Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

HomeContact UsFrançais

PDF
Representation, Accountability and Electoral Systems
Christopher Kam

When promoting certain electoral systems over others, proponents tend to make claims that one system may be “fairer”, “more democratic, “representative” or “effective” than others. In this article, the author suggests the fundamental problem in evaluating electoral systems in terms of these criteria is not necessarily that there exists an unyielding trade-off between representation and accountability. Rather, it is that there is no strong normative basis that allows us to distinguish representative from unrepresentative electoral outcomes, either because these outcomes are products of a voting cycle or because our measures of representation are ambiguous.

Ideally, government is representative and accountable; representative in the sense that its policies align with citizens’ interests, and accountable in the sense that it is answerable to citizens for its conduct and responsive to their demands. The electoral system plays an important role in determining how representative and accountable a government is in practice. Yet, it is tremendously difficult to identify an optimal electoral system, that is, one that maximizes both representation and accountability. This is because much research shows that electoral systems that advance representation tend to do so at the expense of accountability, and vice versa.1

The trade-off between accountability and representation is often portrayed as a fundamental obstacle to identifying an optimal electoral system, but any such trade-off is not really what prevents us from identifying an optimal electoral system. It is rather that we can neither i) reliably identify more or less representative electoral outcomes, nor ii) rely on repeated elections to hold incumbents to account.

The Representation-Accountability Trade-off

Representation

One can appreciate the effect of the electoral system on representation by recalling Downs’s model of electoral competition.2 The two parties in Downs’s model appeal to voters by altering their policy positions. The well-known result of the model is that both parties converge on the position of the median voter, who then randomly supports one of the parties to give it a majority. If we take as a metric of representation the policy distance between the median voter and the median legislator (this is called congruence), the result is perfectly representative.

Few real-world elections feature exactly two parties. Once more than two parties inhabit Downs’s model one or more of the parties may benefit by diverging from the median voter. This has less to do with the electoral formula (plurality or proportional representation (PR)) than the district magnitude.3 Even so, Figures 1a and 1b convey how parties tend to arrange themselves under plurality or PR, respectively.4 In Figure 1a, C takes up a position to the right of the median voter in the hope that A and B will split the vote to the left of the median voter so that C can secure a plurality of votes on the right. In Figure 1b, A, B and C distribute themselves evenly about the median voter’s position.

The representational consequences of these two stylized elections are quite different. If C were to win the plurality election in Figure 1a, there would be a substantial gap between the median voter and the majority party. There is no outright winner in PR elections, and in theory A, B, and C ought to arrange themselves in Figure 1b such that each obtains an equal share of the vote (or else each would have cause to adopt a somewhat different position). This would result in a legislature in which A, B and C have equal seat shares, and in which the median party (B) is therefore located exactly at the median voter’s position. In terms of congruence, the PR result is highly representative.

Accountability

Powell argues that electoral accountability exists when i) there is clarity of responsibility for political outcomes, and ii) voters can effectively sanction those responsible for those outcomes.5 Plurality electoral systems tend to score highly on these criteria for two reasons:

  1. 1. Plurality electoral systems tend to produce single-party majority governments, making it obvious which party is responsible for political outcomes.
  2. 2. The translation of votes to seats under plurality electoral systems tends to be such that a small loss of votes can result in a significant loss of seats. Voters can thus inflict significant punishment on the incumbent merely by withdrawing a few percentage points of the vote.

PR does not perform as well on these criteria. Firstly, PR tends to produce coalition governments, and where several parties control government it is more difficult for citizens to apportion credit or blame for political outcomes.6 Secondly, the relationship between votes and seats under PR is neither as steep as under plurality rule nor so determinative of government status. This is because a party’s ideological position may grant it legislative bargaining power in excess of its seats share. Parties in this advantaged position are thus somewhat insulated from shifts in their vote shares.

These arguments imply a trade-off between representation and accountability. This is depicted in Figure 2. Only if this trade-off takes the form of the bold line (on which x and y are located), are we really prevented from rank-ordering electoral systems, however. To see this, let x and y represent two hypothetical electoral systems. Observe that x is as accountable as an electoral system could possibly be given its (high) level of representation, and that y is as representative as an electoral system could possibly be given its (high) level of accountability. Trading x for y does not, therefore, result in a better electoral system; it merely changes the mixture of accountability and representation one gets.

Carey and Hix point out that the relationship between representation and accountability need not be unyielding; it could be curvilinear as indicated by the dashed line in Figure 2.7 If so, there may exist an optimal electoral system, such as z. Observe that if you were to replace z by another electoral system (i.e., any spot northwest or southeast of z on the dashed line), both representation and accountability would decline. In this respect, z offers the best feasible mixture of representation and accountability.

Problem 1: Measuring Representation

Even if Carey and Hix’s optimistic view of the trade-off between representation and accountability were obtained, we would have to be able to measure representation and accountability accurately to identify an optimal electoral system. This is not a trivial task.

Social choice theory considers how individual preferences combine to form collective choices. A central result in social choice theory is that one cannot assume the transitivity of collective choices.8 What does this mean? Let’s say that three parties (A, B and C) contest a majority run-off election, and further that a majority of voters prefer A to B and B to C. Social choice theory tells us that we cannot subsequently assume that there exists a majority for A over C; order the run-off differently or use a different electoral system (e.g., plurality rule or ranked ballots), and C could come out on top.9 This is a troubling result because it suggests that we cannot know whether an election result is representative – in the sense that it reflects the “will of the majority” – or due merely to the vagaries of a particular electoral system.

Collective choices are almost certainly intransitive whenever voters evaluate ballot options along several dimensions, such as when voters consider not only a party’s economic position but also its stance on regional autonomy or the charisma of its leader.10 In contrast, we can be reasonably sure that collective choices are transitive whenever voters have single-peaked preferences.11 This jargon implies that we can order voters in a single line such that all voters strictly prefer options (i.e., parties, candidates) that are closer to their position in the line to options further away.

Whether or not voters have single-peaked preferences is an empirical question. However, it is difficult to assess representation even when voters’ preferences are single-peaked. Figure 3 depicts two stylized electorates, A and B. The shaded blocks represent the ideological range of voters in each electorate.12 Thus, electorate A is moderate, with most voters just a bit to the left or right of the median voter (MV). In contrast, electorate B is polarized, with many voters located far to the left or right of the median voter. Elections place the median legislator (ML) as far away from the median voter in A as in B, and by that metric the electoral outcomes in A and B are equally representative.

The claim that the electoral outcomes in A and B are equally representative comes about because our measure of representation (congruence) ignores the variance in voters’ preferences. A different view is that the electoral system in B has located the median legislator much closer to the median voter relative to the (wide) range of the electorate’s preferences than has the electoral system in A. Indeed, the electoral system in A has located the median legislator at one extreme of voters’ preferences. This reasoning suggests that we ought to evaluate congruence relative to the range of voters’ preferences. Golder and Stramski do this, and find that judgments about the relative capacity of different electoral systems to deliver representative outcomes depends on how we measure representation.13

Problem 2: Elections May Not Deliver Accountability

Electoral accountability is often seen to take the form of an implicit contract between voters and incumbents in which voters promise to re-elect incumbents only if their performance exceeds some standard (ill-defined or idiosyncratic as it may be). Of course, voters would also prefer to elect better rather than worse candidates. Fearon argues that voters are unable to use elections to simultaneously motivate incumbents and select “good” candidates.14

Fearon’s argument is based on a stylized three-stage election cycle in which:

An incumbent sets a policy, e.g., a target-level of unemployment. Voters want this policy to produce a particular outcome (e.g. zero unemployment), but they cannot precisely discern the degree to which the outcome is due to the incumbent’s policy or to other forces (e.g., world markets).

After observing the policy outcome, voters either re-elect the incumbent or elect a replacement.

The politician elected at Stage 2 sets another policy and the electoral cycle ends in a manner akin to the two-term limit that applies to American presidents.

At issue is how voters can cast their votes at Stage 2 to ensure that they get policy they want given three possible challenges. The first challenge is to differentiate between “competent” politicians who can actually achieve the desired policy outcome and incompetent politicians who cannot. The second challenge is to motivate politicians, all of whom prefer a different outcome than voters (perhaps because it’s hard work to give voters what they want). The third challenge is a combination of the previous two, i.e., voters must both identify competent politicians and motivate reluctant incumbents.

Fearon shows that voters can meet the first two challenges by setting some standard, and re-electing the incumbent if the standard is achieved. For example, the voters say “We prefer zero unemployment, but if you deliver unemployment below 3 percent, we’ll re-elect you.” This rule is sufficient to meet the first two challenges, that is, it allows voters to distinguish competent from incompetent incumbents in the first case, and to motivate reluctant politicians in the second case.

Surprisingly, however, this voting strategy fails in the third case. The problem is that under such conditions voters cannot stick to their promise of re-electing an incumbent who achieves their standard. To see this, observe that a re-elected incumbent will not work to deliver the policy that voters want at Stage 3 because the reward and motivation of re-election no longer apply. The voters’ choice is thus between an incumbent whom they know will ignore their policy preferences, on one hand, and a potentially competent challenger, on the other; voters always prefer the latter and so the incumbent might as well ignore the voters’ preferences at the outset. With all incumbents, competent or not, behaving this way, the electorate cannot distinguish which are competent and which are not. Elections thus fail to motivate incumbents or identify “good” candidates.

Conclusion

The fundamental problem in evaluating electoral systems in terms of these criteria is not necessarily that there exists an unyielding trade-off between representation and accountability. It is that we cannot reliably distinguish representative from unrepresentative electoral outcomes, either because these outcomes are products of a voting cycle or because our measures of representation are ambiguous. The situation is no better with regard to accountability; even if we can state that the clarity of responsibility and the capacity to sanction incumbents is better under electoral system x than under electoral system y, there is no assurance that such conditions are sufficient to motivate or constrain office-holders. It seems that we lack any strong normative basis for evaluating electoral systems. While this is a pessimistic conclusion, it should encourage citizens to carefully scrutinize politicians’ claims that some electoral systems are inherently “fairer”, “more democratic,” “representative” or “effective” than others.

Notes

1 Donald L. Horowitz, “Electoral Systems: A Primer for Decision Makers”, Journal of Democracy Vol 14 No 4 (2003), pp. 115-127.

2 Anthony Downs, An Economic Theory of Democracy. New York: Harper and Row, 1957.

3 Gary W. Cox, “Centripetal and centrifugal incentives in electoral systems”, American Journal of Political Science Vol 34 No 4 (1990), pp. 903-935.

4 G. Bingham Powell, Jr., Elections as instruments of democracy: Majoritarian and proportional visions. New Haven: Yale University Press, 2000.

5 G. Bingham Powell, Jr., Elections as instruments of democracy: Majoritarian and proportional visions, pp. 50-51.

6 G. Bingham Powell, Jr. and Guy D. Whitten, “A ross-national analysis of economic voting: taking account of the political context”, American Journal of Political Science, (1993), pp. 391-414. See also Ray M. Duch and Randall T. Stevenson, The economic vote: How political and economic institutions condition election results. New York: Cambridge University Press, 2008.

7 John M. Carey & Simon Hix, “The Electoral Sweet Spot: Low Magnitude Proportional Electoral Systems”, American Journal of Political Science Vol 55 No 2 (2011), pp. 383-397.

8 Kenneth J. Arrow, Social choice and individual values. New York: Wiley, 1963.

9 Formally, Arrow’s Theorem tells us that any electoral rule that respects certain minimal fairness criteria admits the possibility of an intransitive social choice.

10 Richard D. McKelvey, “Intransitivities in multidimensional voting models and some implications for agenda control”, Journal of Economic Theory Vol 12 No 3 (1976), pp. 472-482.

11 Amartya K. Sen, “A possibility theorem on majority decisions”, Econometrica: Journal of the Econometric Society Vol 34 No 2 (1966), pp. 491-499.

12 The fact that one can represent the preferences of voters in A and B as points along a straight line implies that they have single-peaked preferences.

13 Matt Golder and Jacek Stamski, “Ideological congruence and electoral institutions”, American Journal of Political Science Vol 54 No 1 (2010), pp. 90-106.

14 James D. Fearon, “Electoral accountability and the control of politicians: selecting good types versus sanctioning poor performance”, in A. Pzewrorski, S. Stokes, and B. Manin, eds., Democracy, Accountability, and Representation. New York: Cambridge University Press.


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 39 no 4
2017






Last Updated: 2017-03-03

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

Recherche
AccueilContactez-nousEnglish

PDF
Représentation, responsabilité et systèmes électoraux
Christopher Kam

Lorsqu’ils vantent les mérites d’un système électoral par rapport aux autres, les tenants de ce système ont tendance à affirmer que ledit système peut être plus « équitable », « démocratique », « représentatif » ou « efficace » que les autres. Dans cet article, l’auteur avance que le problème fondamental de l’évaluation des systèmes électoraux selon ces critères ne tient pas nécessairement de l’existence d’un compromis inflexible entre représentation et responsabilité. Il s’explique plutôt par l’absence de fondement normatif solide nous permettant de faire la distinction entre les résultats électoraux représentatifs et ceux qui ne le sont pas, soit parce que ces résultats sont le produit d’un cycle électoral, soit parce que nos mesures de la représentation sont ambiguës.

Idéalement, un gouvernement est à la fois représentatif et responsable. Il est représentatif en ce sens que ses politiques cadrent avec les intérêts des citoyens, et responsable en ce sens qu’il a des comptes à rendre aux citoyens pour sa conduite et qu’il est réceptif à leurs demandes. Le système électoral a une incidence considérable sur la mesure dans laquelle un gouvernement est représentatif et responsable dans la pratique. Or, il s’avère extrêmement difficile de mettre le doigt sur le système électoral optimal, c’est-à-dire celui qui optimise à la fois la représentation et la responsabilité. En effet, de nombreuses recherches démontrent que les systèmes électoraux qui favorisent la représentation ont tendance à le faire aux dépens de la responsabilité, et vice versa1.

Le compromis entre responsabilité et représentation est souvent présenté comme le principal obstacle pour cerner le système électoral optimal, mais ce n’est pas réellement ce qui nous empêche de le faire. Cela tient plutôt du fait que nous ne pouvons i) ni déterminer avec fiabilité les résultats électoraux plus ou moins représentatifs, ii) ni compter sur des élections successives pour obliger les élus à rendre des comptes.

Le compromis entre représentation et responsabilité

La représentation

Pour bien comprendre l’incidence du système électoral sur la représentation, on peut rappeler le modèle de la compétition électorale élaboré par Downs (la compétition downsienne)2. Selon ce modèle, les deux seuls partis politiques tentent de plaire aux électeurs en modulant leurs positions politiques. La résultante bien connue de ce modèle est que les deux partis convergent vers la position de l’électeur médian, qui appuie l’un des partis de façon aléatoire pour lui conférer une majorité des voix. Si l’on prend l’écart entre la position de l’électeur médian et celle du législateur médian en guise de mesure de la représentation (ce qui est désigné par la congruence), le résultat est parfaitement représentatif.

Par contre, dans le monde réel, bien peu d’élections mettent en cause exactement deux partis. Selon le modèle de Downs, lorsque plus de deux partis sont présents, un ou plusieurs d’entre eux peuvent tirer avantage de s’écarter de la position de l’électeur médian. Cela tient moins du système électoral employé (majoritaire ou représentation proportionnelle (RP)) que de l’ampleur de la circonscription3. Cela dit, les figures 1a et 1b illustrent respectivement comment les partis ont tendance à se positionner selon un système majoritaire ou de RP4. Dans la figure 1a, le parti C adopte une position à la droite de l’électeur médian dans l’espoir que les partis A etse partageront les voix à sa gauche, et que C pourra ainsi remporter une majorité de voix à sa droite. Dans la figure 1b, les partis A, B et C se positionnent uniformément par rapport à l’électeur médian.

Ces deux scénarios d’élection entraînent des conséquences fort différentes sur le plan de la représentation. Si C remportait l’élection selon le système majoritaire de la figure 1a, il y aurait un écart important entre l’électeur médian et le parti majoritaire. Comme il n’y a aucun vainqueur qui se démarque clairement lors des élections selon le système de RP, en théorie, A, B et C doivent se positionner dans la figure 1b de manière à obtenir chacun une part égale des voix (sinon, chacun aurait des raisons d’adopter une position quelque peu différente). Ce scénario entraînerait pour résultat une assemblée où A, B et C détiennent une proportion égale de sièges, et où le parti médian (B) se trouve par conséquent exactement à la position de l’électeur médian. Du point de vue de la congruence, les résultats d’une élection selon le système de RP sont hautement représentatifs.

La responsabilité

Selon Powell, il y a responsabilité électorale lorsque : i) la responsabilité à l’égard des résultats politiques est claire, ii) les électeurs peuvent sanctionner efficacement les responsables de ces résultats5. Les systèmes majoritaires ont tendance à produire d’excellents résultats selon ces critères pour deux raisons :

1. Ils ont tendance à produire des gouvernements majoritaires unipartites; le parti responsable des résultats politiques est donc évident.

2. Selon ces systèmes, la façon dont les voix se traduisent en sièges fait habituellement en sorte qu’une faible perte de voix peut entraîner une importante perte de sièges. Les électeurs peuvent donc infliger un châtiment sévère aux élus simplement en leur retirant quelques points de pourcentage des voix.

Les systèmes de RP n’obtiennent pas d’aussi bons résultats selon ces critères. Premièrement, ils tendent à produire des gouvernements de coalition, et lorsque plusieurs partis contrôlent le gouvernement, il devient plus difficile pour les citoyens de savoir à qui attribuer le mérite ou le blâme pour les résultats politiques6. Deuxièmement, selon les systèmes de RP, le rapport entre les voix et les sièges n’est pas aussi marqué que dans le cas des systèmes majoritaires, ni aussi déterminant sur le statut du gouvernement. Cela s’explique parce que la position idéologique d’un parti peut lui conférer un pouvoir de négociation législative qui s’ajoute à sa part de sièges. Les partis qui se retrouvent dans cette position avantageuse sont donc en quelque sorte à l’abri des variations dans leur part des voix.

Ces arguments supposent un compromis entre représentation et responsabilité. La figure 2 illustre ce compromis. Par contre, nous sommes vraiment devant l’impossibilité de pouvoir classer les partis par ordre seulement si ce compromis prend la forme de la ligne en gras (sur laquelle x et y se trouvent). Pour comprendre, imaginons que x et y représentent deux systèmes électoraux hypothétiques. Notons que x est aussi responsable qu’un système électoral pourrait l’être compte tenu de son niveau (élevé) de représentation, et que y est aussi représentatif qu’un système électoral pourrait l’être compte tenu de son niveau (élevé) de responsabilité. Par conséquent, changer x pour y ne nous permet pas de cerner un meilleur système électoral; cela ne fait que changer le mélange de responsabilité et de représentation que l’on peut obtenir.

Carey et Hix font valoir que la relation entre représentation et responsabilité ne doit pas nécessairement être inflexible, car elle peut être curviligne comme l’indique la ligne pointillée dans la figure 27. Si c’est le cas, il peut y avoir un système électoral optimal, comme z. Notons que si l’on remplace z par un autre système électoral (se situant sur n’importe quel point au nord-ouest ou au sud-est de z sur la ligne pointillée), alors la représentation et la responsabilité déclineront toutes les deux. À cet égard, z présente le meilleur mélange possible de représentation et de responsabilité.

Problème no 1 : mesurer la représentation

Même si la vision optimiste du compromis entre représentation et responsabilité présentée par Carey et Hix se concrétise, il nous faudrait pouvoir mesurer la représentation et la responsabilité avec exactitude pour cerner le système électoral optimal, ce qui n’est pas une mince affaire.

La théorie du choix social examine comment les choix collectifs sont déterminés par la somme des préférences individuelles. Une résultante centrale de cette théorie est que l’on ne peut présumer de la transitivité des choix collectifs8. Qu’est-ce que cela signifie? Supposons que trois partis (A, B et C) s’affrontent lors du deuxième tour de scrutin selon un système majoritaire, et qu’une majorité d’électeurs préfèrent A à B, et B à C. La théorie du choix social nous dit que l’on ne peut pas en déduire qu’il existe une majorité d’électeurs préférant A à C. En effet, si on classe le deuxième tour différemment ou que l’on emploie un autre système électoral (p. ex. majorité simple ou scrutin préférentiel), C pourrait se retrouver en tête9. Ce résultat est troublant, car il donne à penser que nous ne pouvons pas savoir si les résultats d’une élection sont représentatifs – en ce sens qu’ils reflètent la « volonté de la majorité » – ou s’ils sont simplement attribuables aux vicissitudes d’un système électoral en particulier.

Les choix collectifs sont presque assurément intransitifs quand les électeurs évaluent les choix qui s’offrent à eux sous plusieurs angles, par exemple lorsque non seulement ils prennent en considération la position d’un parti sur le plan économique, mais aussi sa position sur le plan de l’autonomie régionale ou le charisme de son chef10. En revanche, on peut raisonnablement avoir la certitude que les choix collectifs sont transitifs quand les électeurs ont des préférences unimodales11. Ce terme de jargon signifie que l’on peut classer les électeurs sur un seul axe en fonction des options préférées de chacun d’entre eux (p. ex. sur le plan des partis, des candidats) qui se trouvent plus près de leur position sur l’axe jusqu’à celles qui en sont plus éloignées.

Quant à savoir si les préférences des électeurs sont unimodales ou non, la question est empirique. Cependant, il est difficile d’évaluer la représentation même lorsque les préférences des électeurs sont unimodales. La figure 3 illustre deux modèles d’électorat, soit A et B. Les blocs ombragés représentent la gamme des vues idéologiques de chaque électorat12. Ainsi, l’électorat A est modéré, puisque la plupart des électeurs se situent un peu à gauche ou à droite de l’électeur médian (EM). En revanche, l’électorat B est polarisé, puisque bon nombre des électeurs se situent loin à gauche ou à droite de l’électeur médian. Selon les systèmes électoraux, le législateur médian (LM) se situe aussi loin de l’électeur médian dans A et dans B, et selon cette mesure, les résultats électoraux dans A et B sont tout aussi représentatifs.

L’affirmation selon laquelle les résultats électoraux dans A et B sont tout aussi représentatifs tient du fait que notre mesure de la représentation (congruence) fait abstraction des écarts entre les préférences des électeurs. Selon un autre point de vue, on pourrait dire que le système électoral employé dans B fait en sorte que le législateur médian se trouve beaucoup plus près de l’électeur médian par rapport à la (vaste) gamme de préférences de l’électorat que c’est le cas pour le système électoral employé dans A. En effet, le système électoral dans A fait en sorte que le législateur médian se trouve à une extrémité des préférences des électeurs. Ce raisonnement donne à penser qu’il faut évaluer la congruence par rapport à la gamme des préférences des électeurs. C’est ce que font Golder et Stramski, et ils constatent que les jugements sur la capacité relative des différents systèmes électoraux de produire des résultats représentatifs dépendent de la façon de mesurer la représentation13.

Problème no 2 : les élections ne garantissent pas nécessairement la responsabilité des élus

On imagine souvent la responsabilité électorale sous la forme d’un contrat tacite conclu entre les électeurs et les élus selon lequel les électeurs promettent de réélire les politiciens seulement si leur performance surpasse un certain critère (aussi mal défini ou singulier qu’il puisse être). Bien sûr, les électeurs préfèrent aussi élire des candidats qui sont meilleurs plutôt que pires. Or, Fearon soutient que les électeurs sont incapables de se servir des élections pour à la fois motiver les politiciens et choisir de « bons » candidats14.

L’argument de Fearon est fondé sur un modèle de cycle électoral à trois étapes selon lequel :

Un politicien établit une politique, par exemple un taux de chômage cible. Les électeurs veulent que cette politique produise un certain résultat (p. ex. un taux de chômage nul), mais ils ne peuvent pas discerner de manière précise la mesure dans laquelle le résultat est attribuable à la politique établie par le politicien ou à d’autres forces (p. ex. les marchés mondiaux).

Après observation du résultat de la politique, les électeurs décident soit de réélire le politicien, soit d’élire un remplaçant.

Le politicien élu à l’étape 2 établit une autre politique, et le cycle électoral prend fin un peu comme dans le cas de la limite de deux mandats applicable aux présidents américains.

Le nœud du problème réside dans la façon dont les électeurs peuvent voter à l’étape 2 pour s’assurer d’obtenir la politique qu’ils souhaitent malgré trois défis possibles. Le premier défi consiste à faire la distinction entre les politiciens « compétents » qui peuvent effectivement produire le résultat politique souhaité, et les politiciens incompétents qui ne le peuvent pas. Le second défi consiste à motiver les politiciens, qui préfèrent tous un résultat différent de celui souhaité par les électeurs (peut-être parce qu’il faut travailler dur pour donner aux électeurs ce qu’ils veulent). Le troisième défi est un mélange des deux précédents, c’est-à-dire que les électeurs doivent à la fois déceler les politiciens compétents et motiver ceux qui sont réticents.

Fearon démontre que les électeurs peuvent relever les deux premiers défis en établissant un certain critère, et réélire le politicien s’il satisfait au critère. Par exemple, pour établir ce critère, les électeurs peuvent dire « Nous préférons un taux de chômage nul, mais si vous abaissez le taux de chômage sous la barre des 3 %, nous allons vous réélire ». Cette règle suffit pour relever les deux premiers défis, car elle permet aux électeurs de faire la distinction entre les politiciens compétents ou non dans le premier cas, et de motiver les politiciens réticents dans le deuxième cas.

Étonnamment, cette stratégie de vote échoue pour le troisième défi. Le problème, c’est que, dans de telles conditions, les électeurs ne peuvent pas tenir leur promesse de réélire un politicien qui a satisfait à leur critère. Pour comprendre, il faut noter qu’un politicien réélu ne va pas s’efforcer de mettre en place la politique souhaitée par les électeurs à l’étape 3 parce que la récompense et la motivation d’une réélection ne s’appliquent plus. Les électeurs ont donc le choix entre un politicien dont ils savent qu’il ignorera leurs préférences politiques d’une part, et un adversaire potentiellement compétent d’autre part. Les électeurs préfèrent toujours la deuxième option, donc le politicien qui était déjà en place fait tout aussi bien d’ignorer les préférences des électeurs dès le départ. Comme tous les politiciens, compétents ou non, se comportent ainsi, l’électorat ne peut faire la distinction entre ceux qui sont compétents et ceux qui ne le sont pas. Les élections ne permettent donc pas de motiver les politiciens ou de trouver les « bons » candidats.

Conclusion

Le problème fondamental de l’évaluation des systèmes électoraux selon ces critères ne tient pas nécessairement de l’existence d’un compromis inflexible entre représentation et responsabilité. Il tient du fait que nous sommes incapables de faire une distinction fiable entre les résultats électoraux représentatifs et ceux qui ne le sont pas, soit parce que ces résultats sont le produit d’un cycle électoral, soit parce que nos mesures de la représentation sont ambiguës. La situation n’est pas plus reluisante au chapitre de la responsabilité. Même si nous pouvons affirmer que la clarté de la responsabilité à l’égard des résultats politiques et que la capacité de sanctionner les élus sont meilleures selon le système électoral x que selon le système électoral y, rien ne garantit que de telles conditions suffisent pour motiver les politiciens ou les contraindre. Il semble que nous ne disposons d’aucun fondement normatif solide pour évaluer les systèmes électoraux. Cette conclusion est certes pessimiste, mais elle devrait encourager les citoyens à examiner minutieusement les affirmations des politiciens selon lesquelles certains systèmes électoraux sont, par nature, plus « équitables », « démocratiques », « représentatifs » ou « efficaces » que d’autres.

Notes

1 Donald L. Horowitz, « Electoral Systems: A Primer for Decision Makers », Journal of Democracy, vol. 14, no 4, 2003, p. 115-127.

2 Anthony Downs, An Economic Theory of Democracy, New York, Harper and Row, 1957.

3 Gary W. Cox, « Centripetal and centrifugal incentives in electoral systems », American Journal of Political Science vol. 34, no 4, 1990, p. 903-935.

4 G. Bingham Powell, Jr., Elections as instruments of democracy: Majoritarian and proportional visions, New Haven, Yale University Press, 2000.

5 G. Bingham Powell, Jr., Elections as instruments of democracy: Majoritarian and proportional visions, p. 50-51.

6 G. Bingham Powell, Jr. et Guy D. Whitten, « A cross-national analysis of economic voting: taking account of the political context », American Journal of Political Science, 1993, p. 391-414. Voir aussi Ray M. Duch et Randall T. Stevenson, The economic vote: How political and economic institutions condition election results, New York, Cambridge University Press, 2008.

7 John M. Carey et Simon Hix, « The Electoral Sweet Spot: Low Magnitude Proportional Electoral Systems », American Journal of Political Science vol. 55, no 2, 2011, p. 383-397.

8 Kenneth J. Arrow, Social choice and individual values, New York, Wiley, 1963.

9 Officiellement, le théorème d’Arrow nous dit que toute règle électorale qui respecte un certain minimum de critères d’équité admet la possibilité d’un choix social intransitif.

10 Richard D. McKelvey, « Intransitivities in multidimensional voting models and some implications for agenda control », Journal of Economic Theory, vol. 12, no 3, 1976, p. 472-482.

11 Amartya K. Sen, « A possibility theorem on majority decisions », Econometrica: Journal of the Econometric Society, vol. 34 no 2, 1966, p. 491-499.

12 Le fait de pouvoir représenter les préférences des électeurs dans A et B sous forme de points le long d’une ligne droite sous-tend qu’ils ont des préférences unimodales.

13 Matt Golder et Jacek Stamski, « Ideological congruence and electoral institutions », American Journal of Political Science, vol. 54, no 1, 2010, p. 90-106.

14 James D. Fearon, « Electoral accountability and the control of politicians: selecting good types versus sanctioning poor performance », cité dans Democracy, Accountability, and Representation, sous la direction de A. Pzewrorski, S. Stokes et B. Manin, New York, Cambridge University Press.

Figure 2 :
Le compromis entre représentation et responsabilité


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 39 no 4
2016






Dernière mise à jour : 2017-08-03