Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

Search
HomeContact UsFrançais

PDF
CPA ActivitiesCPA Activities
Sophie J. Barma; Linda Kolody

New Yukon Speaker

On January 12, 2017, the 34th Yukon Legislative Assembly convened for the first time since the November 7, 2016 general election. The first order of business on the one-day Special Sitting was the election of a Speaker. On motion of Premier Sandy Silver, seconded by Leader of the Official Opposition Stacey Hassard and Third Party House Leader Kate White, the Assembly elected Nils Clarke, the Member for Riverdale North, as its Speaker. Mr. Clarke was the sole nominee for the role.

The Premier had announced his intention to nominate Mr. Clarke on December 3, 2016 at the swearing-in ceremony for Cabinet.

In a December 6, 2016 news release, the Premier stated, “I am certain that [Nils Clarke’s] vast experiences have prepared him to maintain the civility and order of the assembly. I am confident Nils will carry out this critical role with the diplomacy and good will needed in the assembly…. good ideas can come from all sides and I am counting on Mr. Clarke to create a positive and dynamic environment in the assembly to support all MLAs to the job Yukoners sent us to do.” Mr. Clarke noted that he was honoured by the nomination and “look[ed] forward to helping to ensure that the work of the entire legislative assembly can proceed with civility and efficiency for the benefit of all Yukon citizens.”

In his address to the Assembly upon his election as Speaker, Mr. Clarke spoke of “the importance of the Speaker’s role in ensuring the business of the Legislature is conducted in an independent, fair and respectful manner.” He added, “To that end, it is the Speaker’s duty to be impartial and to treat all members equally and without favour. This high standard must be met in order to maintain the confidence and respect of the Legislature, and I commit today to make my best efforts to do so.”

Mr. Clarke succeeds former Speaker Patti McLeod, who was re-elected as the MLA for Watson Lake in November, and now sits in the Assembly as a member of the Official Opposition.

In the 24 years preceding Mr. Clarke’s election as an MLA in November, he practiced law in Yukon and since 2000 he has served as the Executive Director of the Yukon Legal Services Society. Mr. Clarke has represented clients from all Yukon communities, and at all levels of Yukon Courts, including the Supreme Court of Canada.

Linda Kolody

Deputy Clerk, Yukon Legislative Assembly

38th Canadian Regional Seminar of the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association

The 38th Canadian Regional Seminar of the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association was held in Quebec City from November 10 to 12, 2016. Some 30 delegates from across Canada’s provinces and territories came together for fruitful discussion on various topics, including electoral reform, fighting climate change, promoting diversity in parliament, and women in politics.

The working sessions began with a presentation on electoral reform by Jordan Brown, a Member of the Legislative Assembly of Prince Edward Island. The workshop facilitator was Jacques Chagnon, the President of the National Assembly of Quebec. Mr. Brown spoke to the audience about the Committee on Democratic Renewal, of which he is a member. Its mandate is to examine ways to strengthen the electoral system, the representativeness of MLAs, and the role of the legislative assembly. The Committee held public consultations and made recommendations. In the fall of 2016, based on one of these recommendations, Prince Edward Island voters were invited to participate in a referendum on electoral reform. They were asked to rank the five proposed electoral systems in order of preference. After eliminating three of the five options, voters chose mixed member proportional representation. After Mr. Brown’s presentation, the seminar participants discussed the features of various electoral systems. A number of delegates emphasized the importance of considering the consequences of electoral reform. Others addressed how difficult it is to choose the right wording for a referendum question. Mr. Chagnon ended the session by praising the initiative by Prince Edward Island’s Legislative Assembly.

The second working session was chaired by Tom Osborne, Speaker of the House of Assembly of Newfoundland and Labrador. Gilles LePage, a Member of the Legislative Assembly of New Brunswick, spoke about the effects of climate change in his province. He mentioned the rising temperature of the Restigouche River, intense heat waves that threaten the forests in his riding, and shoreline erosion along Chaleur Bay, stating that additional measures will be needed for New Brunswick to reach its greenhouse gas reduction targets. As a member of the Select Committee on Climate Change, Mr. LePage took part in consultations at which more than 150 stakeholders expressed their views. He said that each individual and each sector of New Brunswick’s economy will be affected in some way by climate change. This means that each person has a responsibility to take action to protect the future of our province. The working session raised a number of questions. Some participants discussed the need to prepare future generations for the changes observed, such as training workers in the renewable energy sector. Others raised questions about how to leverage economic growth while fighting climate change.

The electrification of transportation and Quebec’s Act to increase the number of zero-emission motor vehicles in Québec in order to reduce greenhouse gas and other pollutant emissions were discussed during the third working session. It was chaired by George Qulaut, the Speaker of the Legislative Assembly of Nunavut. Richard Merlini, a Member of the National Assembly of Quebec, noted in his presentation that the transportation sector is the largest greenhouse gas emitter in Quebec. He presented Quebec’s 2015–2020 Transportation Electrification Action Plan, which allocates funds for electric school buses, pilot projects for taxi fleets, and various incentive programs such as the Drive Electric program. This program provides a rebate for the purchase or lease of a hybrid or electric vehicle. Mr. Merlini pointed out that Quebec is the first province in Canada to pass a law on zero-emission vehicles. The Act requires the automotive industry to sell a minimum number of hybrid or electric vehicles each year through a tradable credit system. Session participants were very interested in how the government negotiated with the automotive sector while the Act was being drafted. They also wanted to know about the process for selecting which measures would be used to encourage drivers to choose electric or hybrid vehicles.

To conclude the first day of the seminar, Manitoba MLA Sarah Guillemard shared her experience as a newly elected member. Chris Collins, Speaker of the Legislative Assembly of New Brunswick, chaired the session, during which Ms. Guillemard explained why she decided to go into politics and the doubts and questions she had during her campaign and when she took her seat in the legislature. Stating that she felt a bit uncertain about her new duties, Ms. Guillemard stressed the importance of asking colleagues and the people around you for help. She believes that vulnerability can be an asset in politics rather than a weakness. Experiencing feelings of vulnerability may lead a member to look for more support from others. Various participants around the table talked about how difficult it is for elected officials to reveal their uncertainties, for fear of giving their political opponents ammunition or damaging their image. Participants then discussed ways to make the political environment more welcoming and collaborative.

The second day of the seminar focused on promoting diversity in parliament and on women in politics. Francis Watts, Speaker of the Legislative Assembly of Prince Edward Island, acted as the moderator for this session. British Columbia MLA Marvin Hunt spoke about the demographic changes in his riding, primarily the increase in visible minorities. With regard to the importance of democratic institutions that adequately reflect the people they represent, he asked the following questions: What are the criteria of a representative parliament? If half the population is female, should half the number of elected officials be women? Mr. Hunt said that, beyond theories about what makes a parliament a representative institution, it is essential to create the conditions that make everyone feel they can participate in the political system, regardless of their gender, ethnicity or religion. Representativeness is a major challenge, and all stakeholders—including citizens, political parties and parliaments—must take measures to overcome this challenge.

Caroline Simard, Member of the National Assembly of Quebec, spoke at the seminar’s last session. She provided information about the Committee on Citizen Relations’ self-initiated order to study women’s place in politics. During their study, the members of the Committee considered a wide variety of measures that could be implemented in the National Assembly to encourage women to be involved in politics. They wanted to understand what obstacles prevented women from running for a seat in parliament. They were looking for ways to overcome these obstacles. Following Ms. Simard’s presentation, session participants discussed how difficult work-life balance can be for everyone in the politics. A number of stakeholders identified this as the reason that relatively few women are involved in politics.

Overall, the 38th Canadian Regional Seminar of the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association provided an opportunity for candid discussions among delegates. Participants from all over Canada engaged with each other on a variety of topics, finding common ground on many issues.

Sophie J. Barma 

Analyst, National Assembly Library, Québec


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 40 no 1
2017






Last Updated: 2017-08-03

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

Recherche
AccueilContactez-nousEnglish

PDF
Activités de l’ACPActivités de l’ACP
Sophie J. Barma; Linda Kolody

Élection d’un nouveau Président au Yukon

Le 12 janvier 2017, la 34e législature de l’Assemblée législative du Yukon s’est réunie pour la première fois depuis l’élection générale du 7 novembre 2016. Le premier point à l’ordre du jour de la séance spéciale d’une journée était l’élection du Président. Sur la motion du premier ministre Sandy Silver, appuyée par le chef de l’opposition officielle Stacey Hassard et la leader parlementaire du troisième parti à la Chambre Kate White, l’Assemblée a porté à sa présidence Nils Clarke, député de Riverdale Nord et seul candidat.

Le premier ministre avait annoncé son intention de proposer la candidature de M. Clarke le 3 décembre 2016, lors de la cérémonie d’assermentation du Cabinet.

Dans un communiqué de presse le 6 décembre 2016, le premier ministre a déclaré être certain que la vaste expérience de Nils Clarke le rendait capable d’assurer le respect du décorum et le maintien de l’ordre à la Chambre. Le premier ministre s’est aussi dit convaincu que Nils Clarke remplirait ce rôle essentiel avec la diplomatie et la bonne volonté nécessaires à l’Assemblée. Il a poursuivi en disant que les bonnes idées n’étaient pas l’apanage d’un seul parti et qu’il comptait sur M. Clarke pour créer un environnement positif et dynamique à l’Assemblée afin d’aider tous les députés territoriaux à accomplir le travail pour lequel les Yukonnais les ont élus. M. Clarke s’est dit honoré par sa mise en candidature et a ajouté être impatient de mettre la main à la pâte afin que les travaux de l’Assemblée législative tout entière puissent se dérouler d’une manière courtoise et efficace pour le bien de tous les citoyens du Yukon.

Dans son discours devant l’Assemblée lors de son élection au poste de Président, M. Clarke a parlé de l’importance du rôle que le Président joue pour s’assurer que les travaux de la Chambre se déroulent de manière indépendante, juste et respectueuse. M. Clarke a poursuivi en disant qu’à cette fin, le Président se doit de se montrer impartial et de traiter tous les députés de la même façon et sans parti pris. Il a conclu en disant que ce principe supérieur devait être respecté afin de conserver la confiance et le respect du Parlement et qu’il s’engageait à tout mettre en œuvre pour y parvenir.

M. Clarke succède à l’ancienne Présidente Patti McLeod qui, réélue députée de Watson Lake en novembre, siège maintenant avec l’opposition officielle à la Chambre.

Au cours des 24 années précédant son élection à titre de député en novembre, M. Clarke a exercé la profession d’avocat au Yukon et à partir de 2000, il a été directeur général de la Société d’aide juridique du Yukon. M. Clarke a représenté des personnes de toutes les collectivités du Yukon à tous les paliers de l’appareil judiciaire territorial, et même à la Cour suprême du Canada.

Linda Kolody 

Sous-greffière, Assemblée législative du Yukon

38e Colloque régional canadien de l’Association parlementaire du Commonwealth

Du 10 au 12 novembre 2016 s’est tenu à Québec le 38e Colloque régional canadien de l’Association parlementaire du Commonwealth. Réunissant une trentaine de délégués provenant de territoires et de provinces du Canada, le colloque a été l’occasion d’échanges nourris sur différents thèmes tels que la réforme électorale, la lutte contre les changements climatiques, la promotion de la diversité au Parlement et la place des femmes en politique.

Les séances de travail ont débuté par la présentation de Jordan Brown, membre de l’Assemblée législative de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard, sur la réforme du système électoral. L’atelier était présidé par Jacques Chagnon, président de l’Assemblée nationale du Québec. Jordan Brown a entretenu l’auditoire sur le mandat du Committee on Democratic Renewal dont il fait partie, soit celui d’examiner les moyens de renforcer le système électoral, la représentativité des élus et le rôle du Parlement. Le comité a notamment mené des consultations publiques et formulé des recommandations. À l’automne 2016, suivant l’une de ces recommandations, les électeurs de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard ont été conviés à un référendum sur la question de la réforme électorale. Ceux-ci étaient invités à classer par ordre de préférence les cinq systèmes électoraux proposés. Après élimination de trois des cinq options, les électeurs ont adopté la représentation proportionnelle mixte. Une fois l’exposé de Jordan Brown terminé, les participants au colloque ont discuté des mécanismes de différents systèmes électoraux. Plusieurs ont souligné l’importance d’évaluer les conséquences d’une réforme électorale. D’autres ont abordé la complexité de choisir un texte juste à soumettre pour une question référendaire. Enfin, Jacques Chagnon a tenu à saluer l’initiative du Parlement de la plus petite province canadienne.

La deuxième séance de travail était présidée par Tom Osborne, président de la Chambre d’assemblée de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador. Le député du Nouveau-Brunswick, Gilles LePage, est venu y exposer les effets des changements climatiques dans sa province. Témoignant du réchauffement de la rivière Restigouche, des chaleurs intenses qui menacent les forêts de sa circonscription et de l’érosion des berges de la baie des Chaleurs, Gilles LePage a expliqué que des mesures supplémentaires devront être mises en place pour atteindre les cibles de réduction des gaz à effet de serre du Nouveau-Brunswick. Comme membre du Comité spécial sur les changements climatiques, le député a participé à des consultations durant lesquelles plus de 150 intervenants ont exprimé leur opinion sur cette question. Il a précisé que chaque individu et chaque secteur économique du Nouveau-Brunswick sera touché d’une façon ou d’une autre par ces changements. Par conséquent, il est de la responsabilité de tout un chacun d’agir pour l’avenir de la province. Cette séance de travail a soulevé de nombreuses questions au sein de l’auditoire. Des participants ont mis de l’avant la nécessité de préparer les générations futures aux changements observés, notamment en s’assurant de former des travailleurs dans le domaine des énergies renouvelables. D’autres se sont interrogés sur la manière de conjuguer croissance économique et lutte contre les changements climatiques.

L’électrification des transports et l’adoption et la Loi visant l’augmentation du nombre de véhicules automobiles zéro émissions au Québec afin de réduire les émissions de gaz à effet de serre et autres polluants étaient les sujets à l’étude lors la troisième séance de travail. Elle était présidée par George Qulaut, président de l’Assemblée législative du Nunavut. Lors de son allocution, le député de l’Assemblée nationale, Richard Merlini, a rappelé que le secteur des transports est le plus grand émetteur de gaz à effet de serre au Québec. Il a présenté le plan d’action 2015-2020 en électrification des transports qui prévoit, entre autres, allouer des sommes pour l’acquisition d’autobus scolaires électriques, pour des projets-pilotes touchant le parc de véhicules de taxi et pour divers programmes incitatifs tels que Roulez électrique. Ce dernier propose un rabais à l’achat ou à la location d’un véhicule hybride ou électrique. Richard Merlini a souligné que le Québec est la première province canadienne à se doter d’une loi sur les véhicules zéro émission. Cette loi exige des constructeurs automobiles la vente d’un nombre minimal de tels véhicules au cours d’une année par l’entremise d’un système de crédits échangeables. Les participants se sont montrés très intéressés par les négociations du gouvernement auprès du secteur automobile pour l’élaboration de cette loi. Ils ont également voulu connaître les démarches ayant conduit aux choix des différentes mesures pour inciter les automobilistes à choisir un véhicule électrique ou hybride.

Pour clore cette première journée du colloque, la députée de l’Assemblée législative du Manitoba, Sarah Guillemard, est venue partager son expérience de nouvelle élue. Durant la séance présidée par Chris Collins, président de l’Assemblée législative du Nouveau-Brunswick, la députée a fait connaître aux délégués les raisons qui l’ont poussée à se lancer en politique, mais également les doutes et les questionnements vécus au cours de sa campagne et de son entrée au Parlement. Se sentant par moment « fragile » pour exercer ses nouvelles fonctions, Sarah Guillemard a évoqué l’importance de demander de l’aide à ses collègues et à son entourage. Elle considère que la vulnérabilité peut être une force en politique plutôt qu’une faiblesse. En effet, vivre un sentiment de vulnérabilité peut inciter un député à chercher davantage du soutien auprès d’autrui. Différents intervenants autour de la table ont parlé de la difficulté pour un élu de dévoiler ses incertitudes, car il ne veut ni donner de munitions à ses adversaires politiques ni porter atteinte à son image. Les participants ont par la suite discuté des moyens à prendre pour rendre le milieu politique plus accueillant et plus collaboratif.

La deuxième journée du colloque a été consacrée à la promotion de la diversité au Parlement et à la place des femmes en politique. Francis Watts, président de l’Assemblée législative de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard a agi à titre de modérateur lors de cette séance. Membre de l’Assemblée législative de la Colombie-Britannique, Marvin Hunt a exposé les changements démographiques qui ont cours dans sa circonscription, soit une présence accrue de minorités visibles. Parlant de l’importance pour une institution démocratique de refléter adéquatement la population, il a posé la question suivante : quels sont les critères d’un parlement représentatif? Si la moitié de la population est composée de femmes, faut-il que la moitié des personnes élues soient des femmes? Au-delà des théories qui font d’un parlement une institution représentative, Marvin Hunt a soutenu qu’il était primordial de mettre en place les conditions propices afin que tout individu ait le sentiment de pouvoir participer au système politique, peu importe son sexe, son ethnie ou sa religion. Le défi de la représentativité est majeur et tous les acteurs de la société : les citoyennes et les citoyens, les partis politiques et les parlements doivent prendre les moyens pour le relever.

Caroline Simard, députée de l’Assemblée nationale du Québec, a prononcé la dernière communication du colloque. La députée s’est donné comme objectif d’éclairer l’auditoire sur le mandat d’initiative de la Commission parlementaire des relations avec les citoyens portant sur la place des femmes en politique. Durant leurs travaux, les membres de la Commission se penchent sur un éventail de mesures susceptibles d’être appliquées à l’Assemblée nationale afin de favoriser la présence des femmes en politique. Les membres veulent comprendre les obstacles qui empêchent les femmes de briguer un siège au Parlement. Ils cherchent les solutions appropriées pour les éliminer. Au cours des échanges qui ont suivis la présentation de Caroline Simard, les participants ont discuté de la difficulté de concilier travail et famille qu’éprouvent tous ceux et celles qui occupent la sphère politique. Plusieurs intervenants ont évoqué cet impératif pour expliquer le fait qu’il y a peu de femmes engagées en politique.

Somme toute, le 38e Colloque régional canadien de l’Association parlementaire du Commonwealth a donné lieu à des discussions franches entre délégués. Les participants en provenance de partout au Canada ont été interpellés par l’ensemble des sujets abordés, se trouvant devant plusieurs problématiques communes.

Sophie J. Barma 

Analyste, Bibliothèque de l’Assemblée nationale , Québec


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 40 no 1
2017






Dernière mise à jour : 2017-11-08