Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

Search
HomeContact UsFranšais

PDF
CPA Activities: The Canadian SceneCPA Activities: The Canadian Scene


CPA Regional Seminar in Manitoba 

Approximately thirty delegates and observers attended the annual Canadian Regional Seminar of the CPA held in Winnipeg from October 16-19, 2008.  The federal election of October 14 precluded any delegates from the House of Commons or the Senate from attending but nine other jurisdictions, every province except Québec, sent delegates to the seminar. 

The host for the Seminar was Speaker George Hickes of Manitoba.  Several other Speakers also attended including Speaker Bill Barisoff (British Columbia), Speaker Roy Boudreau (New Brunswick), and Speaker Roger Fitzgerald  (Newfoundland and Labrador). 

The first topic dealt with the subject of the Urban-Rural Disconnect and featured a presentation by Ralph Eichler MLA of Manitoba. A session on Rural Development Initiatives in Prince Edward Island was given by Robert Henderson MLA and Sonny Gallant MLA both of that province. 

Elizabeth Marshall, MHA, Newfoundland & Labrador House of Assembly made a presentation on the work of the Audit Committee in that province and Laura Ross MLA of Saskatchewan spoke about the issue of Nurse Recruitment and Retention. 

The final topic was on the Role of Private Members’ Legislation and Public Policy. It consisted of a presentation by Linda Jeffrey, MPP, of the Legislative Assembly of Ontario. 

Aside from the Business Sessions members were treated to a number of local cultural events.  They had an opportunity to attend Celebrations Dinner Theatre’s performance of Corner Gassed. 

The final dinner hosted by Speaker Hickes featured entertainment by four different groups – Fabuki Daiko (Japanese Blizzard Drumming), the Prairie Heath Dancers (Scottish folk dancing), The Chingwu Athletic Association (Chinese Dragon Dancing) and the Summer Bear Dance Troupe (Aboriginal Dance). 

The invited delegates and observers were grateful to Speaker Hickes, the Seminar co-ordinators Michele LaPointe and Ellen Douglas, and the entire legislative staff led by Patricia Chaychuk, for making this such a successful event. 

New Speaker in Nunavut 

The new Speaker of the Nunavut Legislative Assembly is James Arreak. He was first elected to represent the people of Clyde River and Qikirtarjuaq in the Second Assembly of the Legislative Assembly of Nunavut in the 2004 general election. He was re-elected in 2008 as MLA for Uqqummiut. He served on the Standing Committee on Infrastructure, Housing and Economic Development and Standing Committee Ajauqtiit. He was Deputy Speaker for the last two years. 

Before entering public life Mr. Arreak worked for Nordair which was the airline of the North in the 1970’s. He also operated his own business from 1978 to 2004. He has held elected positions with the Clyde River Hamlet Council, NWT Legislative Assembly, Clyde River Co-op, Aarruya Development Council and was one of the founding Chairs for Kakivak Association. He was Mayor of Clyde River from 1984 to 1986. 

Speaker of the House Re-elected 

The House of Commons met on November 18, 2008 for the purpose of electing a Speaker.  The following candidates were given five minutes each to address the House as to why they should be elected: Mauril Bélanger (Lib), Joe Comartin (NDP), Barry Devolin (Cons), Royal Galipeau (Cons), Peter Milliken (Lib), Andrew Scheer (Cons), and Merv Tweed (Cons). Presiding over the election was the Dean of the House, Louis Plamondon (BQ) first elected in 1984. 

During their address all candidates emphasized the desire for better decorum in the new Parliament than had been the case in the 39th Parliament. After five ballots lasting nearly six hours the winner was Mr. Milliken who defeated Messrs Scheer and Tweed on the final ballot. 

Speaker Milliken becomes the first person to be elected Speaker on four occasions.  The only others to be chosen three times were Lucien Lamoureux 1966, 1968 and 1972 and Rodolphe Lemieux 1922, 1925 and 1926.  At some point during the present Parliament Speaker Milliken will surpass the record of Speaker Lamoureux both for years of service in the Chair and number of days in office as Speaker. 

Mr. Milliken was born in Kingston, Ontario and educated at Queen's University, Oxford University and Dalhousie University.  A lawyer, he was a partner with Cunningham, Swan, Carty, Little and Bonham from 1973 until his election to Parliament in 1988. He has held a number of positions in the House including Parliamentary Secretary to the Government House Leader, Deputy Chairman of Committees of the Whole House Deputy Speaker and Chairman of the Committees of the Whole House.  

He was first elected Speaker on January 29, 2001.  Following the 2004 general election he was acclaimed Speaker of the House and re-elected to this office in April 2006 following the election in January of that year. He has always run for the House of Commons as a Liberal but he has been elected Speaker under both Liberal and Conservative Governments. 

In accepting office, the new Speaker acknowledged the desire for greater decorum in the House. He said: 

Sometimes each party has a different opinion on certain questions asked of the Speaker. However, even that provides us with an opportunity to share ideas and work together. 

I hope that the party leaders in the House and I, and all of the other members, if necessary, can start working together tomorrow as usual to organize House business. At least from a procedural point of view, I hope we can arrange to make the chamber more orderly.... 


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 31 no 4
2008






Last Updated: 2020-03-03

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

Recherche
AccueilContactez-nousEnglish

PDF
APC : La scène canadienneAPC : La scène canadienne


Colloque régional de l’APC au Manitoba 

Une trentaine de délégués et d’observateurs ont assisté au colloque régional canadien annuel de l’APC à Winnipeg, du 16 au 19 octobre 2008. En raison des élections fédérales du 14 octobre, aucun délégué de la Chambre des communes ou du Sénat n’a pu y assister, mais les assemblées législatives de toutes les provinces, sauf le Québec, y ont envoyé des délégués. 

L’hôte du colloque a été le président George Hickes du Manitoba. Plusieurs autres présidents étaient également présents : Bill Barisoff (Colombie-Britannique), Roy Boudreau (Nouveau-Brunswick) et Roger Fitzgerald (Terre-Neuve- et-Labrador). 

Le premier sujet abordé avait trait à l’écart entre les milieux rural et urbain et a été l’objet d’une présentation de Ralph Eichler, député du Manitoba. Robert Henderson et Sonny Gallant, députés provinciaux, ont animé une séance sur les initiatives de développement rural à l’Île-du- Prince-Édouard.  

Elizabeth Marshall, députée à la Chambre d’assemblée de Terre- Neuve-et-Labrador, a fait état des travaux du comité de vérification de la province, tandis que Laura Ross, députée de la Saskatchewan, a parlé du problème de recrutement du personnel infirmier et de maintien des effectifs. 

Le dernier sujet a été le rôle des projets de loi d’initiative parlementaire et des politiques gouvernementales. Linda Jeffrey, députée à l’Assemblée législative de l’Ontario, a présenté un exposé sur ce sujet. 

Outre les séances, les membres ont pris part à des activités culturelles. Ils ont pu ainsi assister à une représentation de Corner Gassed au Celebrations Dinner Theatre. Au dernier dîner organisé par le président Hickes, quatre groupes se sont produits : Fabuki Daiko (tambours japonais), les Prairie Heath Dancers (danse folklorique irlandaise), la Chingwu Athletic Association (danse du dragon – Chine) et la Summer Bear Dance Troupe (danse autochtone). 

Les délégués et observateurs invités ont exprimé leurs remerciements au président Hickes, aux coordonnatrices du colloque, Michèle LaPointe et Ellen Douglas, ainsi qu’à tout le personnel législatif, dirigé par Patricia Chaychuk, pour avoir fait de cette rencontre un franc succès. 

Nouveau président de l’Assemblée législative du Nunavut 

Le nouveau président de l’Assemblée législative du Nunavut est James Arreak. Il a été élu une première fois pour représenter la population de Clyde River et de Qikirtarjuaq à la deuxième législature de l’Assemblée législative du Nunavut, à l’issue de l’élection générale de 2004. En 2008, il a été réélu MAL pour Uqqummiut. Il a été membre du Comité permanent des infrastructures, de l’habitation et du développement économique et du Comité permanent Ajauqtiit. Il été vice-président de l’Assemblée législative au cours des deux dernières années. 

Avant de se lancer en politique, M. Arreak a travaillé pour Nordair, la compagnie aérienne du Nord dans les années 1970. Il a également exploité sa propre entreprise de 1978 à 2004. Il a occupé des postes élus au sein du conseil du hameau de Clyde River, de l’Assemblée législative des T.N.-O., de la Clyde River Co-op et de l’Aarruya Development Council. Il est aussi l’un des présidents fondateurs de la Kakivak Association. Il a été maire de Clyde River de 1984 à 1986. 

Réélection du président de la Chambre des communes 

La Chambre des communes s’est réunie le 18 novembre 2008 pour élire son président. Les candidats suivants avaient cinq minutes pour convaincre la Chambre de les élire : Mauril Bélanger (PLC), Joe Comartin (NPD), Barry Devolin (PCC), Royal Galipeau (PCC), Peter Milliken (PLC), Andrew Scheer (PCC), et Merv Tweed (PCC). L’élection a eu lieu sous la présidence du doyen de la Chambre, Louis Plamondon (BQ), élu pour la première fois en 1984. 

Durant leur discours, tous les candidats ont dit souhaiter un plus grand respect du décorum durant la nouvelle législature qu’au cours de la 39e. Après cinq tours de scrutin, d’une durée totale de presque six heures, M. Milliken a été déclaré vainqueur, défaisant MM. Scheer et Tweed au dernier tour. 

Le président Milliken est devenu la première personne à être élue président quatre fois. Les seuls députés ayant été choisis trois fois pour occuper ce poste sont Lucien Lamoureux en 1966, 1968 et 1972 et Rodolphe Lemieux en 1922, 1925 et 1926. Au cours de son mandat, le président Milliken battra le record du président Lamoureux, à la fois pour le nombre d’années de service comme président et pour le nombre de jours dans cette fonction.  

M. Milliken est né à Kingston, en Ontario, et a étudié aux universités Queen’s, Oxford et Dalhousie. De 1973 jusqu’à son élection au Parlement en 1988, il a été partenaire au cabinet d’avocats Carty, Little et Bonham. Il a occupé plusieurs postes à la Chambre des communes, notamment celui de secrétaire parlementaire du leader du gouvernement à la Chambre, de vice-président des comités pléniers et de vice-président de la Chambre et président des comités pléniers. 

Il a été élu président pour la première fois le 29 janvier 2001. À la suite des élections générales de 2004, il a été réélu président, puis reporté de nouveau dans ses fonctions en avril 2006, après les élections tenues en janvier de la même année. Il a toujours été candidat sous la bannière libérale, mais il a été élu président sous des gouvernements libéraux et conservateurs. 

En acceptant ce poste, le nouveau président a pris note du désir de faire régner un plus grand décorum à la Chambre. Il a déclaré : 

De temps en temps, chacun des partis a un point de vue différent sur certaines questions qui sont présentées au Président [sic]. Toutefois, même ainsi, nous avons l’occasion d’échanger et de travailler ensemble. 

J’espère que nous pourrons faire cela dès demain, comme d’habitude, de façon à organiser les affaires de la Chambre, au moins du point de vue procédural — moi-même, les leaders des partis en Chambre et tous les autres députés, si nécessaire. 


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 31 no 4
2008






Dernière mise à jour : 2019-11-29