Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

Search
HomeContact UsFrançais

PDF
Parliamentary Bookshelf: ReviewsParliamentary Bookshelf: Reviews
Mark Sholdice

Principles and Gerrymanders: Parliamentary Redistribution of Ridings in Ontario, 1840-1954. George Emery. McGill-Queen’s University Press, Montreal and Kingston, 2016, 332 pp.

In Principles and Gerrymanders, historian George Emery outlines Ontario’s parliamentary redistributions, on both the federal and provincial levels, from the 1840s to 1960s. Politicians themselves carried out changes to electoral districts until that responsibility was assigned to by-partisan legislative committees in the early-twentieth-century, and thereafter to an independent provincial commission in 1962, and a federal one in 1964. Emery defines a “gerrymander” as “a redistribution of two or more ridings that unfairly benefit the government party.” The term originated with a blatantly partisan redistribution of Massachusetts’ legislative districts in 1812, which was approved by state governor Elbridge Gerry.

The author’s major achievement is to demonstrate that partisan gerrymandering was not widespread in Ontario riding redistributions in the nineteenth- and early-twentieth-century. Instead, the practice was used by government parties in very specific ways: to target individual opposition members (i.e. “political assassination”), to maintain small but pro-government ridings, and to redistribute areas of opposition support in order to maximize the number of winnable government ridings (i.e. “hiving”).

Emery also helpfully defines several commonly-held principles in Ontario’s political culture towards parliamentary redistricting, such as the belief that municipalities should be kept intact, or the consensus that urban voters should be underrepresented vis-à-vis rural ones (this practice is called “passive gerrymandering” when it is allowed to continue, despite population changes between ridings). These principles could often come into conflict with each other, especially the ideal of population equality between ridings (i.e. “representation by population”). With this nuanced conceptual framework, Emery shows that Ontario’s politicians acted in a specific cultural and political context and could not undertake gerrymanders in any way they wished.

Principles and Gerrymanders relies on a very careful analysis of election results, down to the township level. The book’s method is to review the principles underlying each redistribution of Ontario’s federal and provincial ridings, to determine if gerrymandering took place, and to use changes in vote totals at the local level to judge if a gerrymander worked to the benefit of the government party. Notably, many of the most blatant gerrymanders, such as Sir John A. Macdonald’s 1882 federal redistribution, failed to deliver more seats and additionally may have damaged the reputation of the government party. But Emery concludes that most intentional or “thinly disguised” gerrymanders were successful in delivering or defending a limited number of ridings for the majority party.

With his focus on specific gerrymanders and their consequences in specific ridings, Emery may neglect larger political developments. For instance, he does not take into account regional or province-wide changes in partisan support, and how these may have impacted intentional or passive gerrymanders. (Emery judges the efficacy of each gerrymander by using the vote totals of the previous election). Aside from shifts of support between the Conservatives and Liberals, the occasional rise of third parties like the Patrons of Industry or United Farmers complicated the stability of the province’s two-party system and may have undermined the intended results of gerrymandering. Also deserving further investigation are the forces that drove reforms to the practice of redistribution (e.g. the adoption of by-partisan legislation committees in the early-twentieth-century, or independent commissions in the 1960s).

A very minor omission is the possibility of political assassinations within government parties. Although fairly rare, members of government parties may have used their power over redistribution to eliminate particular individuals from their caucuses. For instance, there is an old rumour that Sir Adam Beck used his influence within the Conservative caucus to redistribute the North Essex riding of a rival, Dr. J.O. Reaume, in order to deny him the party’s re-nomination for the 1914 provincial election.1 But of course, given the nature of such inter-party factionalism, it is an issue for which there is not a large body of evidence.

Principles and Gerrymanders is an important study of a neglected facet of Ontario’s (and Canada’s) political history, and should provoke further research on political culture and the electoral system. Bridging disciplinary boundaries, the book will be of great interest to historians and political scientists alike. Emery concludes with a cautious note: “Although the commission system seems to be entrenched in Canada’s parliamentary democracy, it remains fragile.” He notes that a recent debate over federal redistribution in Saskatchewan should remind us that these issues are not historical artifacts.

Mark Sholdice

PhD candidate (History), University of Guelph

1See W.R. Plewman, Adam Beck and the Ontario Hydro. Toronto: The Ryerson Press, 1947, p. 154.


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 39 no 4
2016






Last Updated: 2017-10-03

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

Recherche
AccueilContactez-nousEnglish

PDF
Sur les rayonsSur les rayons
Mark Sholdice

Principles and Gerrymanders: Parliamentary Redistribution of Ridings in Ontario, 1840-1954. George Emery. McGillQueen’s University Press, Montreal et Kingston, 2016, 332 pages

Dans son ouvrage Principles and Gerrymanders, l’historien George Emery s’intéresse aux redécoupages des circonscriptions électorales en Ontario, autant à l’échelle fédérale que provinciale, des années 1840 aux années 1960. Ce sont les politiciens qui redessinaient les limites des circonscriptions électorales jusqu’à ce que cette responsabilité soit confiée à des comités législatifs bipartites au début du XXe siècle, puis à une commission indépendante provinciale en 1962, et fédérale en 1964. Emery définit le terme « gerrymander » comme étant « le redécoupage d’au moins deux circonscriptions de manière à avantager injustement le parti au pouvoir ». Le terme nous vient du gouverneur Elbridge Gerry du Massachusetts, qui fit un redécoupage manifestement partisan des districts législatifs de l’État en 1812.

L’auteur réussit à démontrer que le redécoupage des circonscriptions à des fins partisanes n’était pas généralisé en Ontario au XIXe et au début du XXe siècles. Les partis au pouvoir se livraient seulement à la pratique à des fins très particulières : pour cibler et compromettre un membre de l’opposition; ou pour remanier les circonscriptions favorables à l’opposition de manière à maximiser le nombre de circonscriptions susceptibles d’être remportées par le gouvernement.

Emery éclaire ses lecteurs en définissant plusieurs principes bien établis dans la culture politique ontarienne à l’égard du redécoupage des circonscriptions électorales, comme le respect de l’intégrité des municipalités ou le consensus selon lequel les électeurs des régions urbaines devraient être sous-représentés comparativement à ceux des régions rurales (la pratique est dite passive lorsqu’on ne procède à aucun redécoupage malgré un écart croissant dans la population des circonscriptions). Ces principes entraient souvent en conflit, l’idéal voulant des circonscriptions à population égale (c.àd. la « représentation selon la population ») étant particulièrement difficile à concilier. Son cadre conceptuel nuancé ainsi établi, Emery démontre que les politiciens de l’Ontario agissaient dans un texte politique et culturel bien précis et ne pouvaient redécouper à leur guise les limites des circonscriptions.

Principles and Gerrymanders se fonde sur une analyse minutieuse des résultats des élections, allant jusqu’à l’échelon cantonal. La méthode employée consiste à examiner les principes motivant chacun des redécoupages des circonscriptions ontariennes, autant provinciales que fédérales, afin de déterminer s’ils auraient été établis dans l’intérêt du parti au pouvoir, et aussi à manipuler les résultats des votes à l’échelle locale afin de déterminer si les redécoupages effectués à des fins partisanes ont réellement eu pour effet d’avantager le parti au pouvoir. Il en ressort notamment que bon nombre des redécoupages effrontément partisans, comme le redécoupage fédéral effectué en 1882 par Sir John A. Macdonald, n’ont pas eu les résultats escomptés et, de surcroît, qu’ils auraient même nui à la réputation du parti au pouvoir. Cela dit, Emery en vient à la conclusion que la plupart des redécoupages aux motivations partisanes, même à peine voilées, réussirent à remporter ou à défendre un nombre limité de sièges pour le parti majoritaire.

L’attention particulière accordée aux exemples précis de redécoupages à motivations partisanes et leurs conséquences dans certaines circonscriptions amène éventuellement l’auteur à ne pas tenir compte de certains autres aspects de l’évolution du milieu politique. Notamment, il ne tient pas compte de l’évolution de la popularité des partis et ne cherche pas à déterminer son éventuel impact sur les redécoupages passifs et autres (en effet, Emery évalue l’efficacité de ces redécoupages en se servant des résultats des élections précédentes). Outre la popularité des conservateurs et des libéraux, l’émergence de troisièmes partis comme les Patrons of Industry ou Farmers United menaçait la stabilité du système bipartite de la province et aurait même amené certaines tentatives de redécoupage à la dérive. Il y aurait également lieu de se pencher de plus près sur les forces motivant les réformes des pratiques de redécoupage (p. ex. la création de comités législatifs bipartites au début du XXe siècle ou encore de commissions indépendantes dans les années 1960).

L’auteur n’évoque pas la possibilité de luttes intestines au sein du parti au pouvoir — une légère omission. C’est une occurrence plutôt rare, mais il est arrivé qu’un membre du parti au pouvoir se serve de son influence sur le redécoupage pour éliminer certains membres de son propre caucus. Il y a même une vieille rumeur selon laquelle Sir Adam Beck aurait usé de son influence au sein du caucus conservateur pour redécouper North Essex, alors la circonscription de son rival J.O. Reaume, de manière à empêcher celui-ci d’obtenir une nouvelle fois l’investiture de son parti aux élections provinciales de 19141. Cela dit, étant donné la nature de ces dynamiques de factions au sein des partis, il n’y a pas grande trace écrite de leur évolution.

Principles and Gerrymanders est une étude sérieuse d’un aspect peu connu de l’histoire politique de l’Ontario (et du Canada) qui devrait avoir pour effet de stimuler la recherche sur la culture politique et le système électoral. Comme il transcende les disciplines, l’ouvrage sera d’un grand intérêt autant pour les historiens que pour les politicologues. Emery nous laisse sur une mise en garde : « Bien que le système de commission semble faire partie intégrante de la démocratie parlementaire canadienne, il demeure néanmoins précaire, » ajoutant qu’un récent débat sur un redécoupage fédéral en Saskatchewan devrait nous rappeler que cette question est plus qu’une curiosité historique.

Mark Sholdice

Candidat au doctorat (histoire), Université de Guelph

1 Voir W.R. Plewman, Adam Beck and the Ontario Hydro, Toronto: The Ryerson Press, 1947, p.154.


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 39 no 4
2016






Dernière mise à jour : 2017-08-24