Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

Search
HomeContact UsFrançais
Letter from the Editor: Focus on Electoral Reform
Will Stos

On June 7, 2016, the House of Commons created a Special Committee on Electoral Reform “to identify and conduct a study of viable alternate voting systems to replace the first-past-the-post system, as well as to examine mandatory voting and online voting.” This committee’s work contributes to discussions about electoral reform that have been occurring with some frequency across the country since the turn of the millennium. It has resulted in citizen committees and assemblies, commissions, and plebiscites or referenda in provinces such as New Brunswick, Prince Edward Island, British Columbia, Ontario, and Quebec.

Drawing inspiration from a Canadian Study of Parliament Group conference on electoral reform held in spring 2016, in this theme issue we explore some aspects of this ongoing discussion in greater detail.

Prince Edward Island MLA Jordan Brown, chair of the Special Committee on Democratic Renewal, provides the context and history leading to PEI’s most recent examination of its electoral system, which culminated in a plebiscite held from October 29 to November 7, 2016. Paul Alan, the Director of Communications for Elections PEI, outlines some of the ways Prince Edward Islanders were able to participate, the structure of the preferential ballot and, the results of each round of voting.

A roundtable with three CSPG conference participants (Dennis Pilon, Harold Jansen, and Laura Stephenson) touches upon the history of electoral reform in Canada, including what motivates reforms and how some attempts have succeeded or failed.

Ross Lambertson and Jean-Pierre Derriennic offer two visions of potential reform. Lambertson’s premise maintains the current method of electing federal MPs but adds a new wrinkle to how votes could be counted in the House of Commons. Derriennic suggests two prominent reform models, the preferential/ranked ballot system and a moderate form of proportional representation, could be combined to create a system that retains the best qualities of each system.

Finally, in a revised version of his CSPG conference presentation, Christopher Kam tackles the trade-off between accountability and representation that is often central to debates over optimal electoral systems and concludes it’s virtually impossible to evaluate either concept on a normative basis. He suggests this conclusion should prompt citizens to carefully scrutinize politicians and other proponents who claim that some electoral systems are inherently “fairer,” “more democratic,” “representative” or “effective” than others.

We hope this selection of articles, while only scratching the surface of debate over electoral reform, offers a diversity of perspectives and highlights some of the issues and concepts that arise during these discussions. The Canadian Parliamentary Review welcomes proposals for additional articles along these themes and others for consideration in future issues.


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 39 no 4
2016






Last Updated: 2017-08-03

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

Recherche
AccueilContactez-nousEnglish

PDF
Lettre du directeur : L’accent mis sur la réforme électorale
Will Stos

Le 7 juin 2016, la Chambre des communes a mis sur pied le Comité spécial sur la réforme électorale « pour déterminer et étudier d’autres modes de scrutin, pour remplacer le système majoritaire uninominal à un tour, ainsi que pour examiner les questions du vote obligatoire et du vote en ligne ». Les travaux de ce comité viennent étayer les discussions entourant la réforme électorale survenues assez fréquemment au pays depuis le tournant du millénaire. Elles ont entraîné la création de comités et d’assemblées de citoyens, de commissions, et la tenue de plébiscites ou de référendums dans des provinces comme le Nouveau-Brunswick, l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard, la Colombie-Britannique, l’Ontario et le Québec.

Nous nous sommes inspirés d’une conférence sur la réforme électorale, tenue par le Groupe canadien d’étude des parlements (GCEP) au printemps 2016, pour vous présenter ce numéro thématique qui explore plus en détail certains aspects des discussions qui se poursuivent à ce sujet.

Jordan Brown, député à l’Assemblée législative et président du Comité spécial sur le renouvellement démocratique de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard, nous présente le contexte et les circonstances qui ont mené cette province au plus récent examen de son système électoral, lequel a culminé par la tenue d’un plébiscite, du 29 octobre au 7 novembre 2016. Paul Alan, directeur des communications d’Elections PEI, souligne certains moyens mis à la disposition des électeurs de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard pour se prononcer sur le projet de réforme, la structure du scrutin préférentiel employé pour le plébiscite et les résultats de chaque tour de scrutin.

Une table ronde en compagnie de trois panélistes de la conférence du GCEP (Dennis Pilon, Harold Jansen et Laura Stephenson) aborde l’histoire des réformes électorales au Canada, les aspects qui les motivent et les circonstances qui ont mené à la réussite ou à l’échec de certaines tentatives de réforme.

Ross Lambertson et Jean-Pierre Derriennic proposent deux perspectives pour une éventuelle réforme. Dans son postulat, Lambertson conserve le mode actuel d’élection des députés fédéraux, et propose une nouveauté astucieuse pour le dépouillement des voix à la Chambre des communes. Derriennic avance que deux importants modèles de réforme, à savoir le système de vote préférentiel et une forme modérée de système de représentation proportionnelle, pourraient être jumelés afin de créer un système qui conserve les plus grandes qualités des deux autres.

Enfin, dans une version remaniée de la présentation qu’il a faite à la conférence du GCEP, Christopher Kam s’attaque à un élément qui se trouve souvent au cœur même des débats visant à cerner les systèmes électoraux optimaux : le compromis entre responsabilité et représentation. Il conclut qu’il est pratiquement impossible d’évaluer l’un ou l’autre de ces concepts selon un fondement normatif, et avance que cette conclusion devrait encourager les citoyens à examiner minutieusement les affirmations des politiciens et autres tenants selon lesquelles certains systèmes électoraux sont, par nature plus « équitables », « démocratiques », « représentatifs » ou « efficaces » que d’autres.

Nous espérons cette sélection d’articles, qui ne peut qu’effleurer le vaste thème du débat sur la réforme électorale, saura tout de même vous présenter une diversité de points de vue et mettre en lumière certains concepts et enjeux soulevés lors des discussions à ce sujet. La Revue parlementaire canadienne vous invite à lui soumettre des articles traitant de thèmes connexes, ou encore que nous pourrions considérer pour de futurs numéros.


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 39 no 4
2016






Dernière mise à jour : 2017-08-03