Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

Search
HomeContact UsFranšais

PDF
CPA Activities: The Canadian SceneCPA Activities: The Canadian Scene


New Speaker in Saskatchewan 

The Speaker of the 26th Legislative Assembly of Saskatchewan is Don Toth, MLA for Moosomin.  The Speaker is a Member of the Legislative Assembly elected in a secret ballot by all other MLAs to maintain order in the House in an impartial manner. This election takes place after each general election, or when the office of Speaker becomes vacant for any reason. Mr. Toth was the only MLA to put forth his name for the office. 

He was first elected in the 1986 general election and was re-elected in 1991, 1995, 1999, 2003 and 2007. He has served as the Legislative Secretary to the Minister of Health and Chairman of the Crown Corporations Committee. He was the Opposition’s Deputy House Leader, Deputy Whip and Deputy Chair of Committees. His Opposition critic duties have included Health, Highways, Labour, Public Service Commission, Social Services, Corrections and Public Safety and Culture, Youth and Recreation. 

Speaker Toth replaces Myron Kowalsky, former MLA for Prince Albert Carlton, who retired before the general election in November. 

Twenty Fifth Canadian Presiding Officers' Conference 

Speakers and Presiding Officers from every Canadian legislature except Nunavut met in Quebec City from January 24-27, 2008. 

The Presiding Officers' Conference was hosted by the President of the Quebec National Assembly, Michel Bissonnet.  Other Speakers in attendance included:  Peter Milliken (House of Commons), Bill Barisoff (British Columbia); Don Toth (Saskatchewan); Steve Peters (Ontario); Roy Boudreau (New Brunswick); Alfie MacLeod (Nova Scotia); Kathleen Casey (Prince Edward Island); Roger Fitzgerald (Newfoundland and Labrador); Ted Staffen (Yukon), and Paul Delorey (Northwest Territories). 

The first business session, chaired by Speaker Casey, dealt with the theme of “Parliamentary Management Boards and the Role of the Speaker in Effective Decision Making.” The lead presenter was Speaker Barisoff. 

The second session was entitled “The Secrets of an Effective Speakership” and it featured presentations by Speakers Milliken and Bissonnet.  The chair was Deputy Speaker Bonnie Korzeniowski of Manitoba.  The third session was chaired by Speaker Fitzgerald and featured a presentation by Speaker Boudreau on “Maintaining Order and Decorum.” 

The First Vice President of the National Assembly, Fatima Houda-Pepin, chaired the fourth session which was devoted to the report by Chief Justice Derek Green of Newfoundland and Labrador. The Clerk of the House of Assembly of Newfoundland and Labrador, William Mackenzie made the presentation. 

The fifth session was entitled “The Canadian Parliamentary System; Pragmatic Adaptations” and featured a presentation by Senator Pierre-Claude Nolin substituting for the Speaker of the Senate. The Chair of this session was Speaker Staffen. 

The final session, chaired by Speaker Peters, featured a presentation by Louis Massicotte on the newly created Research Chair on Democracy and Parliamentary Institutions at Laval University. 

Following the conference delegates were taken to the Duchesnay Tourist Station near Quebec City where they were given a tour of the facilities including the Ice Hotel. Later they had an opportunity to observe the Red Bull Crashed Ice competition whereby skaters from several countries hurtled themselves, four at a time, at speeds up to 50 km/hr down a specially constructed ice course in quest of a $5,000 prize for the fastest time. 

All delegates and observers expressed their appreciation to Speaker Bissonnet and his staff headed by Secretary General François Côté for making the 25th conference such a memorable event. 

Québec City 1608-2008 

During the Conference delegates were briefed on the numerous events being planned to mark the 400th anniversary of the founding of Québec. Lucie Latulippe of the organizing committee outlined some highlights including a free open air concert by Céline Dion on the Plains of Abraham on August 22, 2008, a special performance of the Cirque du Soleil on October 19, 2008, a performance of two operas, le Château de Barbe-bleue by Béla Bartók and Erwartung by Arnold Schönberg, in association with Robert Lapage from October 18-25.  For a complete list of all events see Myquebec2008.com. 

On July 3, 2008, the precise anniversary of the founding of Québec by Samuel de Champlain, all capital cities in Canada are invited to join Québec City in ringing their bells or chimes at 11 am Eastern Daylight Saving Time. 

John Porter, Managing Director of the Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec briefed delegates on the special exhibits being organized by the museum including an unprecedented exhibition of 271 paintings, sculptures, jewellery and other works from the collection of the Louvre to be held from June 5 to October 26, 2008. 


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 31 no 1
2008






Last Updated: 2018-07-31

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

Recherche
AccueilContactez-nousEnglish

PDF
APC : La scène canadienneAPC : La scène canadienne


Nouveau président en Saskatchewan 

Le président de la 26e assemblée législative de la Saskatchewan est Don Toth, député de Moosomin. Le président est un député élu par ses collègues au moyen d’un scrutin secret pour maintenir l’ordre à l’Assemblée législative de manière impartiale. Cette élection est tenue après chaque élection générale, ou lorsqu’une vacance survient à la présidence pour une raison ou une autre. M. Toth était le seul député à s’être porté candidat. 

Il a été élu député pour la première fois lors de l’élection générale de 1986, puis il a été réélu en 1991, 1995, 1999, 2003 et 2007. Il a occupé les postes de secrétaire législatif du ministre de la Santé et de président du Comité des sociétés de la Couronne. Il a été leader parlementaire adjoint de l’opposition ainsi que whip adjoint et vice-président des comités. Il a aussi été porte-parole de l’opposition pour la santé, la voirie, le travail, la Commission de la fonction publique, les services sociaux, les services correctionnels et la sécurité publique, ainsi que la culture, la jeunesse et les loisirs. 

Le président Toth remplace Myron Kowalsky, ex-député de Prince Albert Carlton, qui avait pris sa retraite avant la tenue de l’élection générale en novembre.  

Vingt-cinquième Conférence des présidents d’assemblée du Canada 

Des présidents et des présidents de séance de chacune des assemblées législatives canadiennes, sauf celle du Nunavut, se sont réunis à Québec du 24 au 27 janvier 2008. 

Le président de l’Assemblée nationale du Québec, Michel Bissonnet, a été l’hôte de cette conférence. Voici les autres présidents qui y ont assisté : Peter Milliken (Chambre des communes), Bill Barisoff (Colombie-Britannique), Don Toth (Saskatchewan), Steve Peters (Ontario), Roy Boudreau (Nouveau-Brunswick), Alfie MacLeod (Nouvelle-Écosse), Kathleen Casey (Île-du-Prince- Édouard), Roger Fitzgerald (Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador), Ted Staffen (Yukon), et Paul Delorey (Territoires du Nord-Ouest). 

La première séance de travail, présidée par M. Casey, a eu pour thème « Les conseils de gestion parlementaires et le rôle du président dans une prise de décision efficace ». M. Barisoff a agi comme conférencier. 

La deuxième séance de travail, intitulée « Les secrets d’une présidence efficace », a comporté des exposés de MM. Milliken et Bissonnet. La vice-présidente Bonnie Korzeniowski, du Manitoba, l’a présidée. La troisième séance, présidée par M. Fitzgerald, a donné lieu à un exposé de M. Boudreau sur l’ordre et le décorum. 

La première vice-présidente de l’Assemblée nationale, Fatima Houda-Pepin, a présidé la quatrième séance, qui a porté sur le rapport du juge en chef de Terre-Neuve- et-Labrador, Derek Green. Le greffier de la Chambre d’assemblée de cette province, William Mackenzie, a présenté l’exposé à ce sujet. 

Intitulée « Le Parlementarisme canadien : adaptations pragmatiques », la cinquième séance a comporté un exposé du sénateur Pierre-Claude Nolin, qui remplaçait le président du Sénat. M. Staffen a assumé la présidence de cette séance.  

Lors de la dernière séance, présidée par M. Peters, Louis Massicotte a présenté un exposé sur la nouvelle Chaire de recherche sur la démocratie et les institutions parlementaires à l’Université Laval. 

Après la conférence, on a conduit les délégués à la station touristique Duchesnay, près de Québec, pour leur faire visiter les installations, notamment l’Hôtel de Glace. Plus tard, ils ont eu l’occasion d’assister à la compétition Red Bull Crashed Ice, au cours de la laquelle des patineurs de plusieurs pays se sont élancés par groupes de quatre sur une pente spécialement aménagée pour cette épreuve et l’ont descendue à des vitesses atteignant parfois 50 km/h afin de tenter de gagner le prix de 5000 $ remis au participant le plus rapide. 

Tous les délégués et observateurs ont remercié le président Bissonnet et son personnel, dirigé par le secrétaire général François Côté, d’avoir fait de cette 25e Conférence une activité aussi mémorable. 

Québec, 1608-2008 

Durant la conférence, on a présenté aux délégués les nombreuses activités prévues pour marquer le 400e anniversaire de la fondation de Québec. Lucie Latulippe, membre du comité organisateur, leur a donné un aperçu des temps forts, dont un concert gratuit de Céline Dion sur les Plaines d’Abraham, le 22 août, un spectacle spécial du Cirque du Soleil, le 19 octobre, deux opéras, le Château de Barbe-bleue, de Béla Bartók, et Erwartung, d’Arnold Schönberg, présentés en collaboration avec Robert Lapage du 18 au 25 octobre. Pour consulter la liste complète des activités, veuillez visiter Monquebec2008.com.  

Le 3 juillet, date précise de l’anniversaire de la fondation de Québec par Samuel de Champlain, toutes les capitales du Canada sont invitées à se joindre à Québec en faisant sonner leurs cloches ou leurs carillons à 11 h, heure avancée de l’Est. 

John Porter, directeur général du Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec, a présenté aux délégués les expositions spéciales en cours d’organisation au Musée, dont une exposition unique de 271 peintures, sculptures, bijoux et autres œuvres de la collection du Louvre, qui aura lieu du 5 juin au 26 octobre prochains. 


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 31 no 1
2008






Dernière mise à jour : 2020-03-03