Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

Search
HomeContact UsFrançais

PDF
Reply to the Rejoinder
Edmund A. Aunger

In a wide-ranging and multi-faceted “rejoinder”, Mr. Neitsch extols Alberta’s supposed tradition of inclusiveness, equality and multiculturalism, and derides Canada’s alleged policy of privilege, hierarchy and bilingualism. He argues, erroneously, that the Constitution Act, 1867 places “language rights largely at the discretion of the provinces” and, consequently, that the courts should recognize Alberta’s democratic and prerogative powers to determine its official language. Somewhat incongruously, however, after observing that Chinese, German, French, Punjabi, Filipino, Ukrainian, Spanish, Polish, Arabic and Dutch are Alberta’s top-ten minority languages, he calls upon the courts to give them equal protection “even if it means ‘reading’ them into legislation and the Constitution”.

While I am pleased that my research has stimulated discussion of Alberta’s language policies, I am disappointed that Mr. Neitsch has misconstrued and misrepresented the important constitutional issues at the heart of my article. Nowhere is this more evident than in his ingenuous questioning of French language rights: “While it is admirable that Aunger defends the language rights of the Métis, why the focus is solely on French, rather than the widely spoken Aboriginal languages of the Métis? In the Caron case why has the issue of the Cree language not come up with respect to the Alberta Traffic Safety Act?”

In the wake of a 2003 traffic accident, Gilles Caron, a French-speaking Albertan, pleaded not guilty to a charge that he had failed “to make a left turn in safety”. In his defense, he claimed that Alberta’s Traffic Safety Act was invalid since it had been passed only in English, and not, as the Constitution of Canada required, in both English and French. The Alberta Provincial Court agreed and, in 2008, Judge Leo Wenden ruled that the Rupert’s Land and North-Western Territory Order – an integral part of the Constitution of Canada, as defined by the Constitution Act, 1982 – did indeed guarantee the official status of the French language in Alberta.

In this 1870 Order in Council, Queen Victoria granted Canada’s longtime request to annex Rupert’s Land and the North-Western Territory, and entrenched Canada’s solemn commitment to protect existing “legal rights”. This commitment had been repeatedly communicated to the North-Western population, and it was a key element in obtaining their consent. Thus, Governor General Sir John Young, acting on the “direct command of Her Majesty”, had previously issued a Royal Proclamation assuring the inhabitants that “on the union with Canada, all your civil and religious rights and privileges will be respected”.

As an expert witness in the Caron trial, my principal contribution was to submit new and conclusive proof that these “legal rights” included the official use of the English and French languages in both the legislative and judicial institutions. For example, during the 1835-1870 period, after a concerted political struggle, the Métis population was successful in winning a recognized and well-established right to French-language trials before a French-speaking judge and a French-speaking jury.

In all probability, these constitutionally-guaranteed rights are not limited to English and French, and may very well include Métis land-use and property ownership. Therefore, given his expressed interest, I would certainly encourage Mr. Neitsch to actively pursue this line of research. Nevertheless, in spite of his best efforts, he is unlikely to discover any custom or practice that, in the period prior to 1870, recognized a right to the official use of Chinese, German, Ukrainian, or even Cree.

Edmund A. Aunger
Professor of Political Science
University of Alberta


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 32 no 3
2009






Last Updated: 2019-07-15

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

Recherche
AccueilContactez-nousEnglish

PDF
En réponse à une réplique
Edmund A. Aunger

Dans une vaste « réplique » de grande étendue et à plusieurs volets, M. Neitsch vante la supposée tradition albertaine d’inclusion, d’égalité et de multiculturalisme et méprise la prétendue politique canadienne de privilège, de hiérarchie et de bilinguisme. Il allègue, à tort, que, en vertu de la Loi constitutionnelle de 1867 « les droits linguistiques relèvent largement du pouvoir discrétionnaire des provinces », et que, par conséquent, les tribunaux devraient reconnaître le pouvoir démocratique et les prérogatives de l’Alberta quant à la détermination de sa langue officielle. Cependant, de façon quelque peu incongrue, après avoir signalé que le chinois, l’allemand, le français, le punjabi, le pilipino, l’ukrainien, l’espagnol, le polonais, l’arabe et le néerlandais sont les dix premières langues des minorités de l’Alberta, il demande aux tribunaux de faire en sorte que celles-ci bénéficient de la même protection, « même s’il fallait, pour cela, les inclure par interprétation dans les textes de loi et la Constitution ».

Je suis certes content que mes recherches aient stimulé la discussion au sujet des politiques linguistiques de l’Alberta, mais je suis déçu que M. Neitsch ait mal interprété et déformé les questions constitutionnelles importantes qui se situent au cœur de mon article. Cela s’est manifesté on ne peut plus clairement dans son questionnement ingénu sur les droits du français : « Certes, il est admirable que M. Aunger défende les droits linguistiques des Métis, mais pourquoi se concentrer exclusivement sur le français, plutôt que sur les langues autochtones des Métis, dont l’usage était fort répandu? Dans l’affaire Caron, pourquoi ne pas avoir soulevé la question de la langue crie relativement à la Traffic Safety Act de l’Alberta? »

À la suite d’un accident de la route survenu en 2003, Gilles Caron, un Albertain francophone, a plaidé non coupable à une accusation d’avoir fait un « virage à gauche non sécuritaire ». Dans sa défense, il a affirmé que la Traffic Safety Act n’était pas valide puisqu’il n’avait été adopté qu’en anglais, et non, comme l’exige la Constitution du Canada, en anglais et en français. La cour provinciale de l’Alberta a accueilli favorablement ses arguments, et, en 2008, le juge Leo Wenden a jugé que le Décret en conseil sur la terre de Rupert et le territoire du Nord-Ouest, qui fait partie intégrante de la Constitution du Canada, comme le définit la Loi constitutionnelle de 1982, garantissait effectivement le statut officiel du français en Alberta.

Dans ce décret daté de 1870, la reine Victoria a accédé à la demande de longue date du Canada que soient annexés la terre de Rupert et le territoire du Nord-Ouest et y a consacré l’engagement solennel du Canada à protéger les « droits acquis ». Cet engagement, qui avait été communiqué à plusieurs reprises à la population du territoire du Nord-Ouest, représente un facteur essentiel de l’obtention du consentement de cette dernière. Ainsi, le gouverneur général sir John Young, sur l’ordre de Sa Majesté, avait publié antérieurement une proclamation royale assurant les habitants que, « sous l’Union avec le Canada, tous vos droits et Privilèges civils et religieux seront respectés ».

En tant que témoin expert dans le procès Caron, ma principale contribution a consisté à présenter de nouvelles preuves convaincantes que ces « droits acquis » incluaient l’utilisation de l’anglais et du français à titre officiel dans les institutions tant législatives que judiciaires. Par exemple, au cours de la période 1835-1870, après avoir livré une lutte politique concertée, les Métis ont réussi à obtenir le droit reconnu et bien établi de subir des procès en français devant un juge et un jury francophones.

Ces droits garantis par la Constitution ne se limitent probablement pas à l’anglais et au français et pourraient très bien s’étendre à l’utilisation des terres par les Métis et à leur droit de propriété. Par conséquent, comme M. Neitsch semble manifester de l’intérêt pour la question, je l’invite à poursuivre activement ses recherches dans ce domaine. Toutefois, en dépit de tous ses efforts, il n’arrivera vraisemblablement jamais à découvrir une quelconque coutume ou pratique qui, avant 1870, reconnaissait le droit d’utiliser à des fins officielles le chinois, l’allemand, l’ukrainien, voire le cri.

Edmund A. Aunger
Professeur de sciences politiques
Université de l’Alberta,Campus Saint-Jean


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 32 no 3
2009






Dernière mise à jour : 2019-07-15