Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

Search
HomeContact UsFranšais

PDF
The 2008 Election and the Law on Fixed Election Dates
Guy Tremblay

 In 2007 Parliament adopted legislation establishing a fixed date for elections every four years. The date established in the law for the next election was October 19, 2009. In September 2008 the Prime Minister asked the Governor General to dissolve Parliament for an election to be held on October 14, 2008. Some have argued that such a request was improper and even illegal. This article looks at the legal issues surrounding the fixed election date legislation. 

The opposition parties in the House of Commons were quick to point out that, by calling the election for October 14, 2008, Prime Minister Harper circumvented if not violated the bill he enacted to establish fixed election dates.1 The central provision of this bill adds the following to the Canada Elections Act

56.1 (1) Nothing in this section affects the powers of the Governor General, including the power to dissolve Parliament at the Governor General’s discretion.  

(2) Subject to subsection (1), each general election must be held on the third Monday of October in the fourth calendar year following polling day for the last general election, with the first general election after this section comes into force being held on Monday, October 19, 2009. 

In my opinion, both extreme interpretations of this provision must be ruled out from the outset. 

The first interpretation to rule out is that the new act is intended merely to reduce the maximum length of a Parliament from five years to four and that it does not change anything else. Since subsection 56.1 (1) preserves the Governor General’s power to dissolve Parliament, it would therefore leave intact the Prime Minister’s power to make a recommendation to the Governor General in this regard. This interpretation is not valid as it would make subsection (2) meaningless by requiring the first general election under the new system to be held on Monday, October 19, 2009. 

Equally disputable is the opposite interpretation, whereby the Governor General’s discretion serves solely to comply with the procedure for amending the Constitution,2 thereby leaving intact just one power that the Governor General can exercise of her own initiative. Under this interpretation, the act would preclude any potential recommendation for dissolution by the Prime Minister. This interpretation of the act cannot be upheld because it would adversely affect the essence of the Canadian parliamentary system and the democratic principle upon which the Constitution is based. Unlike the presidential system in the United States, the government and Parliament have the power of life and death over each other in Canada.3 To offset a potential vote of non-confidence in the Commons, the government and the Prime Minister must retain the right to request the dissolution of Parliament. 

The federal provision regarding fixed election dates allows the Prime Minister to call elections after a non-confidence vote in the Commons.  But it does not spell this out and allows room for other possibilities. In the case of a majority government, the provision in question does indeed deprive the Prime Minister of the power to choose the timing of an election call based purely on opportunism. But is that also true for a minority government? In that case, do the opposition parties in the House alone have the power to decide whether or not an anticipated election will be held by refusing to bring down the government when the circumstances are not to their liking or by bringing it down when they are?  The idea that a minority government should have flexibility comparable to that of the opposition parties is certainly defensible. At the end of the summer of 2008, while the House of Commons was adjourned, Prime Minister Harper met the leaders of the three opposition parties and then called a general election on the pretext that they no longer had confidence in his government. The Prime Minister did not in my opinion violate subsection 56.1 of the Canada Elections Act in so doing, even if he was motivated by electoral or partisan considerations. 

Absence of Judicial Sanction 

The legality of the election call for October 14, 2008, is nevertheless debatable and has in fact been challenged in Federal Court by the group Democracy Watch. Even if the act has been violated, various legal principles will lead the courts to refuse to sanction the illegality. 

First of all, the exercise of the Governor General’s powers is governed by constitutional conventions and not by strict legal principles. This includes the power to dissolve Parliament, which is specifically maintained in subsection 56.1 (1) of the Canada Elections Act.  In this case, the most relevant constitutional convention is that the Governor General only dissolves Parliament at the Prime Minister’s request. Since the opinions expressed by the Supreme Court in 1981 and 1982 with regard to the repatriation of the Constitution, it has been clear that the courts may rule on whether or not a constitutional convention exists, but may not sanction such a convention.4 Insofar as the resolution of the dispute depends on the constitutional convention upheld by subsection 56.1 of the Canada Elections Act, a court of justice may not make binding conclusions. 

Regardless of constitutional conventions, the courts are likely to find that the issue here is purely political and that it is not justiciable. When the Auditor General of Canada did not gain the access to documents to which she was legally entitled, the Supreme Court ruled that her sole recourse was to complain to the House of Commons.5 The Court noted that this was essentially a dispute between the legislative and executive branches and pointed out that the government’s refusal to provide the requested information could have an impact of the public’s opinion of the government’s performance. Similar considerations apply to the argument that Prime Minister Harper acted illegally by calling the election: he acted in response to a dispute between Parliament and the government, calling upon the electorate to settle it. A court of justice could also find that the Governor General is a more appropriate authority to uphold the law in this case. In any event, the alleged illegality can be sanctioned in the political arena alone. 

Finally, the principles of necessity, rule of law and de facto authority also preclude judicial sanction of this alleged illegality. The principles in question prevailed in Manitoba, for instance, to ensure that laws that were unconstitutional (because they were unilingual) still had effect when time was allowed to re-enact them in both languages.6 In the present case, a court of justice cannot “cancel” the election on October 14, 2008, several months after it was held or demand that the illegally dissolved House of Commons be reconstituted. The need to preserve the democratic system and the rule of law means that the validity of the general election of October 14, 2008 and of subsequent actions by public authorities must be recognized. 

I firmly believe that the new provision of the Canada Elections Act regarding fixed elections dates does not prevent a minority government from asking the Governor General to dissolve Parliament because the government must have flexibility comparable to that of the opposition parties in the House in this regard. Prime Minister Harper’s decision and the way he proceeded certainly constitute a precedent that could influence the interpretation not only of the federal act but also of all existing provincial acts that preserve the lieutenant governor’s power to dissolve the legislature.7 The fact remains that, regardless of interpretation, the fixed election dates act cannot be sanctioned by the courts after the fact, after it has been violated. However, a court of justice could issue a statement regarding its scope. A government could even, through a reference, call upon the Court of Appeal or the Supreme Court to rule on the interpretation of this act. 

Notes 

1. An Act to Amend the Canada Elections Act, S.C. 2007, c. 10. 

2. Pursuant to paragraph 41a) of the Constitution Act, 1982, both houses of Parliament and the legislatures of the ten provinces must be in agreement in order to change the “office” of the Governor General, which includes her power to dissolve Parliament: Attorney General of Ontario v. OPSEU, [1987] 2 S.C.R. 2, p. 46-47. 

3. Regarding the means of constraint by Parliament and the government in the Canadian parliamentary system, see Henri Brun, Guy Tremblay and Eugénie Brouillet, Droit constitutionnel, 5th Edition, Cowansville, Éditions Yvon Blais, 2008, p. 607-611. 

4. Re: Resolution to amend the Constitution, [1981] 1 S.C.R. 753; Re: opposition to a resolution to amend the Constitution, [1982] 2 S.C.R. 793. 

5. Canada (Auditor General) v. Canada (Minister of Energy, Mines and Resources), [1989] 2 S.C.R. 49. 

6. Re: Manitoba Language Rights, [1985] 1 S.C.R. 721. 

7. Fixed election dates every four years have been set in British Columbia, Newfoundland and Labrador, Ontario, Prince Edward Island, New Brunswick, Saskatchewan and Manitoba. 


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 31 no 4
2008






Last Updated: 2019-11-29

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

Recherche
AccueilContactez-nousEnglish

PDF
L'élection de 2008 et la loi sur les élections à date fixe
Guy Tremblay

En 2007, le Parlement a adopté une loi prévoyant une date fixe pour les élections à tous les quatre ans. Cette loi précisait que les prochaines élections se tiendraient le 19 octobre 2009. En septembre 2008, le premier ministre a demandé à la gouverneure générale de dissoudre le Parlement afin qu’une élection ait lieu le 14 octobre 2008. Certains ont affirmé qu’une telle requête était déplacée, voire illégale. Le présent article porte sur les questions juridiques entourant la loi prévoyant des élections à date fixe. 

Les partis d’opposition aux Communes n’ont pas manqué de souligner qu’en déclenchant des élections pour le 14 octobre 2008, le premier ministre Harper a contourné, voire enfreint, la loi qu’il avait fait adopter afin d’instaurer des élections à date fixe1. La disposition principale de cette loi ajoute dans la Loi électorale du Canada l’article suivant : 

56.1 (1) Le présent article n’a pas pour effet de porter atteinte aux pouvoirs du gouverneur général, notamment celui de dissoudre le Parlement lorsqu’il le juge opportun. 

(2) Sous réserve du paragraphe (1), les élections générales ont lieu le troisième lundi d’octobre de la quatrième année civile qui suit le jour du scrutin de la dernière élection générale, la première élection générale suivant l’entrée en vigueur du présent article devant avoir lieu le lundi 19 octobre 2009. 

Il faut, selon moi, exclure d’emblée deux interprétations extrémistes de cette disposition. La première interprétation à mettre de côté voudrait que la loi nouvelle ne vise qu’à réduire de cinq à quatre ans la durée maximale des Communes et qu’elle ne change rien d’autre à la situation qui valait antérieurement. Le paragraphe 56.1(1), qui préserve le pouvoir de dissolution du gouverneur général, laisserait donc intacte la faculté du premier ministre de lui faire une recommandation à cet égard. Je crois que ce point de vue ne peut être retenu, parce qu’il viderait de sens la fin du paragraphe (2), qui exige la tenue de la première élection générale en vertu du nouveau système le lundi 19 octobre 2009. 

Aussi contestable, l’approche inverse consisterait à dire que la réserve relative au gouverneur général ne vise qu’à se conformer à la procédure de modification de la Constitution2 et qu’elle sauvegarde seulement un pouvoir que le gouverneur général peut exercer de sa propre initiative. Dans cette perspective, la loi exclurait toute possibilité de recommandation de dissolution de la part du premier ministre. Une telle interprétation doit être rejetée, parce qu’elle porterait atteinte à l’essence du régime parlementaire fédéral ainsi qu’au principe démocratique qui est à la base de la Constitution canadienne. Contrairement à la situation qui prévaut dans le régime présidentiel des États-Unis, le gouvernement et le Parlement au Canada disposent l’un à l’égard de l’autre d’un droit de vie ou de mort3. Afin de faire contrepoids à un éventuel vote de censure aux Communes, il faut que le gouvernement et le premier ministre conservent le droit de demander la dissolution du Parlement. 

La disposition fédérale sur les élections à date fixe permet donc au premier ministre de déclencher des élections par suite d’un vote de censure aux Communes. Mais elle ne le dit pas en toutes lettres et elle laisse place à d’autres possibilités. Certes, dans le cas d’un gouvernement majoritaire, la disposition en question a fait perdre au premier ministre la faculté de choisir le moment de l’élection par simple calcul électoraliste. Mais en va-t-il toujours de même dans le cas d’un gouvernement minoritaire? Dans un tel cas, l’opposition aux Communes a-t-elle seule le pouvoir de décider ou non d’une élection anticipée (en refusant de voter la censure lorsque les circonstances ne font pas son affaire — et en la votant dans le cas contraire)? L’idée que le gouvernement minoritaire dispose d’une marge de manœuvre comparable à celle des partis d’opposition est certes défendable. À la fin de l’été 2008, pendant l’ajournement des Communes, le premier ministre Harper a rencontré les trois chefs des partis d’opposition puis déclenché une élection générale sous prétexte que ceux-ci n’accordaient plus leur confiance au gouvernement. À mon point de vue, le premier ministre n’a pas alors enfreint l’article 56.1 de la Loi électorale du Canada, même si des considérations électoralistes ou partisanes l’ont inspiré. 

L’absence de sanction judiciaire 

La légalité du déclenchement des élections pour le 14 octobre 2008 reste tout de même discutable et elle est de fait contestée par le groupe Démocratie en surveillance en Cour fédérale. Mais même si la loi a été enfreinte, divers principes juridiques amèneront les tribunaux à refuser de sanctionner cette illégalité. 

D’abord, ce sont des conventions constitutionnelles (et non pas des règles de droit strict) qui régissent l’exercice de ses pouvoirs par le gouverneur général. Cela vaut pour l’exercice du pouvoir de dissoudre le Parlement, pouvoir expressément préservé par le paragraphe 56.1(1) précité de la Loi électorale du Canada. En l’occurrence, la convention constitutionnelle la plus pertinente veut que le gouverneur général ne procède à une dissolution qu’à la recommandation du premier ministre. Or il est parfaitement clair, depuis les opinions émises par la Cour suprême en 1981 et 1982 à l’occasion du rapatriement de la Constitution, que les tribunaux peuvent se prononcer sur l’existence (ou l’inexistence) d’une convention constitutionnelle, mais qu’ils ne peuvent assurer la sanction d’une telle convention4. Dans la mesure où la solution du litige dépend de la convention constitutionnelle que laisse subsister l’article 56.1 de la Loi électorale du Canada, une cour de justice ne pourrait conclure de manière contraignante. 

Indépendamment des conventions constitutionnelles, les tribunaux sont susceptibles de constater que se pose en l’espèce une question purement politique et de la déclarer non justiciable. Dans une affaire où le vérificateur général du Canada n’avait pas obtenu l’accès aux documents que la loi lui permettait de consulter, la Cour suprême a conclu que son seul recours était de se plaindre aux Communes5. La Cour a fait remarquer qu’il y avait là fondamentalement un différend entre les pouvoirs législatif et exécutif et elle a souligné que le refus du gouvernement de fournir les renseignements réclamés pouvait influer sur l’évaluation que l’opinion publique fait de la performance de ce gouvernement. Des considérations de même nature valent dans l’hypothèse où le premier ministre Harper aurait agi illégalement en déclenchant les élections : son initiative résulte d’un différend entre le Parlement et le gouvernement, différend que l’électorat est appelé à arbitrer. Une cour de justice pourrait aussi trouver que le gouverneur général est un forum plus approprié pour voir au respect de la loi ici en cause. De toute façon, l’illégalité alléguée peut trouver sa sanction dans la seule arène politique. 

Enfin, les principes de nécessité, de primauté du droit et de l’autorité de facto empêchent également la sanction judiciaire de cette supposée illégalité. Les principes en question ont été appliqués par exemple pour faire en sorte que les lois manitobaines inconstitutionnelles (parce que unilingues) aient quand même des effets (le temps nécessaire pour les édicter de nouveau dans les deux langues)6. Dans le cas qui nous occupe, une cour de justice ne saurait « annuler » les élections du 14 octobre 2008 plusieurs mois après qu’elles aient été tenues ni prétendre ressusciter la Chambre des communes illégalement dissoute. La nécessité de préserver le système démocratique et l’ordre de droit positif obligerait à reconnaître la validité de l’élection générale du 14 octobre 2008 et des actes posés par la suite par les autorités publiques. 

En définitive, je crois que la nouvelle disposition fédérale sur les élections à date fixe n’empêche pas un gouvernement minoritaire de demander au gouverneur général de dissoudre le Parlement, parce que ce gouvernement doit jouir, à cet égard, d’une marge de manœuvre comparable à celle de l’opposition aux Communes. Assurément, la décision prise par le premier ministre Harper (et sa façon de procéder) constitue un précédent qui pourra éclairer l’interprétation à donner non seulement à la loi fédérale, mais aussi à toutes celles qui existent dans les provinces et qui préservent le pouvoir de dissolution du lieutenant-gouverneur7. Il reste que, indépendamment de l’interprétation qui lui sera donnée, la législation prescrivant des élections à date fixe ne peut pas recevoir de sanction judiciaire a posteriori, après qu’elle a été enfreinte. Avant sa violation, par contre, il serait possible d’obtenir d’une cour de justice une déclaration quant à sa portée. Un gouvernement pourrait, de même, saisir la Cour d’appel ou la Cour suprême, à l’occasion d’un renvoi, d’une question concernant l’interprétation à donner à ce texte de loi. 

Notes 

1. Loi modifiant la Loi électorale du Canada, L.C. 2007, c. 10. 

2. En vertu de l’alinéa 41a) de la Loi constitutionnelle de 1982, il faut l’accord des chambres fédérales et des dix provinces pour modifier la « charge » de gouverneur général, ce qui comprend son pouvoir de dissoudre le Parlement : SEFPO c. Ontario (Procureur général), [1987] 2 R.C.S. 2, p. 46-47. 

3. Sur les moyens de contrainte du parlement et du gouvernement dans le régime parlementaire canadien, voir Henri Brun, Guy Tremblay et Eugénie Brouillet, Droit constitutionnel, 5e éd., Cowansville, Éditions Yvon Blais, 2008, p. 607-611. 

4. Renvoi : résolution pour modifier la Constitution, [1981] 1 R.C.S. 753; Re : opposition à une résolution pour modifier la Constitution, [1982] 2 R.C.S. 793. 

5. Canada (Vérificateur général) c. Canada (Ministre de l’Énergie, des Mines et des Ressources), [1989] 2 R.C.S. 49. 

6. Renvoi sur les droits linguistiques au Manitoba, [1985] 1 R.C.S. 721. 

7. Des élections à date fixe aux quatre ans ont été prescrites en Colombie-Britannique, à Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador, en Ontario, à l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard, au Nouveau-Brunswick, en Saskatchewan et au Manitoba. 


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 31 no 4
2008






Dernière mise à jour : 2019-11-29