réponse. Elle prend donc les choses en main en expulsant les députés et en mettant aux enchères la masse et d’autre mobilier. Peu de temps après, Mme Travers reçoit qui lui est dû, et les articles sont retournés à la Chambre.

La masse actuelle a été offerte à Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador en 1950 par la Colombie-Britannique pour souligner l’adhésion de la province à la Confédération du Canada en 1949. Faite en argent sterling plaqué or, elle est ornée de nombreux symboles témoignant de l’unité canadienne, notamment des feuilles d’érable, des images liées à la pêche, des armoiries et l’emblème de la Colombie-Britannique (le cornouiller du Pacifique et l’oiseau-tonnerre).

La masse en bois est exposée dans la galerie publique de la Chambre d’assemblée, et le cadeau de la Colombie-Britannique est utilisé quotidiennement dans les délibérations de la Chambre d’assemblée.

Andrea Hyde
Bibliothèque législative, Chambre d’assemblée de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador Legislative


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 40 no 2
2017






Dernière mise à jour : 2017-08-03