Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

Search
HomeContact UsFrançais

PDF
Know Your Mace: Quebec


The Mace of the Québec National Assembly was made in 1867 by jeweller Charles O. Zollikoffer. It is decorated with acanthus and lotus leaves. Its cup is surmounted by a crown decorated with a cross and the letters “ER” for “Elizabeth Regina”.

Originally saved from the Parliament Building fire in 1883, some of its decorative elements were unfortunately later removed following rudimentary repairs. The crown was modified and the initials “ER” were added to it after 1952.

Considered anachronistic, the Mace almost disappeared from the House during the parliamentary reforms of the 1960s. The presence of symbols linked to British tradition in the Québec Parliament was called into question at the time. The Mace was then stolen by students in 1967: pulling daring pranks of the sort was a tradition at that time, especially during the Québec Carnival. Today, it is stored in a secure location in the office of the Sergeant-at-Arms or that of his Deputy.

Beyond the work of art, the Mace is a powerful symbol of deep-rooted parliamentarism. It reflects a secular tradition shared by many British-style parliaments all over the world that it unites in a common experience.

Frédéric Lemieux,
National Assembly of Quebec

 


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 40 no 1
2017






Last Updated: 2017-08-03

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

Recherche
AccueilContactez-nousEnglish

PDF
À propos de la masse : Québec


La masse de l’Assemblée nationale du Québec a été fabriquée en 1867 par l’orfèvre Charles O. Zollikoffer. Elle est décorée de feuilles d’acanthe et de lotus. Sa tête est surmontée d’une couronne décorée d’une croix et des lettres « ER » pour « Elizabeth Regina ».

D’abord sauvée de l’incendie du parlement en 1883, elle est malheureusement amputée par la suite de certains de ses éléments décoratifs à la suite de réparations sommaires. La couronne a été modifiée et les initiales « ER » y ont été rajoutées après 1952.

Jugée anachronique, la masse faillit disparaître de la Chambre durant les réformes parlementaires des années 1960. La présence des symboles liés à la tradition britannique au Parlement québécois était alors remise en question. Elle est ensuite dérobée par des étudiants en 1967 : jouer des tours audacieux de ce genre était une tradition à l’époque, particulièrement à l’occasion du Carnaval de Québec. Aujourd’hui, elle est conservée en lieu sûr dans le bureau du sergent d’armes ou celui de son adjoint.

Au-delà de l’œuvre d’art, la masse est un puissant symbole du parlementarisme aux profondes racines. Elle témoigne d’une tradition séculaire partagée par de nombreux parlements de type britannique à travers le monde qu’elle réunit dans une expérience commune.

Frédéric Lemieux
Assemblée nationale du Québec


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 40 no 1
2017






Dernière mise à jour : 2017-10-03