Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

Search
HomeContact UsFrançais

PDF
National Assembly of Québec: New Rules for a More Effective Parliament
Évelyne Gagné; Alexandre A. Regimbal

On April 21, 2009, the National Assembly of Québec completed an important exercise in parliamentary reform by adopting a series of amendments to its Standing Orders. While not a thoroughgoing overhaul of the Standing Orders and Rules for the Conduct of Proceedings, the reform does include major changes which are outlined in the following article.

Three sets of proposals for parliamentary reform have been tabled in recent years. In 2004, the President of the Assembly and the Government House Leader each put forward a set of proposals. In 2007, the new Government House Leader also proposed changes. All of these proposals contributed to the parliamentary reform process that led to the presentation of the new rules of procedure, regarding which there is now a consensus.

The Confidence Convention

A major change brought about by the parliamentary reform concerns the confidence of the Assembly in the Government. The reform has further defined the legislature’s control over the executive by clearly stating in a comprehensive manner the circumstances in which the confidence of the Assembly in the Government may be called into question.

The principle of confidence arises from a constitutional convention whereby the Government must ensure that it enjoys the support of the Assembly at all times to continue to govern. Should this support cease to be maintained, the Government must resign or dissolve the Assembly. But if the Government is defeated on a particular motion, this does not necessarily mean that it has lost the confidence of the House, since not all votes call into question the confidence of the Assembly. Furthermore, the government has the privilege of interpreting the result of a division. However, there does exist situations in which confidence in the Government must be considered as being called into question. All these situations are now clearly listed in the Standing Orders.

At the conclusion of the opening speech of the session the Premier will in future move that the Assembly approves in general the policies of his Government, the first opportunity to ensure that he enjoys the confidence of the House. In order to promote greater freedom of expression for the Members, the other circumstances in which the Assembly’s confidence in the Government can be called into question are now expressly set forth in the Standing Orders.

Besides the vote on the Premier’s motion to approve the policies of the Government, questions of confidence may arise only on the following:

  • want of confidence motions;
  • a motion by the Minister of Finance to approve the budgetary policy of the Government;
  • a motion for the passage of an appropriation bill;
  • on any motion that the Government may have expressly designated as a matter of confidence.

These constitute the only cases in which the confidence of the Assembly in the Government may arise. In all other situations, Members are therefore free to vote without the risk of bringing down the Government.

As well, every want of confidence motion must clearly state that the Assembly withdraws its confidence in the Government. Furthermore, the number of want of confidence motions that may be moved will be limited to seven in each session, including those moved during the debates on the opening speech and on the budget. Previously, the number of want of confidence motions was limited to six per session, but this number excluded motions moved during the debates on the opening speech and on the budget. Members will in future be able during these debates to move a motion stating a grievance. Such motions will permit Members to express their displeasure with the Government and its policies without calling into question the Assembly’s confidence in the Government.

In addition to these changes regarding the confidence convention, the parliamentary reform turns on four main themes: furthering the Members’ autonomy and initiative; increasing the efficacy of the Members’ work; reaffirming the democratic equilibrium within the parliamentary deliberations; and bringing the Assembly closer to the citizenry.

Furthering the Members’ Autonomy and Initiative

Certain amendments made to the Standing Orders concern the rules governing the election of the President of the National Assembly, who in future will be elected by secret ballot. This procedure has been used on several occasions since 1999, but on each occasion provisional rules needed to be adopted. The Members appreciate this procedure and it has consequently been integrated within the Standing Orders.

Further with a view to enhancing the individual role of Members, a new item has been added to the Routine Proceedings. Statements by Members may be made on any subject. Up to ten statements lasting no more than one minute each may be made at any sitting. All future sittings will begin with this item. Statements by Members are intended to replace the many motions without notice that were moved to mark some particular event and whose number will now be limited. Each parliamentary group may move one such motion at every sitting. Independent Members may also move one motion per sitting, but each independent Member may move no more than one motion in every three sittings.

Increasing the Efficacy of the Members’ Work

The organization of parliamentary business has also been revised in respect of the calendar and the hours of meeting. Both the fall and spring sessional periods will begin one month earlier. In the fall ordinary meetings begin on the third Tuesday in September and continue for ten weeks. They are followed by two weeks in which the Assembly may meet during extended hours. In the spring ordinary meetings begin on the second Tuesday in February and continue for sixteen weeks. They too are followed by two weeks in which the Assembly may meet during extended hours. The Standing Orders also provide for a certain number of weeks devoted to work in the electoral districts. They were created in order to allow Members to maintain closer contact with their fellow citizens during sessional periods. Neither the Assembly nor any committee may meet during these weeks. Two weeks in the electoral districts are provided during the fall sessional period, one during the period for ordinary meetings and the other after the conclusion of the period in which the Assembly may meet during extended hours. In the spring three weeks are provided for work in the electoral districts, all during the period for ordinary meetings. The hours of meeting have also been significantly modified. The Assembly now meets, during periods in which it holds ordinary meetings, from Tuesday afternoon until Thursday afternoon. On Tuesdays the Assembly may meet in the evening until 9.30 p.m. During the period when the Assembly may meet during extended hours these hours are reduced. Whereas it was previously possible to meet from Tuesday to Friday until midnight, the Assembly now meets during the evenings only on Tuesdays until 9.30 p.m. and on Thursdays until 10.30 p.m. In addition, the order of business at sittings has been modified so that, in future, every sitting will begin with the Routine Proceedings.

The hours during which parliamentary committees may meet have likewise been modified to take account those of the Assembly. In order to grant committees greater leeway in planning their business, the number of committees that may meet simultaneously is now four when the Assembly itself is meeting and five when it is not. The terms of reference of the various committees have been revised in order to achieve a more balanced distribution of the work among them.

Reaffirming Democratic Equilibrium

During Business Standing in the Name of Members in Opposition motions may now be amended only by leave of their movers. This provision gives effect to the wishes of parliamentarians to avoid situations in which the mover of the main motion feels obliged, by reason of an amendment running counter to his initial intentions, to vote against his own motion at the close of debate. The same requirement to obtain the leave of the mover of a main motion applies during Motions Without Notice.

Furthermore, the motion to suspend certain rules of procedure, better known as the “gag,” has been replaced by a new exceptional procedure. This procedure allows the Government to obtain the rapid passage of some measure while ensuring a certain minimum of debate thereon, thus allowing Members to express their views fully. It gives effect to a concern for striking a balance among the Government’s choices, the protection of the speaking time of Members in opposition, and the public debate that is necessary on the proposed measures. Thus, only one bill at a time may be subject to the exceptional legislative procedure; each stage of the legislative process that has not previously been completed will be debated for a period of time fixed in the Standing Orders.

In the same vein the Assembly has unanimously adopted provisional rules to allow a second parliamentary group in opposition to be recognized for the duration of the 39th Legislature. Under these provisional rules any party that has returned at least five Members to the Assembly and received at least 11% of the votes cast in the most recent general election constitutes a parliamentary group. These rules retain their provisional character, because discussions are continuing on the criteria that ought to apply to obtain the status of parliamentary group.

Bringing the Assembly Closer to the Citizenry

Participation by citizens in public debate is an important part of this reform. A large number of measures destined to promote greater involvement by citizens have been put into place. For example, recourse to technologies is now much more extensive. Citizens will soon be able to sign electronic petitions directly in the Assembly internet site. They may already manifest their interest in taking part in public hearings held by a committee or even transmit briefs electronically. As well, it is possible to hold public consultations by electronic means. It will also be eventually possible for citizens to comment on line on any business under debate in the Assembly or in committee.

Finally, the exercise of the right to petition, in addition to being facilitated through the upcoming arrival of electronic petitions, now entails the obligation for the Government to reply to every petition tabled. Another innovation: parliamentary committees now have the possibility of taking the initiative to examine a petition and to hear certain petitioners. All of these additions to current practice allow citizens to take part more directly in the democratic life of Québec on a daily basis.


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 32 no 4
2009






Last Updated: 2019-11-29

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

Recherche
AccueilContactez-nousEnglish

PDF
Assemblée nationale du Québec : de nouvelles règles pour un parlement plus efficace
Évelyne Gagné; Alexandre A. Regimbal

Le 21 avril 2009, l’Assemblée nationale du Québec a complété un important exercice de réforme parlementaire en adoptant une série de nouvelles règles modifiant son règlement. Bien qu’il ne s’agisse pas d’une refonte complète du Règlement de l’Assemblée nationale et des Règles de fonctionnement, la réforme comporte des changements majeurs.

Au cours des dernières années, trois propositions de réforme parlementaire ont été déposées. En 2004, le président de l’Assemblée et le leader du gouvernement avaient chacun présenté une proposition de réforme. Par la suite, en 2007, le nouveau leader du gouvernement a également proposé des modifications. Tous ces projets ont contribué au processus de réforme parlementaire qui a mené à la présentation des nouvelles règles de procédure faisant aujourd’hui l’objet d’un consensus.

La confiance de l’Assemblée envers le gouvernement

L’un des changements majeurs apportés par la réforme parlementaire concerne la confiance de l’Assemblée envers le gouvernement. En effet, la réforme est venue circonscrire davantage les mesures de contrôle du pouvoir législatif sur l’exécutif en énumérant clairement de manière exhaustive les circonstances dans lesquelles la confiance de l’Assemblée envers le gouvernement peut être mise en cause.

Le principe de la confiance de l’Assemblée envers le gouvernement découle d’une convention constitutionnelle selon laquelle celui-ci doit s’assurer en tout temps de l’appui de l’Assemblée pour continuer à gouverner. À défaut de pouvoir maintenir ce soutien, le gouvernement est tenu de démissionner ou de demander la dissolution de l’Assemblée. Or, ce n’est pas parce que le gouvernement est défait sur une motion qu’il a nécessairement perdu la confiance de la Chambre, puisque ce ne sont pas tous les votes qui mettent cette confiance en jeu. Le gouvernement a, en outre, la faculté d’interpréter le résultat du vote. Il existe cependant des situations où la confiance à l’endroit du gouvernement doit être considérée comme remise en cause, situations désormais clairement énumérées au Règlement.

À la fin de son discours d’ouverture de la session, le premier ministre propose dorénavant à l’Assemblée d’adopter la politique générale de son gouvernement, première occasion pour ce dernier de s’assurer qu’il détient la confiance de la Chambre.

Outre lors du vote sur la motion du premier ministre proposant l’adoption de la politique générale du gouvernement, le Règlement prévoit désormais que la confiance de l’Assemblée peut être mise en cause uniquement lors d’un vote :

  • sur une motion de censure;
  • sur la motion du ministre des Finances proposant l’adoption de la politique budgétaire du gouvernement;
  • sur la motion d’adoption d’un projet de loi de crédits budgétaires annuels;
  • sur toute motion au sujet de laquelle le gouvernement a expressément engagé sa responsabilité.

Il s’agit donc des seuls cas où la confiance de l’Assemblée envers le gouvernement peut être mise en question. Dans toute autre situation, les députés sont donc libres de voter sans risque de voir tomber le gouvernement.

De plus, toute motion de censure doit dorénavant clairement énoncer que l’Assemblée retire sa confiance envers le gouvernement. En outre, le nombre de motions de censure pouvant être présentées est maintenant limité à sept par session, incluant celles présentées lors des débats sur le discours d’ouverture et sur le discours du budget. Auparavant, le nombre de motions de censure était limité à six par session, mais cela excluait celles présentées dans le contexte des débats sur le discours d’ouverture et sur le discours du budget. Désormais, les députés peuvent présenter, lors de ces débats, une motion formulant un grief. Une telle motion permet à un député de manifester son mécontentement face au gouvernement et à ses politiques, sans toutefois mettre en cause la confiance de l’Assemblée.

Outre ces changements relatifs à la confiance de l’Assemblée envers le gouvernement, la réforme parlementaire s’articule autour de quatre grands thèmes : favoriser l’autonomie et l’initiative des députés; accroître l’efficacité du travail de ces derniers; réaffirmer l’équilibre démocratique dans le cadre des délibérations parlementaires; rapprocher l’Assemblée des citoyens.

Favoriser l’autonomie et l’initiative des députés

Certaines modifications apportées au Règlement concernent les règles gouvernant l’élection du président de l’Assemblée nationale, désormais choisi au scrutin secret. Depuis 1999, cette procédure a été utilisée à quelques reprises, mais en adoptant chaque fois des règles temporaires. Cette façon de faire a été appréciée par les députés et a, par conséquent, été intégrée dans les règles permanentes.

De plus, dans le but de valoriser le rôle individuel des députés, une nouvelle rubrique des affaires courantes, les déclarations de députés, a été créée. De telles déclarations peuvent porter sur n’importe quel sujet. Jusqu’à dix déclarations d’une durée d’au plus une minute peuvent être faites lors de chaque séance. Cette rubrique marque désormais le début des séances. Les déclarations de députés sont destinées à remplacer les nombreuses motions sans préavis qui étaient présentées afin de souligner un événement en particulier et dont le nombre est maintenant limité. En effet, chaque groupe parlementaire ne peut maintenant en présenter qu’une seule par séance. Quant aux députés indépendants, ils peuvent également présenter une motion sans préavis par séance, mais chaque député indépendant ne peut en présenter qu’une aux trois séances.

Accroître l’efficacité du travail des députés

L’organisation des travaux parlementaires a été revue en ce qui a trait au calendrier et à l’horaire. Ainsi, tant la période de travaux de l’automne que celle du printemps débute désormais un mois plus tôt. À l’automne, les travaux réguliers débutent le troisième mardi de septembre et s’étendent sur dix semaines. Ils sont suivis de deux semaines de travaux intensifs. Au printemps, les travaux réguliers débutent le deuxième mardi de février et s’étendent sur seize semaines. Ils sont également suivis de deux semaines de travaux intensifs. Des semaines de travail en circonscription ont été prévues au Règlement. Elles ont été créées pour permettre aux députés de maintenir un meilleur contact avec leurs concitoyens pendant les périodes de travaux. Au cours de ces semaines, ni l’Assemblée ni les commissions ne peuvent siéger. Deux semaines de travail en circonscription sont prévues au cours de l’automne, soit une pendant les travaux réguliers et une après les travaux intensifs. Au printemps, ce sont trois semaines de travail en circonscription qui sont prévues, toutes au cours des travaux réguliers. L’horaire a également subi des transformations significatives. L’Assemblée siège maintenant, en période de travaux réguliers, du mardi après-midi au jeudi après-midi. Le mardi, elle siège en soirée jusqu’à 21 h 30. En période de travaux intensifs, les heures où l’Assemblée siège sont réduites. En effet, alors qu’auparavant l’Assemblée pouvait siéger tous les soirs jusqu’à minuit, désormais elle ne siège en soirée que le mardi jusqu’à 21 h 30 et le jeudi jusqu’à 22 h 30. De plus, le déroulement des séances a été revu. Désormais, chaque séance débute par les affaires courantes.

L’horaire des commissions parlementaires est aussi modifié en tenant compte de celui de l’Assemblée. Afin d’octroyer plus de souplesse dans la planification des travaux, le nombre de commissions pouvant siéger simultanément est désormais de quatre lorsque l’Assemblée tient séance et de cinq lorsque l’Assemblée ne siège pas. De plus, le partage des compétences des commissions a été revu afin de rééquilibrer le travail entre elles.

Réaffirmer l’équilibre démocratique dans le cadre des délibérations parlementaires

Lors des affaires inscrites par les députés de l’opposition, une motion ne peut maintenant plus être amendée, à moins d’obtenir la permission de son auteur. Cela découle de la volonté des parlementaires d’éviter que l’auteur de la motion principale ne soit amené, suivant la présentation d’un amendement, à voter contre sa propre motion à l’issue du débat. La même exigence quant à l’obtention de la permission de l’auteur de la motion principale s’applique pour les motions sans préavis.

Par ailleurs, la motion de suspension des règles de procédure, mieux connue sous le nom de « bâillon », a été remplacée par une nouvelle procédure, soit la procédure d’exception. Celle-ci permet au gouvernement de faire adopter rapidement une mesure, mais tout en garantissant un temps minimal de débat, ce qui permet aux députés d’exprimer pleinement leur avis. Cela traduit le souci de trouver un équilibre entre les choix du gouvernement, la protection du temps de parole des députés de l’opposition et le nécessaire débat public sur les mesures proposées. Ainsi, un seul projet de loi à la fois pourra être soumis à la procédure législative d’exception; chaque étape non complétée du processus législatif fera alors l’objet d’un débat d’une durée déterminée dans le Règlement.

Dans la même optique, des règles temporaires ont été adoptées à l’unanimité afin de permettre la reconnaissance d’un deuxième groupe parlementaire d’opposition pour la durée de la 39e législature. En vertu de ces règles temporaires, tout parti qui a fait élire au moins 5 députés et récolté au moins 11 % des voix aux dernières élections générales forme un groupe parlementaire. Des discussions se poursuivent sur les critères qui devraient s’appliquer dorénavant afin d’obtenir le statut de groupe parlementaire.

Rapprocher l’Assemblée des citoyens

La participation des citoyens au débat public constitue une part importante de cette réforme. De nombreuses mesures visant une plus grande implication de la population ont été mises en place. Par exemple, le recours aux technologies est désormais beaucoup plus grand. Les citoyens pourront sous peu signer des pétitions électroniques directement dans le site Internet de l’Assemblée. Ils peuvent déjà signaler leur intérêt à participer aux auditions publiques d’une commission ou même transmettre un mémoire par voie électronique. De même, il est possible de tenir des consultations publiques de cette façon. De plus, les citoyens pourront éventuellement formuler des commentaires en ligne sur les sujets qui font l’objet de débats à l’Assemblée ou en commission.

Finalement, l’exercice du droit de pétition, en plus d’être facilité par l’arrivée imminente des pétitions électroniques, entraîne désormais l’obligation pour le gouvernement de répondre à la pétition déposée. Autre innovation : les commissions parlementaires ont maintenant la possibilité de décider, de leur propre initiative, d’examiner une pétition et d’entendre certains pétitionnaires. Tous ces ajouts aux pratiques actuelles permettent aux citoyens de participer plus directement, au quotidien, à la vie démocratique québécoise.


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 32 no 4
2009






Dernière mise à jour : 2020-03-03