Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

Search
HomeContact UsFrançais

PDF
Parliamentary Bookshelf: ReviewsParliamentary Bookshelf: Reviews
Rosette Gagnon-Bélanger

Brave New Canada: Meeting the Challenge of a Changing World, by Derek H. Burney and Fen Osler Hampson, McGill-Queen’s University Press, Canada, 2014, 218pp.

Participating in international events, ratifying multilateral treaties, working on economic development, and responding to global issues and crises – all of these elements are included in a country’s foreign policy. It is not an easy task to balance positive and negative outcomes of each initiative and it is even more difficult to clearly take into account some of the benefits of diplomacy. As the world becomes more intertwined, it is harder to fully comprehend the extent to which an action or a partnership can help a country’s economic growth and stability in the long-term. As a medium-sized country, Canada used to rely on its presence in international organizations as a means to actively influence international affairs. Nevertheless, since the election of Prime Minister Stephen Harper’s Conservatives, the government has been less oriented towards a liberal and multilateral approach and more towards a case-by-case approach influenced by Canada’s values and interests.

Brave New Canada: Meeting the Challenge of a Changing World is inspired by the assertive and economically-driven position of Harper’s foreign policy. Like the current government, the authors of the book stress the need to link economic agreements with security concerns. The merging of the Canadian International Development Agency (CIDA) with the Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade (DFAIT) in 2013 demonstrates this change in mentality. Targeting a non-expert audience interested in international politics, each chapter of the book provides an overview of the theme discussed before moving into in-depth analysis. The book is designed to produce reactions and not to indicate in detail what changes have to be implemented in our foreign policy. The book supports the transition from liberal institutionalism to economic diplomacy, in which Canada establishes relations with countries that can best serve its economic interests. Hence, as power is gradually shifting towards Asia, Canada must shape its political and economic policy in order to gain from the continent’s economic development.

Both authors are very knowledgeable about Canada’s international interests. Burney is a former Canadian ambassador to Washington and a former chief of staff to Brian Mulroney. Additionally, he handled the transition of governments for Stephen Harper in 2006. Hampson teaches international affairs at Carleton University and is the director of Global Security for the Centre for International Governance Innovation in Waterloo. Moreover, he is an expert on Canadian foreign policy. In 2012, they co-wrote the report Winning in a Changing World, which was later delivered to the prime minister. Brave New Canada: Meeting the Challenge of a Changing Worldseems to be the continuation of this report, as it further addresses the challenges faced by Canada to safeguard its international position as a competitive and wealthy country.

Drawing on a comprehensive examination of recent political events and an exploration of the country’s memberships in international organizations, the authors brilliantly build up their argument. In addition to analyzing how the contemporary role of international organizations and the private sector will figure into Canada’s future, the text also examines current economic relations between Canada and the rest of the world, predominantly the United States. It offers a critical assessment of the need to establish stronger relationships with other, sometimes less conventional, countries. One chapter of the book is dedicated to summarizing the current relationships that Canada has with some of these countries and the ways that Canada could further develop its economic relationship with each country. Nevertheless, the authors could have pointed out more precisely initiatives or policies which would allow Canada to build comprehensive economic and diplomatic partnerships. For example, many foreign affairs experts argue that even after signing the Foreign Investment Promotion and Protection Agreement (FIPA) with China in September 2014, Canada still needs to focus more on bilateral diplomatic relations which have become strained or deteriorated in the past decade.

When Burney and Hampson mention that “the government will have to decide whether it wants to ‘walk the talk’ on diversification and whether it seriously intends to broaden economic ties beyond traditional but sagging markets like the US and the EU” (p.49), the tone is confident, bold and compelling. The authors contend that Canada has to engage more eagerly with emerging markets, mainly Asia, but also Latin America and Europe. The arguments brought forward by the authors are based on a careful evaluation of multidimensional aspects of complex international dynamics. Furthermore, the authors suggest that the only way to remain influential through participation in international organizations is by carefully choosing which ones best align with the country’s interests. In brief, the analysis results in the recommendation of the “Third Option with Legs.” It is a combination of the first option, a closer relationship with the United States, and the second option, a diversification of our economy away from the United States to better suit Canadian interests. The “Third Option with Legs” means staying close to our southern neighbor while reaching out to new economies and increasing our participation in international initiatives which reflect Canada’s interests and values.

Brave New Canada: Meeting the Challenge of a Changing World presents well-written analysis and thoughtful examination of the key factors which influence the foreign policy of Canada. The book distinguishes itself by providing information on various aspects of the socioeconomic reality of Canada and its position internationally. Nonetheless, this book is written to support the point of view of the current government. Although the authors’ recommendations were reached after a careful review of Canada’s political standing on topics such as international trade, security, human rights and development, the book’s purpose is primarily to produce reactions among the readers and to defend the new strategic position of Canadian foreign policy to efficiently support our economic growth and development.

Rosette Gagnon-Bélanger
MA Candidate (Public and International Affairs), University of Ottawa


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 38 no 1
2015






Last Updated: 2020-03-03

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

Recherche
AccueilContactez-nousEnglish

PDF
Sur les rayonsSur les rayons
Rosette Gagnon-Bélanger

Brave New Canada: Meeting the Challenge of a Changing World, par Derek H. Burney et Fen Osler Hampson, Presse de l’Université McGill-Queen, Canada, 2014, 218 p.

Participer à des événements internationaux, ratifier des traités multilatéraux, veiller au développement économique et réagir aux problèmes et aux crises à l’échelle mondiale : autant d’activités qui constituent la politique étrangère d’un pays. L’équilibre entre les retombées positives et négatives de chaque initiative est parfois bien fragile, mais il est encore plus difficile de voir clairement certains des avantages de la diplomatie. Avec la multiplication des liens entre les pays du monde, on comprend plus difficilement de quelle façon une action ou un partenariat peut contribuer à long terme à la croissance et à la stabilité économique d’un pays. Le Canada, de par sa taille moyenne, est habitué d’utiliser son adhésion à divers organismes internationaux pour exercer une influence active sur les enjeux internationaux. Toutefois, depuis que les conservateurs du premier ministre Stephen Harper sont arrivés au pouvoir, le gouvernement a quelque peu délaissé son approche libérale ou multilatérale et il a plutôt tendance à évaluer les situations au cas par cas, en se fondant sur les valeurs et les intérêts du Canada.

L’ouvrage Brave New Canada: Meeting the Challenge of a Changing World s’inspire de la position de Harper en matière de politique étrangère, affirmée et mue par des impératifs économiques. Comme le gouvernement actuel, les auteurs sont d’avis qu’il est essentiel de faire le lien entre les accords économiques et les préoccupations en matière de sécurité. La fusion de l’Agence canadienne de développement internationale (ACDI) et du ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international (MAECI), en 2013, illustre bien ce changement de mentalité. Destiné à un lectorat profane qui s’intéresse à la politique internationale, l’ouvrage fait, dans chacun de ses chapitres, un survol des thèmes abordés avant de les analyser en profondeur. Le livre est conçu pour susciter des réactions et non pour expliquer de façon détaillée les changements à apporter à notre politique étrangère. Il appuie la transition de l’institutionnalisme libéral à la diplomatie économique, dans le cadre de laquelle le Canada établit des relations avec les pays qui servent le mieux ses intérêts économiques. C’est donc pourquoi, tandis que la puissance de l’Asie continue de croître, le Canada doit formuler sa politique économique de façon à tirer profit du développement économique de ce continent.

Les deux auteurs possèdent de vastes connaissances sur les intérêts internationaux du Canada. M. Burney est un ancien ambassadeur canadien à Washington et chef du personnel de Brian Mulroney. De plus, il a dirigé la transition gouvernementale pour Stephen Harper en 2006. M. Hampson enseigne les affaires internationales à l’Université Carleton et il est le directeur du Programme de sécurité mondiale du Centre pour l’innovation dans la gouvernance à Waterloo. Il est également un expert de la politique étrangère canadienne. En 2012, les auteurs ont coécrit le rapport Winning in a Changing World, par la suite transmis au premier ministre. L’ouvrage Brave New Canada: Meeting the Challenge of a Changing World semble être la suite de ce rapport, puisqu’il s’attaque encore aux défis que le Canada doit relever pour conserver sa réputation internationale de pays compétitif et riche.

À partir d’un examen exhaustif des événements politiques récents et des organisations internationales auxquelles adhère le Canada, les auteurs développent habilement leur raisonnement. En plus d’analyser le rôle que joueront les organismes internationaux et le secteur privé contemporain dans l’avenir du Canada, les auteurs examinent également les relations économiques actuelles du pays avec le reste du monde, et surtout avec les ÉtatsUnis. Ils évaluent de façon critique la nécessité d’établir des relations plus solides avec d’autres pays moins conventionnels. L’un des chapitres contient un sommaire des relations actuelles du Canada avec certains de ces derniers, ainsi qu’une liste de moyens pour développer davantage ses relations économiques avec chacun d’eux. Cependant, les auteurs auraient pu définir de façon plus précise les initiatives et les politiques qui permettraient au Canada de bâtir des partenariats économiques et diplomatiques plus complets. Par exemple, de nombreux experts des affaires étrangères s’entendent pour dire que malgré la signature, en septembre 2014, de l’Accord sur la promotion et la protection des investissements étrangers (APIE) entre la Chine et le Canada, ce dernier doit accorder davantage d’importance aux relations diplomatiques bilatérales, mises à rude épreuve au cours des dix dernières années.

Lorsque MM. Burney et Hampson écrivent que le gouvernement devra décider s’il veut « joindre le geste à la parole » en matière de diversification et s’il a sérieusement l’intention d’élargir ses liens économiques audelà des marchés traditionnels en déclin que sont les É.U. et l’UE (p.49), leur ton est confiant, assuré et convaincant. Les auteurs prétendent que le Canada doit s’engager de façon plus empressée avec les marchés émergents, surtout l’Asie, l’Amérique latine et l’Europe. Leur argumentation se fonde sur une évaluation prudente des aspects multi-dimensionnels d’une dynamique internationale complexe. En outre, les auteurs estiment que la seule façon pour le Canada de conserver l’influence que lui procure son appartenance à divers organismes internationaux est de choisir avec soin d’adhérer à ceux qui s’alignent le mieux sur ses intérêts. Bref, ils concluent leur analyse en formulant une recommandation, soit l’adoption d’une troisième option. Il s’agit d’une combinaison de la première option, soit une relation plus étroite avec les ÉtatsUnis, et de la deuxième option, une diversification de l’économie par la création de liens avec d’autres partenaires servant mieux les intérêts canadiens que les ÉtatsUnis. La troisième option signifie donc de demeurer près de nos voisins du Sud tout en tendant la main à d’autres économies et en intensifiant notre participation à des initiatives internationales en harmonie avec les intérêts et les valeurs du Canada.

Le livre Brave New Canada: Meeting the Challenge of a Changing World présente une analyse bien rédigée et un examen réfléchi des principaux facteurs qui influencent la politique étrangère du Canada. Il se distingue en donnant de l’information sur divers aspects de la réalité socioéconomique et de la position internationale du Canada. Cependant, mentionnons que l’ouvrage a été écrit pour appuyer le point de vue du gouvernement actuel. Bien que les auteurs aient formulé leurs recommandations après un examen minutieux de la position du Canada sur différents sujets comme le commerce international, la sécurité, les droits de la personne et le développement, leur objectif principal est de susciter des réactions chez les lecteurs et de défendre la nouvelle position stratégique que le Canada a adoptée en matière de politique étrangère dans le but d’appuyer efficacement la croissance et le développement économique du pays.

Rosette Gagnon-Bélanger
Candidate à la maîtrise (Affaires publiques et internationales)
Université d’Ottawa


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 38 no 1
2015






Dernière mise à jour : 2019-11-29