Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

HomeContact UsFrançais

PDF
Sketches of Parliament and Parliamentarians Past: The Unusual Case of the Nunavut Carving
Brenda Labelle

To honour Canada’s development and prevent rewriting of history, by tradition stone carvings or sculptures are never removed from the country’s Parliament buildings once placed there. There is a single known exception – a Canadian coat of arms was removed to make room for representation of the country’s newest territory.

Once something is carved in the stone of our nation’s Parliament buildings, there it remains. By tradition, carvings or sculptures are not removed from Parliament buildings. They are “carved in stone,” both literally and figuratively. There is only one recorded example of a break in this tradition.

Each architectural element in our Parliament’s buildings is emblematic of a moment in Canadian history. For example, provincial coats of arms are found in the Library of Parliament where, notably, some provinces are not represented, and the coats of arms of several provinces are outdated. These carvings will not be altered, however, as they reflect the Canada of 1876, the year in which the library building was completed. Yet in 1999, a carving of Canada’s coat of arms was removed so that the newly created territory of Nunavut could be represented in the rotunda of Parliament’s Centre Block.

The rotunda, also called Confederation Hall, is the grand entrance of the main building. It is the heart of Parliament linking the Senate and the House of Commons on either side and the library to the north. The space features a central column that leads dramatically up into the vaulted ceiling. Archways and columns encircle the hall, and it is above these archways that we find carvings of the coats of arms of all of the provinces and territories, as well as the Canadian coat of arms. In 1999, the coat of arms of the territory of Nunavut was added above the entrance on the south side of the rotunda where a second Canadian of arms had been located.

At the time, enquiries apropos of the appropriate placement for the new coat of arms were made by Alfonso Gagliano, the Minister of Public Works. Subsequently, the Dominion Sculptor, Maurice Joanisse, made recommendations. We can only assume that the fact that there were two Canadian coats of arms opposite each other in the rotunda influenced the decision to replace one of them with the Nunavut coat of arms. Final approval for the project, which involved bringing the Canadian coat of arms down to a flat surface and pinning new Tyndall stone to the existing stone, was provided by the Speaker of the Senate and the Speaker of the House of Commons in a joint letter. No alterations were made to the foliage surrounding the carving.

The Nunavut coat of arms is easily identifiable when juxtaposed with those of other provinces and territories as it is the only one featuring a round shield. With no military or heraldic tradition tying Nunavut to a specific shield, the circle was chosen. There are many possible interpretations regarding the importance of that symbol for the people of Nunavut; however, no fixed meaning has been ascribed to the shield’s shape. There is one other representation of the Nunavut coat of arms in Parliament’s Centre Block and it is on the doors of the Senate Chamber.


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 40 no 1
2017






Last Updated: 2017-06-23

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

Recherche
AccueilContactez-nousEnglish

PDF
Esquisses des parlements et de leur passé
Brenda Labelle

Afin de rendre hommage au développement du Canada et d’éviter que son histoire ne soit réécrite, par tradition, les sculptures en pierre intégrées dans l’architecture des édifices du Parlement du pays n’en sont jamais retirées. Il n’y a qu’une exception notoire : un exemplaire des armoiries du Canada a été enlevé pour que le tout nouveau territoire canadien puisse être représenté.

Une fois qu’une sculpture est taillée dans la pierre des édifices du Parlement de notre pays, elle y reste. Il est de tradition que les sculptures ne soient pas retirées des édifices du Parlement : elles sont « gravées dans la pierre », au sens propre comme au figuré. Il n’y a qu’une exception qui ait été consignée.

Tous les éléments architecturaux qui ornent les édifices de notre Parlement sont emblématiques d’un moment de l’histoire canadienne. Par exemple, la Bibliothèque du Parlement est décorée d’armoiries des provinces et, étonnamment, certaines provinces ne sont pas représentées et les armoiries de plusiers provinces sont obsolètes. Elles ne seront, néanmoins, pas retouchées parce qu’elles renvoient au Canada de 1876 quand la construction de l’édifice de la Bibliothèque a été achevée. Cependant, en 1999, une sculpture d’armoiries canadiennes a été enlevée pour que le nouveau territoire du Nunavut puisse être représenté dans la Rotonde de l’édifice du Centre du Parlement.

La Rotonde, aussi appelée Hall de la Confédération, est la grande entrée de l’édifice principal. C’est le cœur du Parlement qui mène au Sénat et à la Chambre des communes d’un côté et de l’autre et à la Bibliothèque, au nord. Le hall présente une colonne centrale qui s’élance d’une manière spectaculaire jusqu’au plafond voûté. Des arcades et des colonnes encerclent le hall et c’est au-dessus de ces arcades que se trouvent les armoiries sculptées de toutes les provinces et de tous les territoires ainsi que les armoiries du Canada. En 1999, les armoiries du territoire du Nunavut ont été ajoutées au-dessus de l’entrée du côté sud de la Rotonde à l’endroit où se trouvait auparavant un deuxième exemplaire des armoiries du Canada.

À l’époque, Alfonso Gagliano, le ministre des Travaux publics, a sollicité les avis des uns et des autres quant à l’endroit approprié pour apposer les nouvelles armoiries. Le sculpteur du Dominion, Maurice Joanisse, a donc fait des recommandations. Nous ne pouvons que supposer que c’est la présence de deux exemplaires des armoiries du Canada se faisant face dans la Rotonde qui a fait pencher la balance en faveur du remplacement de l’un d’eux par les armoiries du Nunavut. Ce sont les Présidents de la Chambre des communes et du Sénat qui ont approuvé en dernière instance, dans une lettre commune, le projet qui consistait à enlever les armoiries du Canada et à les déposer sur une surface plane et à ajouter de la pierre de calcaire de Tyndall à la pierre préexistante. Le feuillage entourant la sculpture n’a pas été touché.

On repère facilement les armoiries du Nunavut parmi celles des autres provinces et territoires parce que c’est le seul dont l’écu est rond. Sans tradition militaire ni héraldique pouvant orienter le choix du Nunavut vers un écu particulier, le nouveau territoire a opté pour un cercle. On peut expliquer l’importance de ce symbole pour les habitants du Nunavut de bien des manières, mais aucune signification particulière n’a été attribuée à la forme de l’écu. Il y a un autre exemplaire des armoiries du Nunavut dans l’édifice du Centre du Parlement, sur les portes de la Chambre du Sénat.


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 40 no 1
2017






Dernière mise à jour : 2017-10-03