Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

Search
HomeContact UsFrançais

PDF
Letters
Edmund A. Aunger

Sir:

I would like to draw your attention to a significant error that appeared in the Review’s French-language translation of my “Reply to the Rejoinder” (vol.32, no. 3 autumn 2009, p. 32).

My English-language text noted that the Rupert’s Land and North-Western Territory Order (1870), an integral part of the Constitution of Canada, guarantees “legal rights” existing in the annexed territories. In its published translation, however, the Review mistakenly described these rights as “droits juridiques”, although I had promptly returned corrected proofs showing that the appropriate term was “droits acquis”.

In 1867, the Canadian Parliament adopted an address to the Queen requesting that she annex the British-held territories to Canada, and promising to protect (in English) “the legal rights” or (in French) “les droits acquis”. Three years later, when the Queen granted this request and enshrined the original address in the Constitution of Canada, the Canadian government provided a convenient translation of the British Order in Council that inadvertently substituted “les droits légaux” for the authentic term, “les droits acquis”.

These distinctions are not trivial. In the Caron case, currently before Alberta’s Court of Queen’s Bench, the Crown has argued for a narrow interpretation of “legal rights” that would explicitly exclude language rights.

Edmund A. Aunger
Professor of Political Science
University of Alberta
Campus Saint-Jean


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 33 no 1
2010






Last Updated: 2019-11-29

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

Recherche
AccueilContactez-nousEnglish

PDF
Lettres
Edmund A. Aunger

Monsieur,

Je tiens à signaler une erreur importante qui s’est glissée dans la traduction française de mon texte « En réponse à une réplique » (vol. 2 no 3, automne 2009, p. 35).

La version anglaise a affirmé que le Décret en conseil sur la Terre de Rupert et le territoire du Nord-Ouest (1870), une partie intégrante de la Constitution du Canada, garanti les « legal rights » existant dans les territoires annexés. Dans son numéro de langue française, toutefois la Revue a mal traduit ces mots par « droits juridiques », et ce, en dépit de ma correction des épreuves, promptement, qui expliquait que l’expression appropriée était les « droits acquis ».

En 1867, le Parlement du Canada a adopté une adresse à la Reine la priant d’annexer ces territoires britanniques au Canada, et s’engageant à protéger (en anglais) « the legal rights » ou (en français) « les droits acquis ». Trois ans plus tard, quand la Reine a exaucé cette demande et a enchâssé l’adresse originale dans la Constitution du Canada, le gouvernement canadien a fait traduire le décret britannique, mais, par inadvertance, il a substitué « les droits légaux » à l’expression authentique, « les droits acquis ».

Ces distinctions ne sont pas banales. Dans la cause Caron, entendue cette année par la Cour du banc de la Reine de l’Alberta, la Couronne a prôné une interprétation étroite des « droits légaux », et ce, afin d’exclure la protection des droits linguistiques.

Edmund A. Aunger
Professeur de sciences politiques
Université de l’Alberta
Campus Saint-Jean


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 33 no 1
2010






Dernière mise à jour : 2019-11-29