Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

Search
HomeContact UsFrançais

PDF
Know Your Mace: Ontario


Know Your Mace

Made of copper and gold-plated, Ontario’s Mace was crafted in Ottawa in 1867. It is the third Mace to be used in the province’s history since the establishment of the Legislature during colonial times in 1792. The province’s first Mace was captured by American soldiers during the War of 1812 and later returned, and the second – dating from around 1845 - ended up in the federal parliament following Confederation in 1867 and was subsequently destroyed during a 1916 fire.

Sitting underneath the crown within decorative leaves, the cup of the current Mace features the insignia of King Edward VII. The original cup bore the initials V.R. for Victoria Regina and was recently rediscovered among the collection at the Royal Ontario Museum. It is now on display in the Legislative Building lobby.

In 2009, the first two diamonds mined in Ontario were mounted into the crown of the Mace. One was left in the rough to represent the mining process, and the other was polished to signify the value of the diamond industry in Ontario. The polished diamond was inscribed with the Legislative Assembly of Ontario’s motto Audi Alteram Partem – “Hear the Other Side”.

Parliamentary Protocol and Public Relations Branch, Legislative Assembly of Ontario


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 39 no 4
2016






Last Updated: 2017-08-24

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

Recherche
AccueilContactez-nousEnglish

PDF
À propos de la masse : Ontario


À propos de la masse

Faite de cuivre plaqué d’or, la masse de l’Assemblée législative de l’Ontario a été conçue à Ottawa en 1867. Elle est la troisième à être utilisée dans la province depuis l’établissement de l’Assemblée législative à l’époque coloniale, en 1792. La première masse de la province a été prise comme butin de guerre par les soldats américains durant la guerre de 1812, puis a été rendue ultérieurement. La seconde, datant des alentours de 1845, a été apportée au Parlement fédéral en 1867 par suite de la Confédération, où elle a été détruite lors de l’incendie de 1916.

Sise sous la couronne et entourée de feuilles ornementales, la coupe de la masse actuelle est ornée de l’insigne du roi Édouard VII. La coupe d’origine, qui portait le monogramme de la reine Victoria, V. R. pour Victoria Regina, a été redécouverte depuis peu dans la collection du Musée royal de l’Ontario. Elle est à présent exposée dans le hall de l’édifice de l’Assemblée.

En 2009, les deux premiers diamants extraits en Ontario ont été enchâssés dans la couronne de la masse actuelle. L’un a été laissé à l’état brut pour représenter le processus minier, et l’autre a été poli pour illustrer la valeur de l’industrie diamantaire en Ontario. Sur le diamant poli est gravée la devise de l’Assemblée législative de l’Ontario, Audi Alteram Partem (entends l’autre partie).


Direction du protocole parlementaire et des relations publiques Assemblée législative de l’Ontario


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 39 no 4
2016






Dernière mise à jour : 2017-10-03