Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

Search
HomeContact UsFrançais

PDF
When Courts Decide Elections
Jacques Carl Morin

Investigations into voter irregularities in the 2011 federal election have led to some court challenges. While it is unusual for courts to overturn the result of an election and order a new one, it is even more rare for a judge to declare one candidate elected in place of another. However, this did occur in three cases discussed in this article.

In 1872, Quebec’s legislators made the courts responsible for ruling on the validity of Legislative Assembly elections. The Superior Court and subsequently the Magistrate’s Court, the Provincial Court and the Court of Quebec each had the task of deciding contested elections.1

The court deciding a legislative election can confirm the election of a member of the legislature if it concludes that the allegations are unsubstantiated or the irregularities it identified did not affect the results of the election.2

The results can be deemed invalid if the election involved fraud3, if the irregularities are greater than the winning margin of the victorious candidate4 or if the winner is determined to have been ineligible.5 The courts have declared about fifty elections void for these reasons, mostly in the 19th century.

In addition, one candidate can be awarded a seat in the place of another. This happened in the Québec elections in Montmagny in 1881 and in l’Assomption in 1960. A similar situation happened in the Bristol South East election in Great Britain in 1961.

Montmagny

Louis-Napoléon Fortin was elected as the Liberal Member of the Legislative Assembly (MLA) for the riding of Montmagny in a by-election on November 30, 1876, and was re-elected in the general election of 1878. On October 29, 1879, he joined the Conservative Party with four of his colleagues, leading to the fall of Joly de Lotbinière’s Liberal government. The floor-crossers were nicknamed the “five sheep” or the turncoats. Fortin was Turncoat Number Five.6

Fortin ran for office again in Montmagny in the general election of December 2, 1881, this time as a Conservative, against Liberal candidate Nazaire Bernatchez. Under Joseph-Adolphe Chapleau’s leadership, the Conservatives elected 50 MLAs while the Liberals were left with 15.

In Montmagny, the returning officer’s definitive count of the votes from all ballot boxes gave a 16-vote majority to the Liberal, Bernatchez.7 Fortin asked for a judge to count the ballots again. Judge Auguste-Réal Angers reviewed each ballot and rejected 27 from one of the two boxes in the parish of Saint-François.

Fortin was declared elected with a four-vote majority. Even if fraud is suspected, the role of the judge overseeing a recount is limited to reading, attributing or rejecting ballots, as the case may be, and counting them to establish the election results.

Bernatchez filed a petition to contest the election within the statutory deadline, demanding that the rejected ballots be accepted and that he be given back the mandate Fortin took from him. Although the matter was before the courts, Fortin could be sworn in as an MLA and sit in the Legislative Assembly until the final decision on the contested election was issued.8

The case was heard by three judges of the Superior Court, Adolphe-Basile Routhier, Marc-Aurèle Plamondon and Auguste-Réal Angers. Deliberations focused on the 27 ballots rejected during the judicial recount.9 The rejected ballots were of two kinds: six bore marks identifying voters, contravening the Quebec Election Act, and 21 were not initialled by the deputy returning officer as the Act required.

The evidence presented to the court clearly established that the identifying marks on the six ballots were not present when the deputy returning officer counted them at the Saint-François polling station. It appeared that these ballots “were rendered invalid by marks and indications made later by an unknown hand”.10

In concluding that these six ballots should be reinstated to Bernatchez, the court laid some of the blame on election staff: “It [the fraud] would have been difficult to accomplish if the returning officer and his deputy had taken the precautions they should have taken”.11

There remained the question of the 21 ballots rejected because they were not initialled by the deputy returning officer. Although it was virtually irrelevant since Bernatchez had a two-vote lead on his opponent with the six votes restored to him, the court still gave its opinion after considering the following alternatives: “either the deputy returning officer forgot to add his initials to the ballots or the unknown hand that altered the other six ballots substituted the 21 ballots before us for those previously counted”.12 The judges decided that Bernatchez should not suffer because of the deputy returning officer’s negligence or be an innocent victim of fraud. In either case, the 21 ballots must be reinstated in his favour.13

On January 5, 1883, the Superior Court ruled that Bernatchez “obtained a majority of 23 lawful votes and was and is indisputably elected”.14

L’Assomption

On June 22, 1960, Liberal leader Jean Lesage and his powerhouse team won the general election and ended the reign of the Union Nationale. In the riding of L’Assomption, the initial results showed that Frédéric Coiteux, the Liberal candidate, had lost to the incumbent MLA, Victor Chartrand, by 14 votes.

Given the narrow majority of the Union Nationale candidate, the Liberals went to court to seek a judicial recount, which took place at the old courthouse in L’Assomption, Judge Honorius Michaud of the Magistrate’s Court presiding. The ballots were examined carefully for a full five days, and on July 14, 1960, Chartrand was declared the winner by a single vote.15

Two voters petitioned the Magistrate’s Court within the deadline imposed by the Quebec Contested Election Act and asked it to declare that Chartrand was not elected by a majority of L’Assomption voters, that Frédéric Coiteux had received a majority of votes and that, therefore, the seat should be given to him.16 Alternatively, if the first two points were rejected, they asked that Chartrand be found guilty of fraudulent acts and tactics, and that his election be overturned.

It was established in court that fraud had been perpetrated. First, seven illegal votes for Chartrand were cast by “floating voters,” people who impersonated registered voters. Second, a truck driver with the provincial roads department cast an illegal vote after being threatened with losing his job if he did not vote for the Union Nationale candidate. Third, three illegal votes were the result of voter corruption; specifically, voters were paid to vote for Chartrand.

On March 16, 1961, Chartrand resigned without waiting for resolution of the contested election, perhaps realizing that his mandate was in danger.

On July 12, 1961, André Régnier, Gérard Denis and Antoine Lamarre of the Magistrate’s Court issued their decision.17 Pursuant to section 388 of the Election Act, of Chartrand’s total of 8,000 votes, they rejected 11 illegal votes involving fraud, leaving him with a total of 7,989, 10 fewer than Coiteux. The judges concluded that Chartrand did not commit fraud but his supporters had and, as a result, he was improperly declared elected. The judges also ruled that Coiteux must be declared the new MLA for L’Assomption.

Bristol South East

Tony Benn was elected to the British House of Commons as the Labour MP for Bristol South East in a by-election held November 30, 1950. His constituents placed their trust in him again in the 1951, 1955 and 1959 elections.

His father, William Wedgwood Benn, was made a peer in 1942 and died on November 17, 1960. Because the eldest son had been killed in combat during World War II, Tony Benn inherited the title of Viscount Stansgate and a seat in the House of Lords. On November 29, 1960, he asked a committee of the House of Commons if he could take his seat as an MP. Despite Benn’s several attempts to renounce the succession, both before and after his father’s death, his seat was declared vacant subsequent to the report by the Committee of Privileges and a motion to that effect adopted by the House of Commons on April 13, 1961.

A by-election was held on May 4, 1961. Benn again ran for office and was elected with a majority of 13,044 votes over his only opponent, Conservative Malcolm St. Clair. The latter contested the election on the grounds that Benn was ineligible for the seat and claimed that the seat should go to him. The evidence presented to the election court showed that St. Clair had used all effective means to inform voters of Benn’s situation. A notice sent to all voters in the riding advised them that Benn did not have legal standing to be a candidate because he was a member of the House of Lords and that any votes for him would be rejected. The same notice was published in the local papers and posted near almost every voting place. Moreover, St. Clair explained the situation in his speeches and statements.

Consequently, in accordance with the decision in Beresford-Hope v. Lady Sandhurst,18 the court concluded that all votes for Benn, an inelibible candidate, must be rejected and St. Clair declared elected without a return to the polls.

As the court found in a decision made nearly a century earlier:

…it is plain that if a elector knows as a fact that the candidate for whom he is about to vote is disqualified, and yet persists in voting for him, the elector’s vote is as utterly thrown away as if he had voted for a dead person, or for the man in the moon.19

Stripped of his victory, Benn continued his campaign to be allowed to renounce his peerage outside Parliament. The Conservative government finally agreed to his demands, and the Peerage Act was passed by the British Parliament on July 31, 1963.20 A few minutes after the Queen gave it Royal Assent, Benn renounced his title.

St. Clair had committed not to defy the will of the people if Benn eventually became eligible once again. He therefore resigned his seat and did not run against Benn, who nonetheless faced three opponents. Benn handily won the by-election of August 20, 1963, taking 79.7% of the vote.

Conclusion

At the end of the process for contesting an election, the court has the legal authority to declare elected a candidate other than the one declared the winner after the votes were counted. However, it can hand down this decision only when the petition before it seeks such an outcome. Moreover, the candidate claiming the seat on the grounds that ballots were invalidated by fraud or irregularities must convince the Court that without the irregularities he or she would have obtained the most votes. When the opponent’s eligibility is called into question, the court must be convinced that a vast majority of the riding’s voters were clearly and fully aware that the candidate was legally disqualified from running for office.

Notes

1 See The Controverted Elections Act of 1872, S.Q., 36 Vict., c. 5, An Act to amend the Controverted Elections Act, S.Q., 1952–53, c. 3, s. 3, An Act to amend the Courts of Justice Act, S.Q., 1965, c. 17, An Act to amend the Courts of Justice Act and Other Legislation to Establish the Court of Quebec, S.Q., 1988, c. 21.

2 For example, Hamelin v. Houde, R.L. 1971, 257 (C.S.); conf. [1972] C.A. 777.

3 For example, the most recent cases in Quebec: Thérien v. Pellerin, [1997] R.J.Q. 816–845 (C.A.); Maltais v. Saint-Laurent [1971] C.A. 233.

4 Wrzesnewskyj v. Attorney General (Canada), 2012 ONSC 2873 (CanLII). Thecase was heard by the Supreme Court of Canada on July 10, 2012.

5 No known cases in Quebec. However, Great Britain has had three since the 1950s. In Re Fermanagh & South Tyrone Election Petition, Grosvenor v. Clarke, The Table 1955, p. 59, and Re Mid-Ulster Election Petition, Beattie v. Mitchell, The Table, 1955, p. 65, the candidate with the most votes was declared ineligible because he had been sentenced to a 10-year prison term. The other precedent, Re Parliamentary Election for Bristol South East, [1961] 3 Weekly Law Reports, 577, is discussed later in this article.

6 Les renégats du 29 octobre, pamphlet attributed to Louis Fréchette.

7 Report of the Clerk of the Crown in Chancery on the General Elections of 1881, Quebec City, Presses à vapeur d’Augustin Côté, 1882, p. 51.

8 Elected as the MLA for Saguenay in the by-election of October 5, 1964, Pierre-Wellie Maltais was re-elected in 1966. That election was contested, and the final decision was not issued until 1971, allowing him to sit through the entire 28th Legislature and stand for re-election again in the 1970 election, in which he was defeated.

9 See also Bernatchez v. Fortin et Lépine, 8 R.J.Q. 49 (January 23, 1882, Judge Angers) and Regina v. Huot, 8 R.J.Q. 57 (December 31, 1881, Judge Angers).

10 Bernatchez v. Fortin, Q.L.R. (1883) p. 89 (C.S.).

11 Id., p. 90.

12 Id., p. 92–93.

13 Ibid.

14 Id., p. 95.

15 La Presse, July 15, 1960.

16 Paquet et Rochon v. Chartrand, Magistrate’s Court, District of Joliette no. 25963 and District of Montreal no. 1149, July 12, 1961, Judges André Régnier, Gérard Denis and Auguste Boyer.

17 Being absent, Antoine Lamarre did not sign the decision; Journals of the Legislative Assembly, January 9, 1962, p. 9.

18 Beresford-Hope v. lady Sandhurst, Law Reports 1889, 23 Queen’s Bench Division, 79.

19 The Queen v. The Mayor of Tewkesbury, Law Reports (1867-68) 3 Queen’s Bench, 629, 634. In this case a candidate was declared ineligible because of his status as mayor and election scrutineer, and his election was annulled. The seat was not awarded to this rival because of his ineligibility and the consequences were not known to the voters.

20 United Kingdom Statutes, 1963, c. 48.


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 35 no 3
2012






Last Updated: 2019-11-29

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

Recherche
AccueilContactez-nousEnglish

PDF
Lorsque les tribunaux décident des élections
Jacques Carl Morin

Des enquêtes récentes sur des irrégularités électorales survenues lors des élections fédérales de 2011 ont conduit à des contestations judiciaires. Il est inhabituel pour les tribunaux de renverser le résultat d’une élection et d’en ordonner une nouvelle. Cas rarissime, le juge peut aussi proclamer un candidat élu à la place d’un autre, comme en témoignent les trois contestations d’élection auxquelles s’intéresse le présent article.

En 1872, le législateur québécois confie aux tribunaux le soin de juger de la validité de l’élection des députés de l’Assemblée législative. La Cour supérieure et, par la suite, la Cour de magistrat, la Cour provinciale et la Cour du Québec auront successivement la tâche de trancher les contestations d’élection1.

Le tribunal appelé à se prononcer dans de tels cas peut confirmer l’élu en place s’il estime que les faits allégués ne sont pas établis ou si les irrégularités qu’il a constatées ne sont pas de nature à influer sur le résultat de l’élection2.

Le scrutin peut être invalidé s’il est entaché de manœuvres frauduleuses3, si des irrégularités commises à l’occasion de cette élection dépassent en nombre la majorité du candidat arrivé en tête4 ou encore si l’inéligibilité de ce dernier est établie5. Une cinquantaine d’élections, la plupart au XIXe siècle, ont été ainsi annulées par les tribunaux.

Enfin, un candidat peut exceptionnellement être proclamé élu à la place d’un autre. Ce fut le cas lors des contestations d’élection dans les circonscriptions de Montmagny, en 1881, et de L’Assomption, en 1960. La contestation du scrutin de Bristol South East, survenue en Grande-Bretagne en 1961, a connu un dénouement semblable.

Montmagny

Élu député libéral de la circonscription de Montmagny à l’Assemblée législative lors de l’élection partielle du 30 novembre 1876, Louis-Napoléon Fortin est réélu au scrutin général de 1878. Le 29 octobre 1879, il joint les rangs du Parti conservateur avec quatre de ses collègues et contribue ainsi à la chute du gouvernement libéral de Joly de Lotbinière. On surnommera ces transfuges les cinq veaux ou les vendus, Fortin étant le vendu numéro cinq6.

Fortin brigue de nouveau les suffrages lors des élections générales du 2 décembre 1881 dans Montmagny, cette fois sous l’étiquette du Parti conservateur, contre Nazaire Bernatchez, le candidat libéral. Sous la gouverne de Joseph-Adolphe Chapleau, les conservateurs font élire 50 députés, alors que les libéraux se retrouvent avec 15 élus.

Dans la circonscription de Montmagny, l’addition définitive des votes effectuée par l’officier-rapporteur à partir des relevés trouvés dans les boîtes de scrutin donne une majorité de 16 voix au libéral Bernatchez7. Fortin demande un nouveau dépouillement des voix par un juge. En examinant les bulletins de vote un par un, le juge Auguste-Réal Angers écarte 27 bulletins de vote qui proviennent de l’une des deux urnes de la paroisse Saint-François.

Fortin est proclamé élu avec une majorité de 4 voix. Même si une fraude est alors soupçonnée, le rôle du juge présidant à un dépouillement se borne à lire, à attribuer ou annuler, s’il y a lieu, et à compter les bulletins de vote pour établir les résultats du scrutin.

Dans les délais prescrits par la loi, Bernatchez dépose une requête en contestation d’élection en demandant que les bulletins écartés soient admis et qu’on lui rende le mandat dont Fortin l’a dépossédé. Malgré ce recours devant les tribunaux, Fortin peut prêter son serment de député et siéger à l’Assemblée législative tant que le jugement final sur la contestation d’élection n’est pas rendu8.

L’affaire est entendue devant trois juges de la Cour supérieure, Adolphe-Basile Routhier, Marc-Aurèle Plamondon et Auguste-Réal Angers. L’essentiel du débat porte sur les 27 bulletins de vote écartés lors du dépouillement judiciaire9. Ceux-ci se divisent en deux catégories, soit six bulletins qui contiennent des signes de reconnaissance des électeurs, et ce, en contravention de la Loi électorale de Québec, et 21 bulletins qui ne portent pas les initiales du sous-officier-rapporteur comme l’exige cette loi.

La preuve présentée au tribunal établit clairement que les signes de reconnaissance paraissant sur les six bulletins de vote n’existaient pas lors du dépouillement fait par le sous-officier-rapporteur au bureau de vote de Saint-François. Il appert que ces bulletins « n’ont été invalidés que subséquemment par des marques et indications qu’une main inconnue y aurait faite10 ».

En concluant que ces six bulletins doivent être restitués à Bernatchez, la cour jette en partie le blâme sur le personnel électoral : « Elle [la fraude] eut été difficile si l’officier-rapporteur et si son sous-officier avaient pris les mesures de prudence qu’ils auraient dû prendre11. »

Il reste le cas des 21 bulletins écartés faute d’initiales du sous-officier-rapporteur. Bien que cette question n’offre plus guère d’intérêt dans la mesure où Bernatchez possède, avec les six voix qui lui ont été rendues, une avance de deux voix sur son adversaire, le tribunal se permet de donner son opinion à ce sujet après avoir considéré l’alternative suivante : « ou le sous-officier-rapporteur a oublié de les revêtir de ses initiales, ou bien la main, qui s’est introduite pour altérer les six bulletins, a substitué les vingt et un bulletins qui sont devant nous à ceux qui s’y trouvaient lors du dépouillement12 ». Selon les juges, Bernatchez ne doit pas souffrir de la négligence du sous-officier-rapporteur ou encore de la fraude dont il a été l’innocente victime. Dans les deux cas, ces vingt et un bulletins doivent lui être restitués13.

Dans son jugement rendu le 5 janvier 1883, la Cour supérieure conclut que Bernatchez « a obtenu à la dite élection une majorité de 23 votes légalement donnés et qu’il a été et est absolument élu14. »

L’Assomption

Le 22 juin 1960, l’équipe du tonnerre du Parti libéral dirigé par Jean Lesage remporte les élections générales, mettant ainsi fin au règne de l’Union nationale. Dans le district électoral de L’Assomption, Frédéric Coiteux, candidat libéral, a, d’après les premiers résultats, mordu la poussière, 14 voix le séparant du député sortant, Victor Chartrand.

Vu la courte majorité du candidat unioniste, les libéraux s’adressent au tribunal pour demander un dépouillement judiciaire, qui se déroule au vieux Palais de justice de L’Assomption devant le juge Honorius Michaud de la Cour de magistrat. Le 14 juillet 1960, après cinq jours complets d’examen minutieux des bulletins de vote, Chartrand est proclamé élu par une seule voix15.

Dans les délais prescrits par la Loi des élections contestées de Québec, deux électeurs s’adressent à la Cour de magistrat pour faire déclarer que Chartrand n’est pas l’élu de la majorité des électeurs de L’Assomption qui ont voté, que Frédéric Coiteux est celui qui a reçu le vote de la majorité des électeurs et qu’en conséquence, le siège doit être donné à ce dernier16. Subsidiairement, si les premières conclusions ne peuvent être admises, ils demandent que Chartrand soit déclaré coupable de pratiques et de manœuvres frauduleuses et que son élection soit annulée.

Devant le tribunal, on établit que des manœuvres frauduleuses ont été pratiquées. Premièrement, sept votes illégaux en faveur de Chartrand sont le résultat de substitutions de personnes, une infraction. Deuxièmement, un vote illégal a été donné par un camionneur au service de la Voirie provinciale qui a été menacé de perdre son emploi s’il ne votait pas pour le candidat unioniste. Troisièmement, trois votes illégaux font suite à des actes de corruption d’électeur; plus précisément, des dons en argent ont été faits à des électeurs dans le but d’obtenir leur voix pour Chartrand.

Le 16 mars 1961, sans attendre l’issue de la contestation de son élection, sentant peut-être que son mandat de député est en danger, Chartrand présente sa démission.

Le 12 juillet 1961, André Régnier, Gérard Denis et Antoine Lamarre17, de la Cour de magistrat, rendent jugement. En application de l’article 388 de la Loi électorale, ils défalquent du total des 8 000 votes de Chartrand les 11 votes illégaux résultant de manœuvres frauduleuses, ce qui a pour effet de ramener son total à 7 989, soit 10 de moins que Coiteux. Les juges concluent, d’une part, que Chartrand n’a pas commis de manœuvres frauduleuses, mais que des personnes qui l’appuyaient en avaient accompli et qu’en conséquence, il a été indûment déclaré élu député. Ils déclarent, d’autre part, que Coiteux est la personne qui doit être proclamée élue député de L’Assomption.

Bristol South East

Tony Benn est élu député travailliste de Bristol South East à la Chambre des communes britannique lors d’une élection partielle tenue le 30 novembre 1950. Ses électeurs lui renouvellent leur confiance aux scrutins de 1951, 1955 et 1959.

Son père, William Wedgwood Benn, élevé à la pairie en 1942, décède le 17 novembre 1960. Son premier fils ayant été tué au combat au cours de la Seconde Guerre mondiale, Tony Benn, à titre de fils aîné, hérite du titre de vicomte Stansgate et d’un siège à la Chambre des lords. Le 29 novembre 1960, il demande à un comité de la Chambre des communes s’il peut prendre son siège de député. Malgré plusieurs tentatives de Benn pour renoncer à la succession, aussi bien avant qu’après le décès de son père, son siège est déclaré vacant à la suite du rapport du comité sur les privilèges et d’une résolution en ce sens prise par la Chambre des communes le 13 avril 1961.

Une élection partielle a lieu le 4 mai 1961. Benn brigue de nouveau les suffrages et est élu par une majorité de 13 044 voix sur le seul candidat qui se présente contre lui, le conservateur Malcolm St. Clair. Ce dernier conteste l’élection en raison de l’inéligibilité de Benn et réclame que le siège lui soit attribué. Devant le tribunal électoral, la preuve démontre que le candidat St. Clair a pris toutes les mesures utiles pour informer les électeurs de la situation dans laquelle se trouvait Benn. Un avis envoyé à tous les électeurs de la circonscription les prévenait que le candidat travailliste n’avait pas la capacité juridique de faire acte de candidature en raison de son statut de membre de la Chambre des lords et que les votes donnés en sa faveur seraient écartés. Le même avis a été publié dans les journaux locaux et affiché à proximité de presque tous les bureaux de vote. De plus, St. Clair en a fait état dans ses discours et ses déclarations.

Par conséquent, en application de la décision rendue dans Beresford-Hope v. Sandhurst18, le tribunal conclut que les votes donnés en faveur de Benn, un candidat dont l’inéligibilité était manifeste et de notoriété publique, devaient tous être considérés comme rejetés et que St.Clair était celui qui devait être proclamé élu sans ordonner la tenue d’une nouvelle élection.

Comme l’affirmait un tribunal anglais dans une décision rendue près d’un siècle auparavant :

[…] il est évident que, si un électeur sait que le candidat pour lequel il est sur le point de voter est disqualifié et que, néanmoins, il persiste à voter pour lui, son vote est tout à fait rejeté comme s’il avait voté pour une personne décédée ou pour l’homme de la lune19.

À l’extérieur du Parlement, le candidat déchu poursuit sa campagne afin d’obtenir la permission de renoncer à la pairie. Le gouvernement accède finalement à sa demande et le Parlement britannique adopte le Peerage Act20 le 31 juillet 1963. Quelques minutes après la sanction de la loi par la Reine, Benn renonce à son titre.

St. Clair s’était engagé à ne pas aller à l’encontre de la volonté de la population si Benn devenait de nouveau éligible. Il démissionne donc de son siège et ne pose pas sa candidature contre Benn, qui doit néanmoins affronter trois adversaires. Benn l’emporte aisément lors de l’élection partielle du 20 août 1963, en recueillant 79,7 p. 100 des suffrages exprimés.

Conclusion

Au terme de la procédure en contestation d’une élection, le tribunal peut, comme la loi l’y autorise, déclarer élu un autre candidat que celui proclamé victorieux à la suite du dépouillement des suffrages. Cependant, il ne peut rendre cette décision que dans la mesure où la requête qui lui a été présentée comporte une conclusion en ce sens. Par ailleurs, le candidat qui réclame le siège pour des motifs de manœuvres frauduleuses ou d’irrégularités viciant le scrutin doit convaincre le tribunal que, sans ces infractions, il aurait obtenu la majorité des votes légaux. Dans le cas où l’inéligibilité de l’élu est mise en cause, le tribunal doit être convaincu que cette incapacité juridique à briguer les suffrages était connue d’une manière sûre et certaine par une vaste majorité des électeurs de la circonscription.

Notes

1 Acte des élections contestées de 1872, S.Q., 35 Vict., ch. 5, Loi modifiant la Loi des élections contestées, S.Q., 1952-1953, ch. 3, art. 3, Loi modifiant la Loi des tribunaux judiciaires, S.Q., 1965, ch. 17, Loi modifiant la Loi sur les tribunaux judiciaires et d’autres dispositions législatives en vue d’instituer la Cour du Québec, L.Q., 1988, ch. 21.

2 Par exemple, Hamelin c. Houde, R.L. 1971, 257 (C.S.); conf. [1972] C.A. 777.

3 Par exemple, les derniers cas au Québec : Thérien c. Pellerin, [1997] R.J.Q. 816-845 (C.A.); Maltais c. Saint-Laurent [1971] C.A. 233.

4 Wrzesnewskyj v. Attorney General (Canada), 2012 ONSC 2873 (CanLII). Ce jugement a été porté en appel devant la Cour suprême du Canada. L’audition a eu lieu le 10 juillet dernier.

5 Aucun cas n’a été recensé au Québec. Cependant, il y a trois précédents en Grande-Bretagne depuis les années 1950. Dans Re Fermanagh & South Tyrone Election Petition, Grosvenor v. Clarke (The Table, 1955, p. 59), et dans Re Mid-Ulster Election Petition, Beattie v. Mitchell (The Table, 1955, p. 65), le candidat qui avait obtenu le plus de suffrages a été déclaré inéligible en raison de sa condamnation à une peine d’emprisonnement de 10 ans. L’autre précédent, In re Parliamentary Election for Bristol South East, [1961] 3 Weekly Law Reports 577, est abordé plus loin dans le présent article.

6 Les renégats du 29 octobre, pamphlet attribué à Louis Fréchette.

7 Rapport du Greffier de la Couronne en Chancellerie sur les élections générales de 1881, Québec, Presses à vapeur d’Augustin Côté, 1882, p. 51.

8 Élu député de Saguenay à l’Assemblée législative à l’élection partielle du 5 octobre 1964, Pierre-Wellie Maltais a été réélu en 1966. Cette dernière élection a été contestée et le jugement final n’a été rendu qu’en 1971, de sorte que Maltais a pu siéger pendant toute la durée de la 28e législature et briguer de nouveau les suffrages au scrutin de 1970, où il a subi la défaite.

9 Voir, par ailleurs, Bernatchez c. Fortin et Lépine, 8 R.J.Q. 49 (23 janvier 1882, juge Angers) et Regina c. Huot, 8 R.J.Q. 57 (31 décembre 1881, juge Angers).

10 Bernatchez c. Fortin, 9 Q.L.R. (1883) p. 89 (C.S.).

11 Ibid., p. 90.

12 Ibid., p. 92-93.

13 Ibid.

14 Ibid., p. 95.

15 La Presse, 15 juillet 1960.

16 Paquet et Rochon c. Chartrand, Cour de magistrat, district de Joliette, no 25963, et district de Montréal, no 1149, 12 juillet 1961, juges André Régnier, Gérard Denis et Auguste Boyer.

17 Étant absent, Antoine Lamarre n’a pas signé le jugement. Journaux de l’Assemblée législative, 9 janvier 1962, p. 9.

18 Beresford-Hope v. Sandhusrt, Law Reports 1889, 23 Q.B.D., 79.

19 The Queen v. The Mayor of Tewkesbury, Law Reports (Queen’s Bench Cases) 1867-1868, vol. III, 629, p. 634.

20 United Kingdom Statutes, 1963, ch. 48.


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 35 no 3
2012






Dernière mise à jour : 2019-11-29