Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

Search
HomeContact UsFrançais

PDF
Parliamentary BookshelfParliamentary Bookshelf
Jörg Broschek

Comparative Federalism and Intergovernmental Agreements: Analyzing Australia, Canada, Germany, South Africa, Switzerland and the United States, Jeffrey Parker, Routledge Series in Federal Studies, London et New York, 2014, 266 p.

While federal institutional architectures furnish governments with authority to act autonomously in certain jurisdictions, they simultaneously require them to work together. In other words, federations variously combine self-rule and shared-rule. The scope and patterns of shared-rule in federations varies considerably across time and space. For example, the changing nature of the modern state in the twentieth century encouraged the emergence of a new era of cooperation in many federations. In contrast, the “new federalism” initiative in the United States, “open federalism” in Canada and “dis-entanglement” reforms in Germany and Switzerland represent efforts to restore self-rule and to trim back shared-rule arrangements. Mechanisms of shared-rule, however, not only vary depending on the historical context and the federal system, but can also take quite different forms. An extremely important, yet understudied form of shared-rule is the intergovernmental agreement (IGA), which lies at the heart of this ambitious comparative study by Jeffrey Parker.

Considering the historical proliferation and omnipresence of IGAs in almost every federation, the lack of comparative research on this issue is astonishing indeed. As Parker highlights in the introduction to his book, IGAs are manifold and can serve different purposes. IGAs lay the groundwork for the introduction of new policy programs in areas such as health care or education, they establish a framework for the management or regulation of natural resources or create new institutions like the Council of Australian Governments (COAG). In essence, Parker’s comparative study seeks to shed more light on this crucial feature of federal politics by posing two questions: First, how do federations differ in the way they make use of IGAs and, second, what explains these differences?

The study compares the scope and patterns of IGA formation in six federations: Australia, Canada, Germany, South Africa, Switzerland and the United States. Parker justifies the rationale behind the selection of cases with the institutional diversity that is represented by each federation. As this sample represents federations that contrast in important respects such as size, location, level of economic development or age, it spans a broad range of federal systems. Moreover, it also promises to produce insights that are, to a certain degree, generalizable.

Drawing on institutional theory, Parker introduces a set of seven variables that he expects to be crucial to understand why some federations produce more IGAs than others. These variables are assumed to have different effects. While most of them are conducive to IGA formation, others counteract or mitigate those effects. For example, if a federation displays a high degree of overlapping competencies, governments are more likely to create IGA in order to cope with resulting interdependencies. However, if there exists a large number of subnational governments, it is more difficult to reach an agreement and IGA formation might be inhibited. For each of his six case studies, Parker thoroughly scrutinizes the effect of each variable separately and “in concert,” (how they interact within each federation).

The comparative study of the six federations yields several noteworthy insights. As for the productivity, it is interesting to see that there obviously exist profound differences in how individual federations deploy IGAs as a means of shared-rule. Australia, Canada and Germany have generated a significantly higher number of IGAs than Switzerland and the United States. South Africa is the only federation that has not yet created a single IGA, but it is also by far the youngest federation within the sample. The similarities among Australia, Canada and Germany are remarkable as those three federations differ in many other respects: Australia is usually considered as exemplifying a highly centralized federation, while Canada counts as perhaps the most decentralized one. In addition, unlike Australia and Germany, Canada is a multi-national federation. Finally, Germany sets itself apart from both Australia and Canada as it features a high degree of institutional entanglement and joint-decision-making.

As counterintuitive as these findings might be at first glance, they appear as less surprising after a closer look. First, the differences in IGA productivity among the federations are, to some extent, a consequence of deliberate conceptual and methodological decisions. With good reason, Parker focuses only on what he calls national agreements; this means IGAs that involve virtually all governments. He sets the bar very high, thereby excluding, however, bi- or multi-lateral IGAs among a smaller number of units, as long as they are not part of a larger single federal effort to coordinate one policy area (p. 8-9). Although this certainly is a wise decision to keep a complex comparative study manageable, the picture of IGA productivity might look differently had all types of IGAs been included.

Second, as the comparative investigation reveals, his set of institutional variables is well chosen in order to explain variation. Hardly surprising, he finds that the seven variables do not carry an equal weight. For example, the existence of lasting forums for intergovernmental relations turns out to be a very successful variable as it correlates with high IGA productivity in almost all cases, whereas the degree of constitutional overlap – according to Parker’s analysis – was one of the least successful variables. Also, the large number of subnational units in the United States (50) and Switzerland (26) makes it more difficult to forge an IGA than in federations such as Canada or Australia.

One can certainly pick at several aspects of Jeffrey Parker’s study. In particular, some decisions concerning the conceptual framework appear a bit flawed. For example, the degree of constitutional overlap variable is somewhat misconstrued, which becomes evident when Parker suggests that Germany has a high degree of overlap. This is misleading, because the functional allocation of competencies in Germany (federal legislation, Lander implementation) is different from real overlap in dual federations like Australia or Canada. Likewise, the way Parker uses the welfare state as an indicator for interdependence and, hence, a variable that promotes IGA productivity, tends to be superficial. Finally, it would have been good to elaborate on the question of periodical shifts of IGA productivity within individual federations, an important aspect that Parker does not address in his study.

While some criticism is warranted, however, the study’s limitations are comparatively small and do not diminish its overall contribution to comparative federalism research. Parker very carefully explains and justifies almost every step in the formation of the concept, always demonstrating a keen awareness of each decision’s possible implications. Considering the scope and qualitative nature of the study, Parker does a remarkable job, as this type of comparative research requires a considerable level of engagement with each individual country. Throughout the study, he is very anxious to remain consistent with his framework, which – and this is the flipside in terms of style – makes this book at the same time a somewhat mechanistic read that also suffers from some redundancies. Again, however, it is important to highlight that these are rather minor quibbles in an otherwise excellent study which, for various reasons, addresses an important research gap in comparative federalism.

Jörg Broschek
Associate Professor and Canada Research Chair in Comparative Federalism and Multilevel Governance, Wilfrid Laurier University


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 38 no 2
2015






Last Updated: 2018-07-31

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

Recherche
AccueilContactez-nousEnglish

PDF
Sur les rayonsSur les rayons
Jörg Broschek

Comparative Federalism and Intergovernmental Agreements: Analyzing Australia, Canada, Germany, South Africa, Switzerland and the United States, Jeffrey Parker, Routledge Series in Federal Studies, London et New York, 2014, 266 p.

Si les architectures institutionnelles fédérales confèrent aux gouvernements le pouvoir d’agir de manière autonome dans leurs propres territoires, elles les obligent en même temps à travailler ensemble. Autrement dit, les fédérations combinent, à des degrés divers, l’autonomie et le partage de pouvoirs. L’étendue et les modes de partage de pouvoirs dans les fédérations varient considérablement dans le temps et l’espace. Par exemple, la nature changeante de l’État moderne au XXe siècle a favorisé l’émergence d’une nouvelle de coopération dans nombre de fédérations. Au contraire, l’initiative du « nouveau fédéralisme » aux États-Unis, le « fédéralisme ouvert » au Canada et la clarification des rôles en Allemagne et en Suisse représentent des efforts de rétablissement de l’autonomie et de réduction des ententes de partage de pouvoirs. Les mécanismes de partage de pouvoirs, toutefois, non seulement varient selon le contexte historique et le type de régime fédéral, mais encore ils prennent diverses formes. Une forme très importante, mais peu étudiée, de partage de pouvoirs est constituée par les accords intergouvernentaux (AIG), qui sont au cœur de cette ambitieuse étude comparative de Jeffrey Parker.

Compte tenu de la prolifération historique et de l’omniprésence des AIG dans presque toutes les fédérations, le manque de recherche comparative sur la question est fort étonnant. Comme Parker le souligne dans l’introduction de son livre, les AIG sont multiples et visent des objectifs différents. Les AIG jettent les bases de l’adoption de nouveaux programmes de politiques dans des secteurs comme la santé ou l’éducation, établissent un cadre pour la gestion ou la réglementation des ressources naturelles ou créent de nouvelles institutions comme le Council of Australian Governments (COAG). Essentiellement, l’étude comparative de Parker tente de mettre un peu plus en lumière cette caractéristique capitale de la politique fédérale en posant deux questions : d’abord, en quoi les fédérations diffèrent-elles quant à l’utilisation des AIG et, ensuite, comment peut-on expliquer ces différences?

L’étude compare la portée et les modèles de formation d’AIG dans six fédérations : l’Australie, le Canada, l’Allemagne, l’Afrique du Sud, la Suisse et les États-Unis. Parker justifie son choix de modèles par la vérité institutionnelle que représente chaque fédération. Comprenant des fédérations présentant des différences marquées à d’importants égards comme la taille, l’emplacement, le niveau de développement économique ou l’âge, l’échantillon se compose d’un large éventail de systèmes fédéraux. De plus, il promet d’apporter des éclairages permettant, dans une certaine mesure, de faire des généralisations.

Se fondant sur la théorie institutionnelle, Parker présente une série de sept variables essentielles qui, selon lui, nous permettent de comprendre pourquoi certaines fédérations concluent plus d’AÌG que d’autres. Ces variables sont censées avoir différents effets. Si la plupart d’entre elles mènent à la conclusion d’AIG, d’autres, en revanche, annulent ou atténuent ces effets. Par exemple, si une fédération affiche un degré élevé de chevauchements de compétences, les gouvernements sont plus susceptibles de créer des AIG pour composer avec les interdépendances en résultant. Cependant, s’il existe un grand nombre de gouvernements infranationaux, il est plus difficile de parvenir à un accord et la formation d’AIG peut être inhibée. Dans chacune de ces six études de cas, Parker examine de manière approfondie l’effet de chacune des variables séparément et collectivement (comment elles interagissent au sein de chaque fédération).

L’étude comparative des six fédérations apporte plusieurs éclairages dignes de mention.Sur le plan de la productivité, il est intéressant de constater l’existence évidente de profondes différences dans la façon dont les diverses fédérations déploient les AIG comme modes de partage de compétences. L’Australie, le Canada et l’Allemagne ont conclu un nombre sensiblement plus élevé d’AIG que la Suisse et les États-Unis. L’Afrique du Sud est la seule fédération qui n’a pas encore conclu un seul AIG, mais elle est aussi de loin la plus jeune fédération de l’échantillon. Les similarités entre l’Australie, le Canada et l’Allemagne sont remarquables, mais elles diffèrent aussi à bien des égards : l’Australie est habituellement considérée comme l’exemple même d’une fédération très centralisée, et le Canada, comme la plus décentralisée sans doute. En outre, contrairement à l’Australie et à l’Allemagne, le Canada est une fédération multinationale. Enfin, l’Allemagne se démarque tant de l’Australie que du Canada par le fait qu’elle pratique un degré élevé d’enchevêtrement institutionnel et de prise de décisions commune.

Aussi déroutantes qu’elles puissent être à première vue, ces constatations semblent moins étonnantes quand on les examine de plus près. D’abord, les différences quant à la productivité des AIG entre les fédérations sont, dans une certaine mesure, la conséquence de décisions conceptuelles et méthodologiques délibérées. Avec raison, Parker ne s’intéresse qu’à ce qu’il appelle des accords nationaux, c.àd. des accords auxquels sont parties presque tous les ordres de gouvernement. Il place la barre très haut, excluant du même coup, toutefois, les AIG bilatéraux ou multilatéraux au sein d’ensembles plus petits, dans la mesure où ils ne font pas partie d’une initiative fédérale unique et plus large de coordination d’un secteur de politique (p. 8-9). Bien que cela soit certainement une sage décision pour que l’étude comparative complexe reste gérable, le portrait de la productivité des AIG pourrait être différent si tous les types d’AIG avaient été inclus.

Ensuite, comme l’enquête comparative le révèle, son ensemble de variables institutionnelles est bien choisi pour expliquer les variations. Il n’est guère surprenant qu’il signale que les sept variables n’ont pas le même poids. Par exemple, l’existence de tribunes de relations intergouvernementales durables apparaît comme une variable très fructueuse, car elle correspond à une productivité élevée des AIG dans presque tous les cas, tandis que le degré de chevauchement constitutionnel – selon l’analyse de Parker – compte parmi les variables les moins fructueuses. De plus, le grande nombre d’éléments infranationaux aux États-Unis (50) et en Suisse (26) a pour effet qu’il est plus difficile de forger un AIG que dans des fédérations comme le Canada ou l’Australie.

Certes, plusieurs aspects de l’étude de Jeffrey Parker prêtent le flanc à la critique. Ainsi, certaines décisions concernant le cadre conceptuel semblent un peu bancales. Par exemple, la variable du chevauchement constitutionnel est quelque peu mal interprétée, ce qui apparaît évident quand Parker fait valoir qu’il y a un degré élevé de chevauchement en Allemagne. Cela est trompeur parce que l’attribution fonctionnelle des compétences en Allemagne (législation fédérale, mise en œuvre par les Lander) est différente du vrai chevauchement pratiqué dans des fédérations à deux composantes comme l’Australie ou le Canada. De même, la façon dont Parker utilise l’État-providence comme indicateur de l’interdépendance et, partant, comme une variable faisant la promotion de la productivité des AIG tend à être superficielle. Enfin, il aurait été intéressant que Parker approfondisse la question des fluctuations périodiques de la productivité des AIG au sein des fédérations individuelles, un important aspect qu’il n’a pas exploré dans cette étude.

Si certaines critiques sont justifiées, on peut dire, toutefois, que les limites de l’étude sont comparativement restreintes et ne diminuent en rien sa contribution globale à la recherche comparative sur le fédéralisme. Parker explique et justifie très soigneusement presque chaque étape de la formation du concept, faisant toujours preuve d’une conscience aigue des conséquences possibles de chaque décision. Compte tenu de la portée et de la nature qualitative de l’étude, Parker a fait un travail remarquable, car ce genre d’étude comparative requiert un niveau considérable d’engagement avec chacun des pays. Durant toute l’étude, il s’est employé à rester scrupuleusement fidèle à sa structure, ce qui fait que l’ouvrage est conséquemment d’une lecture un peu mécanique et souffre également de quelques redondances. Il importe de souligner, toutefois, que ce ne sont là que des carences plutôt mineures d’un ouvrage au demeurant excellent qui, pour diverses raisons, comble un important vide dans la recherche sur le fédéralisme comparatif.

Jörg Broschek
Professeur agrégé et titulaire d’une chaire de recherche du Canada en fédéralisme comparatif et gouvernance multiniveau, Université Wilfrid Laurier


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 38 no 2
2015






Dernière mise à jour : 2020-03-03