Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

Search
HomeContact UsFrançais

PDF
An Aboriginal Assembly
Hon. Aurélien Gill

On May 7, 2008 a private member’s bill was introduced in the Senate to establish an aboriginal assembly as a third chamber of Parliament along with the Senate and the House of Commons. The following is an abridged version of the speech by the sponsor of the Bill. 

Having grown up on the Pointe-Bleue Reserve of the Lac-Saint-Jean area, I have always been very sensitive to the fate of our people. 

All my life, I fought for Aboriginal causes. All my life, I saw the ravages of dependence. It is clear that the Canadian government will not forever be able to fulfill the fiduciary obligations it took on in the 19th century. We have said it 100 times, 1,000 times, and we will say it again: the Indian Act is an anomaly. The Department of Indian Affairs is an anomaly. It is important and urgent to break the bonds of this trusteeship. 

This paternalistic system, symbolized by the Indian Act and the department responsible for its enforcement, has shown its limitations. It is time to think about a system that gets Aboriginals involved in the management of this country’s affairs, especially in affairs that concern them. 

It is urgent that we move forward, and do what has been recommended in all the sensitive and intelligent reports, including the one from the Royal Commission on Aboriginal Peoples, which is to make Aboriginals more responsible. 

How do we do that? We must do so slowly, and first create a framework that gives Aboriginals the opportunity to properly participate in this country’s decision-making process. Such a structure would recognize the interests, cultures and values of our peoples and give them the opportunity to consider any issues that are vitally important to First Nations, Metis and Inuit peoples. For Aboriginals, this institutional framework would represent an opportunity to officially organize and express their concerns. 

I am essentially proposing a responsible political body and a real representative assembly. It is something that has been tried elsewhere, albeit with limited powers, for example, in Norway and Finland. 

Some might find the approach I am suggesting somewhat risky. Others might even see it as a dangerous novelty. Yet there is nothing new about the idea itself; it is a very old idea that has been considered many times, in various forms, and it would be unfair not to highlight those here. 

History of the Idea 

In its final report dated November 21, 1993, the Royal Commission on Aboriginal Peoples recommended the passage of an Aboriginal Parliament Act to establish a representative body of Aboriginal peoples that would evolve into a House of First Peoples and become part of Parliament. The idea of a third chamber was put forward during the round of constitutional negotiations that terminated in the Charlottetown Accord

As early as 1918, some of our great leaders came up with the idea of an Aboriginal government in Canada and one who comes to mind was the Iroquois leader Frederick Ogilvie Loft. He was a remarkable man. He was not a radical without any personal resources. He held a university degree. He served in the army during the war and could have been prime minister of Canada, for he had the political skills. 

He definitely wanted to break the vicious circle of dependence and guardianship. Because of his actions, people tried to discourage him. Political meetings were banned on reserves and the Indian Act was amended in order to make it illegal for Aboriginals to raise any funds to finance the First Nations’ cause. 

The government of the day went even further in its battle against the affirmation of Aboriginal rights. It prohibited Aboriginals from having recourse to lawyers or pursuing any legal action against the Indian agencies’ abuses of power. Loft persevered, in spite of everything. He objected to the Oliver Act, which authorized the sale of Indian lands to give non-Indian veterans a place to settle. With the help of others, Loft managed to establish the League of Indians of Ontario, as well as similar leagues in Manitoba, Saskatchewan and Alberta. 

Following the lead of the Iroquois, Deskaheh, also known as Levi General, Loft went to Geneva in 1921 to ask the League of Nations to recognize the sovereignty of the Six Nations Confederacy. Loft was talking about sovereign nations. He spoke to kings. He was part of the tradition of the great Amerindian leaders of the past. 

Despite the government of the time with its deaf ears and its unfair and humiliating strategies, the movement continued on from 1930 until 1980. Modern-day Canadians know nothing of this important struggle. It may be difficult to say and hear all these things, but it must be done because history is lacking in details about these events. 

In 1943, Andrew Paull, from the Squamish Nation in British Columbia and a number of leaders, including Huron Gilles Sioui and Algonquin Willie Commanda, organized a national conference that led to the creation of the National Indian Brotherhood. This brotherhood grew as other leaders joined in the 1960s and was followed by the creation of various provincial First Nations associations. This brotherhood became the Assembly of First Nations. 

Aboriginal peoples are hardly newcomers to politics. Our nation was sovereign. Some of our political leaders of yesterday were legendary. They had difficult decisions to make. They had to deal directly with the Crown of France and the Crown of England. 

At major turning points in history, some of them rose to take a stand and left their legacies. The mighty Chief Pontiac of the Ottawa nation, faced with the turmoil of the wars between France and England for possession of America, called for the First Nations to unite. That was in 1760. Tecumseh, of the Shawnee nation, did the same in a compelling speech in 1812. In the new world, he said, Indians must unite and speak with one voice in order to find a place on the political map between the Americans and the Canadians. Naturally, no one listened to them. 

I do not wish to retell the whole story for you; I simply want it to be clearer and I want us to remember that these efforts are the continuation of past efforts. All these remarkable individuals since Loft have continually called for responsibility and political authority for Aboriginal peoples. 

We have been calling for a better world and proving that we are going nowhere for quite some time. The political conscience of Aboriginal leaders is not newly found; it has always existed, but their voices were smothered and were not heard. 

You know as well as I do how the Americans dealt with Indians between 1830 and 1890 — with brutality, meanness and without respect. Canada was definitely less brutal, but were the results any different? Indian lands disappeared, natural resources were put under government trusteeship, reserves were established, treaties were not respected, the administration was unfair and fraudulent, powers were abused and our most fundamental rights were violated. 

The 20th century will remain a dismal period in the history of the rights of Aboriginal peoples in Canada. What happened to the First Nations? They were broken, they became bands isolated from one another, administrative units in trusteeship, subjects dependent upon the federal government. We should consider the dead end we are in as a true tragedy because it has led to an unacceptable social situation in terms of health, education and the economy as demonstrated by year after year of family and community crises. 

Those of us who have been deprived of our rights as citizens and persons, who have been legally marginalized in Canada, have a lot of ground to make up. We only obtained the right to vote in 1960, four years after I had graduated from university. For four years I had been paying taxes and had a job as a teacher and school principal. 

Despite all these inconsistencies, we are still here. Even more incredible is the fact that we have played an active role in history, for the benefit of Canada. Our people went to war in 1914 and 1939, and a number of them gave their lives. Some were military heroes. 

I am thinking of major figures such as Francis Pegamagabow, an Ojibwa who was awarded several medals during the First World War. I am also thinking of Joe Kurtness, my next-door neighbour in my community of Mashteuiatsh. Were these people recognized? No. They were humiliated when they came back and they were forgotten. Most of them were excluded from veterans’ assistance programs. 

It is now 2008 and the situation persists. Every now and then, Canadians become aware of tragedies that are reported on the national news in the context of horror stories such as the suicide rate in isolated communities, third world conditions prevailing in Canada, public health issues, and so on. There is never anything positive. It is always about unpleasant situations and bad surprises. 

We will never get beyond this situation until we have full control over our own affairs. We have the political know-how to govern ourselves. 

Provisions of the Bill 

The main purpose of the legislation that I am submitting is to establish an assembly for Aboriginal peoples, which would be located in Ottawa. 

The assembly, which will group together the representatives of the Aboriginal peoples of Canada, will be split into three separate chambers for the First Nations, Inuit and Metis members. French and English will be among the official languages of the assembly. 

The number of members is to be determined by the assembly. However, that number shall not exceed the maximum number of members of the Senate. The assembly will have the power to determine the method of selection of its members and their terms of office. 

The privileges and immunities of the assembly’s members will be similar to those enjoyed by the members of the Senate of Canada. The remuneration of the members will not exceed the amounts paid to senators. 

The general mandate of the assembly is primarily to deliberate on the affairs of Aboriginal peoples. The assembly may, among other things, investigate matters, deliberate and adopt resolutions concerning constitutional issues relating to Aboriginal peoples and persons in Canada. 

The bill provides that the assembly may consider, concurrently with the Senate and the House of Commons, any motion or bill to amend the Constitution of Canada. 

The Senate or House of Commons may transmit such a motion or bill to the assembly for its consideration. 

Clearly, nothing in this bill derogates from any authority of the Queen, Parliament or the Government of Canada or the legislative assembly or government of a province or territory. 

The assembly’s authority extends to government spending as it relates to Aboriginal peoples; Aboriginal rights, treaty rights and land issues in Canada; the law governing Aboriginal peoples and Aboriginal persons in Canada; and Aboriginal identity, education, language, tradition, culture and social life. The assembly will also be able to consider matters that it accepts to have referred to it by Aboriginal organizations. 

The assembly will redraw the geopolitical map of the First Nations. It will have to set regulations for membership and address the Metis issue and Inuit reunification. It will have to deal with lands, resources, wealth creation, the tax base, relations with the government, health, education and culture. 

The wording of the bill included more details in this regard about the future responsibility of the Assembly of First Nations of Canada. 

The assembly will establish a committee to help it manage its internal governance and it will also establish a secretariat, including a clerk of the assembly, a law clerk and a parliamentary adviser. The mandate of the Auditor General of Canada will also extend to the assembly. 

In order to establish this permanent assembly, the bill provides for the creation of a provisional assembly for a term of two years or less and, consisting of Aboriginal peoples summoned by the Governor General by instrument under the Great Seal of Canada. 

Prior to persons being recommended for summoning to the provisional assembly, the Governor-in-Council, in consultation with the First Nations, Inuit and Metis, shall summon between seven and fifteen persons to sit on the committee responsible for establishing the provisional assembly. 

The committee will be under the direction of the Speaker of the House of Commons, the Speaker of the Senate, and a member of the Indigenous Bar Association in Canada and they will be in charge of selecting Aboriginal peoples based on certain demographic and geographic criteria, in consultation with the associations of the First Nations, the Inuit and the Metis. The provisional assembly will facilitate the creation and meeting of the assembly of Aboriginal peoples. 

The bill provides for the establishment of an executive council within the permanent assembly, whose mandate will be to exercise the executive functions assigned to it by the assembly. There will be seven members, including one chair and three members elected by the assembly. The other members will be designated by each of the chambers of the assembly. 

It seems imperative to me that the federal government machinery now dedicated to Aboriginal affairs and the government’s budgetary resources in the other departments be fully monitored by a duly created Aboriginal political body. 

To that end, I propose in the bill that one year after this assembly of Aboriginal peoples is set up, the government, together with the assembly, introduce legislation to wind up the activities of the Department of Indian Affairs. 

Conclusion 

This representative assembly is a first step, but without it, nothing will ever happen. Aboriginals must take their place in Canada’s political landscape. The 1982 Constitution recognizes us as peoples. It recognizes that we have rights. Therefore, it is time to take action and do what is needed to enable the Aboriginal peoples to take charge of their futures. 

It should be noted that this Assembly of the Aboriginal Peoples of Canada is not meant to replace the self-government measures taken by various nations. It is simply an institution to complement all the measures taken a few years ago in our communities to achieve self-government. 

I want to help eliminate the current conditions. There are over 600 isolated and vulnerable band councils, Aboriginal groups that have no economic, legal or political power; and there is a lack of commitment from the federal and provincial governments to change or improve the situation. 

I ask you to take a close look at the bill I have presented. See what be a great step forward it would be. Consider the positive long-term effects. This bill would give Canada something it should have had years ago, a place dedicated to managing Aboriginal affairs. 

Aboriginal peoples will have a lot of work to do. We will have to unite and learn to work together. We will have to rediscover ourselves. We will have to make a real effort. But who would oppose that? 

How can we be anything less than passionate about this, when this concerns the future of our many children, their education, their health, their environment, their pride, their culture and their identity? 

Canada is incomplete, a house lacking some important parts of its foundation. One of the missing pieces is the assembly I have proposed. This country will never be complete as long as Aboriginal peoples do not have a place in its political architecture. Simply acknowledging that Aboriginal peoples have played a major role in founding this country would go a long way toward resolving numerous disputes. If we correct this mistake, we will be able to pursue our development on the basis of historical truth. 

This new House must be created, and it must be given the time and means necessary to establish itself. This implementation will take place in stages and many problems will be worked out as they come up. I have confidence in our leaders. As everyone knows, there are a number of complex problems. It will take decades to solve them and it will not be an easy path. It will be fraught with obstacles, but at least it will be a path, and above all, it will be our path. 


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 31 no 3
2008






Last Updated: 2020-03-03

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

Recherche
AccueilContactez-nousEnglish

PDF
Une Assemblée des Peuples autochtones du Canada
L'hon. Aurélien Gill

Le 7 mai 2008, un projet de loi d’initiative parlementaire a été déposé au Sénat pour constituer une assemblée des Peuples autochtones à titre de troisième chambre du Parlement, aux côtés du Sénat et de la Chambre des communes. Le présent article est une version abrégée du discours du parrain du texte. 

Comme j’ai grandi dans la réserve de Pointe-Bleue, dans la région du lac Saint-Jean, j’ai toujours été très sensible au sort de notre peuple tout au long de l’histoire et aujourd’hui encore. 

Toute ma vie, j’ai fait la promotion de la cause amérindienne. Toute ma vie, j’ai vu les ravages de la dépendance. J’ai pu constater que le gouvernement canadien ne pourra pas éternellement porter à bout de bras les obligations fiduciaires qu’il s’est données au XIXe siècle. Nous l’avons dit 100 fois, 1 000 fois et il faut bien le redire, la Loi sur les Indiens est une anomalie. Le ministère des Affaires indiennes est une anomalie. Il est urgent et impératif de briser le mur de la tutelle. 

Ce système paternaliste, symbolisé par la Loi sur les Indiens et le ministère responsable de son application, a montré ses limites. Il est temps de réfléchir à une formule qui implique les Autochtones dans la gestion des affaires de ce pays, notamment celles qui les concernent. 

Il est urgent de passer à une autre étape, que tous les rapports sensibles et intelligents, notamment celui de la Commission royale sur les peuples autochtones, n’arrêtent pas de recommander, c’est-à- dire une responsabilisation accrue des Autochtones. 

Mais comment faire, me direz-vous? Il faut progresser par étapes et d’abord créer un cadre qui donne aux Autochtones la possibilité de participer adéquatement au processus décisionnel de ce pays. Une telle structure reconnaîtrait les intérêts, les cultures et les valeurs de nos peuples tout en leur permettant de se pencher sur toute question revêtant une importance critique pour les Premières nations, les Métis et les Inuits. Ce cadre institutionnel représenterait pour les peuples autochtones un lieu au sein duquel ils pourraient s’organiser et exprimer leurs préoccupations de façon officielle. 

Essentiellement, c’est ce que je propose : un corps politique responsable et une véritable assemblée représentative. C’est une expérience qui a été tentée ailleurs, certes avec des pouvoirs limités : je veux parler des parlements samis en Norvège et en Finlande. 

Certains pourraient trouver risquée cette direction que je suggère. D’autres pourraient même y voir une dangereuse nouveauté. Pourtant, cette idée n’a rien de nouveau en soi. C’est une très vieille idée soumise à maintes reprises, sous différentes formes, et je serais injuste de ne pas le souligner. 

Dans son rapport final du 21 novembre 1993, la Commission royale sur les peuples autochtones avait recommandé l’adoption d’une loi sur le Parlement autochtone afin d’établir un organe représentatif des peuples autochtones qui deviendrait une chambre des Premières nations et qui ferait partie du Parlement. 

L’idée d’une troisième chambre a été présentée durant les négociations constitutionnelles qui ont pris fin avec l’accord de Charlottetown. 

Historique de l’idée 

Déjà, en 1918, certains de nos grands leaders ont ébauché l’idée d’un gouvernement autochtone au Canada : je pense notamment à l’Iroquois Frederick Ogilvie Loft. C’était un homme remarquable. Ce n’était pas un excité sans ressources, car il possédait un diplôme universitaire. Il avait servi dans l’armée durant la guerre et il aurait bien pu être premier ministre du Canada, car il avait les compétences politiques nécessaires. 

En définitive, il voulait briser le cercle infernal de la dépendance et de la tutelle. Par suite de ses actions, on a voulu le décourager et on a interdit les réunions politiques dans les réserves et, le cas échéant, on a modifié la Loi sur les Indiens afin de rendre illégale toute collecte de fonds par les Indiens pour financer la cause amérindienne. 

Le gouvernement de l’époque est même allé plus loin dans sa lutte contre l’affirmation de nos droits. Il a interdit le recours à des avocats pour permettre aux Premières nations d’entreprendre des recours contre les abus de pouvoir des agences indiennes. Malgré tout, Loft a poursuivi son action. Il s’est opposé à la loi Oliver, qui autorisait la vente des terres indiennes pour établir des anciens combattants non indiens. Loft parvint, avec d’autres, à mettre sur pied la Ligue des Indiens de l’Ontario ainsi que des ligues semblables au Manitoba, en Saskatchewan et en Alberta. 

À l’instar d’autres Iroquois, Deskaheh, Levi General, s’est rendu à Genève en 1921 pour obtenir la reconnaissance de la souveraineté de la Confédération des Six Nations par la Société des nations. Loft, quant à lui, parlait de nations souveraines. Il s’adressait à des Couronnes. Il s’inscrivait dans la tradition des anciens grands leaders amérindiens dans l’histoire. 

Malgré la sourde oreille et les stratégies déloyales et humiliantes du gouvernement du temps, le mouvement s’est poursuivi de 1930 à 1980. Les Canadiens d’aujourd’hui ignorent tout de cette lutte importante. Il est peut-être difficile de dire et d’entendre toutes ces choses, mais il faut bien le faire, car l’histoire est avare de détails sur cette réalité. 

En 1943, Andrew Paull, de la nation Squamish, en Colombie- Britannique, et un bon nombre de leaders, dont le Huron Gilles Sioui, l’Algonquin Willie Commanda et d’autres, ont organisé une conférence nationale qui fut à l’origine de la Fraternité nationale des Indiens. Cette fraternité a grandi grâce à la participation d’autres leaders au cours des années 1960 et a été suivie par la création de différentes associations des Premières nations au niveau des provinces. Cette fraternité est devenue l’Assemblée des Premières nations. 

Les Autochtones ne sont pas de nouveaux venus dans le monde de la politique. Nous étions souverains. Certains de nos dirigeants politiques d’autrefois étaient légendaires. Ils ont dû prendre des décisions difficiles. Ils ont dû traiter directement avec la couronne de France et la couronne d’Angleterre. 

Aux grands tournants de l’histoire, certains se sont levés et ont pris parti. Ils nous ont laissé des héritages : le grand Pontiac de la nation Ottawa, devant le tumulte des guerres entre la France et l’Angleterre pour la possession de l’Amérique, en a appelé à l’union des Premières nations. C’était en 1760. Tecumseh, de la nation Chouanon (Shawnee), a fait de même en 1812 dans un discours d’une grande force. Face au Nouveau Monde, disait-il, les Indiens doivent s’unir et parler d’une seule voix afin de trouver une place sur la carte politique entre les Américains et les Canadiens. Bien sûr, ils n’ont été entendus par personne. 

Je ne veux pas refaire l’histoire devant vous, je veux seulement qu’elle soit davantage transparente pour nous rappeler que ces démarches sont la continuité des démarches anciennes. Tous ces gens remarquables, depuis Loft, ont constamment réclamé la responsabilité et l’autorité politiques des Autochtones. 

La revendication d’un monde meilleur, la démonstration que nous n’allons nulle part ne remontent pas à aujourd’hui. En fait, la conscience politique des leaders autochtones n’est pas nouvelle, elle s’est toujours maintenue, mais leurs voix ont été étouffées ou n’ont pas été entendues. 

Vous savez comme moi comment les Américains ont abordé la question des Indiens, entre 1830 et 1890. Brutalement, méchamment, sans égard. Le Canada fut moins brutal, certes, mais les résultats furent-ils si différents? Disparition des terres indiennes et des ressources naturelles mises sous tutelle, établissement des réserves, non-respect des traités, administration injuste et frauduleuse, abus de pouvoir et non-respect de nos droits les plus élémentaires. 

Le XXe siècle restera dans l’histoire comme un cauchemar en ce qui touche les droits des droits des Autochtones au Canada. Que sont devenues les Premières nations? Elles ont été brisées, elles sont devenues des bandes isolées les unes des autres, des unités administratives sous tutelle, des sujets à la charge du gouvernement fédéral. Il faut considérer comme une authentique tragédie le cul-de-sac dans lequel nous nous trouvons, car il engendre une situation sociale inacceptable dans les domaines de la santé, de l’éducation et de l’économie, comme le prouvent année après année les drames familiaux et communautaires. 

Nous revenons de loin, nous qui avons été privés de nos droits de citoyens et de personnes, qui avons légalement été repoussés en marge de la vie canadienne. Vous savez que nous n’avons acquis le droit de vote qu’en 1960. Il y avait déjà quatre ans que j’étais sorti de l’université avec un diplôme en poche. Il y avait aussi déjà quatre ans que je payais des impôts et que l’on m’avait confié un poste d’enseignant et de directeur d’école. 

Malgré toutes ces inconsistances, nous sommes toujours là, et, plus incroyable encore, nous avons été actifs dans l’histoire pour le bénéfice du Canada. Les nôtres ont fait la guerre en 1914 et en 1939, et plusieurs y ont laissé leur vie. Certains ont été des héros militaires. 

Je pense à de grandes personnalités comme Francis Pegamagabow, un Ojibway qui a remporté plusieurs médailles durant la Première Guerre mondiale. Je pense également à Joe Kurtness, mon voisin immédiat dans ma communauté de Mashteuiatsh. Ont-ils été reconnus? Non, ils ont été oubliés, humiliés à leur retour. Ils furent, pour la plupart, exclus des programmes d’aide aux anciens combattants. 

Nous voici en 2008, et la situation perdure. De temps à autre, au hasard des informations nationales, les Canadiens découvrent des tragédies par le biais d’histoires d’horreur : taux de suicide dans les communautés isolées, tiers-monde à l’intérieur du Canada, problèmes de santé publique, et cetera. Il n’y a jamais d’image positive. Ce sont toujours des images et des surprises désagréables. 

Nous ne pourrons pas passer à autre chose tant que nous n’aurons pas le plein contrôle de nos propres affaires. Nous avons le savoir-faire politique nécessaire pour nous gouverner. 

Objectifs du projet de loi 

L’objectif principal du projet de loi que je soumets à votre attention aujourd’hui est de créer une assemblée des Peuples autochtones, dont le siège sera à Ottawa. 

L’assemblée, qui réunira les représentants des peuples autochtones du Canada, sera elle-même subdivisée en trois chambres : une chambre de Premières nations, une chambre des Métis et une chambre des Inuits. Le français et l’anglais feront partie des langues officielles de l’assemblée. 

Le nombre de membres doit être déterminé par l’assemblée. Ce nombre ne doit toutefois pas dépasser le nombre normal de sièges au Sénat. L’assemblée aura le pouvoir de décider de la méthode de sélection de ses membres et de la durée de leur mandat. 

Les privilèges et les immunités des membres de l’assemblée seront similaires à ceux que possèdent les sénateurs du Canada. La rémunération des membres ne devra pas non plus être supérieure à celle versée aux membres du Sénat. 

Le mandat général de l’assemblée sera surtout de délibérer des affaires des peuples autochtones. L’assemblée pourra, entre autres, mener des enquêtes, délibérer et adopter des résolutions sur des questions constitutionnelles ayant trait aux peuples et aux personnes autochtones du Canada. 

Le texte prévoit que l’assemblée puisse étudier, en parallèle avec le Sénat et la Chambre des communes, toute motion ou tel projet de loi visant à modifier la Constitution du Canada. 

Le Sénat ou la Chambre des communes devraient remettre à l’assemblée, pour examen, une telle motion ou un tel projet de loi. 

Évidemment, ce projet de loi n’a pas pour effet de porter atteinte aux pouvoirs de Sa Majesté, du Parlement ou du gouvernement du Canada ou de l’assemblée législative, ou du gouvernement d’une province ou d’un territoire. 

La compétence de l’assemblée s’étend également aux dépenses gouvernementales liées aux affaires des peuples autochtones, aux droits ancestraux, aux droits issus de traités et aux revendications territoriales au Canada, au droit régissant les peuples et les personnes autochtones au Canada, à l’identité, à l’éducation, à la langue, à la tradition, à la culture et à la vie sociale autochtones. Il sera aussi possible d’étudier les questions que l’assemblée acceptera de recevoir des entités autochtones. 

L’assemblée devra reconstituer la carte géopolitique des Premières nations. Elle devra réglementer l’appartenance, s’attaquer de fait à la question métisse, à la réunion des Inuits. Elle devra s’occuper des terres, des ressources, de la création de la richesse, de l’assiette fiscale, des relations avec le gouvernement, de la santé, de l’éducation et de la culture. 

Le libellé du projet de loi comprend plus de détails à cet égard en ce qui a trait à la responsabilité future de l’Assemblée des Premières Nations du Canada. 

L’assemblée établira un comité chargé de l’aider à gérer ses affaires internes et elle constituera également un secrétariat, dont feront partie un greffier, un juriste et un conseiller parlementaire. Le mandat du vérificateur général du Canada sera étendu à l’assemblée. 

Pour mettre en place cette assemblée permanente, il est prévu dans le projet de loi de créer une assemblée provisoire d’une durée de vie de deux ans au plus, qui sera composée de personnes autochtones nommées par le gouverneur général par acte revêtu du Grand Sceau du Canada. 

Préalablement à la recommandation des personnes pouvant être nommées à l’assemblée provisoire, le gouverneur en conseil, en consultation avec les Premières nations, les Inuits et les Métis, nommera de 7 à 15 personnes au sein du comité chargé de mettre en place cette assemblée provisoire. 

Ce comité sera sous la direction du président de la Chambre des communes, du président du Sénat et d’un membre du Barreau autochtone canadien, qui seront chargés de sélectionner les personnes autochtones selon certains critères démographiques et géographiques, toujours en consultation avec les associations des Premières nations, des Inuits et des Métis. 

L’assemblée provisoire doit faciliter la création et la réunion de l’Assemblée des Peuples autochtones. 

Le projet de loi prévoit la constitution, au sein de l’assemblée permanente, d’un conseil exécutif, dont le mandat sera d’exercer des fonctions exécutives déléguées par l’assemblée. Les membres seront au nombre de sept, soit un président et trois membres élus par l’assemblée et d’autres membres désignés par chacune des Chambres qui composent celle-ci. 

Il m’apparaît impératif que l’appareil gouvernemental fédéral consacré aux affaires autochtones et les ressources budgétaires gouvernementales des autres ministères passent sous le contrôle entier d’un corps politique autochtone dûment constitué. 

Je propose à cet effet dans le projet de loi que le gouvernement, un an après la création de cette assemblée des Peuples autochtones, propose, en collaboration avec ladite assemblée, une loi sur la cessation des activités du ministère des Affaires indiennes. 

Conclusion 

Cette assemblée représentative constitue l’étape première sans laquelle rien ne se fera jamais. Les Autochtones doivent prendre leur place dans le paysage politique canadien. La Constitution de 1982 nous reconnaît en tant que peuples. Elle reconnaît l’existence de nos droits. En conséquence, il est plus que temps de passer aux actes afin d’atteindre les objectifs permettant aux peuples autochtones de contrôler leur destinée. 

Il faut comprendre également que cette assemblée des Peuples autochtones ne vient pas remplacer la démarche d’autonomie gouvernementale entreprise par différentes nations. C’est plutôt une institution additionnelle à la grande marche nationale d’autonomie entreprise il y a quelques années dans nos communautés. 

Je m’inscris très humblement dans la tradition de nos grands leaders historiques. Je veux voir apparaître un gouvernement autochtone responsable au Canada. C’est mon souhait le plus cher. J’invite donc tous nos leaders à s’engager dans cette voie. 

Je veux contribuer à la disparition des conditions présentes : plus de 600 conseils de bandes isolés et vulnérables, des regroupements d’Autochtones qui n’ont aucun pouvoir économique, juridique et politique; un manque de volonté de la part du gouvernement fédéral et des gouvernements provinciaux incapables de changer et d’améliorer quelque situation que ce soit. 

Je vous demande d’examiner le projet que je vous présente. Mesurez l’importance du pas à franchir. Calculez les effets positifs à long terme. Vous verrez apparaître au Canada ce qui aurait dû exister depuis longtemps, une place réelle de la gestion des affaires de l’État, en particulier celle des affaires autochtones. 

Pour nous, Autochtones, le travail sera considérable. Il faudra nous réunir, apprendre à travailler ensemble. Il faudra nous redécouvrir nous-mêmes. Il faudra nous secouer. Mais qui serait contre? 

Comment ne pas s’engager avec passion, quand il s’agit de l’avenir de nos enfants qui sont si nombreux, quand il s’agit de leur éducation, de leur santé, de leur milieu de vie, de leur fierté, de leur culture et de leur identité? 

Le Canada est un pays inachevé, une maison dont il manque quelques pièces importantes à la base. Une de ces pièces manquantes, c’est cette assemblée que je vous propose. 

Ce pays ne sera jamais achevé tant et aussi longtemps que les Autochtones n’auront pas leur place dans l’architecture politique. Si nous acceptons les peuples autochtones en tant que partie prenante à la fondation de ce pays, beaucoup de querelles seront dissipées. Nous corrigerons une erreur de parcours et ainsi, nous pourrons poursuivre notre développement sur la base d’une vérité historique. 

Il faut établir cette nouvelle Chambre et lui donner le temps et les moyens de se mettre en place. Cette mise en place se fera par étapes et beaucoup de problèmes seront résolus au fur et à mesure. J’ai confiance en nos leaders. Nous savons tous que ces problèmes sont complexes et nombreux. Il nous faudra des décennies pour les résoudre et le chemin sera difficile. Il y aura beaucoup d’obstacles, mais au moins, ce sera un chemin et surtout, ce sera notre chemin! 


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 31 no 3
2008






Dernière mise à jour : 2019-11-29