Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

Search
HomeContact UsFrançais

PDF
Parliamentary BookshelfParliamentary Bookshelf
Will Stos

O.D. Skelton: The Work of The World, 1923-1941 Edited by Norman Hillmer, McGill-Queen’s University Press, Montreal & Kingston, 2013, 517p.

Although many civil servants will concur that their chosen profession has the potential to bring them much personal fulfillment, few would suggest they enter this field with visions of achieving great fame. Some might even argue that fame—or worse, notoriety—is exactly what civil servants are expected to avoid at all cost. Theirs is a working life confined mostly to obscurity while the ministers of their departments operate as the public face of their collective efforts, successes and failures.

With this in mind, it is refreshing to see an historian shine a light on the work of one civil servant whose counsel on foreign policy was routinely sought by both Liberal and Conservative prime ministers during a period of great international upheaval. Carleton University professor Norman Hillmer’s edited collection of Oscar Douglas Skelton’s official memoranda, diaries and letters provides readers with not only a portrait of a trusted civil servant, but also the man behind the memos. Hillmer’s informative introductory note presents a strong narrative foundation for the subsequent collection of annotated documents. Reproduced chronologically and divided by key events or periods, he provides readers with a window into the world of a biographer working his way through the archives.

When Skelton was recruited to the Department of External Affairs in 1923, Prime Minister William Lyon Mackenzie King deemed the new hire’s staunch anti-imperialism (at least with respect to the British Empire in Canada) and his proscriptions for an independent Canadian foreign policy to be a strong foundation for the country’s approach to external affairs. The new hire would almost immediately make his mark with a memorandum titled “Canada and the Control of Foreign Policy,” which King brought to his first Imperial Conference as prime minister.

Some historians have dismissed Skelton’s work on this document, which outlined Canada’s emerging foreign policy, as that of a partisan hack (he had been active in Liberal circles for some time and had previously worked with King at the end of Laurier’s government) and an effort which sought to solve problems that no longer existed in terms of British imperialist designs on the dominions and colonies. However, in his introductory note, Hillmer suggests that while it was clearly a partisan document, Skelton’s memorandum was a direct response to Britain’s continued insistence on “diplomatic unity” and deference to the British Foreign Office on important matters. Furthermore, he notes that Skelton’s interventions, which played a role in the dominions’ constitutional progress, were credited by South Africa’s prime minister as helping to make it “Canada’s conference.”

Hillmer’s thoughtful choice of annotations in these documents equips readers with information that provide context and colour. For instance, in an excerpt of the famous 1923 memorandum, Hillmer highlights a hand-written note of approval (“very good”) from Mackenzie King beside a passage noting that although each part of the Empire has its own distinct sphere of interests, these spheres occasionally intersect and some interests are shared. Other notes offer important historical explanation, introductions to key players or citations for further exploration.

Hillmer’s biographical sketch is careful to note that Skelton was “not anti-British, nor anti-empire. It was imperialism and the agents of imperialism that were his enemies” (p. 13). Indeed, Skelton’s world view saw Canada as British North America while Britain was British West Europe.

Despite his partisan background, Skelton continued to serve when Conservative R.B. Bennett formed a government in 1930. After some initial misgivings and clashes of opinion which led Bennett to consider firing him, Hillmer notes that Skelton was soon found to be indispensable.

As King’s Liberals returned to government, troubles in Europe pointed to the possibility of renewed military conflict. Skelton, fearing impending divisions in Canada, clearly favoured an isolationist policy in the lead-up to World War II and expressed disappointment when King stated that the possibility of Canada staying out of a British war with Germany was nil. Skelton suggested the wary attitude of Canada’s francophones was “really Canadian” (p. 44); yet he noted that a majority would support participation in war provided there was no conscription. The civil servant’s isolationist sympathies did not preclude him from acknowledging the likelihood of war and his views on conflict shifted as Germany invaded France and set its sights on Britain.

At the time of Skelton’s unexpected death, in the midst of a particularly bleak period during the Second World War, Lester B. Pearson, then working in the Office of the High Commissioner for Canada in London, lamented that “seldom… in any organization has the loss of one man meant so much” (p. 55). Hillmer’s deft skill in curating these documents presents readers with a strong confirmation of Pearson’s praise.

A prolific scholar, Hillmer’s extensive background and expertise in 20th-century Canadian international policy offers a unique opportunity for a thorough and insightful guided tour of Skelton’s professional life in government.

Will Stos
Editor
Canadian Parliamentary Review


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 37 no 2
2014






Last Updated: 2019-07-15

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

Recherche
AccueilContactez-nousEnglish

PDF
Sur les rayonsSur les rayons
Will Stos

O.D. Skelton: The Work of The World, 1923-1941, par Norman Hillmer, McGill-Queen’s University Press, Montréal et Kingston, 2013, 517 p.

Nombre de fonctionnaires s’accorderont pour dire que leur profession peut être source de grande satisfaction personnelle, mais rares sont ceux qui déclarent qu’ils l’ont choisie dans le but de devenir célèbres. Certains soutiendront même que la célébrité – en bien ou, pis encore, en mal – est exactement ce qu’un fonctionnaire doit éviter à tout prix. Leur vie professionnelle se passe surtout dans l’ombre tandis que leur ministre sert de façade publique à leurs efforts, leurs succès et leurs échecs collectifs.

Cela étant, il est rafraîchissant de voir un historien s’intéresser au travail d’un fonctionnaire dont les premiers ministres libéraux comme conservateurs ont recherché les avis sur la politique étrangère à une époque de grands bouleversements internationaux. Publié sous la direction de Norman Hillmer, professeur de l’Université Carleton, le recueil de notes officielles, d’extraits de journal et de lettres d’Oscar Douglas Skelton brosse le portrait d’un fonctionnaire chevronné, mais aussi de l’homme derrière les notes. Dans son l’introduction, Hillmer met en contexte les documents annotés qu’il a retenus. En les rangeant par ordre chronologique et par période ou événement, il ouvre une fenêtre sur le monde d’un biographe compulsant les archives.

Lorsque Skelton entre au ministère des Affaires extérieures en 1923, le premier ministre William Lyon Mackenzie King juge son anti-impérialisme (à l’égard du moins de l’Empire britannique au Canada) tout indiqué pour doter le Canada d’une politique étrangère indépendante. La nouvelle recrue fera presque immédiatement sa marque avec une note intitulée « Le Canada et le contrôle de la politique étrangère », que King apporte à la première conférence impériale à laquelle il prend part comme premier ministre.

Certains historiens ne voient dans ce canevas de politique étrangère que l’œuvre d’un apparatchik (Skelton évoluait depuis quelque temps dans les cercles libéraux et avait travaillé pour King à la fin du gouvernement de Laurier) et la réponse à des problèmes qui ne se posaient plus vu l’évolution des visées de la Grande-Bretagne sur ses dominions et ses colonies. Toutefois, dans son introduction, Hillmer soutient que, bien qu’elle soit manifestement d’inspiration partisane, la note de Skelton s’inscrivait en faux contre l’insistance que mettait la Grande-Bretagne sur l’« unité diplomatique » et contre le renvoi au Foreign Office des grandes affaires. Il note en outre que les interventions de Skelton, qui ont joué un rôle dans les avancées constitutionnelles des dominions, ont, selon le premier ministre de l’Afrique du Sud, contribué à faire de la conférence impériale la « conférence du Canada ».

Les annotations judicieuses de Hillmer ajoutent aux textes choisis contexte et couleur. Par exemple, dans un extrait de la fameuse note de 1923, Hillmer fait état d’une marque d’approbation (« très bien » de Mackenzie King en marge d’un passage où il est dit que, bien que chaque partie de l’Empire ait ses propres sphères d’intérêt, ces sphères se recoupent parfois et certains intérêts sont communs. D’autres notes offrent d’utiles explications historiques, présentent les protagonistes ou contiennent des citations à explorer.

Hillmer prend soin de noter que Skelton « n’était ni antibritannique ni anti-impérial. C’était l’impérialisme et les agents de l’impérialisme qui étaient ses ennemis » (p. 13). En fait, dans sa vision du monde, le Canada formait l’Amérique du Nord britannique et la Grande-Bretagne l’Europe de l’Ouest britannique.

Malgré ses antécédents partisans, Skelton est resté en poste à l’avènement du gouvernement conservateur de R. B. Bennett en 1930. Il y a bien eu au début des appréhensions et des divergences de vues qui ont poussé Bennett à envisager de le congédier, mais Skelton, note Hillmer, s’est vite avéré indispensable.

Au retour au pouvoir des libéraux de King, la situation en Europe se détériorait au point de faire craindre le renouvellement des hostilités. Craignant l’éclatement de tensions internes au Canada, Skelton préconisait une politique isolationniste à l’approche de la Seconde Guerre mondiale et s’est déclaré déçu quand King a affirmé qu’il était hors de question que le Canada ne participe pas à une guerre britannique contre l’Allemagne. Skelton estimait que la méfiance des francophones du Canada était « vraiment canadienne » (p. 44) tout en notant qu’une majorité appuierait la participation à la guerre pourvu qu’il n’y ait pas de conscription. Les tendances isolationnistes du fonctionnaire ne l’empêchaient pas de reconnaître que la guerre était probable et ses vues sur le conflit se sont mises à changer quand l’Allemagne a envahi la France et jeté son dévolu sur la Grande-Bretagne.

Lors de son décès prématuré au beau milieu d’une période particulièrement sombre de la Seconde Guerre mondiale, Lester B. Pearson, alors en poste au bureau du haut-commissaire du Canada à Londres, a déclaré qu’il « était rare que dans une organisation la disparition d’un homme laisse un tel vide » (p. 55). Le doigté avec lequel Hillmer traite ces documents confirme dans l’esprit du lecteur l’éloge de Pearson.

Grâce à son expérience et à sa connaissance de la politique internationale du Canada au XXe siècle, le chercheur prolifique qu’est Hillmer nous offre une exploration éclairante de la vie professionnelle de Skelton dans les allées du pouvoir.

Will Stos
Rédacteur en chef
Revue parlementaire canadienne


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 37 no 2
2014






Dernière mise à jour : 2020-03-03