Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

Search
HomeContact UsFrançais

PDF
A Better Electoral System for Canada: Moderate Proportional Representation With Ranked Ballots
Jean-Pierre Derriennic

Canada’s current plurality vote system can create false majorities, lead to strategic voting and exacerbate regional cleavages, despite often bringing the stability of a coherent parliamentary majority government. Although proponents of reform may agree that the current system should be changed, they are often divided about what type of system should replace it. In this article, author Jean-Pierre Derriennic suggests two prominent reform models—a preferential/ranked ballot system and a moderate-form of proportional representation—could be combined to create a system that allows voters to cast ballots sincerely, reduces partisan regional polarization, and ensures stable coalition governments made up of parties that have broad popular appeal.

Electoral reform is needed in Canada to correct the major flaws in the voting system we have been using to date. It is not a majority system, as it is often called, but rather a plurality vote system, since a candidate can be elected with the support of less than half of the voters in that riding. Candidates simply need to get more than their opponents, which is sometimes called a “plurality”. This leads to the one positive aspect of this voting system, but also its main flaws.

The plurality vote system makes it easier to form coherent parliamentary majorities by granting, most often to the party that won the most support, a higher proportion of elected members than their share of the popular vote. This is the main argument made by proponents of this system. However, it can also allow false majorities to form, when one party gets more elected members than a rival party that won more of the popular vote. It exaggerates the conflicts that exist between the different regions of Canada, by preventing either the government majority or the opposition from having any representation in certain provinces. Quite often it forces voters to vote strategically rather than sincerely, and creates enormous disparities in the political influence enjoyed by people depending on the number of electors in their riding, and especially between ridings in which the gaps between candidates are narrow and those in which the gaps are quite wide.

It is possible to rectify those flaws while preserving the only advantage of the current system, that is, the possibility of forming coherent parliamentary majorities. To do so, two methods must be used: moderate proportional representation and ranked ballots. Ranked ballots can be applied in single-member ridings, which is what we have now, or in ridings electing several members proportionately among the parties. These two methods are therefore not mutually exclusive, as I explained in a short book published recently by Les Presses de l’Université Laval entitled Un meilleur système électoral pour le Canada / A Better Electoral System for Canada.

Ranked ballots are highly recommended because it puts voters in a much better moral and intellectual position than the current single-choice voting system, which often forces people to vote strategically: they often have to choose between voting sincerely, for their preferred candidate or party, and voting effectively, for the least detestable of those who have any chance of winning. With the possibility of ranking candidates in order of preference, votes for the candidates with the fewest first preferences are transferred, as the results are calculated, to other candidates based on subsequent preferences indicated by voters. People can express a sincere first preference, even if it goes to a candidate who has no chance of winning, then rank the other candidates in order of preference, with voters’ least favourite candidate ranked last. Sincere voting is effective, whereas strategic voting is almost never useful.

The information needed to vote strategically is not easily accessible to voters, which makes them more susceptible to manipulation by polls and rumours. There is a moral equivalence between secret ballot voting and ranked ballots. Secret ballot voting protects voters from undue influence. That is why we believe that, in a democracy, voting must be secret. Similarly, ranked ballots protect voters from being manipulated, and it should therefore always be considered a deontological rule.

When applied in single-member ridings, ranked ballots can produce stronger parliamentary majorities than the plurality vote system, but those majorities are more authentic, because all members are elected with a majority in their riding. Ranked ballots give one party an advantage over another only if a candidate is a Condorcet winner; that is, one who would have won over all of his/her opponents in separate elections against each of them. The Condorcet winner is not necessarily the candidate who has the most committed supporters, but rather the one who is most acceptable to the highest number of voters. Ranked ballots reduce the likelihood of a party winning a parliamentary majority without having a Condorcet winner.

Ranked ballots do not favour any one party or ideology; it means that elected officials must win a majority in each riding, and favours moderate parties capable of winning seats thanks to the second preferences of other parties’ voters. This added bonus of moderation is desirable in a democracy, because it incites political parties to avoid the simplistic arguments that emphasize the differences between them, and not always benefits the same party. In 2015, ranked ballots would probably have given an advantage to the Liberal Party. In 1993, the Conservative Party won two seats with 16.4 per cent of the vote, while the Reform Party won 52 seats with 18.69 per cent of the vote. With ranked ballots, the Progressive Conservative Party, which was more moderate, would probably have gotten more second preferences than the Reform Party, which was more radical. It also would have won in terms of the number of votes, and perhaps even in terms of the number of elected members.

Ranked ballots would not give smaller parties more elected members, but they would very likely win more of the popular vote. The Green Party, for example, obtained only 3.4 per cent of the vote in 2015, which is primarily a result of the fact that, almost everywhere, a vote for the Greens was thought to be a wasted vote. With ranked ballots, the fear of wasting a vote would vanish, and the Greens would likely win a greater popular vote. They might not win any more seats, but they would have better political visibility and a good starting point from which to further develop. More importantly, the other parties would know that some of their members were elected thanks to the transfer of the second and third preferences of the Green Party’s voters and might, therefore, be more inclined to take their concerns into account.

When applied in single-member ridings, a ranked ballot is one reform that would be quite easy to put in place quickly because there would be no need to change the number or the borders of the existing ridings. This voting system would have significant benefits compared to the plurality vote system we have been using for so long. It would allow voters to vote sincerely and effectively without having to resort to strategic voting. It would help create a party system adapted to the proper functioning of our democracy, with moderate, large parties, while small parties that find it harder to survive would have more known popular support, and large parties would be forced to pay attention to the small parties’ voters. It would be even better if this voting system were both preferential and proportional.

If proportional representation is chosen, two mistakes must be avoided: creating ridings that elect a very unequal number of members, and creating ridings that elect a large number of members. Unequal ridings are unfair because the choice offered to voters varies depending on where they vote. When ridings elect a large number of members, it favours the proliferation of political parties; this could lead to assemblies that are unable to make any decisions. We should create ridings that each elect a small number of members, in order to achieve what Vincent Lemieux called “moderate proportional representation”.

In Canada, electoral boundaries must take the provinces into account. The smallest province, Prince Edward Island, has four MPs and could form one riding with four seats. To limit inequalities among the ridings, the other provinces would have to be divided up into ridings of three, four or five seats. To limit the proliferation of political parties as much as possible, creating ridings of three or occasionally four seats would be the most advisable option. The new electoral map could be created with the following criteria in mind: without changing current electoral boundaries, three of them could be grouped together, or occasionally four, when four are needed to respect the number of MPs by province. As the new groupings are being created, every effort should be made to ensure the least variation possible in the ratio of population per member in the new ridings thereby created. Canada has very knowledgeable experts on electoral systems who would be able to take care of that in just a few days.

This reform would be marginally more complicated than any reform that preserves the current single-member ridings, but it could definitely be implemented fairly quickly. This would be much simpler than creating a mixed system that includes single-member ridings and additional members elected in a proportional, compensatory or parallel system. In order to create a mixed system, we would either need to increase the number of seats in the House of Commons considerably, or decrease the number of single-member ridings, in other words, completely redraw the electoral map, which would be very time consuming and would raise a number of concerns and political protests. A mixed system would involve a complicated reform, and the only advantage would be to possibly yield a proportional result among the parties while preserving single-member ridings. In three-seat ridings in a moderate proportional representation system, MPs would be just as accessible to their constituents as they are in single-member ridings, and many Canadians would no doubt appreciate having access to several MPs when they need to reach out for help with something. Moreover, they could reach out to either a member of the government majority or to a member of the opposition.

With three- or four-seat ridings in a proportional representation system, the number of political parties represented in the House of Commons would likely stay the same as today, but they would each have a ratio of MPs roughly proportional to the actual public support they received, and their geographic distribution would be very different. It is very unlikely that one party would win all three seats in a given riding, and completely impossible that one party would win all the seats in a province. This would eliminate some of the extreme differences among the various regions of the country, which is one of the most harmful aspects of a single-member plurality vote system for Canadian politics.

Moderate proportional representation would yield more equitable results among the major parties and help the parliamentary system run more smoothly, but it would still be very hard on small parties. To elect an MP in a four-seat riding, a party would have to win about 20 per cent of the vote, and in a three-seat riding, about 25 per cent. That is why it is highly recommended that voters be allowed to rank their preferences among the various parties. Votes for small parties would therefore not be wasted, because voters’ subsequent preferences would be taken into account. Those voters may not be represented by their preferred candidates, but MPs would be more inclined to take their concerns into account, because they would have been elected thanks to those second or third preferences.

A ranked ballot is always advisable because it allows voters to vote sincerely without any fear of wasting their vote. It is a good complement to moderate proportional representation, which makes it harder for small parties to survive. It is also recommended because of its impact on larger parties, which are more inclined to avoid exaggerating the ideological differences among them in order to increase their chances of winning the subsequent votes of their rivals’ voters, as they will need those votes to win seats in certain ridings. Lastly—and this is perhaps the main advantage of a ranked ballot for proportional representation—it allows voters to influence the formation of coalition governments.

Moderate proportional representation will not result in a proliferation of political parties, which would create irreparable political instability. However, it would make it harder for one political party to win a parliamentary majority, and coalition governments would therefore need to be formed more often. Coalition governments exist in some of the best-governed countries in the world today, while in other countries, they are a source of instability and decision paralysis. The first type of result can be seen in countries where alliances among the political parties are ideologically aligned and accepted by those who voted for them. The second type of result exists in countries where ideological alliances are incompatible and shocking to voters. Knowing which party won most of the second preference votes of each party’s voters after an election gives a very clear indication of which coalitions are acceptable and which are not.

In closing, if electoral reform results in ranked ballots in single-member ridings, this would be a vast improvement over our current electoral system. A proportional system with three- or four-seat ridings would be very good. Adding ranked ballots would be an excellent reform. It would be very unfortunate if the debate on electoral reform were to turn into a division between advocates of the preferential system and advocates of the proportional system, when the two systems could easily be combined and complement one another very nicely.


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 39 no 4
2016






Last Updated: 2017-10-03

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

Recherche
AccueilContactez-nousEnglish

PDF
Un meilleur système électoral pour le Canada : Le vote préférentiel et la représentation proportionnelle modérée
Jean-Pierre Derriennic

Le système de scrutin pluralitaire peut donner lieu à de fausses majorités et au vote stratégique et exacerber les écarts régionaux malgré le fait qu’il assure souvent la stabilité parlementaire en raison de la cohésion des gouvernements majoritaires. Bien que les partisans de la réforme s’entendent pour dire que le système actuel devrait être modifié, il n’y a pas consensus sur le type de système qui devrait le remplacer. Dans le présent article, Jean-Pierre Derriennic propose l’amalgame de deux grands modèles de réforme, le vote préférentiel et la représentation proportionnelle modérée, afin de créer un système qui permettrait aux électeurs de voter selon leurs convictions, qui réduirait la polarisation régionale et qui résulterait en des gouvernements de coalition stables constitués des partis jouissant d’un vaste appui populaire.

Une réforme électorale est nécessaire au Canada pour corriger les principaux défauts du mode de scrutin que nous avons utilisé jusqu’à présent. Celui-ci n’est pas un scrutin majoritaire, comme on le dit souvent, mais pluralitaire, puisqu’un candidat peut être élu en ayant moins de la moitié des voix des électeurs ; il lui suffit d’en avoir plus que chacun de ses adversaires, ce qu’on appelle parfois une «pluralité». De là découlent le seul mérite de cette façon de tenir des élections et ses principaux défauts.

Le mode de scrutin pluralitaire facilite la formation de majorités parlementaires cohérentes, en accordant le plus souvent au parti qui arrive en tête en nombre de voix une proportion d’élus plus élevée que sa part des votes populaires. C’est l’argument principal de ses défenseurs. Mais il permet parfois la formation de fausses majorités, quand un parti obtient davantage d’élus qu’un adversaire qui a eu plus de votes populaires. Il exagère les oppositions entre les différentes régions du Canada, en empêchant soit la majorité gouvernementale soit l’opposition d’avoir des élus dans certaines provinces. Il oblige très souvent les électeurs à voter de manière stratégique plutôt que sincère, et produit des inégalités énormes d’influence politique entre ceux qui habitent dans des circonscriptions plus ou moins peuplées, et surtout entre ceux qui votent dans des circonscriptions où les écarts entre les candidats sont faibles et celles où ces écarts sont très importants.

Il est possible de corriger ces défauts tout en conservant le seul avantage du système actuel, la possibilité de former des majorités parlementaires cohérentes. Il faut pour cela utiliser deux méthodes, la représentation proportionnelle modérée et le vote préférentiel, ou plus exactement à préférences ordonnées (ranked ballots en anglais). Le vote préférentiel peut être appliqué dans des circonscriptions uninominales élisant, un seul député comme celles auxquelles nous sommes habitués, ou dans des circonscriptions élisant plusieurs députés de manière proportionnelle entre les partis. Ces deux méthodes ne sont donc pas exclusives l’une de l’autre, comme je l’explique dans un petit livre publié récemment par les Presses de l’Université Laval et intitulé Un meilleur système électoral pour le Canada / A Better Electoral System for Canada.

Le vote préférentiel est hautement recommandable, parce qu’il place les électeurs dans une situation morale et intellectuelle bien meilleure qu’un mode de scrutin à choix unique, qui oblige très souvent à procéder à un vote stratégique : choisir entre voter sincèrement, pour le candidat ou le parti qu’on préfère, ou voter efficacement, pour le moins détestable de ceux qui ont une chance de gagner. Avec la possibilité d’indiquer un ordre de préférences, les votes en faveur des candidats qui ont le moins de premières préférences sont transférés en cours de calcul des résultats vers d’autres candidats selon les préférences suivantes indiquées par les électeurs. On peut exprimer une première préférence sincère, même si elle va à un candidat qui n’a aucune chance de gagner, placer les autres candidats en ordre de préférence décroissant, et en dernière place le candidat dont on veut empêcher l’élection. Le vote sincère est efficace et le vote stratégique presque toujours inutile.

Les informations nécessaires pour voter stratégiquement sont difficilement accessibles pour les électeurs, qui sont donc exposés à de nombreuses possibilités de manipulation par les sondages ou les rumeurs. Il y a une équivalence morale entre le vote secret et le vote préférentiel. Le vote secret protège les électeurs contre les pressions abusives. C’est pourquoi nous pensons que dans une démocratie le vote doit être secret. De la même façon, le vote préférentiel protège les électeurs contre les manipulations, et il devrait donc être toujours considéré comme une règle déontologique.

Appliqué dans des circonscriptions uninominales, le vote préférentiel peut produire des majorités parlementaires plus fortes que le scrutin pluralitaire, et tous les députés sont élus avec une majorité des votes populaires dans leur circonscription. Un parti n’est avantagé par le vote préférentiel que s’il est un gagnant de Condorcet, c’est-à-dire celui qui aurait gagné contre n’importe lequel de ses adversaires dans des élections contre chacun d’entre eux affronté séparément. Le gagnant de Condorcet n’est pas nécessairement celui qui a le plus grand nombre de partisans convaincus, mais celui qui est acceptable pour le plus grand nombre d’électeurs. Le vote préférentiel diminue la probabilité qu’un parti obtienne une majorité parlementaire sans être un gagnant de Condorcet.

Le vote préférentiel ne favorise pas un parti ou une idéologie, il oblige les élus à obtenir une majorité dans chaque circonscription et favorise les partis modérés capables de gagner des sièges grâce aux deuxièmes préférences des électeurs des autres partis. Cette prime à la modération est souhaitable dans une démocratie, puisqu’elle incite les partis à éviter les arguments simplistes qui exagèrent les différences entre eux. Elle ne bénéficie pas toujours au même parti. En 2015 elle aurait probablement avantagé le Parti libéral. En 1993, le Parti conservateur, avec 16,4% des votes obtenait 2 sièges, alors que le Parti réformiste en obtenait 52 avec 18,69% des votes. Avec un vote préférentiel, le Parti progressiste-conservateur, plus modéré, aurait probablement obtenu plus de deuxièmes préférences que le Parti réformiste, plus radical. Il l’aurait ainsi dépassé en nombre de votes et peut-être en nombre d’élus.

Un mode de scrutin préférentiel ne permettrait pas aux petits partis d’avoir plus d’élus. Mais ils obtiendraient très probablement davantage de votes populaires. Le Parti vert, par exemple, n’a obtenu que 3,4% des votes en 2015, ce qui résulte principalement du fait que presque partout un vote pour les verts apparait comme un vote gaspillé. Avec un scrutin préférentiel, la peur de gaspiller un vote disparaitrait, et les verts obtiendraient davantage de votes populaires. Ils n’auraient peut-être pas plus d’élus, mais ils auraient une meilleure visibilité politique et un bon point de départ pour se développer davantage. Et, surtout, les autres partis sauraient que certains de leurs députés ont été élus grâce aux transferts des deuxièmes ou troisièmes préférences des électeurs des verts, et ils seraient donc incités à tenir compte de leurs préoccupations.

Appliqué dans des circonscriptions uninominales, le vote préférentiel serait une réforme assez facile à mettre en place rapidement, puisqu’il ne serait pas nécessaire de changer le nombre où les limites des circonscriptions actuelles. Ce mode de scrutin aurait des avantages importants par rapport au vote pluralitaire que nous utilisons depuis longtemps. Il permettrait aux électeurs de voter sincèrement et efficacement sans avoir recours au vote stratégique. Il favoriserait l’émergence d’un système de partis adapté au bon fonctionnement de la démocratie, avec des grands partis modérés et des petits partis dont l’existence serait moins difficile, dont le soutien populaire serait connu et dont les électeurs ne seraient pas ignorés par les grands partis. Mais ce sera bien mieux si ce mode de scrutin est à la fois préférentiel et proportionnel.

En faisant une représentation proportionnelle il faut éviter deux erreurs : faire des circonscriptions élisant des nombres très inégaux de députés, et faire des circonscriptions élisant un grand nombre de députés. Les circonscriptions inégales sont injustes puisque le choix offert aux électeurs est plus limité ou plus étendu selon le lieu où ils votent. Les circonscriptions élisant un grand nombre de députés favorisent la prolifération des partis, et risquent donc de produire des assemblées incapables de prendre des décisions. Il faut faire des circonscriptions élisant chacune un petit nombre de députés, pour obtenir ce que Vincent Lemieux appelait une «représentation proportionnelle modérée».

Au Canada, le découpage des circonscriptions doit tenir compte des provinces. La plus petite, l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard, a quatre députés et peut former une circonscription à quatre sièges. Pour limiter les inégalités de circonscriptions, il faut donc diviser les autres provinces en circonscriptions à 3, 4 ou 5 sièges. Pour limiter autant qu’il est possible la prolifération des partis, faire le plus souvent 3 sièges par circonscription et parfois 4 serait sans doute la formule la plus recommandable. La nouvelle carte électorale pourrait être faite en respectant les critères suivants : sans modifier les limites des circonscriptions actuelles, on les regroupe par trois, et exceptionnellement par quatre, quand c’est nécessaire pour respecter le nombre de députés par province ; les regroupements doivent être faits en s’efforçant d’avoir les écarts les plus faibles possibles entre les nombres d’habitants par député dans les nouvelles circonscriptions ainsi créées. Il y a au Canada de très bons spécialistes des systèmes électoraux capables de faire ce travail en quelques jours.

Ce serait une réforme un peu plus compliquée que celle qui conserverait les circonscriptions uninominales actuelles, mais elle pourrait sans doute être mise en place assez rapidement. Et ce serait beaucoup moins compliqué que de faire un système mixte, comportant des circonscriptions uninominales et des députés supplémentaires élus de manière proportionnelle, compensatoire ou parallèle. En effet, pour faire un système mixte, il faudrait soit augmenter de façon importante le nombre des membres de la Chambre des communes, soit diminuer le nombre des circonscriptions uninominales, donc refaire entièrement la carte électorale, ce qui prendrait beaucoup de temps et soulèverait un grand nombre de revendications et de contestations politiques. Un système mixte serait une réforme compliquée dont le seul avantage serait de permettre un résultat proportionnel entre les partis tout en gardant des circonscriptions uninominales. Dans les circonscriptions à trois sièges d’une représentation proportionnelle modérée, l’accessibilité des députés pour les électeurs serait la même que dans des circonscriptions uninominales, et beaucoup de citoyens, quand ils désirent faire une démarche auprès de leur député, apprécieraient sans doute d’en avoir plusieurs, et donc de pouvoir s’adresser à un député appartenant soit à la majorité gouvernementale soit à l’opposition.

Avec une représentation proportionnelle dans des circonscriptions à trois ou quatre sièges, le nombre des partis représentés à la Chambre des communes resterait sans doute le même qu’aujourd’hui, mais ils auraient un nombre d’élus plus proportionnel à leur soutien véritable dans la population. Et leur répartition territoriale serait très différente. Il sera évidemment très improbable qu’un parti remporte les trois sièges d’une circonscription, et complètement impossible qu’il gagne tous ceux d’une province. On ferait disparaitre ainsi l’exagération des oppositions entre les différentes régions du pays, qui est un des effets les plus néfastes du mode de scrutin uninominal pluralitaire pour la politique canadienne.

Une représentation proportionnelle modérée produirait un résultat plus équitable entre les grands partis, et favorable au bon fonctionnement d’un régime parlementaire, mais elle resterait très sévère envers les petits partis Pour avoir un élu dans une circonscription à 4 sièges, un parti doit obtenir environ 20% des votes, et avec 3 sièges il en faut environ 25%. C’est pourquoi il est hautement souhaitable de permettre aux électeurs d’indiquer leur ordre de préférences entre les différents partis. Les votes en faveur des petits partis ne seraient donc pas gaspillés, puisqu’on tiendrait compte des préférences suivantes de leurs électeurs. Ceux-ci ne seront pas représentés par les candidats qu’ils auraient préférés, mais il y aura des députés qui seront incités à tenir compte de leurs préoccupations parce qu’ils auront été élus grâce à leurs deuxièmes ou troisièmes préférences.

Le vote préférentiel est toujours souhaitable parce qu’il permet aux électeurs de voter sincèrement sans crainte de gaspiller leur vote. Il est un complément souhaitable d’une représentation proportionnelle modérée parce qu’il rend moins difficile l’existence des petits partis. Il l’est aussi par ses effets sur les grands partis. Ceux-ci sont incités à éviter d’exagérer les différences idéologiques entre eux, pour garder la possibilité d’obtenir les deuxièmes préférences des électeurs de leurs rivaux, dont ils ont besoin pour avoir des élus dans certaines circonscriptions. Enfin, et c’est peut-être l’avantage principal du vote préférentiel pour la représentation proportionnelle, il permet aux citoyens d’exercer une influence sur la formation des gouvernements de coalition.

Une représentation proportionnelle modérée ne provoquera pas une prolifération de partis politiques qui produirait une instabilité politique irrémédiable. Mais elle rendra plus difficile pour un parti politique d’obtenir à lui seul une majorité parlementaire. Il faudra donc souvent faire des gouvernements de coalition. Ces gouvernements existent dans certains des pays les mieux gouvernés du monde d’aujourd’hui, et sont, dans d’autres pays, une source d’instabilité ou de paralysie décisionnelle. Le premier type de résultat s’observe là où les alliances entre partis politiques sont idéologiquement cohérentes et acceptées par ceux qui ont voté pour eux ; le second type existe là où ces alliances sont incohérentes et scandalisent les électeurs. Le fait de savoir, après une élection, à quel parti sont allées les deuxièmes préférences de la majorité des électeurs de chaque parti, donnerait une indication très claire des coalitions qui sont acceptables et de celles qui ne le sont pas.

En conclusion, si la réforme nous donne un vote préférentiel dans des circonscriptions uninominales, ça sera nettement mieux que le mode de scrutin actuel. Un système proportionnel dans des circonscriptions à 3 ou 4 sièges serait très bien. En y ajoutant le vote préférentiel, on ferait une excellente réforme. Il serait très dommage que le débat sur la réforme électorale s’organise autour d’une opposition entre les partisans du vote préférentiel et ceux de la représentation proportionnelle, alors que les deux formules peuvent très bien se combiner et se complètent harmonieusement.


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 39 no 4
2016






Dernière mise à jour : 2017-10-03