Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

Search
HomeContact UsFrançais

PDF
Parliamentary Bookshelf: ReviewsParliamentary Bookshelf: Reviews
Dennis Gruending

Remaining Loyal: Social Democracy in Quebec and Saskatchewan, by David McGrane, McGill-Queen’s University Press, Montreal & Kingston, 373p.

David McGrane has written an ambitious book about social democracy in Saskatchewan and Quebec. His thesis is that the CCF-NDP and PQ governments were social democratic in a traditional sense under premiers such as Tommy Douglas and Allan Blakeney in Saskatchewan, as well as René Levesque and Jacques Parizeau in Quebec. McGrane believes that later governments evolved into third way social democracy under other premiers, including Roy Romanow and Lorne Calvert in Saskatchewan and Bernard Landry and Pauline Marois in Quebec.

An associate professor of political studies at St. Thomas More College at the University of Saskatchewan, McGrane creates a complex template in order to build his thesis. He defines the ideologies that comprise traditional social democracy and the third way and compares them to his definition of neo-liberalism. McGrane says that social democracy in both of its guises is primarily concerned with the economic inequality inherent in unfettered capitalism, while neo-liberalism frets about the welfare state and excessive public intervention in the economy. Ontario’s Mike Harris, for example, fit into a neo-liberal mould when he cut taxes, privatized public organizations, introduced workfare and cut welfare rates upon his election as premier.

McGrane says that traditional social democrats focused on universal social programs and used progressive income taxes and royalty revenue from resources to help pay for them. Universal public health care in Canada, for example, was pioneered by the CCF in Saskatchewan in 1962. The Douglas government also set up Crown corporations for automobile insurance, telephones, electricity and gas distribution. Premier Allan Blakeney moved the public sector aggressively into resource development, mainly through joint ventures involving Crown corporations and private business partners. Blakeney consciously used revenues from Crown corporations, as well as increased resource rents, to pay for programs such as a provincial pharmacare plan and a children’s dental program in schools.

The PQ under Lévesque created several new public enterprises and had the Caisse de dépôt, which manages public pension plans in Quebec, buy shares in francophone businesses to help them expand and consolidate their operations. Quebec’s universal day care program, easily the most generous in Canada, was launched in 1997 by Pauline Marois, then a PQ cabinet minister.

McGrane says that in the 1990s and beyond NDP and PQ governments were forced by developments such as globalization and free trade agreements to shift toward the right, narrowing the political spectrum. He says that these third way social democrats were more comfortable with market capitalism and the private sector than their predecessors. They also reduced taxes, regulation and oversight, and targeted some social programs rather than adhering to universality. He argues, however, that NDP and PQ leaders remained champions of the core tenets of social democracy. McGrane says that when those politicians are compared to premiers such as Ralph Klein and Mike Harris, the differences outweigh the overlaps.

It seems a stretch, however, to include people such as Lucien Bouchard in the social democratic tent. Bouchard had served in Brian Mulroney’s government prior to launching the Bloc Québécois and later moving home to become the premier. McGrane argues, rather weakly I think, that Bouchard “was forced to cooperate with a critical mass of social democratic ministers left over from the Parizeau era.” In fact, one must also ask if the PQ throughout its history has been primarily a separatist or a social democratic party. McGrane says the PQ has been both but I believe that separatism usually trumped social democracy.

I salute McGrane’s scholarly reach but he does use a complex structure which makes for a dense book. There is also a lot of repetition including identical phrases reoccurring in various chapters. These weaknesses could have been overcome by good editing but they were missed. Still, McGrane gives us much to think about and he shows that social democracy has contributed much to the body politic and the public good in Saskatchewan, Quebec and Canada.

Dennis Gruending
Ottawa-based author, blogger and former Member of Parliament from Saskatchewan


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 38 no 1
2015






Last Updated: 2017-11-08

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

Recherche
AccueilContactez-nousEnglish

PDF
Sur les rayonsSur les rayons
Dennis Gruending

Demeurer loyal : la social-démocratie au Québec et en Saskatchewan, de David McGrane, Presses de l’Université McGill-Queen’s University, Montréal et Kingston, 373p.

David McGrane est l’auteur d’un ouvrage ambitieux sur la social-démocratie en Saskatchewan et au Québec. Sa thèse est que les gouvernements du CCF-NPD et du PQ étaient sociaux-démocratiques dans le sens traditionnel sous le règne de premiers ministres comme Tommy Douglas et Allan Blakeney, en Saskatchewan, et René Levesque et Jacques Parizeau, au Québec. McGrane croit que les gouvernements subséquents ont évolué vers la troisième voie de la social-démocratie sous le règne d’autres premiers ministres, notamment Roy Romanow et Lorne Calvert, en Saskatchewan, et Bernard Landry et Pauline Marois, au Québec.

Professeur agrégé en études politiques au St. Thomas More College de l’Université de la Saskatchewan, McGrane construit un modèle complexe sur lequel il fonde sa thèse. Il définit des idéologies qui comprennent la social-démocratie traditionnelle et la troisième voie, et il les compare à sa définition du néolibéralisme. McGrane déclare que les partisans des deux formes de social-démocratie se préoccupent principalement de l’inégalité économique inhérente dans un capitalisme débridé, tandis que les partisans du néolibéralisme se tracassent à propos de l’État providence et de l’intervention publique excessive dans l’économie. Prenons par exemple le premier ministre de l’Ontario, Mike Harris, qui, après son élection, est entré dans le moule néolibéral lorsqu’il a réduit les impôts, privatisé des organismes publics, mis sur pied des programmes de travail obligatoire et réduit radicalement les taux d’assurance-emploi.

McGrane estime que les sociaux-démocrates traditionnels s’intéressaient surtout aux programmes sociaux universels et qu’ils utilisaient les impôts progressifs et les recettes en redevances provenant des ressources pour aider à payer ces programmes. Prenons l’exemple du système de soins de santé universel au Canada, mis sur pied par le CCF en Saskatchewan, en 1962. Le gouvernement Douglas a également instauré des sociétés de la Couronne dans les domaines de l’assurance automobile, du téléphone, de l’électricité et de la distribution de gaz. De son côté, le premier ministre Allan Blakeney a adopté une approche énergique pour diriger le secteur public vers le développement des ressources, principalement par l’intermédiaire de partenariat entre les sociétés de la Couronne et des partenaires du secteur privé. Blakeney a consciemment utilisé des revenus des sociétés de la Couronne, de même que les recettes découlant d’une augmentation des loyers sur les ressources, pour payer des programmes comme l’assurance-médicaments provinciale et le programme des soins dentaires pour enfants dans les écoles.

Sous Lévesque, le PQ a créé plusieurs nouvelles entreprises publiques et fait acheter à la Caisse de dépôt, qui gère les régimes publics de pension au Québec, des actions dans des entreprises francophones pour aider ces dernières à étendre et à consolider leurs activités. Le programme universel de garde d’enfants, clairement le plus généreux au Canada, a été lancé en 1997 par Pauline Marois, alors ministre du cabinet du PQ.

McGrane déclare que dans les années 1990 et suivantes, les gouvernements du NPD et du PQ ont été forcés par le fil des événements, notamment la mondialisation et les accords de libre-échange, à se réorienter vers la droite, ce qui a eu pour effet de réduire le spectre politique. Il affirme que ces sociaux-démocrates de la troisième voie se sentaient plus à l’aise avec le capitalisme de marché et le secteur privé que leurs prédécesseurs. Ils ont également réduit les impôts, allégé les exigences en matière de réglementation et de surveillance, et ciblé certains programmes sociaux au lieu d’adhérer à l’universalité. Il estime, cependant, que les leaders du NPD et du PQ sont demeurés de fervents défenseurs des principes de base de la social-démocratie. McGrane ajoute que si l’on compare ces politiciens avec des premiers ministres comme Ralph Klein et Mike Harris, on constate bien plus de différences que de chevauchements.

Il semble exagéré, par contre, d’aller jusqu’à inclure des politiciens comme Lucien Bouchard dans le mouvement social-démocratique. Bouchard avait servi sous le gouvernement de Brian Mulroney avant de lancer le Bloc Québécois et de revenir dans sa province natale pour être élu premier ministre. McGrane soutient, sans toutefois convaincre selon moi, que Bouchard a été forcé de coopérer avec un nombre important de ministres sociaux-démocratiques provenant de l’ère Parizeau. Dans les faits, il faut aussi se demander si, historiquement, le PQ a principalement été un parti séparatiste ou social-démocratique. McGrane répond que le PQ a été aussi bien l’un que l’autre, mais selon moi, le séparatisme a pris le dessus sur la social-démocratie.

Je salue l’érudition de McGrane, mais la structure complexe de son ouvrage le rend très dense. J’ai également constaté de nombreuses répétitions, notamment des phrases identiques dans divers chapitres. Une bonne révision aurait permis d’éliminer ces maladresses. McGrane nous donne tout de même matière à réflexion et il montre que la social-démocratie a grandement contribué à la société et à l’intérêt collectif en Saskatchewan, au Québec et au Canada.

Dennis Gruending
Auteur, blogueur et également un ex-parlementaire de la Saskatchewan.


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 38 no 1
2015






Dernière mise à jour : 2019-11-29