Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

Search
HomeContact UsFrançais

PDF
Know Your Mace: Yukon
Floyd McCormick

In 1964, 55 years after its creation as a wholly-elected body, the Yukon Territorial Council (now the Legislative Assembly) established a competition for the design of a Yukon Mace. In 1966, a design submitted by RCMP Corporal James Ballantyne was chosen. However, funding the Mace’s creation took some time.

In 1971, the Government of Canada agreed to finance the project. Henry Birks & Sons of Montreal created the Mace at a cost of $8,300. On March 6, 1972, at a ceremony in Whitehorse, Governor General Roland Michener presented the Mace to Ronald Rivett, Speaker of the Territorial Council, as a gift from the people of Canada.

Yukon’s Mace is made of gold-plated sterling silver. A crown tops the head of the Mace. Beneath the crown is a topographical cross section of Yukon. The coats of arms of Canada and Yukon are on the head of the Mace. The five-kilogram Mace also features fireweed, Yukon’s floral emblem; the figures of a miner, a trapper and a First Nations person; as well as etchings of Yukon scenery and other armorial bearings.

In 2014, the Mace was refurbished. As part of this process, the coats of arms were plated in white gold, providing a two-tone effect.

Floyd McCormick
Clerk of the Yukon
Legislative Assembly


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 38 no 1
2015






Last Updated: 2018-07-31

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

Recherche
AccueilContactez-nousEnglish

PDF
À propos de la masse : Yukon
Floyd McCormick

En 1964, 55 ans après son établissement à titre d’organisme entièrement élu, le Conseil territorial du Yukon (aujourd’hui l’Assemblée législative) organisait un concours pour la conception d’une masse pour le Yukon. En 1966, le croquis présenté par le caporal James Ballantyne de la GRC est retenu. Mais le financement du projet de création de la masse s’avère long.

En 1971, le gouvernement du Canada accepte de financer le projet. Henry Birks & Sons de Montréal produira finalement l’objet, qui coûtera 8 300 $. Le 6 mars 1972, lors d’une cérémonie à Whitehorse, le gouverneur général Roland Michener fait don de la masse à Ronald Rivett, Président du Conseil territorial, au nom du peuple du Canada.

La masse du Yukon est en argent sterling plaqué d’or. Une couronne surmonte sa tête et sous elle on trouve le profil topographique du Yukon. Les armoiries du Canada et du Yukon ornent la tête de la masse. Cette masse de cinq kilos porte aussi l’épilobe à feuille étroite, l’emblème floral du territoire, trois silhouettes représentant un mineur, un trappeur et un Autochtone, ainsi que des gravures représentant des paysages yukonnais et d’autres emblèmes.

Pendant les travaux de remise à neuf de la masse, en 2014, les armoiries ont été plaquées d’or blanc, donnant ainsi à la masse un aspect nuancé.

Floyd McCormick
Greffier de l’Assemblée législative du Yukon


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 38 no 1
2015






Dernière mise à jour : 2019-11-29