Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

Search
HomeContact UsFrançais

PDF
Québec 2008 and the Francophone Parliamentary Community
François Côté

From July 4 to 7, 2008 the National Assembly of Québec welcomed the parliamentarians of the global Francophone community to the 34th Session of the Parliamentary Assembly of the Francophonie (APF). A record number of 447 delegates from about fifty parliamentary assemblies and organizations participated in the APF activities which coincided with Québec City's 400th anniversary celebrations. In addition to the Plenary Assembly, the APF Bureau, the four standing committees, the Network of Women Parliamentarians and the Americas Regional Assembly met during this year's Session. In conjunction with the APF Session and the 400th anniversary festivities, a Conference of the Parliamentary Presiding Officers of the Francophonie was also held at the National Assembly on July 4, 2008. This article looks back on the summer's memorable events. 

The Parliamentary Assembly of the Francophonie (APF) is a forum for discussion, proposals and the exchange of information. As the Francophonie's Consultative Assembly, the APF was founded to reflect and illustrate the cultural pluralism of the Francophone peoples of the world. Today, it also aims to promote and defend democracy, the rule of law, human rights, the international status of the French language and cultural diversity. The APF is composed of 77 parliaments and interparliamentary organizations divided into Sections, which meet annually in a Plenary Assembly to discuss subjects of concern to Francophones and their elected representatives. The APF usually determines its agenda in keeping with the priorities established during summits of the heads of state and government of the Francophonie. The theme of this year's general discussion was The Environment and the Development of Societies, one of the major issues on the agenda for the 2008 Summit of the Francophonie. 

The proceedings of the 34th Session were chaired by Guy Nzouba Ndama, President of the National Assembly of Gabon and Chair of the APF. During the formal opening meeting, the Secretary General of the International Organization of the Francophonie (IOF), Abdou Diouf, described Québec as a “shining symbol of the Francophone presence in North America”1 and warmly thanked the APF for encouraging discussion and supporting the actions of the Francophonie in “a common effort in the service of the French language, linguistic and cultural diversity, solidarity and development, demo- cracy, human rights and peace”2. The Secretary General then read his annual report on the activities of the Francophonie and answered questions. 

At the opening of the general discussion on The Environment and the Development of Societies, Steven Guilbault, guest speaker and co-founder of Équiterre, a Québec environmental organization, gave a sustainable development awareness talk. A resolution on that theme was proposed by the Cooperation and Development Committee and adopted by the Plenary Assembly. The resolution encourages the states and governments of the Francophonie to ratify and implement as soon as possible the international conventions and agreements on the protection of the environment, to integrate the concept of sustainable development in their legislation and even in their constitution, to work multilaterally and multi-dimensionally to reduce greenhouse gas emissions, to study the development of renewable energy sources and to bolster the fight against desertification and deforestation, especially in tropical regions. The APF is also requesting the IOF to direct additional financial resources toward further enabling the parliamentary institutions of the Francophone states to develop and implement national sustainable development strategies. 

Other current issues were also discussed during the Plenary Session. Macky Sall, President of the National Assembly of Senegal, spoke on The Food Crisis and the High Cost of Living, a subject that stimulated intense discussion among the parliamentarians and led to a resolution requesting an increase in food aid from the World Food Program, funding states and the international community. In the face of the sudden rise in the price of foodstuffs and the resulting social, political and international consequences, the APF also called on the IOF to hold an emergency debate on these issues during the upcoming Summit of the Francophonie. 

The Québec Section made a proposal to the Cooperation and Development Committee for a resolution with respect to the deadlock in the World Trade Organization's multilateral trade negotiations. The resolution calls for the Doha process to be resumed in a spirit of compromise to foster free and fairer trade, while respecting the constraints of developing and less advanced countries. 

The participants also adopted a resolution with respect to the future of TV5 Monde, lauding the agreement that guarantees the multilateral character of the Francophone station and recommending that the APF member states support the station as a leading institution in the French-speaking world due to its key role in the expression of cultural diversity. 

In its role as watchdog of democracy in the Francophone community, the APF rigorously examines the situation of certain countries weakened by various types of political crisis. This year, on a proposal by the Political Committee, the APF condemned the attacks against parliamentarians in Burundi and Lebanon and the acts of violence against the civil populations of Lebanon, Mauritania, Palestine and the Democratic Republic of the Congo (DRC). The Assembly also expressed the desire to send a fact-finding mission to Burundi and an assessment mission to Chad and the Central African Republic, in collaboration with the IOF. The parliamentarians further proposed that the IOF undertake the next steps in the consolidation of the DRC's institutions and the peace process and continue its support of the transition underway in Ivory Coast. 

Other Meeting 

The Bureau, the executive body of the APF that oversees the implementation of the decisions of the Plenary Assembly, met in Québec City on July 2 to take stock of the past year and discuss future APF policy directions, especially with respect to committee work and various APF programs. 

The four APF standing committees--the Parliamentary Affairs Committee (PAC), the Cooperation and Development Committee (CDC), the Political Committee (PC) and the Education, Communication and Cultural Affairs Committee (ECCAC)--provide an important forum for discussion. The Assembly bases its recommendations on reports from these committees. Aside from the topics on which resolutions were adopted in the Plenary Assembly, the committees examined subjects as varied as public access to parliamentary information and parliamentary life (PAC), agriculture and the contribution of the Francophonie to the adoption of national sustainable development strategies (CDC), the implementation of the Bamako Declaration (PC), cultural diversity and the fight against HIV/AIDS (ECCAC). 

The Network of Women Parliamentarians, created in 2002 on the initiative of the Québec and Canada Sections, strives to foster increased participation by women in political, economic, social and cultural matters and to strengthen the place and role of women in APF member parliaments and international organizations. During the Québec meeting, the Network discussed children's rights, the situation of women refugees and human trafficking. 

In response to the July 4, 2008 rescue of French-Columbian hostage Ingrid Bétancourt, the women parliamentarians drew up a declaration expressing their joy at the former senator's release and their support for the hostages still being held by the FARC in Columbia, as well as all other hostages, especially women and children, held throughout the world. The declaration was immediately taken up by the Political Committee and subsequently adopted during the Plenary Assembly. 

Resolution on the Vancouver Olympics 

The APF is divided into four main regions: Africa, America, Asia-Pacific and Europe. The Americas Region, whose secretariat is hosted by the National Assembly of Québec, held its 24th Session on July 1 and 2, 2008, a few days before the APF Session. About sixty parliamentarians from the legislative assemblies of Canada, Alberta, British Columbia, Manitoba, New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, Ontario, Prince Edward Island, Québec, Saskatchewan, Louisiana and Maine discussed heritage conservation (Québec Section), Francophone youth parliaments (Ontario Section) and linguistic duality during the Vancouver 2010 Olympic and Paralympic Games (Canada Section). 

On the theme of linguistic duality, the Americas Region drew up a resolution to recommend that the IOF create the position of Grand Témoin de la Francophonie d'Amérique or "Great Witness" for the Games, whose mandate would be to raise awareness within the Vancouver Organizing Committee for the 2010 Olympic and Paralympic Games of the official status of the French language, in accordance with Rule 24 of the Olympic Charter. The resolution also reminds the Globemedia network of its commitment to ensure that the Games are broadcast and accessible in their entirety in French. The Americas Region of the APF forwarded the resolution to the Vancouver Organizing Committee for the 2010 Olympic and Paralympic Games and to the many public authorities associated with the Games, including the governments of Canada and British Columbia. 

Strengthening of Parliamentary Democracy 

On a proposal by the Speaker of the National Assembly of Québec, the Conference of Parliamentary Presiding Officers of the Francophonie was held once again this year, for the first time since 1995. The presiding officers of 45 parliaments of the French community met on July 4, 2008 in the National Assembly Chamber to discuss their role and the means at their disposal to strengthen parliamentary democracy within their respective assemblies. After a presentation by Louis Massicotte, holder of Laval University's new Research Chair in Democracy and Parliamentary Institutions, the presiding officers took the floor and shared their perspectives on the measures required to reinforce the impact of democratic institutions. They also discussed the importance of public participation in political life. 

At the end of the meeting, a final declaration in favour of strengthening democratic practices and enhancing the role of parliamentarians was unanimously adopted. The presiding officers intend to encourage more citizen participation, especially that of women and young people, by raising awareness of the role and workings of legislative assemblies and making all parliamentary precincts more accessible to the public. They also committed themselves to taking the steps required to strengthen the capacity of assemblies to adopt legislation and oversee government budgets and government activity in the public interest, and reiterated the importance of further developing the knowledge and skills required to better perform their duties as presiding officers. They thus committed themselves to fostering ongoing dialogue among APF members in order to consolidate democracy in the global Francophone community. 

The 12th Summit of the Francophonie 

Approximately 200 million of the world's inhabitants speak French, making the Francophone linguistic community the ninth largest on the planet. July's activities were centred around the French language. Québec City during the celebration of its 400th anniversary was the ideal location for the summer's meetings, especially since it also hosted the 12th Conference of Heads of State and Government of Countries Using French as a Common Language, better known as the Summit of the Francophonie, from October 17 to 19, 2008. 

This year, the Summit of the Francophonie addressed the following issues: democracy and the rule of law, economic governance, the environment and the French language. As the Consultative Assembly of the Francophonie, the APF adopted a report in July addressed to the heads of state and government of the Francophone community, which APF Chair Guy Nzouba Ndama submitted during the summit. The report included texts adopted during the APF Plenary Assembly and a follow-up on the action plans previously adopted by the APF. 

This year's APF Session was very rewarding experience for both the National Assembly of Québec and its Members. Not only did the numerous discussions enable our parliamentarians to discover or rediscover the global Francophone community and establish strong ties with their peers, but our institution was also given an exceptional opportunity to position itself as a key player on the Francophone parliamentary scene. 

Notes 

1. Talk by H.E. Abdou Diouf, Secretary General of the Francophonie, 34th Session of the APF, Québec (Québec), July 4-7, 2008. 

2. Talk by H.E. Abdou Diouf, Secretary General of the Francophonie, 34th Session of the APF, Québec (Québec), July 4-7, 2008. 


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 31 no 4
2008






Last Updated: 2018-07-31

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

Recherche
AccueilContactez-nousEnglish

PDF
Québec 2008 ou le rayonnement de la Francophonie parlementaire
François Côté

Du 4 au 7 juillet 2008, l'Assemblée nationale du Québec a accueilli les parlementaires francophones pour la 34e Session de l'Assemblée parlementaire de la Francophonie (APF). Un nombre record de 447 délégués, issus d'une cinquantaine d'assemblées et organisations parlementaires, ont participé aux activités de la Session qui coïncidaient avec les festivités du 400e anniversaire de la ville de Québec. Outre la réunion de l'Assemblée plénière, ce rendez vous a permis au Bureau de l'APF, aux quatre commissions permanentes, au Réseau des femmes parlementaires et à l'Assemblée régionale Amérique de l'APF de réaliser leurs travaux. En marge de la Session de l'APF et des festivités du 400e, une prestigieuse Conférence des présidents d'Assemblée parlementaire de la Francophonie s'est également tenue sur la colline parlementaire le 4 juillet 2008. Cet article propose un retour sur ces événements mémorables de l'été. 

L'Assemblée parlementaire de la Francophonie (APF) est un lieu de débats, de propositions et d'échanges d'informations. En tant qu'Assemblée consultative de la Francophonie, l'APF se voulait à l'origine le reflet et le témoin du pluralisme culturel des peuples francophones. Aujourd'hui, son action vise également à promouvoir et à défendre la démocratie, l'État de droit, le respect des droits de la personne, le rayonnement international de la langue française et la diversité culturelle. L'APF est composée de 77 parlements et organisations interparlementaires constitués en sections. Celles-ci se réunissent annuellement en Assemblée plénière pour débattre de sujets qui importent aux citoyens et aux parlementaires francophones. L'APF fixe habituellement son ordre du jour en tenant compte des priorités établies lors des Sommets des Chefs d'État et de gouvernement de la Francophonie. En l'occurrence, le débat général portait sur le thème de L'environnement et le développement des sociétés, l'un des enjeux au programme du Sommet de la Francophonie de 2008. 

Les travaux de la XXXIVe Session se sont déroulés sous la présidence de M. Guy Nzouba Ndama, président de l'Assemblée nationale du Gabon et président de l'APF. Dans le cadre de la séance solennelle d'ouverture, le secrétaire général de l'Organisation internationale de la Francophonie (OIF), M. Abdou Diouf, a notamment qualifié Québec de « symbole flamboyant de la présence francophone en Amérique du Nord »1 et a remercié l'APF de contribuer à alimenter la réflexion et étayer les actions de la Francophonie dans « un combat commun au service de la langue française, de la diversité linguistique et culturelle, de la solidarité et du développement, de la démocratie, des droits de l'Homme et de la paix »2. Le secrétaire général a ensuite, comme le veut l'usage, livré son rapport annuel des activités de la Francophonie et répondu aux questions des parlementaires. 

À l'occasion de l'ouverture du débat général sur L'environnement et le développement des sociétés, M. Steven Guilbault, cofondateur de l'organisme québécois Équiterre, a livré, à titre d'expert invité, un discours de sensibilisation au développement durable. Une résolution sur ce thème, proposée par la Commission de la coopération et du développement, a ensuite été adoptée par l'Assemblée plénière. Cette résolution encourage les États et les gouvernements membres de la Francophonie à ratifier et à faire appliquer sans délai les conventions et les accords internationaux portant sur la protection de l'environnement, à intégrer le concept de développement durable dans leurs législations, voire dans leur constitution, à travailler de façon multilatérale et multidimensionnelle à réduire les émissions de gaz à effets de serre, à se pencher sur le développement des énergies renouvelables ainsi qu'à intensifier la lutte contre la désertification et la déforestation, notamment dans les régions tropicales. L'APF demande également à l'OIF d'allouer davantage de ressources financières à l'accroissement des capacités institutionnelles des États de la Francophonie pour l'élaboration et la mise en œuvre des stratégies nationales de développement durable.

D'autres thèmes d'actualité ont également été abordés au cours de la Session plénière. Le président de l'Assemblée nationale du Sénégal, M. Macky Sall, est notamment intervenu sur la Crise alimentaire et la cherté de la vie, sujet qui a suscité de nombreux échanges entre les parlementaires et a conduit à une résolution demandant l'augmentation de l'aide alimentaire provenant du Programme alimentaire mondial, des États bailleurs de fonds et de la communauté internationale. Face à l'actuelle flambée des prix des produits alimentaires et aux conséquences sociales, politiques et internationales qui en découlent, l'Assemblée a également invité l'OIF à tenir un débat d'urgence sur ces enjeux lors du prochain Sommet de la Francophonie. 

L'impasse dans laquelle se trouvent plongées les négociations commerciales multilatérales de l'Organisation mondiale du commerce (OMC) a également fait l'objet d'une résolution proposée par la section du Québec à la Commission de la coopération et du développement. Cette résolution appelle à une relance du processus de Doha dans un esprit de compromis pour un commerce libre et plus équitable, dans le respect des contraintes des pays en développement et des pays moins avancés. 

En outre, les participants ont également adopté une résolution sur l'avenir de TV5 monde, dans laquelle ils saluent l'accord garantissant le caractère multilatéral de la chaîne francophone et recommandent aux États membres de la soutenir en tant qu'institution phare de la Francophonie, en raison de son rôle central dans l'expression de la diversité culturelle. 

Soulignons enfin que dans l'exercice de son rôle de vigie de la démocratie dans l'espace francophone, l'APF examine rigoureusement la situation de certains pays fragilisés par diverses formes de crises politiques. Cette année, sur proposition de la Commission politique, elle a notamment condamné les attentats commis à l'encontre de parlementaires au Burundi et au Liban ainsi que les actes de violence perpétrés contre la population civile au Liban, en Mauritanie, en Palestine et en République démocratique du Congo (RDC). L'Assemblée a également souhaité l'envoi d'une mission d'information au Burundi et d'une mission d'évaluation au Tchad et en République centrafricaine (en collaboration avec l'OIF). De plus, les parlementaires proposent à l'OIF de s'engager dans les prochaines étapes de la consolidation des institutions et du processus de paix en RDC et de poursuivre son soutien à la transition en cours en Côte d'Ivoire. 

Autres réunions 

Le Bureau, organe exécutif de l'APF qui contrôle la mise en œuvre des décisions de l'Assemblée plénière, s'est réuni à Québec le 2 juillet dernier avec l'objectif de dresser le bilan de la dernière année et discuter des orientations futures de l'APF, surtout à l'égard des travaux des commissions et des divers programmes de l'organisation. 

L'APF mène également un important travail de réflexion dans ses quatre commissions permanentes, soit la Commission des affaires parlementaires (CAP), la Commission de la coopération et du développement (CCD), la Commission politique (CP) et la Commission de l'éducation, de la communication et des affaires culturelles (CECAC). L'Assemblée se prononce sur la base des rapports de ces commissions. Outre les thèmes ayant fait l'objet de résolutions adoptées en séance plénière, les commissions se sont penchées sur des thèmes aussi variés que l'accès à l'information parlementaire pour les citoyens et la vie des assemblées dans l'espace francophone (CAP), l'agriculture dans l'espace francophone et la contribution de la Francophonie à l'adoption de stratégies nationales de développement durable (CCD), l'application de la Déclaration de Bamako (CP), la diversité culturelle et la lutte contre le VIH/SIDA (CECAC). 

Enfin, le Réseau des femmes parlementaires travaille à promouvoir une meilleure participation des femmes à la vie politique, économique, sociale et culturelle et à renforcer la place et le rôle des femmes dans les parlements membres et dans les organisations internationales. Lors de la réunion de Québec, le Réseau, créé en 2002 à l'initiative des sections du Québec et du Canada, a abordé les thèmes des droits de l'enfant, de la situation des femmes réfugiées et de la traite des personnes. 

D'ailleurs, en réaction à la libération de la franco-colombienne Ingrid Bétancourt le 4 juillet 2008, les femmes parlementaires ont composé une déclaration dans laquelle elles se réjouissent de la libération de l'ancienne sénatrice et expriment leur soutien aux otages détenus par les FARC en Colombie ainsi qu'à tous les autres otages retenus ailleurs dans le monde, en particulier les femmes et les enfants. Cette déclaration a ensuite été reprise par la Commission politique pour être finalement adoptée à l'Assemblée plénière. 

Résolution sur les Jeux olympiques de Vancouver 

L'APF compte quatre grandes régions : Afrique, Amérique, Asie-Pacifique et Europe. La région Amérique, dont le secrétariat est hébergé par l'Assemblée nationale du Québec, a tenu sa XXIVe Session quelques jours avant celle de l'APF, soit les 1er et 2 juillet 2008. Une soixantaine de parlementaires provenant des assemblées législatives de l'Alberta, du Canada, de la Colombie-Britannique, de l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard, de la Louisiane, du Maine, du Manitoba, du Nouveau-Brunswick, de la Nouvelle-Écosse, de l'Ontario, de la Saskatchewan et du Québec ont débattu de la conservation du patrimoine (section du Québec), des parlements jeunesse francophones (section de l'Ontario) et de la dualité linguistique lors des Jeux olympiques et paralympiques de Vancouver en 2010 (section du Canada). 

Le thème de la dualité linguistique a fait l'objet d'une résolution dans laquelle la région Amérique recommande à l'OIF d'instituer un poste de Grand Témoin de la Francophonie d'Amérique pour les Jeux, dont le mandat serait de sensibiliser le Comité organisateur des Jeux olympiques et paralympiques de Vancouver au respect du statut officiel de la langue française, conformément à la règle 24 de la Charte olympique. En outre, les parlementaires rappellent au réseau Globemedia son engagement à assurer une télédiffusion des Jeux en français, de façon complète et accessible. La région Amérique de l'APF a transmis la résolution au Comité organisateur des Jeux olympiques et paralympiques de Vancouver 2010 ainsi qu'aux nombreuses autorités publiques qui y sont associées, entre autres, les gouvernements de la Colombie-Britannique et du Canada. 

Renforcement de la démocratie parlementaire 

À l'instigation du président de l'Assemblée nationale du Québec s'est concrétisée l'idée de faire revivre l'expérience des Conférences des présidents d'Assemblée parlementaire de la Francophonie, dont la dernière édition datait de 1995. Les présidents et les vice-présidents de 45 parlements de la Francophonie se sont réunis le 4 juillet 2008 à la salle de l'Assemblée nationale pour échanger sur leur rôle et sur les moyens à leur disposition pour renforcer la démocratie parlementaire au sein de leur assemblée respective. Après l'exposé de M. Louis Massicotte, titulaire de la nouvelle Chaire de recherche sur la démocratie et les institutions parlementaires de l'Université Laval, les présidents d'assemblée présents ont pris la parole et ont échangé leur point de vue sur les moyens à mettre en œuvre pour améliorer l'efficacité des institutions démocratiques. Ils se sont également penchés sur l'importance de la participation des citoyens à la vie politique. 

À l'issue de cette journée, une déclaration finale a été adoptée à l'unanimité prônant un renforcement des pratiques démocratiques et misant sur la revalorisation du rôle du parlementaire. Les présidents et vice-présidents d'assemblée parlementaire entendent encourager une participation accrue des citoyens, en particulier les femmes et les jeunes, grâce à une meilleure sensibilisation au rôle et au fonctionnement des assemblées législatives et à l'ouverture des portes de toutes les enceintes parlementaires au public. De plus, ils s'engagent à prendre les mesures requises pour renforcer les capacités des assemblées à adopter les lois et à contrôler le budget et les actes des gouvernements dans l'intérêt des populations. Ils ont d'ailleurs réitéré l'importance de renforcer les compétences essentielles au meilleur exercice de leur rôle de président et, à cet égard, se sont engagés à favoriser les échanges entre eux afin de consolider la démocratie dans toute l'aire francophone. 

Le XIIe Sommet de la Francophonie 

Dans le monde entier, environ 200 millions de personnes parlent français. En nombre de locuteurs, les francophones se situent au 9e rang mondial des communautés linguistiques. Les activités de juillet gravitaient autour de cet axe central qu'est la langue française. La ville de Québec, dans la célébration de ses 400 ans d'histoire, constituait un endroit de choix pour tenir ces rassemblements, d'autant plus qu'elle a accueilli, du 17 au 19 octobre 2008, le XIIe Sommet des Chefs d'État et de gouvernement des pays ayant le français en partage, mieux connu sous le nom de Sommet de la Francophonie. 

Le Sommet de la Francophonie a traité cette année des enjeux suivants : la démocratie et l'État de droit; la gouvernance économique; l'environnement et la langue française. À titre d'Assemblée consultative de la Francophonie, l'APF a adopté en juillet un Avis destiné aux chefs d'État et de gouvernement de l'espace francophone que son président, M. Guy Nzouba Ndama, transmettra lors du Sommet. Cet Avis incluait les textes adoptés lors de l'Assemblée plénière de l'APF ainsi que le suivi des plans d'action adoptés antérieurement par l'organisation. 

En ce qui concerne l'Assemblée nationale du Québec, l'accueil de parlementaires et de présidents d'assemblée législative fût des plus enrichissants pour nos députés et pour l'institution. Les nombreux échanges ont permis aux parlementaires de découvrir ou redécouvrir l'espace francophone et de créer des liens solides avec leurs pairs. Notre institution a profité d'une opportunité exceptionnelle pour se positionner au cœur de la Francophonie parlementaire. 

Notes 

1. Discours de SE M. Abdou Diouf, secrétaire général de la Francophonie, XXXIVe Session de l'APF, Québec (Québec) 4 - 7 juillet 2008. 

2. Discours de SE M. Abdou Diouf, secrétaire général de la Francophonie, XXXIVe Session de l'APF, Québec (Québec) 4 - 7 juillet 2008. 


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 31 no 4
2008






Dernière mise à jour : 2019-11-29